Disc Golf Store
Eureka, IL 
Lake Eureka DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #5
3 / 294ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
{Insert lame quip or pun concerning Archimedes here}

2-4    4/18/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 70  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Most of the course is in the woods, and dedicated to disc golf. A few overlapping areas, mostly just with the bike trail along 16 and 18.
- Great piece of wooded land along a creek. Ridges and spurs used well, and in different ways. Some shots are up the valleys, some shoot across them. Others explore little hollows, while even others just take you straight up wooded hills. Wonderful nature hike required for this course.
- Essentially no underbrush on this course, which is nice. Punishment exists in finding lines through trees, and not in having to search for discs in thickets. However, from a previous time playing I do believe I remember a fair amount of poison ivy. Comes with the territory I suppose.
- Some nice wooden stepping bridges in some low-lying parts of the course.
- Signs at each tee pad, that are sufficient. There are really no blind shots on the course, so pictograms of each hole really aren't necessary.
- Nice concrete tee pads, and though a little small and skinny, the holes are mostly short and don't really require a ton of run-up.
- #1, right off the bat, shoots crossways along the side of a hill. Huge potential for roll-aways here.
- #2 is just sick. Steep uphill, and have to hit one 7 foot wide gap about 50 feet out.
- #3, talk about a finesse shot. Only 192 feet long, but there's one specific shot shape, and you can tell exactly what you're supposed to do. It's doing it that's the problem, am I right?
- #7 was a very interesting hole for me. At first glance it seems a little ho-hum, but it actually has two very specific obstacles. The first is a 7 foot gap 40 feet out, but after that the pin is guarded by two large mature trees. If your drive doesn't land straight away in the fairway, then having a shot at the pin is slim to none.
- I appreciate the thought put into #9 and #10. They are both out in the open, which is a nice reprieve from the tight, wooded course. However, it looks like the intent was to make them longer and still a challenge. 444 ft and 522 ft respectively, they shoot back and forth across a little drainage ditch and a line of trees. There are significant windows for you to shoot through, but it's a big change in your game plan from the first 8 holes.
Cons: - Navigation just stinks. Two simple 'next tee' signs between 3 & 4, and again at 13 & 14 would make a huge difference. Part of the problem is that this crossover happens in a part of the ridges and ravines where the course 'cattle paths' aren't direct, as they follow the terrain and avoid the washed out drainage areas. This was my second time playing the course (albeit 3 years later), I had the course map handy, and I still asked a couple local players as I passed them if I was going the right way. 15 to 16 is also not intuitive, nor is 17 to 18, really.
- No trash cans anywhere that I remember along the course, just in prominent parking spaces.
- A lot of dead leaves still when I played in April - I can see discs sliding underneath and getting lost from time to time.
- In the wet, I bet this course is difficult, maybe even dangerous to play on. Just mostly dirt, especially the paths in-between holes. Recent rain would probably leave some water in the low-lying areas and dried up creek beds, adding an additional hazard on some holes.
- #15 occupies a cool piece of land through what looks like a dry pond or creek bed. However, I think it's just plain unfair. A line for the first 150 ft is available, but after that I don't think there's a viable line to the pin from the tee. The stand of trees guarding the basket is cool, but there's just not one large enough gap. Most are 3 feet or less. Removal of one or two trees would do the trick.
- #16 just doesn't belong on this course. I don't know how else to say it. Wide open, 300' hole. They must just not have had any other space to squeeze the hole in without making a terribly long walk. Also, the sign and post had been torn down, and someone had thrown it in the brook, under the bridge.
Other Thoughts: - This course is relatively short, and I'm just going to make mention of that here, rather than in the pros or the cons. If you have all sorts of shapes in your arsenal for your drives, then this course probably is rather easy, and plays too short. If you often rely on your big arm, then this course may seem like a poke and hope, and could be frustrating. Personally, it was just right for me and my game.
- Overall really loved my time here. A few years after playing it for the first time, my skills have improved, and I felt like I could handle this course much better. Certainly not one for newer players, this provides a good challenge, and a wonderful time in the outdoors.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Eureka does not suck.

