Richland Center, WI 
Krouskop Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj Hole #3
3 / 335ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Disastrously Bad Unfair Design

1    6/26/2016   6/26/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 84  Reviewed: 81  Exp: 23.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/5/2016
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The biggest pro is that it is an astonishingly beautiful and varied piece of land that could offer a variety of challenges.
Cons: May as well start at the beginning, since I don't know how to describe such a disaster...

The 1st hole is listed at 235 and appears to go down to a marshy area of very high grass, so I walked along the 10 foot wide mowed area to seek the basket that should have been clearly visible. I found the second basket first and backtracked. The first shot was a blind shot through a narrow window with a low ceiling and it was about 20 degrees left of the orientation of the tee. It is very close to playground equipment and a hazardous design flaw. The length of the hole also seemed at least 75 feet longer than listed.

The 2nd hole was another near impossible shot through a blind alley (a narrow tunnel with a low ceiling) with no other options than a RHBH hyzer. The tee could be moved back to allow a lefty hyzer, though this might again bring playground gear into play. The basket for #16 is very nearby and from that one must cross the #2 fairway to get to #17.

The 3rd hole appears open, but is also a very tight RHBH hole that offers no secondary options. It is somewhat downhill and should be reachable, but it's not.

The 4th is another that favors RHBH with great slope that puts the tee near a sidewalk, but one can't really utilize this as the road is right next to it. A walking path is too close to the LHBH line.

The 5th was an OK hole with a great guarded green, but it is again a RHBH only with no other lines available. The #15 basket is visible and one instinctually walks in that direction and finds the #15 tee before coming back to find a very well hidden sign pointing to #6 (the only way you would see it is if your putt was from the extreme left).

#6 is a great, fun, straight hole under the roadway bridge.

The problem is that the next FOUR holes are almost exactly the same length and shape. They do all favor RHBH most, and all are extreme tunnel shots with 10 foot wide fairways and a 10 foot high ceiling at max.

It's just no fun to have the same hole 5 times in a row.

#11 is a great long (360) downhill hole with a guarded green and a fairway that widens at the end to make it fair (and prevent lost discs).

#12 is a real downhill bomber hole of 515 that is hurt by the fact that the fairway is relatively narrow for the length of the hole (it should be widened by at least 50 feet and I lost a disc for the first time in 15 years to the 5 foot tall marsh grass). The high grass is a harsh penalty. I easily saved par from where I thought my lie might have been, but the real penalty was losing a disc. The hole was also along a paved walking/biking path, but one can't really utilize it for a run up
because the bench is right behind the wooden marker for the end of the tee (very stupid design flaw).

The 13th was a great hole that could be reached, with a nicely guarded green, but it was, once again RHBH only.

The 14th should be an easy deuce at 280 feet. The problem is that it's 210 feet to an enormous tree that forces you once again into a tunnel shot to get under the limbs on either side (it's sad that one of the few open holes where one could throw with full power and high forces you into a low shot again). I landed about 30 feet past and then the hole goes straight uphill for another 40 feet to a basket in woods on a hill. I love the green, but any hole with that well guarded and protected a green should have a more fair path to get to the hole or it should be much shorter (and did I mention again that the only way you might get close is if you are RHBH?).

I'd almost forgotten where the 15th was hidden and had to backtrack after searching on that side of the road. One has to cross above ground and it's a very long walk. The 15th is probably the most narrow fairway (5 feet?) and the most wooded for 100 feet before going out into the open area for the last 150. I felt it was the most unfair and impossible hole on the course. Of course, it is RHBH only.

Woops! #16 blows the previous hole out of the water for being unfair and impossible. It's a very short hole and yet you have to walk 100 feet forward before you get a glimpse of the yellow band on the basket. The hole is sort of in the open, but the RHBH (of course!) hole is so densely wooded and narrow in fairway that its 200 something feet is almost unreachable (and lost disc abound for those who take aggressive routes).

#17 is a relatively easy and decent hole that still tends to favor RHBH a bit and forces one into a low tunnel shot despite the apparent openness of the hole. It is also close to shelters, playground equipment and other park users.

#18 appears long and open, but we are once again forced into a low tunnel shot (though it finally favors a LHBH). It is listed at about 310, but appears to be closer to 360. Again, it is far too near other park users and facilities.
Other Thoughts: No paved tees.
The long marsh grass needs to be eliminated.
Almost nothing but tunnel shots with fairways that are far too narrow.
Dangerous for other park users at the beginning.

