Kalamazoo, MI 
Knollwood Park Share
Uploaded By: RedHotCujo Hole #8 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 159ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Like an Elvis Presley song...

1    11/1/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- Park is pretty much single use. Very urban park but I didn't see much other use in this park. It was closed when I played but easy enough to get into. There will also be cons here.

Challenge--Though short, this course is good to work on midrange/putter line shaping. the little bit of elevation is used well.

routing-- relatively easy, even covered in leaves.

Risk v Reward-- present in the form of that nasty swamp. most folks skip those two holes.
Cons:
Aesthetic-- There are plenty of trashcans but they seem to be all emptied by "people" looking for cans. and then they just leave the trash on the ground.

Baskets-- Old DisCatchers some are single chains and they seem to be about a foot or two too high.... almost taller than me (6'4'') in some cases.

Challenge--Very short course, I think I ran 7 birdies when I played.

Surrounding neighborhood is Uber hinky and there isn't much fence around the park to keep the riff-raff out.

Pads--the tees are marked by kick-strip 4x4's in most cases. Deeply rutted but not dangerous.

Potential Danger- course plays over paths several times and once blindly over a footbridge.
Other Thoughts:
This course is a lot like Old Farm in Grand Rapids. buried in a neighborhood with short holes and not well taken care of.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy course, easier to get lost

1    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: jonesydesign
Played: 33  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful wooded surroundings, a good course to learn on, birdies and aces are possible
Cons: no signs at all, tees are nearly non-existent on most holes, extremely hard to know where to go, lots of trash and broken glass
Other Thoughts: The surroundings could be beautiful but it's littered with trash, much of which is broken glass (watch your step!). I barely knew where hole 1 was, let alone the next 17. There are no signs at all and the paths from hole to hole aren't very clear. Most holes are fairly short and give you a good chance to par or birdie on. It's a great course to learn on but would probably be fairly boring to a more skilled player.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course

1    7/9/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small wooded park that seems to be disc golf exclusive. The course plays through woods with some underbrush, enough to punish errant shots but mostly not so thick it'll eat discs. There are a couple holes that bring some small ponds into play for a little risk/reward, and the locals have made paths so it's easy for new players to skip the water holes should they so choose. There's a nice mix of hole shapes, with a good balance of left, right and straight shots required. The length is very short, but there are enough trees and enough different lines that the course doesn't feel too repetitive.
Cons: There are no signs at all, so you don't always know if you're on the right hole or shooting to the correct basket. Most of the baskets are numbered, but due to a ton of graffiti some have been painted over. The tees are natural and not in the best shape, luckily you shouldn't need much run up here. The baskets are single chain for the most part, so they don't always catch perfectly. There was quite a bit of trash around the course. A couple holes bring the park entrance road into play, it seems like a lot of newer players with less accuracy frequent this course so it could be a safety issue.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play with a putter or super class disc, it's very short but still interesting. Beginners will learn a lot here, with distances appropriate for newer players but different lines they'll need to hit to be successful. More experienced players will find every hole to be an ace run, but you can still get in trouble and have to work for your three if you aren't accurate.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Disc Golf

5+    9/27/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: Anheuser
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice for a quick round, or a nightcap round on your way home from another course or as a warm-up. Fairly easy to navigate. Hard to lose a disc, except on the water holes which can be skipped if desired. Challenging enough to keep it fun, but not hard. A great beginner's course. Adult beverages are no biggie, so bring a sixer or half pint if you want. Just be careful driving out of campus.
Cons: Loud kids, wafting pot smoke, and beer cans everywhere by the tees. No long open drive opportunities. Can feel cramped and if you play it enough times your person or car WILL be pegged by an errant disc. Even with floating discs, you might not even want it back after going into that sewer sludge on holes #4 and #11.
Other Thoughts: It is what it is. For me it's a fun course that I've been playing on and off for 10 years. I have noticed they've cleaned it up some lately. Consider playing it in the morning on weekdays or during the summer to avoid crowds. The kids out there are surprisingly friendly for the most part though. Not worth driving out of town for, but holds a special place in the hearts of locals like me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