1    10/25/2013   10/26/2013
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 111  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 14.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Favorite kind of course: heavily wooded with rolling terrain
+ Very attractive park
+ Requires some very accurate throws on tight lines in the woods
+ Good variety of left / right, uphill / downhill shots.
+ I love the ravines, humps and bumps, natural drainageways, etc on the course. Not only are they visually appealing, but they make for some interesting stances and shots.
+ Some really nice "greens" that will repel a poorly played shot.
Cons: - Concrete tees may be a little small, but I don't think they are too bad considering the length of the holes.
- Navigation is tricky in parts, with some long walks between holes. Print out the course map (with aerial).
- Tee signs only have distance. There are enough holes where you can't see the basket from the tee to make this an issue.
- I'm sure there are legitimate reasons why it doesn't, but I would have loved to see the course somehow utilize the creek near 14-17.
- No alternate tees or basket locations (at least that I saw).
Other Thoughts: I would like to see this course when the foliage is fuller, to see how nasty the rough can be and what the lines look like. I can imagine it could be visually intimidating to recreational players, even though the length is suited more towards the rec and intermediate level. The biggest hazards when I played were the leaves covering discs, tee pads, and tripping hazards. Overall, I was very pleased with this course. It reminds me of my favorite local course, Baraboo Lions DGC, but with even more of an emphasis on tight lines in the woods. Keep in mind that I'm a player who is happy with 300' drives, so I like the length of the course and the opportunities for deuces with an accurate tee shot. I can see how some of the more advanced players may knock the course for its lack of length.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 very nice course

1    5/17/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: BuzzArmStrong
Played: 30  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation change - Extremely scenic course which feels pretty secluded - Fairways range from being tight to fair and require different types of shots - Good mix of short and long holes - A few nice long open holes amidst tightly wooded areas make for a good mix and feels like a needed breather in the middle of a round.
Cons: Couple spots where the paths can be confusing (we printed a map that helped a lot - if it is your first time out I would suggest doing the same) - A few holes lacked imagination and given the land available could easily be redesigned.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to shoot one off the cliff, wish they would design a hole off of it (I'm not sure if there is a good place to do it at though).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Personal favorite

5+    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 101  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course. It's so pretty and secluded that even if you're having a tough round you can enjoy yourself.

*Beautiful trees and stream makes for one of the most scenic rounds of dg I've played

*Great mixture of wooded holes and open ones with all sorts of distances ranging from <200 to >500.

*Very nice park with trails and baseball fields

*Hole 1 is awesome with a tough shot of the tee into an open fairway that slopes hard right with the basket on the top of the slope

Cons: There are two holes at this course that i really don't like and they are really the only cons of the course

*Hole 16 is kind of bland compared to the others. Normally i like 300+ foot relatively open holes, but this one is only 303 ft and there are absolutely no obstacles... i just feel like there was enough land on site that they could have made this one a bit more interesting.

*I don't like hole 18 very much... the fairway takes an "S" bend, which normally isn't a bad feature, but on this hole the growth of trees are so thick and the "S" is so severe that the anheiser route to the hole is the best option to play, only the route goes directly at the parking lot. Not a fan.

*Tee signs don't have very much detail
Other Thoughts: Some people may comment that the walks/flow here is a bit bad, but in my opinion these flaws are more than made up for by the awesome disc golf in the course. Also, the walks are very scenic so they were more enjoyable than anything. I think every disc golfer in Illinois can justify a special trip to play this course alone, not to mention if they decide to play other courses in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    9/4/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 419  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Course is set is a densely forested area with tons of trees to contend with on almost every hole. Tight windows off the tee and tight fairways are present on a large majority of the holes. Pretty good mix of large trees and small trees, though most are pretty skinny. Some low ceilings are definitely present as well. Lots of different lines in the forest due to curving fairways, but overall a straight shot is most important. A little heavy on the right curves as well.
- A few holes outside of the forest add good variety and additional challenge. Hole #1 is an uphill shot with trees directly in front of the tee box; it is a very tough, yet relatively open, 258' shot. Other open holes have some significant length, and decent elevation change, so a driver is definitely needed at times. Hole #18 is a tough hole that plays into the forest with a tricky zig-zag fairway; the course makes good use of the available land to mix things up.
- Lots of little elevation changes are present throughout the course as well. A few holes have a decent uphill or downhill slope, or have a sloping fairway left-to-right. Some other holes, like #14, have rugged terrain that can make second shots or putts be from well below the usual fairway height. This greatly helps to add some variety.
- Good teepads and baskets, decent signage. Easy to navigate.
Cons: - My major gripe with this course is the short hole lengths. Most of the holes are around 200'-250', so there are a lot of holes where an accurate shot will get near the basket by default. This also makes a lot of the holes seem very similar, with very similar shots. A stretch on the back nine can be especially repetitive.
- I know it is called Lake Eureka, I sure didn't see any lake here. Not many unique hazards at all, really.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, this was a very fun course with some very cool and memorable holes. The short hole lengths really take away from the difficulty, however. This also makes a lot of the shots blend together, where the same shot can be used for a lot of different holes. Throwing a straight shot around 200' can be a golden ticket to many deuces, which can be fun, but also a little boring.
- Some of the holes outside of the forest were preferable to those inside. So, there is a pretty good mix of hole type in general. If they holes alternated a little bit more, it would help break up the feeling of throwing the same shot on back to back holes.
- Great course for a beginner or intermediate player, might be a bit pedestrian for a more seasoned player.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Rough Buisness...

