Aberdeen, SD 
Richmond Lake Rec. Area Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2
3 / 250ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Now is the Best Time of the Yea

1    4/26/2014   4/27/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 345  Reviewed: 341  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of fun wooded holes. Most of the holes are on the shorter end but they had a high fun factor to me.
-All holes are aceable if you hit the right line, some are easier than others.
-I found it easy to get 3s even with a poor tee shot but hard to get too many 2s because the lines are tight.
-Cement tees were in good shape. There were longer natural tees as well.
-Baskets are older but still catch just fine.
-Maps/scorecards are the best out there. They are made by our very own DSCJNKY.
-It was pretty easy to navigate, especially with the map found at the beginning of the course.
-Not a ton of elevation but there are some fun holes with elevation. Hole 7 was a solid uphill with a protected basket and 8 was a decent downhill with no line other than over the top. Both fun holes.
-This is a state rec area with lots of fun things to do at this beautiful lake.
Cons: -There were like 3 tee signs left on the course. All the holes had the stand and frame for a sign but they were broken out.
-Not a lot of length or length variation. It did get a little repetitive.
-It is pay to play as it is in a state rec area. If you live in-state, I would recommend buying a season pass and playing one of these courses every time you are near. They are mostly pretty good courses.
-Others have said that this course can get overgrown or buggy. It is early in the season now and it is great. Play in spring or fall for ideal results.
Other Thoughts: -This is a good course for most skill levels. You have to be pretty on to hit the lines in the woods but you can recover easily if you don't. Good challenge for advanced players and approachable enough for others.
-This course is in the middle of nowhere so unless you live in Aberdeen or happen to be traveling by on 212, this course isn't worth going out of the way for. I hit it up along with Mobridge and Roy Lake in an effort to play every course in SD.
-Aberdeen has got to be one of the bigger towns out there to not have a course of its own. Locals have to drive 15 minutes each way to play this course. I saw a few good looking parks while driving through town. They need to get on it!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Could be a lot better

1    7/14/2013   8/21/2013
Review By: BenderTheThrowbot
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice setting in the "back woods" of Aberdeen. Way off the beaten path for travelers. I see the potential this course has. Nice layout of holes; blind shots, back and fore hand friendly holes.
The current condition of this course adds an extra challenge to the game.
Cons: WAY OVERGROWN!!! Cut the trees back, knock down some of the undergrowth and this would be a top-notch course.
I'm glad the locals destroy the signs....it adds that wonderful mystery of "where the hell should I throw?" to the game. Keep it up people and the state will just make it a walking path!
Other Thoughts: This course has an above average layout. After throwing at some of the best places in the midwest (blue ribbon, highbridge) I gave this place a try on a family reunion.
This could be a start of a SD Highbridge...if they wanted. There is enough land available to put 54 more holes in. It has a good mix of woods and open area, with wonderful elevation changes.
I would guess that the locals piss down their own leg and get this course closed, I do hope for the opposite though.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Draco1010

5+    9/9/2012   10/16/2012
Review By: Draco1010
Played: 7  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this coarse is a very good sized coarse, short and long-long holes
lots of variations
every hole feels as if it is one of a kind
i love the practice putting basket and practice putting game stones
Cons: i played this coarse when it was in its peak 8 years ago and it was well maintianed
there needs to be more trash cans and some of the fairways need to be trimbed back
Other Thoughts: i always have a great time playing Richmond

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Technical, Buggy Course In The Trees!

1    7/11/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a forrest of pine trees. Many of the holes are fairly tight. Holes 1, 2 and 3 are basic tunnel shots. There are concrete pads with rec distances and then longer natural pads for the advanced tees. I assume they were added in later to give a greater challenge. The baskets are older ones which are fine here. Because this park area is fairly isolated, many of the signs have been vandalized or destroyed. # 7 and # 8 are both little over the top of the tree throws for anyone who a throw a 200' tomahawk. Unfortunately, my aging arm tops out at about 75 feet. # 9 is a fun little ACE run. There is a nice variety of tunnel and then some more open holes here. The course ends right back at the beginning. I always like that in a course design.
Cons: There had been a lot of rainfall in previous days so much of the course was muddy. I had to take a few detours around some wet areas. Everything felt a little rundown, a little neglected. It's out here in the woods. The signs are in bad shape. It doesn't seen as though anyone has done much to improve or maintain this course in quite some time. I think it could use a little TLC. And the misquitos were a major annoyance.
Other Thoughts: I'm stumbling along by # 13. I'm hot, sweaty and I'm battling the ever present misquitos. From the lovely closeby lake, I hear music, jet boats, girls laughing and splashing while being towed behind the ski boats and I think to myself, " Maybe I'd rather be out there in the lake with those girls?"

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Played this course thousands of times.

5+    9/27/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: justindfpr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/5/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hard fun course if you're new to it. Lots of options on pretty much every hole. Over the trees or down the middle. Good mix of hyzer and anhyzer routes. Most holes have overhead throw options too which you'll see from a lot of the people that play it. The course has become very tight over the years from tree growth. Alternate pin placements have been added on 5 holes. 1, 5,10,14 and 16. The pine trees give a lot of protection on windy days until it gets into the 30+ mph days, which happens more often than you're used to if you aren't from the midwest.
Cons: THE BUGS! They get horrible over the summer and its avoidable if the park would spray at the right times. Richmond just got a new park manager and he is much more open to improving the course than the last one. Tee signs are trashed. Its 50/50 when it comes to the players. You have half that are loud, obnoxious, littering teenagers that come out there just to drink, smoke weed and be loud, break branches etc. The other half are out there to get better have fun and pick up after the litterbugs.
Other Thoughts: I love this course. Its the course that got me started. Its not the greatest course around these days but 10 years ago this course was top notch. Always play 2 rounds. Your score will always improve the 2nd time around.

I read the directions and they are incorrect. Forest Drive is a one way. Take the first right into it. Drive slow because there are a lot of walkers down that road.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Bring two cans of mosquito repelant

1    9/5/2008   9/20/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - A single use park with a nice view of the lake on a couple of holes, especially 13.
- Trees in play on every hole, but it's not a poke & hope like I'm used to in portions of Michigan. There are enough trees to keep you honest, but not enough to ruin your day.
- Makes the most out of the available elevation.
- Would probably be best played after the first hard freeze and before the first snow.
Cons: - The only thing I'll remember about this course is the army of mosquitoes that attacked me as soon as I got out of my car. It's almost like they wanted to get at the fresh meat before he could have a chance to get bug spray on. They didn't let up throughout the whole round, the bug spray merely kept them 6 inches away as they buzzed around me looking for an opening. It was absolutely brutal.
- Lots of missing signs (maybe 11 or 12 total) are a definite problem, especially on the front nine where you go back and forth across a clearing.
Other Thoughts: - I met three local guys who confirmed that this particular day was no fluke. They said that the state sprays the course every but that the mosquitoes simply fly in from other areas.
- Without the bugs, this would easily be a 3.5 or a 4 star course. Depending on what season you're playing in, you could have a nice round here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.