Kalamazoo, MI 
Knollwood Park Share
Uploaded By: RedHotCujo Hole #1
3 / 270ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 29
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pressed For Time

5+    5/10/2010   6/28/2010
Review By: Red Wings Fan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good if you don't have enough time for a large course
Cons: Lots of people sometimes, dirt tee box, small parking area not spread out
Other Thoughts: don't go after its rained or has been raining a bunch because most of the course is dirty. however they have been trying to clean the course up with wood chips which helps

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Potential

5+    6/14/2010   6/27/2010
Review By: Junkr
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice amateur/medium difficulty course for those trying to get to the next level of play.
-18 holes, 18 baskets. Always a plus.
-Doubles/Singles play Monday and Friday nights, respectively. A few locals run this simply because they love the game. They also sell cheap discs.
-Some very nice holes here. #1 and #5 always jumped out at me as being very well designed. #1 requires a precise RHBH to stay in the fairway and have a chance at a bird, #5 is quite difficult for RH players, as any wayward shot will end up in bad shape and you'll basically have to play back out to the fairway to advance any further. #5 is also a good hole for your Tomahawk throws (bust it out!)
Cons: -BUSY. This is the major problem here. During the summer months it gets a bit better, but quite frequently you will have to wait to tee off at #1, and wait at every other hole due to slow, poor college players who don't know how to let you play through.
-The pond is so nasty. Period. If your disc goes in, say goodbye. I hear it used to be a sewage waste dump before the course was put in. I can't confirm that though.
-A lot of nasty terrain - this can be avoided with good drives most of the time, but with any wooded course, the discs kick in weird directions sometimes and you may end up in mud.
-No maintenance whatsoever. This course gets trashed and the only fix it gets is bums picking up all the returnable cans and one guy who empties all the trash cans once or twice a week. #6 and #8 are especially notable - they are right behind the WMU frat houses and are constantly filled with broken glass and other random party foul.
-During the heavy summer months, this course gets a little unfair with all the brush that jumps up. Though I suppose that's common with any wooded course.
Other Thoughts: -I played my first round ever here and it remains unchanged since the day I played. It is a college course. Take that for what it is. You will run into a large variety of college folk, often drunk, sometimes hopped up on something else altogether. I, as well as most of the local players here don't mind, but a traveling player stopping by for the first time might be a little annoyed.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice warmup or beginner course

1    0/0/0000   6/3/2010
Review By: Opus
Played: 20  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Many short easy holes to build confidence with.
Interesting layout to get 18 holes in such a small space.
Great course to get you warmed up for some of the other courses in the area.
Cons: The park is kind of dirty. There is trash laying around at a lot of the holes.
If you put a disc in the water, forget it. Its gone. That water is nasty.
There are 2 holes that throw directly at the parking lot. Be careful where you park, and be extremely careful of where you throw. It would be very easy to hit a vehicle, either parked or in motion.
Other Thoughts: All in all, its not a bad course, but it definately is not one you put on a "Must Play" list. If I was in the area again, I wouldn't hesitate to play it again, but I wouldn't go out of my way to do it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Short Course

2-4    4/16/2010   4/17/2010
Review By: TGCRequiem
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I would compare this course to a short Par3 course in golf. It is fun and quick. It is good for a beginner as distance comes into play on very few holes. So long and straight isn't needed...but what would you expect from a short course. This was also a lot cleaner then I expected from what I had heard of the course, so I was pleased with that.
Cons: Tee boxes are dirt and unfortunately a lot of them are eroded to the point that they're not even remotely flat and in some cases roots are popping up in the way. There is not a lot of elevation change except for on the last 4 holes. While I haven't experienced this because I usually player very early in the morning I hear this place can get very busy because it is right on campus.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 KWOOD