The best way to redesign the course might be to have it start at #3 and eliminate the first two holes. There would be no conflict with playground equipment and no crossing of fairways to reach tees. The 16th should become the final hole and the last two holes should be eliminated.

There is a vast amount of land on the other side of the road. While a few of those holes should be redesigned and some trees should be cut, there is easily enough room to add 4 holes over there to make up for those eliminated on the other side of the road. Perhaps those 4 holes could even add more variety in distances, be lefty holes, and make this perfect piece of land into a championship caliber course.

A small town of 5000 should have a course that challenges intermediate players while not being a disc eater that turns off beginners (there was no one out there and if anyone played there, I should have found a dozen discs while searching for mine).

The way it is currently designed is not good for disc golf.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course where there aren't other course options...

1    5/25/2014   6/3/2014
Review By: Dr Derek
Played: 142  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A clean park with new Innova DiscCatcher baskets, nice tee signs, and bricks in the ground pointing you to the next tee (which comes in handy for a first-timer). Hole layouts are interesting and fun, with small elevation changes, some moderate distance shots and fun lines to navigate.
Cons: Grass was tall and overgrown in the rough areas on holes 6-12 (?), and lost discs can happen if you aren't paying close attention. Some holes play very close to park walking/biking trails and a playground, but surprisingly it wasn't a busy day at the park despite being a beautiful Saturday afternoon.
Other Thoughts: This course had a pretty low rating considering that it has many redeeming qualities, especially considering that there aren't many options in this part of the state. I wouldn't drive way out of my way for it, but would definitely play it again next time I'm passing through.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good design, needs more maintenance

1    8/27/2011   9/24/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 901  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 7.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Nice discatchers with the bright yellow band . . . very helpful on a few tighter holes to help you find your basket.

2) Nice variety across this 18 hole course, I can see how the original 9 didn't draw much interest but the new 9 holes really adds to the diversity.

3) Elevation used well on a couple of holes. You need to elevate your disc at times and other times you need to throw down a hill (although pretty slight, it still affects your shot making). There are also a couple of holes where you throw from one point over a hollow area and back up to the same level you threw from. It makes for an interesting shot too.

4) Prairie style holes, tight wooded holes, fairly open park style holes, and some that run along or over a wetland and another few that run along the banks of a river although the water won't come into play most likely but the tall grass along the banks will.

5) Nice new signs on 4x4 posts make it easy to navigate the course. The signs have all the info, Hole #, Map, Distance and Par.

6) Bathrooms, playgrounds, baseball fields, pavillions, and just about anything else your standard small town park would have.

7) Practice Basket is available at the first tee area, although it could use a little more room. It is surrounded by the wetland and scrub brush, and the parking lot so you would need to stand in the parking lot to make 30' putts.
Cons: 1) Dirt/grass tees are always frustrating . . .maybe they will raise enough money for concrete now that the course has been completed at 18 holes. It would make my experience more enjoyable. There are also a lot of issues with footing in some fairways as the soil is really loose and sandy.

2) Dangerous to throw on a few holes like #1, #2, #17, #18 because they are so close to the other park areas and the main pavillion.

3) The newer holes in the tight wooded area on hole 6-14 seem to need some more maintenance to open up the holes.

4) Mosquitoes could be a real problem here right along the river, next to tall grass areas, etc.

5) Lost discs would be really an often occurance because of the tall grassy areas.
Other Thoughts: Running right along the Pine River the scenery on this course is enjoyable. There is an ultimate of variety on the course and decent to good amenities here. The birdies are tough to come by on about half of the holes, and the other half are kindof there for the taking with good drives.

Don't go out of your way to hit this course up quite yet because it seems like the additional 9 are still a work in progress, but if you are in the area you will find enjoyment here, you might find some frustration also due to the middle holes being "incompletely maintained", but I have warned you in advance. I have no idea when these changes happened but I would guess it was not too long before I played the course (perhaps a few months).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Could be a lot better

11/21/2007   11/21/2007
Review By: kvanorsdel
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 12.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Small community has provided a course for the area kids to enjoy.
Cons: While the course could have a pretty nice layout around Krouskop Park there were some issues.

During the summer this can be a very busy park and since the course runs very close and parallel to the playground equipment there are some major safety issues, The distance markers were hard to read at times and other times hard to even find. The markers are 4x4 post about 10" off the ground, the baskets are homemade and the tees were difficult to find. Supposedly there are two set of tees per hole but I rarely saw them both.
Other Thoughts: When I have played this course the local kids all had regular Frisbees which may reduce the safety issues for them. There appears to be room for modifying the course to be safer.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.