Albuquerque, NM 
Ladera Share
Uploaded By: AlexBradford Hole #18 (Taken 3/2012)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee Sign



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Better than nothing

5+    3/8/2013   3/17/2013
Review By: balloonerang
Played: 75  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Good basket placements and the designers really made most of a less than ideal park.

It is good to have a course on the Westside.
Cons: There are a couple holes that are just unreasonably long. I understand that some like that, I am just not one of them.
Other Thoughts: Pay attention to where your throw lands, I have spent hours searching for errant drives.

Although this course generally calls for long drives, there are a few ace-able holes. I have one ace there this year and several that nearly stuck.

Needs some Love

5+    3/22/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: HarrMarc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4 Years
Pros: Good for the long-distance driving. Sand makes for a "good second shot" day. Great for people looking to work on their approach.
Cons: Course is poorly marked. Tee signs face one direction, tee pad another, no arrows to offer direction; not all tees are flagged, and none have any sort of reflective or brightly colored tape to offer guidance. Distances on tee markers are not accurate. Mandatory listings on tee markers are not always clear (e.g., "mando right" on an open hole with a pin to the left begs explanation - mandatory right around what?). Area is open to off-road vehicles, which are loud and obnoxious. Not a whole lot of trash cans on the course, so there's lots of garbage on the course. Boring design and lack of trees & vegetation (save for sage brush) make for little more than an hour of free-flinging your discs in the dust.
Other Thoughts: As much as I did not like this course, i liked this course. It was in my back yard so i played it 2-3 times a week.

 Satans Playground

1    9/15/2012   10/1/2012
Review By: Cwlarson
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: They have 18 baskets...
Cons: Tee box signs missing, horrible placement of baskets, unsafe terain for walking, have to have a spotter to watch throws to preevnt losing any disc's.
Other Thoughts: It's a horrible course I will never return to play. One time was one time too many for me.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Depression Era Vacant Lot Feel To Ladera!

1    3/27/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 682  Reviewed: 634  Exp: 36.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Ladera is across the street from a ball golf course and next to a dog park. Some might call it desert like but to me it just seemed like a big ole vacant lot. There were a few trees, a little elevation to contend with but mostly a lot of sage brush, rock and sand. Not a real impressive landscape for a course. The designers did a pretty good job dealing with what they had. They incorporated a few mandos to create interest. # 1 gives you the option of throwing over a rail fence or playing around it. # 4 had you throwing through a double mando, I think between two light poles. It was kind of an interesting hole. The course provides enough of a challenge with it's length, steady winds, and thick undergrowth.
Cons: It's just not a very pretty area. Because it's just this open off-road area that seemingly gets used for ATV's, motorcycles and whatever else, there's some garbage lying around. And even without the garbage, it's just a big dusty, sandy, hot, shadeless, semi arid desert. I asked five locals if I could tag along with them. I'm glad I did. Navigation would have been really difficult by myself.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't see myself coming back here and playing much. It's just wasn't an physically enjoyable place in which to play. The course itself wasn't so dreadful. I'm guess I'm spoiled by playing in the NW woods and on green grass. If I lived in Albuquerque, all my disc golf time and energy would be spent over at Roosevelt and with the occasional trip up to Santa Fe to play Arroyo.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Dull & Dusty

5+    3/28/2010   4/8/2010
Review By: DrDipsomania
Played: 52  Reviewed: 12
This review was updated on 4/10/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very few things are positive about this course. It does offer a slight variety of shots, but without many natural obstacles, most of these are created by arbitrary mandatory shots (two around 1" metal poles that are not flagged). Some long distance driving opportunities are available.
Cons: Course is poorly marked. Tee signs face one direction, tee pad another, no arrows to offer direction; not all tees are flagged, and none have any sort of reflective or brightly colored tape to offer guidance. Distances on tee markers are not accurate. Mandatory listings on tee markers are not always clear (e.g., "mando right" on an open hole with a pin to the left begs explanation - mandatory right around what?). Area is open to off-road vehicles, which are loud and obnoxious. Not a whole lot of trash cans on the course, so there's lots of garbage on the course. Boring design and lack of trees & vegetation (save for sage brush) make for little more than an hour of free-flinging your discs in the dust.
Other Thoughts: Toss some man-made obstacles out there for mandatory shots - at least it will add some character to the course. Awful to play on even a mildly windy day.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Ladera

1    12/12/2008   5/14/2009
Review By: Juggalo Alex
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good for the long-distance driving. Sand makes for a "good second shot" day. Great for people looking to work on their approach.
Cons: Nothing to really obstruct your shot. Rock is about the only thing aside from dirt to stop your disc. The dirt does play havoc with your throws for sure.
Other Thoughts: Bring some boots if you plan on playing.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 dust bowl

1    8/30/2008   8/30/2008
Review By: Innovadude
Played: 225  Reviewed: 178  Exp: 16.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Long
-Has some signs and is navigable eventually
-Elevation changes from man made berms
-OB and mandos to add challenge
Cons: -Little to no trees
-Dusty dry desert land
Other Thoughts: Just a big ol' open bowl of dust surrounded by a rock berm with a few trees, OB and mandos. Long and not very interesting.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.