Jamestown, KY 
Lake Cumberland State Resort Park Share
Uploaded By: LCDGer Hole #1 (Taken 3/2009)
3 / 235ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 A 4-Star 15 Hole Course......

1    6/18/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: jobwilson
Played: 72  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Allow me to preface this review by saying that the Pros of this review all involve the holes on the golf course side of the road. The three holes across the road will be addressed in the Cons section.

-Tee pads are great. They are nice and roomy and very grippy. I played after some pretty sizable rain and didn't have any issues with slippage.
-Basket placements are outstanding. A lot of touchy placements on sides of old tee boxes, inside well placed trees. The placements provide a great risk/reward factor.
-Trees are utilized very nicely. This is definitely not a wooded course, but the trees are placed very well, creating some challenging shots.
-Great use of elevation. From the bottom at hole 1, to the top at Hole 7's teepad is probably a 70' change in elevation. This layout really utilizes this elevation to make for some fun and challenging throws.
-Course is throwing-style friendly. I don't feel like the course lent to any particular throwing hand or style. Most holes were RHBH or LHBH friendly while some challenged you to either throw a sidearm or sharp anhyzer.
Cons: -Holes 11-13 do not fit the course at all. That being said, I can't see them on any course. They are basically tee-pads with baskets 200' through the woods. There are no real flight lines. There aren't defined paths. Basically you are hoping to not hit a tree and be within striking distance of the basket. Hole 13 has a an opening, but is in no means a good hole.
To me, it feels like HB designed the course on the ball golf side, got to the end and realized he had only designed 15 holes.
-Because the course was designed in a fairly small area, there are a lot of conflicting holes. If a lot of people were on the course, there could be many chances to hit other players on other holes.
-If you are playing the course blind, you need to walk over hills to see where the baskets are. This isn't enough of a con for me to take away from the course rating, but something to be aware of.
-The flow could be confusing. Since there are so many holes crammed into a small area, you may be seeing more than one basket when you are on the teepad. Just make sure to take a second and look at the baskets. The baskets are numbered with large letters.
Other Thoughts: I had fun on this course and would enjoy playing it again. I feel like it's a very fun course with the exception of the wooded holes.
I really enjoyed hole 18. It's a 275' with about 40' elevation drop. There is a huge tree directly in front of you. If you enjoy throwing spike hyzers, you will love this hole.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very scenic, lots of fun

1    12/14/2010   12/14/2010
Review By: weeman
Played: 227  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 10.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to begin... The tee pads are in excellent condition and are ample size on the course. None of the holes require that large a run up or one at all so they are fine as is. The baskets are in condition and catch nicely (when I throw a good putt). The tee signs are in good condition and the posts indicate the hole number on all sides so you don't have to walk all the way up and around to see if you're in the correct spot. Throughout the course, you'll find constant elevation changes with no hole on level ground. Even the big up hills are reachable by players of most skill levels. Several big down hills allow for some good rips but going too far will leave you with a daunting uphill lay up or putt. Numerous basket placements are on the edge of old golf tee pads which means a portion of the disc golf green is level while the rest has a severe drop off with the potential for big rollaways. The available trees on the course are well used to suggest some routes to the basket and several holes have large grass clusters (don't know the official name for them) that line the fairways or are around the tee pads. Thought those added a nice touch.
Cons: Not many complaints in my book. Overall none of the holes are unreachable so its strictly a par 3 course. Most all of the holes favor a right hand back hander with only a few really requiring a sidearm or turnover shot. This won't change many players to truly master different types of shots unless they really want to. They can just play the hole for par and move on. As pretty much all other reviewers mentioned holes 11-13 aren't in with the flow of this course. None of them have fairways only tee pads, signs, and baskets. More skilled players will be able to negotiate these holes with some success but less skilled players won't enjoy these compared to the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: The scenery and general atmosphere of this course is fantastic. I played it with several inches of snow on the ground and saw animal tracks all over the course. Lake Cumberland is one of the best short courses I've played in a long time and highly recommend it for players of all skill levels. Only other thing I have is that there isn't anywhere on the course where the lake comes into play. Figuring that its in Lake Cumberland State Park that they could incorporate this body of water into the course. Maybe move numbers 11-13 to down near the water on the front nine side of the course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/9/2009   10/11/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course Essentials:
The course uses Innova DISCatcher baskets that show some signs of wear, but are still in good shape. Each hole has a concrete tee pad, and nice signs with distance and accurate layout. A kiosk is located near the first tee with a course map and scorecards. A practice basket is located near the first tee.

