Wichita Falls, TX 
Lake Arrowhead State Park Share
Uploaded By: texhop58 Hole #12 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 282ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Fairway Golf

5+    8/5/2015   8/5/2015
Review By: hotstang
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: Good course to test accuracy.
Most holes you can use midranges and putters.
Good signage.
Easy flow.
Never busy.
Should be a quick round.(Accuracy)
Plenty of parking.
Cons: Older Mach type baskets.
Dirt tees.
Bad shots can be trouble.
Other Thoughts: Course is inside a state park so you can spend the day after the round. They offer things for the family.
And they offer disc for use if you forget yours.
Jeans are recommended.
This course is basically in my back yard.
My kids and I play it often.

 Environmental Factor Is Nasty

1    7/14/2015   7/18/2015
Review By: cparish
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Like another reviewer said, this course will challenge your handle on accuracy. Its design isn't conventional, so if you like a challenge, then here you have it.
Cons: Where do I begin? This course was a nightmare for me and my buddy. We had just gone fishing and decided to play this seemingly all-too-simple course before it got dark. For anyone who's played at multiple disc golf courses, the numerous short holes (usually 140-250ft) you pass driving to the start of the course will trick you into believing it will be a cake walk. LIES! The fairways are "mowed" at about 6 inches high and are very narrow. Any disc you throw that's lucky enough to stay on the fairway will not bounce or slide across the grass; rather it will be immediately hugged to the ground. One reviewer said players better be able to throw a tomahawk to play this course--they're right. You either need to throw your disc over the mesquite trees blocking the basket or curve your disc around them. Almost no hole is a straight shot (granted I never finished the course). The moment you accidentally overthrow or your disc veers off the fairway into the rough, your disc golf experience, no matter what it was previously, will go to poop. Even if your disc landed five feet off the fairway, you're going to have to go on a full-fledged expedition to retrieve it. The brush is so tall that it hides all discs that enter it. That whole horror cliche of "they went in, and no one ever saw them again" could very well apply to discs on this course. There are large farm spiders about every 5 feet and some sort of poisonous plant (but not poison ivy) that stings you every time it touches your bare skin. And this plant is EVERYWHERE! After the second hole, my buddy and I had that poison all over our ankles and hands from trying to get our discs that were only right off the fairway. It was horrible. And you deal with that on every hole. If you're not an expert player, you may as well wear jeans and gloves because you'll likely have to go into the brush on every hole. We only made it through hole 4 before we couldn't take it anymore. Anyone who decides to play this course during the summer wearing short socks, shorts, and no gloves and makes it through the whole thing deserves a medal. Bottom line: play a different course if you're not a seasoned disc golf player that can keep your disc on the fairway. And even if you are, be prepared to deal with the environmental factor.
Other Thoughts: Maybe this is a winter course, kind of like having a winter house. With the poisonous plants dead, this course would be really interesting to play outside of green seasons.

Great course to practice accuracy

2-4    4/2/2014   4/29/2014
Review By: TxViper3187
Played: 21  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 13.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course is in much better shape than the first couple of times I played. Fairways are mowed and much wider now. Short course that requires accurate shots because the "rough" is at least knee high. Good quality baskets (although there is one that is almost on the ground and one that is almost taller than I am). Decent mix of left/right/straight shots.
Cons: Natural tees
Holes 6 and 7 play along the road (not much traffic) with only about 10 feet of land that is still "in bounds" making them difficult for right handed throwers and nearly impossible for lefties.
Other Thoughts: Price has changed to $3 per person
Parks and Wildlife has run a couple of tournaments at this course and that could be the reason for the improved fairways and better up keep.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 off of memory

5/12/2005   6/12/2008
Review By: hopper58
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: its been about 3-4 years since ive played this one...so this is off the best i can remember. not alot of players is always a plus, and you will see why on the cons....the course is intresting to say the least, if your looking for a change of pace or a place to loose a disc you dont want anymore this may be one to consider...the course must of been easy to figure out as me and a friend played without a map at about dusk ...you will also get to see a wide vaiety of wild life inlcuding in my trip (hawk, snakes, coyote, lizards, buzzard, texas size mosquitos, cows, plus many more) great for the wildlife disc golf player
Cons: where to start....im going to suggest playing in blue jeans and boots, and a long sleeve shirt, as you will play through several mesquite trees (on every hole) i think i still have scars from where i played and its been over 3 years, be careful where you reach down and/or walk as you may be closer to an animal then you think you are. there is a fairway, its about 2 feet wife all the way to the basket...goodluck landing on it though, Again wildlife will come into play ( in all fairness it was cool to see a hawk looking at you off the basket your trying to throw to) there was one or two holes that you almost played on the road, you had some tee signs but they didnt help on all holes ast you wre still throwing into a mesquite patch...
Other Thoughts: if you are up for an adventure in your disc golf life this may be a park to try for you

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


4/16/2008   4/16/2008
Review By: gravedigger
Played: 55  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 7.5 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Interesting. Very, very interesting.
Cons: Lots of blind shots. Nothing but short, ugly trees. No real fairways to throw in. It's seems as if it was laid out by taking a map and throwing darts at it.
Other Thoughts: I sure hope you can throw a tomahawk. It's about your best shot on 15/18 holes.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.