5+    3/24/2010   3/25/2010
Review By: GratefulNinja
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fast paced from start to finish. Trees on all sides of all 18 holes make things more technical than some courses. Great for working on you mid range shots as all you really need to play at this course is a Challenger and maybe a Buzzz. Great for an ego booster as shooting 10-15 under par is easily obtainable for anybody that has been playing for a couple of years
Cons: Short course provides no chance to work on your drive. Hole #1 being the longest at 270ft. nothing here is out of reach. The water is horendous is a wet stinky sloppy mess. However there are some "Rakists" (RAY-kists) that constantly go in there and retrieve discs although they may charge you a dollar or 2
Other Thoughts: Numerous people on here keep refering to hole #15 and they all have it wrong. Hole #13 plays 235ft through varying trees with water just 30ft behind it. And hole #14 plays off the road. Hole #15 is a short 155 footer downhill (it plays like a 90 footer)

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tight and trashy

1    8/10/2009   9/22/2009
Review By: JaySeaAre
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: No fee to play and close to Western Michigan University for locals. Fairly short course good for those who don't throw far. Trees make for constant decision making challenges.
Cons: The course is heavily used and most of the fairways are dirt. Play can be slow as large groups of college kids take a while to move through. Signage is poor.
Other Thoughts: There doesn't seem to be much upkeep, regulations or maintenance by whomever owns the course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/18/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: locuno1
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/6/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great course for people that are just starting out. some holes will test your accuracy and will require different shots easy to get a good score
Cons: short course, some holes are really close to each other which you could easily hit someone on a errant throw, small parking lot, few tree stumps/ tree roots where tee is which could mess up throw.
Other Thoughts: pond will eat your disc but its fairly easy to avoid. Hole one now has a cement tee pad which is a plus, many more to come i hope

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Short and Rustic, But Also Fun

5+    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: TheHairyDrummer
Played: 18  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Short holes and a quick play, but still has its challenging shots. Probably the easiest courses in the Kalamazoo area. There is usually a very friendly and younger crowd playing, so it's a great place to for a beginner to learn without feeling like they are getting in the way of "pros". Only a few elevation changes and blind shots.
Cons: This park is not in the greatest of shape. It is frequently dirty, although on the whole it has been cleaner as of late. I have never actually seen players being disrespectful of the course, so I would suspect that the surrounding non-playing neighbors are the more likely culprits of the damage. This course is set in a rather small space right near WMU, and surrounded on 3 sides by apartments and frat-houses.

Very small parking lot, often very full in the mid to late afternoons. Lot is also not well protected from errant throws.

Non-existent signage, and no course map. Local players are usually more than happy to point you in the right direction though, and it is not too hard to figure out on your own.

Tees are natural, and not very well-kept. Dual tees are sporadic and pretty much unnecessary.
Other Thoughts: All in all, a very fun course despite it's obvious shortcomings.

The pond is quite treacherous and is a frequent disc-eater. Bring a floater, or consider skipping #4 and #11.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Thick Woods

5+    4/22/2009   5/30/2009
Review By: Wraith3
Played: 12  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: great course to just chill with your friends after a day of classes. good variety of left and right hook shots. Forehands and Lefties rejoice. great place to meet new people, as some of the tees overlap to go to their receptive holes.
Cons: The Water is extremely hazardous. Watch your disc, but that is really hard with all the damn trees. Can be rather loud with frat village being on 2 sides of the course. Mud and water cover half the course in the spring and fall.
Other Thoughts: don't be fooled by #15 you can make it through all of the trees and end up in the lake behind. it sucks

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Local Favorite

5+    5/22/2009   5/22/2009
Review By: BigNastyAKzooLegend
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Heavy woods makes for tough shots, although short the course is a challenge in it's own. The people there are very friendly and are willing to help. Recently the course has been deep cleaned by a group of volunteers and is now looking cleaner than ever.
Cons: Parking can be crowded and dangerous for your car depending on where you park. Kalamazoo police are very good at getting people illegally parked as well so keep this in mind.
Other Thoughts: I myself attend Western Michigan University and I resent all of this "college kid" talk. Yes the course is occupied predominately by college kids but most are friendly and are almost always willing to help.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.