Kalamazoo, MI 
Knollwood Park Share
Uploaded By: RedHotCujo Hole #2
3 / 148ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
just a mess

2-4    5/15/2013   6/20/2013
Review By: DoobieDiscer
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: short holes, easy disc lines, makes you effectively shoot a mid range game, no need for any champion plastic drivers here. quick rounds.
Cons: short course is an understatement, trash everywhere, downtown off of college dorms so they all troll around the tiny parking lot making hole #18 hard to shoot because people can be standing near the basket. alot of intersecting holes that zig zag all over the place so watch your face as you cross a path.
Other Thoughts: this course is highly laughable, and it would take alot fo keep it nice...between all the "hipsters" getting in your way, and the abundance of trash everywhere, id rather go to oshtemo dgc or airzoo for a quick but more fun round.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Ace-tastic!

1    10/21/2012   11/3/2012
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 193  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Knollwood park is a fun little wooded course with nice touches of elevation and water in just the right spots. This is the definition of pitch and putt, as no hole stretches over 270 ft., but there are just enough trees, elevation, and water to make this course worth a quick play.
- Water. There's not a lot of it, and it can be pretty easily avoided, but the tricky "invisible green" on #11 looks deceptively dry from the tee. The entire right side as well as directly behind the basket is mostly stagnant water, something that doesn't become obvious until you've taken a few steps towards the basket after teeing off.
- Elevation. Nothing "wow" but the little bit available is put to good use, especially on #'s 17 and 18. Hole #18 tees off downhill through large mature trees' trunks towards the basket below. Several of the greens play fast because of the combination of short length and loss of elevation.
- Well-worn with heavy usage, but with enough trees to provide several different looks or allow various shot options, from a line-shaping standpoint.
- Ace-tastic! Come with a putter and/or mid-range and get to work on those ace totals! Not boring by any means, but plenty of short holes that reward hitting the obvious line(s) with birdies and aces.
Cons: - Terribly rutted natural tees (with the exception of hole #1 which if I remember correctly was concrete). The front of the teebox is marked with a wooden 4 x 4. The eroded tees often make the front of the box a
tripping hazard as the wooded markers stick out of the ground. Several of the tees were muddy and these have to be a nightmare in wet conditions.
- No real tee signs of which to speak.
- Not incredibly challenging. While it's fun enough as a putter/mid only sorta round, most experienced players would be served better by some of the other area courses.
- Pretty trashed, litter-wise.
Other Thoughts: - Unfortunately, the traffic this course seems to see regularly typifies the worst of the disc golf stereotypes. While I'm far from an opponent of cracking down on what people do in their free time in the public parks (so long as they do it in a discreet manner that doesn't infringe on others' enjoyment of the park), the sort of behavior I witnessed at this park in my short time there was certainly of the sort that
not only gets courses pulled, but is also often used as arguments against putting in new courses. /soapbox

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Like an Elvis Presley song...

1    11/1/2012   11/1/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 245  Reviewed: 238  Exp: 4.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- Park is pretty much single use. Very urban park but I didn't see much other use in this park. It was closed when I played but easy enough to get into. There will also be cons here.

Challenge--Though short, this course is good to work on midrange/putter line shaping. the little bit of elevation is used well.

routing-- relatively easy, even covered in leaves.

Risk v Reward-- present in the form of that nasty swamp. most folks skip those two holes.
Cons:
Aesthetic-- There are plenty of trashcans but they seem to be all emptied by "people" looking for cans. and then they just leave the trash on the ground.

Baskets-- Old DisCatchers some are single chains and they seem to be about a foot or two too high.... almost taller than me (6'4'') in some cases.

Challenge--Very short course, I think I ran 7 birdies when I played.

Surrounding neighborhood is Uber hinky and there isn't much fence around the park to keep the riff-raff out.

Pads--the tees are marked by kick-strip 4x4's in most cases. Deeply rutted but not dangerous.

Potential Danger- course plays over paths several times and once blindly over a footbridge.
Other Thoughts:
This course is a lot like Old Farm in Grand Rapids. buried in a neighborhood with short holes and not well taken care of.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Under-rated fun short course

5+    9/6/2012   9/6/2012
Review By: RedHotCujo
Played: 129  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Each hole on the course is ace-able.
Many different shots required with a decent amount of trees.
Even though relatively "easy" with most shots under 250 or 200, it is a fun finesse course.
Quick to play (18 in about 45 minutes with two people) (could be a con too)
Tees are more distinct and the flow is very nice.
1 round and you'll know where you're going.
Cons: Lots of vegetation in the summer, easy to lose one in the brush if you don't keep an eye on it.
Water plays on 3 holes by my count and 2 of them are really easy to get wet. (one is basically an island hole)
Really nasty pond (no disc retrieval here)
Broken glass on a lot of holes.
Other Thoughts: The upkeep has been better lately for this course although there is still some garbage and broken glass throughout. If you're in the area and have never been, it's worth a quick round or ace run as I like to call it :p
I would rate this course a 3 but I'm upping it half a disc because I think it should be rated higher in general.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Easy course, easier to get lost

