Willits, CA
KOA Campground Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #8
3 / 222ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Mountain 18

1    1/30/2013   1/31/2013
Review By: Hazer
Played: 141  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 3'x7' cement tee pads on every hole. Some of the baskets are new and very nice. Hole 6: 270' shot over a large pond; need to throw 250'+ to clear it or lay up on the left. Hole 7: nice uphill shot into a grove of young redwoods. Hole 8: baby (100') uphill ace run, but it throws like it's maybe 225'. Hole 9: slightly downhill shot with a late right turn around some really thick manzanita. Hole 15: long shot along the top of a ridge with huge hills rolling down both sides of the fairway (and some intense wind). Hole 17: nice downhill 300' mini 'top of the world' shot. Very beautiful scenery all throughout the course. Good variety of hole types and shots required. Great elevation change on many holes. Clean and well maintained course. At a very nice campground with a pool, hot tub, wi-fi ($), and lots of other amenities (a lot for kids).
Cons: Course is closed to non-campers between 11AM and 3PM, everyday. $4 per person pay to play. Holes 1&2 have been permanently removed. No signs. Holes 3-5 (the first 3 holes) are pretty wide open and not very challenging. Varying basket type, which wouldn't bother me, but some are old mach 1s with only one set of chains. Confusing layout; I had to consult the map after a lot of holes. Holes 12&13's fairways cross each other. A couple baskets are very close to one another. Only 1 trash can on course (hole 14). Hole 18's basket is way too high off the ground. Available land could have been used much better.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course, but I think with some alternate pin locations it could be a lot better. It also is now a bit restricted for disc golfers: THE COURSE IS ONLY OPEN 8-11AM & 3-6PM, EVERYDAY, UNLESS YOU ARE CAMPING. I'm guessing this is just their winter hours, but I am not sure. There is a sign on the door to the office/store stating the "New Disc Golf Hours". The sign did not say these were seasonal hours, but I can't imagine it will be this way in the summer. Call ahead if you want to make sure: (707) 459-6179. I was disappointed to hear that holes 1&2 had been removed, but they added a 15b which is a decent downhill shot. I also saw a 7b indicated on the map, but it is not there (yet?). Overall I had a very enjoyable experience playing this course. I wish I had known they had restricted hours for disc golfers. I drove up one day and arrived just after 11, so instead of waiting 4 hours to play (the bathrooms by the entrance are locked and require a key-code) I went back the next day. I also noticed that the showers cost money even for campers.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

My home course

5+    11/4/2012   11/8/2012
Review By: wyldeman99
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I really enjoying playing this course. It's my home course so it's special for me in that sense. The $4 it costs is cheaper for me then driving 25 miles to the next nearest course. Many of the holes give you a chance to put some 2's on the scorecard. Once you get to #9 and beyond the back side of the mountain invites lots of unpredictable wind that can really change a game. The putting on 13 and 16 can get really tricky since both are open and the wind is moving. There is a ridge line on 15 that makes a horse shoe shape and the wind gets magnified in this shape so it really move on this hole. If you don't use the wind it will definitely punish you.
Cons: Unfortunately the new owners of the KOA campground just don't like disc golfers. I've been going to this course very consistently for the last 2.5 years and whenever I deal with the lady that owns that place she is always very very rude and comes across like she would rather remove the course and not have to deal with us golfers.
In the summer time it can get very busy here and sometimes the campers will overflow into the DG course. When this happens you end up not being able to play some of the holes. The owners refuse to work with you on any kind of discount when this occurs. The owner has actually told me that I should just stop coming on the weekends. There are many names that I would like to call here and I'm sure you can imagine some of them but since DGCR asked us to not use any profanity I'll just call her very very rude again.
Other Thoughts: #1 and #2 have been removed from the area. They have been relocated to the back 9 and are now called 15a and 15b. 15a is a sharp down hill shot that is probably 170' away and 150' less elevation then the pad. 15b is the exact opposite going back up the hill you just went down.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Not recommended during summer months.