5+    6/14/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: Junkr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice amateur/medium difficulty course for those trying to get to the next level of play.
-18 holes, 18 baskets. Always a plus.
-Doubles/Singles play Monday and Friday nights, respectively. A few locals run this simply because they love the game. They also sell cheap discs.
-Some very nice holes here. #1 and #5 always jumped out at me as being very well designed. #1 requires a precise RHBH to stay in the fairway and have a chance at a bird, #5 is quite difficult for RH players, as any wayward shot will end up in bad shape and you'll basically have to play back out to the fairway to advance any further. #5 is also a good hole for your Tomahawk throws (bust it out!)
Cons: -BUSY. This is the major problem here. During the summer months it gets a bit better, but quite frequently you will have to wait to tee off at #1, and wait at every other hole due to slow, poor college players who don't know how to let you play through.
-The pond is so nasty. Period. If your disc goes in, say goodbye. I hear it used to be a sewage waste dump before the course was put in. I can't confirm that though.
-A lot of nasty terrain - this can be avoided with good drives most of the time, but with any wooded course, the discs kick in weird directions sometimes and you may end up in mud.
-No maintenance whatsoever. This course gets trashed and the only fix it gets is bums picking up all the returnable cans and one guy who empties all the trash cans once or twice a week. #6 and #8 are especially notable - they are right behind the WMU frat houses and are constantly filled with broken glass and other random party foul.
-During the heavy summer months, this course gets a little unfair with all the brush that jumps up. Though I suppose that's common with any wooded course.
Other Thoughts: -I played my first round ever here and it remains unchanged since the day I played. It is a college course. Take that for what it is. You will run into a large variety of college folk, often drunk, sometimes hopped up on something else altogether. I, as well as most of the local players here don't mind, but a traveling player stopping by for the first time might be a little annoyed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice warmup or beginner course

1    0/0/0000   6/3/2010
Review By: Opus
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many short easy holes to build confidence with.
Interesting layout to get 18 holes in such a small space.
Great course to get you warmed up for some of the other courses in the area.
Cons: The park is kind of dirty. There is trash laying around at a lot of the holes.
If you put a disc in the water, forget it. Its gone. That water is nasty.
There are 2 holes that throw directly at the parking lot. Be careful where you park, and be extremely careful of where you throw. It would be very easy to hit a vehicle, either parked or in motion.
Other Thoughts: All in all, its not a bad course, but it definately is not one you put on a "Must Play" list. If I was in the area again, I wouldn't hesitate to play it again, but I wouldn't go out of my way to do it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Short Course

2-4    4/16/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: TGCRequiem
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would compare this course to a short Par3 course in golf. It is fun and quick. It is good for a beginner as distance comes into play on very few holes. So long and straight isn't needed...but what would you expect from a short course. This was also a lot cleaner then I expected from what I had heard of the course, so I was pleased with that.
Cons: Tee boxes are dirt and unfortunately a lot of them are eroded to the point that they're not even remotely flat and in some cases roots are popping up in the way. There is not a lot of elevation change except for on the last 4 holes. While I haven't experienced this because I usually player very early in the morning I hear this place can get very busy because it is right on campus.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 KWOOD

5+    3/24/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: GratefulNinja
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fast paced from start to finish. Trees on all sides of all 18 holes make things more technical than some courses. Great for working on you mid range shots as all you really need to play at this course is a Challenger and maybe a Buzzz. Great for an ego booster as shooting 10-15 under par is easily obtainable for anybody that has been playing for a couple of years
Cons: Short course provides no chance to work on your drive. Hole #1 being the longest at 270ft. nothing here is out of reach. The water is horendous is a wet stinky sloppy mess. However there are some "Rakists" (RAY-kists) that constantly go in there and retrieve discs although they may charge you a dollar or 2
Other Thoughts: Numerous people on here keep refering to hole #15 and they all have it wrong. Hole #13 plays 235ft through varying trees with water just 30ft behind it. And hole #14 plays off the road. Hole #15 is a short 155 footer downhill (it plays like a 90 footer)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Short and Rustic, But Also Fun

5+    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: TheHairyDrummer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes and a quick play, but still has its challenging shots. Probably the easiest courses in the Kalamazoo area. There is usually a very friendly and younger crowd playing, so it's a great place to for a beginner to learn without feeling like they are getting in the way of "pros". Only a few elevation changes and blind shots.
Cons: This park is not in the greatest of shape. It is frequently dirty, although on the whole it has been cleaner as of late. I have never actually seen players being disrespectful of the course, so I would suspect that the surrounding non-playing neighbors are the more likely culprits of the damage. This course is set in a rather small space right near WMU, and surrounded on 3 sides by apartments and frat-houses.

Very small parking lot, often very full in the mid to late afternoons. Lot is also not well protected from errant throws.

Non-existent signage, and no course map. Local players are usually more than happy to point you in the right direction though, and it is not too hard to figure out on your own.

Tees are natural, and not very well-kept. Dual tees are sporadic and pretty much unnecessary.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a very fun course despite it's obvious shortcomings.

The pond is quite treacherous and is a frequent disc-eater. Bring a floater, or consider skipping #4 and #11.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Thick Woods

5+    4/22/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: Wraith3
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great course to just chill with your friends after a day of classes. good variety of left and right hook shots. Forehands and Lefties rejoice. great place to meet new people, as some of the tees overlap to go to their receptive holes.
Cons: The Water is extremely hazardous. Watch your disc, but that is really hard with all the damn trees. Can be rather loud with frat village being on 2 sides of the course. Mud and water cover half the course in the spring and fall.
Other Thoughts: don't be fooled by #15 you can make it through all of the trees and end up in the lake behind. it sucks

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.