1    5/28/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: jonesydesign
Played: 34  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 2.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/25/2012
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: beautiful wooded surroundings, a good course to learn on, birdies and aces are possible
Cons: no signs at all, tees are nearly non-existent on most holes, extremely hard to know where to go, lots of trash and broken glass
Other Thoughts: The surroundings could be beautiful but it's littered with trash, much of which is broken glass (watch your step!). I barely knew where hole 1 was, let alone the next 17. There are no signs at all and the paths from hole to hole aren't very clear. Most holes are fairly short and give you a good chance to par or birdie on. It's a great course to learn on but would probably be fairly boring to a more skilled player.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/27/2012   4/28/2012
Review By: jcarter
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: we had a local show us the course, he even shot a round with us, without him we wouldnt of know where to go. Its a short course, so many chances for aces and birdies.
Cons: trash everywhere, beer cans everywhere, water hazards, high baskets, alot of traffic, but its near the college so I expected that/
Other Thoughts: Thanks again to the local that played discgolf with us, had alot of fun.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course for beginners, beautiful in summer

5+    8/16/2011   3/26/2012
Review By: Nico28
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course for beginners experts and everyone in between. The course is very pretty during the summer (the pics on here do it no justice at all). I learned how to play on this course last summer, so like many it holds a special place in my heart. It is also very peaceful when walking through the woods. The holes are short and sometimes tight and are not repetitive like some beginners courses. The people are nice. the field outside the woods is a great place to practice your throw too. Bring a six pack and enjoy yourself
Cons: Sometimes there can be to many people.

Since it is in the woods the course can get a little dark when the sun is setting.

The water traps can be a little tricky for beginners who most dont want the lose their only disc.

Like another reviewer said there really no signs, except what hole you are on, but the course is very easy to navigate so don't worry.



0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great beginner course

1    7/9/2011   7/13/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 770  Exp: 12.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small wooded park that seems to be disc golf exclusive. The course plays through woods with some underbrush, enough to punish errant shots but mostly not so thick it'll eat discs. There are a couple holes that bring some small ponds into play for a little risk/reward, and the locals have made paths so it's easy for new players to skip the water holes should they so choose. There's a nice mix of hole shapes, with a good balance of left, right and straight shots required. The length is very short, but there are enough trees and enough different lines that the course doesn't feel too repetitive.
Cons: There are no signs at all, so you don't always know if you're on the right hole or shooting to the correct basket. Most of the baskets are numbered, but due to a ton of graffiti some have been painted over. The tees are natural and not in the best shape, luckily you shouldn't need much run up here. The baskets are single chain for the most part, so they don't always catch perfectly. There was quite a bit of trash around the course. A couple holes bring the park entrance road into play, it seems like a lot of newer players with less accuracy frequent this course so it could be a safety issue.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course to play with a putter or super class disc, it's very short but still interesting. Beginners will learn a lot here, with distances appropriate for newer players but different lines they'll need to hit to be successful. More experienced players will find every hole to be an ace run, but you can still get in trouble and have to work for your three if you aren't accurate.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Disc Golf

5+    9/27/2010   9/30/2010
Review By: Anheuser
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice for a quick round, or a nightcap round on your way home from another course or as a warm-up. Fairly easy to navigate. Hard to lose a disc, except on the water holes which can be skipped if desired. Challenging enough to keep it fun, but not hard. A great beginner's course. Adult beverages are no biggie, so bring a sixer or half pint if you want. Just be careful driving out of campus.
Cons: Loud kids, wafting pot smoke, and beer cans everywhere by the tees. No long open drive opportunities. Can feel cramped and if you play it enough times your person or car WILL be pegged by an errant disc. Even with floating discs, you might not even want it back after going into that sewer sludge on holes #4 and #11.
Other Thoughts: It is what it is. For me it's a fun course that I've been playing on and off for 10 years. I have noticed they've cleaned it up some lately. Consider playing it in the morning on weekdays or during the summer to avoid crowds. The kids out there are surprisingly friendly for the most part though. Not worth driving out of town for, but holds a special place in the hearts of locals like me.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Not that bad

5+    7/28/2010   7/29/2010
Review By: KnownKiller
Played: 70  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Short Course
- Great for beginners and people looking for a semi-easy course.
- Great for practice/work on overall game
- Good number of holes to throw a long shot and other really short shots.
- Not very many repetitive holes.
-
Cons: - Some parts of the day, very busy
- Trash on some holes, but not that bad.
- Water is very nasty. Holes #4 and #11
Other Thoughts: I play this course almost every night with my roommate and him and I really enjoy playing here. It may not be "top notch" but I feel its worth playing.
A lot of friendly people willing to help. Unless we get a lot of rain then course is mostly dry.
Wood chips on the course also help in keeping it dry.
There are a couple trees down from recent storms but doesn't really effect game play.
Signs would be helpful but park is run by mostly college kids who just enjoy playing.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.