1    3/5/2011   4/27/2011
Review By: GlowingLotus
Played: 19  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting layout, some nice holes.
Cons: Pay to play, and during the summer, campers and people fishing will take some holes out of play. In addition, the new management NEVER mows the grass on the course, so the conditions can be brutal during the high grass seasons. I have had a monthly membership here, and I have also made them refund my money, as they don't want to keep the course in decent shape. There are no discounts for lack of holes or bad conditions, customer service is seriously lacking here.
Other Thoughts: We have many great courses in Mendocino County and Northern California, don't waste your time and $$$ here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/30/2011   3/30/2011
Review By: tehrain
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, easy access. Good terrain changes, mix of open and timber.
Cons: All the holes are short. Never played a tournament here but the holes are crowded and it seems dangerous.
Other Thoughts: Not my favorite by any means, but it's a great stop on a road trip. Played this as a foursome and we all enjoyed ourselves.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    3/15/2009   3/15/2009
Review By: mike shoys
Played: 25  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/4/2009
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-awesome rural setting with many great views.
-i liked the progression of the course. 1 and 2 were just open space from tee to basket only 2something hundred feet out. 3 and 4 were longer with few obstacles, then you hit the massive hills.
-lots of elevation practice.
-16 is a pretty awesome signature hole. basket is set on the saddle of a ridge with big slopes on either side. 18 was a nice long blast off from above on a hillside to a basket set on a mildly sloping circular hill/mound
-fair amount of obstacles
-i really liked that they would usually put a sign near the basket that you can see from the tee box to help you find your next target...
Cons:
-swirling winds were messing with my head all day
-$4 per person, but that does keep it less crowded, i guess.
-a couple demoralizing rollers.
-some teepads are leaning way up/downhill. all concrete or rubber, but not flat.
-some baskets were tilted, too high or low, loose. none too bad, though. just being picky incase someone cares.
Other Thoughts: the setting was up there with the best. we had a great, relaxed time. better players might not get the kick i did out of it, but i'll go back. only 2 miles to town with a very rural feel.

-was pretty unpleased today (7-5) when they charged full price to play when people were camping on 4 of the first 5 holes. expect this on

crowded weekends. they also have picnic tables and walking paths on the course, so its easy to get oblivious non-DG foot traffic when crowded. also had to skip the water hole dur to people fishing.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Don't let the first two holes fool you!

2-4    1/15/2009   1/17/2009
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 244  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 12.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- amazingly beautiful vistas! Rolling hills dotted with old deciduous oaks drenched in dripping lichens, fog lifting from the valley below... (insert your own poetic prose here...)
- lots of birdie/ace opportunity. Holes 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 11... just make sure you take advantage because there's....
- lots of opportunity for punishment. There are a lot of steep hills and the baskets are perfectly placed to take advantage of those errant drives/upshots/putts. pond and creek shots also a bonus.
- holes 14, 15, 16, 17, 18 are awesome!
Cons:
- some holes too short!
- tee pads were too short
-14's tee pad is right next to a tree... and smacking your hand on the follow through would suck.
Other Thoughts:
It is definitely worth the two mile detour off the 101 and the four dollar entry fee. even though it is on the shorter side, the strategic hole placement keeps you on your toes.
my score: -4

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Down Willits Way

1    7/9/2008   12/9/2008
Review By: humchris85
Played: 109  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.9 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete Teepads.
-Good variety of shots, Lefts, Rights, Uphill, Downhill, Long, Short.
-Water hazard on one hole.
-Fake town is an interesting obsticle.
-Good mix of open and wooded holes
-Friendly locals.
-Not crowded.
Cons: -Hole 17 has a tree that is fully in front of the tee and makes it a real downfall on the course.
-Holes 1-3 are realy open with the only obsticles are a fake town.
-Signs could use maps and distances.
-Map distances not accurate.
-Pay to play.
-Some holes feel way too short.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course if your in the area and its free to play if your staying in the KOA. The concrete teepads were put in this year and are quite nice. This course is great for night golf, the open holes alow you to throw at night with confidnce. The locals that play on a daily basis are friendly and willing to show around visters.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 doc holliday flys

5+    10/10/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: kinfolkfan
Played: 96  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.8 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: the pros to this course are as follows... differing holes. there is short flat open. long tight and wooded. down hill, up hill. windy as heck, no wind at all. the staff is usually very nice. new concrete tees. garbage cans. you can drink. shade on hot cali. summers after hole 5. and a water hazard.
Cons: you have to pay. but as a local you can get a monthly pass and it is well worth it if you can make it 7 or more times in a month. 4 bucks a day or 30 for a month. and a water hazard.
Other Thoughts: i play here everyday. me and a few friends have been playing for a few months and we all love the course. hope you all check it out. and hit us up if you would like a light hearted game at the koa.
or if you want to start some sort of weekly there that would be great as well. i can get down with some competition. have fun. peace.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.