Disc Golf Store
Eureka, IL
Lake Eureka DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 285ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 18
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Eureka does not suck.

1    10/25/2013   10/26/2013
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 98  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 13.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Favorite kind of course: heavily wooded with rolling terrain
+ Very attractive park
+ Requires some very accurate throws on tight lines in the woods
+ Good variety of left / right, uphill / downhill shots.
+ I love the ravines, humps and bumps, natural drainageways, etc on the course. Not only are they visually appealing, but they make for some interesting stances and shots.
+ Some really nice "greens" that will repel a poorly played shot.
Cons: - Concrete tees may be a little small, but I don't think they are too bad considering the length of the holes.
- Navigation is tricky in parts, with some long walks between holes. Print out the course map (with aerial).
- Tee signs only have distance. There are enough holes where you can't see the basket from the tee to make this an issue.
- I'm sure there are legitimate reasons why it doesn't, but I would have loved to see the course somehow utilize the creek near 14-17.
- No alternate tees or basket locations (at least that I saw).
Other Thoughts: I would like to see this course when the foliage is fuller, to see how nasty the rough can be and what the lines look like. I can imagine it could be visually intimidating to recreational players, even though the length is suited more towards the rec and intermediate level. The biggest hazards when I played were the leaves covering discs, tee pads, and tripping hazards. Overall, I was very pleased with this course. It reminds me of my favorite local course, Baraboo Lions DGC, but with even more of an emphasis on tight lines in the woods. Keep in mind that I'm a player who is happy with 300' drives, so I like the length of the course and the opportunities for deuces with an accurate tee shot. I can see how some of the more advanced players may knock the course for its lack of length.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Second favorite area course after McNaughton

5+    8/9/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Aestheticflight
Played: 132  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: a woods course which I like, Interesting Topography that is fairly well used, I have never seen many people here playing so you kind of have it to yourself. Fun course to play I thought. Tight fairways and challenging at times.
Cons: A few of the tees were a bit hard to find. On one I had to walk about and hunt for the first time I played( it should be better marked to indicate the next tee on a few holes), Most were easy to find though. I wish a few holes that are kind of unimaginative could have made use of some of the cool terrain areas that were not utilized. I realize that the park probably dictated what could and could not be used but, it had a lot of potential that wasn't brought into play.
Other Thoughts: Good job on the design of this course. It is my second favorite course in the area. Thanks to the workers who did the work to bring it to us.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

I don't get this course

1    9/5/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: PeoriaRa
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: Lots of shade. Finding the next tee from the basket results in excellent exercise. Parking is convenient. You might see a deer, wolf or Bigfoot.
Cons: 1. Bewildering course layout 2. Climbing into ravines to retrieve discs. 3. Sticker bushes. 4. Poison Ivy
Other Thoughts: I don't understand the fascination with playing disc golf in the woods. Yes, it results in a high difficulty level, and you have shade. But I don't want to spend my day retrieving discs from ravines and pulling burrs of my clothes. Or having to wear long sleeves and jeans in 90 degrees to avoid poision ivy. And isn't someone capable of finding a way to mark the path to the next tee? Sorry, I enjoy a challenge but playing disc golf in the woods is just stupid to me.

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

very nice course

1    5/17/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: BuzzArmStrong
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation change - Extremely scenic course which feels pretty secluded - Fairways range from being tight to fair and require different types of shots - Good mix of short and long holes - A few nice long open holes amidst tightly wooded areas make for a good mix and feels like a needed breather in the middle of a round.
Cons: Couple spots where the paths can be confusing (we printed a map that helped a lot - if it is your first time out I would suggest doing the same) - A few holes lacked imagination and given the land available could easily be redesigned.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to shoot one off the cliff, wish they would design a hole off of it (I'm not sure if there is a good place to do it at though).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Personal favorite

5+    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 89  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 9.9 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course. It's so pretty and secluded that even if you're having a tough round you can enjoy yourself.

*Beautiful trees and stream makes for one of the most scenic rounds of dg I've played

*Great mixture of wooded holes and open ones with all sorts of distances ranging from <200 to >500.

*Very nice park with trails and baseball fields

*Hole 1 is awesome with a tough shot of the tee into an open fairway that slopes hard right with the basket on the top of the slope

Cons: There are two holes at this course that i really don't like and they are really the only cons of the course

*Hole 16 is kind of bland compared to the others. Normally i like 300+ foot relatively open holes, but this one is only 303 ft and there are absolutely no obstacles... i just feel like there was enough land on site that they could have made this one a bit more interesting.

*I don't like hole 18 very much... the fairway takes an "S" bend, which normally isn't a bad feature, but on this hole the growth of trees are so thick and the "S" is so severe that the anheiser route to the hole is the best option to play, only the route goes directly at the parking lot. Not a fan.

*Tee signs don't have very much detail
Other Thoughts: Some people may comment that the walks/flow here is a bit bad, but in my opinion these flaws are more than made up for by the awesome disc golf in the course. Also, the walks are very scenic so they were more enjoyable than anything. I think every disc golfer in Illinois can justify a special trip to play this course alone, not to mention if they decide to play other courses in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Peoria Course I have played.