Course Design & Layout:
The course is installed on what used to be a ball golf course. You can still tell where the old golf tees were located, and several of these areas have been reused for the disc golf tees and pin placements. The course is under 5,000ft making for an average of roughly 260ft/hole, and pretty open for the most part. Elevations are present on most every hole, and used effectively to increase visual appeal and create a more challenging layout.
Pin placements are very strategic throughout the course taking full advantage of slopes, drop-offs, and the minimal amount of trees located throughout the disc course. The pin placements are accessible, but get on the wrong side of the pin, and you'll find yourself faced with a decision to go for it and risk rolling down a 30ft+ hillside, or play it safe and go for the easy 3.

There aren't a lot of trees on the course, but they were used to effectively to create "preferred" lines off of the tee and to guard the baskets on several holes. Holes 11-13 are completely different from the rest of the course. They are very short, heavily wooded, and located on the side of a steep hill that slopes toward the marina. Hole 11 is narrow, but has a defined fairway. Hole 12 & 13 are more about pure luck to clear the trees and get to the basket, not much of a line on these 2 holes.

The course is comprised of 2-9hole loops that each return to the parking area, and has a great flow from hole to hole. Despite the fact that multiple pins are often visible, and in some locations, multiple tees are located in close proximity, the course was still pretty easy to navigate.

Maintenance:
The maintenance on the course is fantastic. The park was very clean, and the grass was well manicured. It is one of the best maintained courses that I have played. There was no excess foliage to speak of or deal with at all.
Cons: The 3 wooded holes seem to be more thrown together than the rest of the course. With the limited space, it looks like they ran out of room and had to piece these holes together to get a full 18. Hole 11 isn't so bad, but 12 and 13 aren't very good golf holes.

Lack of variety and challenge: The course seems to favor the RHBH throwing style with significantly more right to left hyzer routes than anything. Overall, this course is very beginner friendly, and isn't going to challenge the experienced player. The course is pretty simple and straight-forward.
Other Thoughts: Despite the simple nature of the course, it was really, really fun to play. The elevations make for some very fun downhill shots, especially the finishing hole. The park itself was very nice and also had a lot to offer other than disc golf and very family friendly. There is a nature center and playground area near the course. If you are in the area, you won't regret making a stop by the Lake Cumberland State Resort Park.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Old ball course, reused

2-4    7/6/2009   2/4/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/11/2011
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It is set on an old (and I would assume a 9 hole par-3) ball golf course. Surrounded by the lake making for nice views. Though a shorter course, I still thought it was fun. Hilly enough to be a challenge, but not to where it will totally exhaust you. Some baskets are placed right on the hillside to make you play smart, you can go for a birdie, but you might get a bogey or worse. A couple of the downhill holes are really fun to throw drives, including #18 where there is still remains of the old green.

There is ample parking and a kiosk with course map and scorecards. There are nice restrooms and water fountain in the nature center. The course has concrete tees, a practice basket, very good tee signs, and regularly mowed fairways. Also, for those who like the nature experience of disc golf, there are sometimes deer on the course.
Cons: As stated in the other posts, the 3 wooded holes inserted in the middle are across the road and out of character of the rest of the course. There is little to no fairway, and if you hit a tree there is a chance your disc will fly quickly down the hill towards the marina. These 3 holes are much harder than the other 15, but the biggest thing to me is they don't fit in with the style of the rest of the course.

Nothing to do with DG, but the lake is very, very low due to fears that the dam might break!
Other Thoughts: Not the longest course, but I still thought this was a unique course and very fun to play. Definitely worth a stop if you are in the vicinity. There are other lake and park activities available as well.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Well manicured course

1    11/28/2008   11/29/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is on an old ball-golf course that sits on a hill on the edge of lake cumberland. It is right next to the Lake Cumberland State Park lodge/resort. My initial thoughts about this course is that it is extremely well manicured with short ball-golf grass.

