Edwards, CO 
Lake Creek Village Apartments Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Collection of Baskets by the River

1    8/25/2013   8/25/2013
Review By: Wise Fool
Played: 123  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 5.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Nice Innova Disc-Catcher baskets that catch well
-Some slight elevation changes on the course
Cons: -There are no tee-pads, or if there are they are impossible to find. We did not find a single actual tee-pad on this course, we played from near the last basket. We could not find a map for this course either, though I have a feeling one doesn't exist.
-This course gets quite overgrown. The grass and brush got quite tall on several of the holes and was quite itchy and scratchy.
-There are pretty much no obstacles on this course and the land is very boring for a disc golf course (other than the slight elevation change).
-The course plays really close to some of the apartment buildings and close to a walking path, and there could be a few safety issues
-Hole 1 basket was missing
-There was a some what long walk back to the car from the last basket if you park at the leasing office.
Other Thoughts: I get the feeling that this course barely ever gets played, as a lot of people seemed to be very intrigued by what we were doing. There really isn't any reason at all to stop at this course. I wouldn't even think it is very good for practice because of the tall grass present throughout the whole. Overall, don't waste your time playing this course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/14/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 73  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good baskets
Cons: Dirt tee pads, really bad place for a course. Right next to some apartments, you end up throwing pretty close to where people live and where kids are playing. No signage, i never found the first tee or basket.
Other Thoughts: If your in edwards its worth playing but otherwise dont waste your time.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fagwards DGC

5+    3/30/2010   3/30/2010
Review By: ECR-4-Lyf
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I use this course in that awkward time of year when Beaver Creek and Vail have yet to open, and Eagle is far too windy to play (March-April). Set on a narrow strip of land between the apartments and the river, this short, 9-holed course is good practice for one's short game. A good course to get an ace on! but good luck finding the tees
Cons: Horribly maintained course. Undergrowth is abundant and obnoxious. There are no real tee boxes, just two big rocks to throw in-between for each hole. Avoid this course if possible.
Other Thoughts: As said in previous reviews: Vail, Beav, Glenwood, and Frisco are all much better courses that aren't located too far away from Edwards. However, if you're really in the mood to work on your short game and play a crappy course at the same time, Lake Creek is the way to go.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Terrible

1    8/4/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: ECityRoller
Played: 35  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: None
Cons: Crazy thick grass, smashed between a river and houses and no marking for the holes after 3. Beav is like 5 min. away so dont even waist your time... Most people who live here dont even know about it it sucks so much...
Other Thoughts: There is no markings so that makes it tough, and there are super dense bushes and cactus that are a pain to look for. My friend lost 2 discs in 1 game and we looked for a good hour for them. Dont go to Edwards

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Not a Player's Course

1    6/3/2009   6/15/2009
Review By: klay
Played: 146  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/3/2009
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easily accessible, right off of Interstate 70. Located in a very beautiful part of the Colorado high country.
Cons: Sandwiched between the Eagle river and a populous apartment complex. Holes 5-9 are all mashed into a small open space and have no real layout. Entire course runs along a busy pedestrian path so you are constantly waiting for people to pass at busy times of day. There is also a busy kids playground area that you tee off towards on hole 3. Baskets are close to the apartments and people's "yards" so you risk hitting buildings and/or throwing from private property. Undergrowth on fairways is low but surprisingly dense so even those with extra watchful eyes spend way too much time searching for discs.
Other Thoughts: Nothing about the actual playing portion of this course makes it worth visiting. Since it is only a few miles from my home, I use it to practice my short game (mid-range and putting) but will never go there to seriously play it. The first and only time I did I ran into some high school kids who were throwing around and asked them about the course layout. They said they would play 1-4 normally and then basically make it up as they go for 5-9 since there was no real layout. The constant non-disc golf traffic through the area combined with the disc swallowing grass left me spending way too much time waiting and searching than I should have.

Long story short, if you're traveling along I-70 and see this course pop up on DGCR, don't bother. Frisco, Vail, Beaver Creek and CMC Glenwood Springs are all much better, 18 hole choices. If you want a short 9 holer on the river head down to New Castle but don't waste your time at Lake Creek. (Update: Fire Mountain DGC in New Castle has expanded to 18 holes, which means the closest 9 hole course is Bert & Ernie down in Carbondale.)

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.