Eureka, IL 
Lake Eureka DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #11
3 / 258ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee



Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 Next >
 OH Eureka!

5+    10/9/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a challenging par 54 course that plays pretty much entirely in the woods. You can go out and shoot well under par one round and over par the next if you are not throwing accurately in the woods.

There are some very interesting elevation changes and ravines in the woods. This adds to the challenge of the course. Any pinball shots have the chance of landing in some tough areas to play from. There is some heavy rough in places which penalize bad shots.

Concrete tee pads.

Hole #4 is a really fun hole. The basket sits 20 feet below you. If you hit the line you are going right at the basket. The basket sits on the side of the hill.

The only time it is not quiet at this course is when there are softball games going on. This is a great hike thru the woods. I have seen many deer in the woods while playing. The course has a great feel to it.

You will learn how to throw a variety of putter and mid range shots on this course. It forces you to hit lines.It will expose any weakness in your accuracy game.
Cons: Tee signs are basic but are not descriptive.

#10 Tee pad is short for the type of shot needed. It's raised off the ground so it's very difficult to approach from the rear.

Navigation can be difficult in a few places.

This course is pretty short. There are only 3 holes over 300ft. 2 of them are back to back. Hole #10 is a tweener hole that plays uphill 450ft.

You really only have to pull out the driver on a few holes.

If there was a long set of tees i'd rate this course higher.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely not a beginner course. It will drive new players crazy hitting trees.

Eureka College alma mater of Ronald Reagan.
http://reagan.eureka.edu/museum.htm

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    11/20/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 706  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 26.2 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very enjoyable course.
Quite narrow fairways to negotiate.
Couple 400 foot holes.
Some pavement to play o.b., should you choose to do so.
Two different locals met up with us to play, with one day's notice. Thanks to Mark and Dan. (Dan is one of the main designers at Maxwell Park, which we went to next. He's also a very fit gentleman and ran myself and my playing partner around Eureka in less than one hour.) Lots of up and down hills here. Dan had me sweating in late November.
Did I mention that this is an enjoyable and very pretty course?
There are ace runs....and yet lots of trouble. You're going to have to make a few creative up shots.
Elevation used very nicely.
Nice cement tees.
Cons: We had a tour guide. I'm betting this one is a rather tough one to navigate solo; first time through.
Hills were quite slick after multi days of rain. Be aware.
It's the yardage that makes it a 3 rating. Most holes fairly short....though very technical.
4,815 foot long course just can't get more than a 3 by my scale. They're making courses this tight, with 6,000 plus feet these days.
Other Thoughts: Hope I don't get the home boy hate on this one. The local guys were very nice and I don't want to offend anyone. I consider a 3 rating to be good; which is what the tutorial happens to note as well.
Northwood and McNaughton are better, but you WILL want to stop in here for LOTS OF FUN, and to test your precise/inventive shot, game. This is one of those courses you can get an ace on....and one you will be proud to say you did.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/1/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: sobkwk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The course is heavily wooded and very challenging. Great scenery and upkeep.
Cons: There are a lot of trees so expect to be frustrated if your not accurate with your shots.
Other Thoughts: Would definitely go there to play again.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

1    8/18/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: pokrplayr
Played: 195  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 14.4 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: pretty nice little course.. short, tight, midrange shots all the way through. well layed out and easy to follow. I like how they use white ribbons on the trees to show you where to go
Cons: a few long walks
Other Thoughts: fun couse i would play it again