1    7/8/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: Pitty241
Played: 29  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very beautiful course with many tight fairways as well as great wide open holes.
-this course can test your short game for the most part with the exception # 9 and 10
-The course is very well maintained
-Has a Great facility of sports fields and hiking trails.
Cons: -The 16th hole was borring it was just a straight forward hole. Literally.
-There werent many trash cans and benches for in game rests.
-Some of the holes where hard to find.
-these holes had long walks to the tee that crisscrossed other trails to make it difficult
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to come and check out with a great layout that can test your technical short game.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    9/4/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Course is set is a densely forested area with tons of trees to contend with on almost every hole. Tight windows off the tee and tight fairways are present on a large majority of the holes. Pretty good mix of large trees and small trees, though most are pretty skinny. Some low ceilings are definitely present as well. Lots of different lines in the forest due to curving fairways, but overall a straight shot is most important. A little heavy on the right curves as well.
- A few holes outside of the forest add good variety and additional challenge. Hole #1 is an uphill shot with trees directly in front of the tee box; it is a very tough, yet relatively open, 258' shot. Other open holes have some significant length, and decent elevation change, so a driver is definitely needed at times. Hole #18 is a tough hole that plays into the forest with a tricky zig-zag fairway; the course makes good use of the available land to mix things up.
- Lots of little elevation changes are present throughout the course as well. A few holes have a decent uphill or downhill slope, or have a sloping fairway left-to-right. Some other holes, like #14, have rugged terrain that can make second shots or putts be from well below the usual fairway height. This greatly helps to add some variety.
- Good teepads and baskets, decent signage. Easy to navigate.
Cons: - My major gripe with this course is the short hole lengths. Most of the holes are around 200'-250', so there are a lot of holes where an accurate shot will get near the basket by default. This also makes a lot of the holes seem very similar, with very similar shots. A stretch on the back nine can be especially repetitive.
- I know it is called Lake Eureka, I sure didn't see any lake here. Not many unique hazards at all, really.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, this was a very fun course with some very cool and memorable holes. The short hole lengths really take away from the difficulty, however. This also makes a lot of the shots blend together, where the same shot can be used for a lot of different holes. Throwing a straight shot around 200' can be a golden ticket to many deuces, which can be fun, but also a little boring.
- Some of the holes outside of the forest were preferable to those inside. So, there is a pretty good mix of hole type in general. If they holes alternated a little bit more, it would help break up the feeling of throwing the same shot on back to back holes.
- Great course for a beginner or intermediate player, might be a bit pedestrian for a more seasoned player.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun wooded course

1    8/22/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a heavily wooded park with some fun ravines running through. Many holes play near these elevation changes, making for some potential trouble for errant tee shots, and a couple holes that have some fun up and downhill elevation. Most of the holes play pretty tight and force accurate shots, though there are a couple more open holes for a little break. The course calls for a good variety of left and right turning holes, with lots of different hole shapes to keep things interesting.

There are concrete tees on all the holes, and basic tee signs with the hole distance. The baskets are in pretty good shape and catch ok. There isn't much trash or vandalism, and for the most part the fairways are kept pretty clear (a tough task in this thick of woods).
Cons: The course plays pretty short overall, with most of the holes in the same distance range. A few longer holes mix it up, but not enough to keep it from feeling a bit repetitive at times. There are some navigation issues, with no next tee signage and some long walks with lots of unmarked paths through the woods. hole maps at the tees would be really helpful, with lots of blind holes that require some extra walking to know where to throw.
Other Thoughts: This is not a great beginner course, it's really tight, and has enough brush to be really punishing on errant drives. More experienced players will find some great challenges here, and will need to be accurate to score well. There are lots of birdie opportunities to be had with accurate throws, but there are also plenty of chances to end up with a bogey if you get off the fairway. This is definitely a fun course, and worth a stop if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rough Buisness...

2-4    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: TheWCG
Played: 255  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course! Very cool course plays through some interesting woods with lots of elevation changes and tight fairways. Definitely a risk and reward course by all means. Very challenging course for ANY player. Yet, par is definitely a possibility and not a dream. Love the course!
Cons: My only beef with this course is the tees... Whoever put them in put a LOT of work into making concrete tees possible but they could be a tad longer in my opinion. Sorry... And finding hole 14 was another pain to find but no big deal. just follow the path back that took you to hole #4.
Other Thoughts: There are a LOT of courses I play in my weekend driving range and this is one of the few I would definitely drive back too. Fun course!! read some reviews that said some of the holes could be longer. I disagree... Keeping your disc on the fairway all the way through is a challenge in itself. If you can tackle this course with a par or better, I would consider you a very good player. Everybody can huck a disc... But to throw it with consistent accuracy is a GOOD player... nuff said...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 OH Eureka!

5+    10/9/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 312  Reviewed: 166  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a challenging par 54 course that plays pretty much entirely in the woods. You can go out and shoot well under par one round and over par the next if you are not throwing accurately in the woods.

There are some very interesting elevation changes and ravines in the woods. This adds to the challenge of the course. Any pinball shots have the chance of landing in some tough areas to play from. There is some heavy rough in places which penalize bad shots.

Concrete tee pads.

Hole #4 is a really fun hole. The basket sits 20 feet below you. If you hit the line you are going right at the basket. The basket sits on the side of the hill.

The only time it is not quiet at this course is when there are softball games going on. This is a great hike thru the woods. I have seen many deer in the woods while playing. The course has a great feel to it.

You will learn how to throw a variety of putter and mid range shots on this course. It forces you to hit lines.It will expose any weakness in your accuracy game.
Cons: Tee signs are basic but are not descriptive.

#10 Tee pad is short for the type of shot needed. It's raised off the ground so it's very difficult to approach from the rear.

Navigation can be difficult in a few places.

This course is pretty short. There are only 3 holes over 300ft. 2 of them are back to back. Hole #10 is a tweener hole that plays uphill 450ft.

You really only have to pull out the driver on a few holes.

If there was a long set of tees i'd rate this course higher.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely not a beginner course. It will drive new players crazy hitting trees.

Eureka College alma mater of Ronald Reagan.
http://reagan.eureka.edu/museum.htm

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.