Disc Golf Store
San Antonio, TX 
Lackland Outdoor Adventure Center DGC Share
Uploaded By: shawn_l Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Needs some love

1    4/3/2014   4/3/2014
Review By: engelwood40
Played: 15  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 19.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of potential. Would love to see it get back to a useable course. The elevation changes and mix of open and wooded holes are even visible still but just needs to be severely cleared out and mowed!!!
Cons: Totally overgrown and downed baskets. The numbers on the baskets don't match up with where the tees say they are so the course even it is was playable needs some updates to the baskets.
Other Thoughts: Going to try and start a cleanup of this course because it sounds like it is never going to get mowed and well taken care of. I very much want this to be a playable course as it is one of the only ones I know of on a base.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice mix of basic and challenging

5+    10/30/2010   5/20/2009
Review By: shawn_l
Played: 29  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 5.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/5/2010
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is built on the old golf course at Kelly AFB. The Lackland OAC has plenty of discs for rent inside, and a clubhouse with restrooms, drinks and snacks. There are very nice scorecards with a map available.

The holes make outstanding use of the terrain and vegetation. There are some elevation changes on a handful of holes, 3 blind tee shots, a few tee shots that come out of tight trees, and 3 directly over water.

It's a fun mix of holes. It's tough to shoot under par, but it's tough to have a terrible round, either. The #16 hole is the showpiece, with its impressive views, and you just want to launch your whole bag and watch them sail down the hill.

The front 9 is pretty soft, and you'll need to take advantage of it as the back 9 is much tougher, and longer.

Holes 1-4 are almost must birdies. 5-7 are makeable pars, and hole 8-9 are birdies if you've got the stones to make the tee shot.

Holes 10-11 can be par but become bogeys if you're not careful. #12 is a hole you need to bomb low and straight to make par. #13 is my favorite, as you stand on a small hill and bomb it down into a little grove of some pretty large trees. 14 is more downhill than it looks, with a very large tree guarding the pin.

Hole 15 is a short over water shot, and 16 is the signature hole. 17 is over water, and 18 is a simple uphill final hole.

UPDATE: For 15, you now look uphill from the basket at 14 and see the old ball golf tee sign for 15. Throw for the #18 basket.
- For 16, throw from the stone tee at basket #18 to old basket #17.
- For #17, use the old #18 tee and basket.
- For #18, throw from the benches on the walking trail between #1 and #15 to the practice tee.
This is a very enjoyable course with a lot of variation. Some of the greens are built up, some are tucked behind or under trees, and all in all they add to the course.
Cons: It's not mowed as often as I'd like, but it doesn't get too tall. Just a little shaggy sometimes.

(Update from October 2010: The mowing and conditions have actually made the course so much better, I gave it an extra 1/2 disc in my rating. The fariways are mowed and the OB is now a bit more punishing to bad shots, like a great course should be. It's even mowed from one basket to the next tee! 15-17 are now completely unplayable, but some new holes have been marked.

Other Thoughts: You must have a military ID to get on the base, but you can get all the civilian friends in with you you want.

It is pretty cool that if you're there at 5 pm they play the National Anthem and everyone, everywhere takes a break and salutes (or holds their hand over their heart) and then goes back to what they're doing. This has to be the only DG course that has that.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

  Not the best course. but its a nice addition to base.

5+    1/1/2009   3/6/2009
Review By: turbo2125
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course does have the very long, elevation dropping hole, and a few tricky holes. Some water hazards and has a warm up basket. The course is free(if you can get on LAFB) and located behind the outdoor rec center on security hill. For the most part the first 8-9 holes are easy to find, and kept in good condition.
Cons: The large elevation drop hole is right beside a fairly high traffic street. The course is very easy to lose a disk on, even in what appears to be short grass, because it is not mowed on a regular basis. Many of the holes have tees that have been removed and a few tees have had the baskets removed. There WERE positions to move baskets, and for other holes, but they have mostly been rendered useless because of construction, and being broken. If you happen to hit one of the water hazards on (i think, it has been a while) around whole 7-9, its nearly impossible to get your dick back, even if you do manage to find it.
Other Thoughts: Many people use paths through the course for running or horseback riding. I lost a disk there on whole 5 or 6 my first time playing, and didnt find it for over 3 months, even though the grass was less than 1 foot high, and i had multiple friends on multiple occasions help me look. The course is very basic as far as difficulty level, and isnt well kept usually. But all in all, my friends and i use this course to warm up before heading out to McClain, and it gets the job done.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.