2-4    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: TheWCG
Played: 269  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course! Very cool course plays through some interesting woods with lots of elevation changes and tight fairways. Definitely a risk and reward course by all means. Very challenging course for ANY player. Yet, par is definitely a possibility and not a dream. Love the course!
Cons: My only beef with this course is the tees... Whoever put them in put a LOT of work into making concrete tees possible but they could be a tad longer in my opinion. Sorry... And finding hole 14 was another pain to find but no big deal. just follow the path back that took you to hole #4.
Other Thoughts: There are a LOT of courses I play in my weekend driving range and this is one of the few I would definitely drive back too. Fun course!! read some reviews that said some of the holes could be longer. I disagree... Keeping your disc on the fairway all the way through is a challenge in itself. If you can tackle this course with a par or better, I would consider you a very good player. Everybody can huck a disc... But to throw it with consistent accuracy is a GOOD player... nuff said...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Very Unique Course

5+    8/1/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 141  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very unique holes in the woods with a lot of character. The foliage is very old and has a nice, jungle feel to it.
-The course is fun to play, with some chances at some aces as well.
-Very scenic park, and well maintained.
-Another phenomenal design from Greg Nettles.
-No true signature hole, which I would term a pro because there are many holes that are really creative (holes 4, 13, 17). Hole 4 is one of the most fun holes to throw on the course and really a hole that you want to throw multiple shots. Its straight down the hill with a legitimate shot at an ace.
-Even though its a heavily wooded course holes 9 and 10 break up the monotony. They are both open holes with some nice obstacles in the middle of the fairway. Hole 9 is a LONG par 3 and hole 10 is a tweener but probably a par 4. A scratch round on this course (1000 rated) is 46.
Cons: -A few of the holes have extremely tight fairways. The gap on hole 14 isn't more than 5 feet, and hole's 2 and 3 have extremely narrow alleys to throw through. However, those holes are fairly short.
-Hole 18 is a disappointing finishing hole.
-Some of the navigation is a little confusing. After hole 3 you need to walk 300 feet to the left to get to hole 4 and after hole 8 you need to go left about 400 feet to get to hole 9. Hole 16 is a throwaway hole but to get to it make sure to cross the bridge on the left. Hole 18 is back across the bridge.
Other Thoughts: This course is a true test of accuracy - there are only a few holes where a power arm may be a benefit to you. This course is a great test and a lot of fun to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Very difficult forest course

1    6/21/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 115  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very challenging
-All the holes, with the exception of 2, are par 3's. I didn't think this was very reasonable. I only had two pars the entire time I played.
-Very, very beautiful. The course takes you through a nice forest that I was surprised Central Illinois had.
-Good conditioned baskets
-Beautiful layout that's easy and very enjoyable to follow
Cons: -Too challenging. I hit a tree on 16 of my 18 drives. It really starts to piss you off.
-Millions of Mosquitos
-Stinging Nettles and other painful plants.
-Easy to lose disc.
Other Thoughts: Walking through this forest/park on a rainy day when no one else was there was an adventure I'm never going to forget. It was so much fun!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.