The first few holes are all uphill hyzer shots with the basket on the edge of a steep downslope. In fact, about 75% of the baskets are perched dangerously close to drop offs, making even the experienced player think twice about going for it. The nicest thing about this course is the elevation and its natural beauty. There are quite a few birdies to be had, but not to worry - there are a few tricky holes, most notably the ones in the woods.

I have seen other reviewers say that there are no fairways for these holes, but I disagree. They are the kind of holes where your drive is a placement shot. If you land in a good area, it is an easy 3 - but if you are trying to get a birdie your disc will most likely kick off a tree and roll several hundred feet down the cliff towards the lake.

The finishing holes on this course were spectacular, with a couple nice downhill shots. The 18th is an extreme downhill shot with the basket directly in front, but a few large trees prevent a straight shot, unless you can hit a 5 foot window.

Overall, this course was very enjoyable, but I can not give it a really high rating because of the lack of variety, and relative shortness of the course.
Cons: Lack of variety.

Could be more challenging.
Other Thoughts: This course is worth checking out, and would be a great destination course in the summer when the lake water is nice and warm. (the 2 pulaski county courses are 30-40 mins away on the north side of the lake.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Dan Kilgore

1    10/27/2008   11/11/2008
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1180  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.5 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I liked how most baskets was on a fast green (meaning, the basket placement was at a slopes edgeor on a slope).

# 8 is a classic, that should be included in AMERICA's top 100 holes.

# 2 is also an unique hole, as it steadily goes uphills enough that's not punishing but an errant shot and you will be punished.
Cons: holes 11 - 13 blew chunks, actually blew chunks out of my discs as I tried to navigate through the tight woods (but that's one reason why I was throwing my glow- DX sidewinders, As the more beat I get em, the better the turn over for me, so it might be viewed as a pro??).

I thought hole # 18 could of been better by being a little longer, and the big tree in the way sorta hindered a right backhanders drive, by backing up the hole slightly this could of been a dandy of a finishing hole instead it left you with a 'okay' feeling.
Other Thoughts: Lake Cumberland Lodge is an excellent place to rest your head for the night as I did, a million dollar view at it's resturant. Great food and a return visit is in order for me at another time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Almost Excellent

7/16/2008   7/21/2008
Review By: ZMan44
Played: 134  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent concrete tees. Baskets in solid condition. Quiet and relaxing. Lots of elevation challenges. Risk/reward shots are abundant as some pins were situated on the edge of the hills. Blow-by putts could end up 50-75 feet away and downhill on certain holes. The course requires good management of your game. Placement off the tee is much more crucial than distance.
Cons: Holes 11-13 need much work and should not even be allowed to be called disc golf holes. The course looks like it was 15 holes...then they wanted 18 so they laid some concrete in the woods put up 3 baskets and, voila, 3 more holes. These holes have little, if any, fairway. They alone are the reason that I cannot rate this course a 4 or higher.
Other Thoughts: The atmosphere is one of the most pleasant I have ever played in. You are surrounded by water on 3 sides. (but it really never comes into play) The groundskeeping is immaculate. Paths are mowed leading from baskets to the next tee. Signs are EXCELLENT. If you only like to play courses where you can crush your drives, then don't go to Lake Cumberland. But, if you want a quiet, relaxing round where you can practice some different shots, this course is a fabulous option.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very cool

3/16/2008   3/16/2008
Review By: WillA
Played: 28  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 4.3 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Unlike most courses which are on whatever cast-off piece of land available this is on an old ball golf course - at least 15 of the 18 holes are. The view is great. There is a great variety of shot shapes and there is a lot of elevation change. I love the downhill vistas and the view of the lake. Also, it;s located right by the lodge so you have access to a restaurant and it would be a good place to go spend a weekend and play.
Cons: Three holes are in the woods and barely have fairways. In fact you could argue that two of them do not have a fairway. You just have to throw a tomahawk and hope.
Other Thoughts: Par is 54 for 18 holes but there are still some biride opportunities and I don't think any of the holes should be 4's.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.