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Very Unique Course

5+    8/1/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 135  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 14.3 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very unique holes in the woods with a lot of character. The foliage is very old and has a nice, jungle feel to it.
-The course is fun to play, with some chances at some aces as well.
-Very scenic park, and well maintained.
-Another phenomenal design from Greg Nettles.
-No true signature hole, which I would term a pro because there are many holes that are really creative (holes 4, 13, 17). Hole 4 is one of the most fun holes to throw on the course and really a hole that you want to throw multiple shots. Its straight down the hill with a legitimate shot at an ace.
-Even though its a heavily wooded course holes 9 and 10 break up the monotony. They are both open holes with some nice obstacles in the middle of the fairway. Hole 9 is a LONG par 3 and hole 10 is a tweener but probably a par 4. A scratch round on this course (1000 rated) is 46.
Cons: -A few of the holes have extremely tight fairways. The gap on hole 14 isn't more than 5 feet, and hole's 2 and 3 have extremely narrow alleys to throw through. However, those holes are fairly short.
-Hole 18 is a disappointing finishing hole.
-Some of the navigation is a little confusing. After hole 3 you need to walk 300 feet to the left to get to hole 4 and after hole 8 you need to go left about 400 feet to get to hole 9. Hole 16 is a throwaway hole but to get to it make sure to cross the bridge on the left. Hole 18 is back across the bridge.
Other Thoughts: This course is a true test of accuracy - there are only a few holes where a power arm may be a benefit to you. This course is a great test and a lot of fun to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A challenge for Pros, Scary for Newbs

5+    6/28/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: snewOevaD
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --This course forces you to learn many different types of shots. This course will show you where your game is deficient.
--Nice Teepads.
--lots of shade for those hot days.
--Pit toilet halfway between Holes 8 & 9 near the playground. (which is also near 11's teepad.)
--All of the locals I've met have been really nice.
--The soft-serve icecream at the local icecream shop is great.
Cons: -- I wouldn't recomend this course to really new players, it may frustrait them badly.
-- A couple of the holes are poke and hopes for all but the most accurate throwers. (Two's main fairway is only about 6 or 7 feet wide at one spot, and 14's is only about 4 or 5 feet wide at one spot. If you make it through another gap, it was lucky.)
-- If you play in the winter, you may want to send a spotter out on some of the tighter wooded holes. Discs lost in the snow may not come back to you, even if your name and phone number are on them.
-- Right after the rain, some of the paths are slick with mud.
--Wear Pants in the Summer, unless stinging Nettles don't bother you & you aren't allergic to poison Ivy. It's not IF you go into the nettles/Ivy, it's WHEN.
Other Thoughts: This is my wifes favorite course, because she likes being in the woods. I have a love hate relationship with this course, because while it shows me where I need to and gives me the chance to work on my game; it also shows me how much I really really need to work on my game.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very difficult forest course

1    6/21/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 114  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very challenging
-All the holes, with the exception of 2, are par 3's. I didn't think this was very reasonable. I only had two pars the entire time I played.
-Very, very beautiful. The course takes you through a nice forest that I was surprised Central Illinois had.
-Good conditioned baskets
-Beautiful layout that's easy and very enjoyable to follow
Cons: -Too challenging. I hit a tree on 16 of my 18 drives. It really starts to piss you off.
-Millions of Mosquitos
-Stinging Nettles and other painful plants.
-Easy to lose disc.
Other Thoughts: Walking through this forest/park on a rainy day when no one else was there was an adventure I'm never going to forget. It was so much fun!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course of Central Illinois

5+    5/23/2009   6/7/2009
Review By: Smitty113
Played: 46  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Heavily wooded and gorgeous course. Bring your A-game and keep your drives low to make it out alive. Only four holes are open enough for any type of shot selection. The rest of the holes, the shots are already selected for you. A few of the fairways only offer a 6' opening at best. #16 is an excellent 'empty the bag' hole to let out some frustration after knocking bark off trees all day.
I've also seen deer here over a dozen times.
Cons: Stinging nettles are prevalent around the course, so make sure you wear long pants and shoes.

After a severe storm holes #15-18 will be flooded. And after the flooding, mosquitoes become a problem.

Some holes are short but very technical.
Other Thoughts: Living only 20 minutes away from Eureka, this is personally my favorite course.

Eureka is also the college hometown of Ronald Reagan!!

7 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 The Good, The Bad, and The Ugly

1    10/18/2008   10/20/2008
Review By: ForehandMAN36
Played: 103  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 12 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tees. Creative variety of shots were thought of making good use of the narrow fairways and sloping hills within the woods. A good challenge for players who get giddy for long narrow shots where the basket is to the left/right/straight or over/up a hill. Very enjoyable.
Cons: Tee signs have no map of disc path/flight on them and a few of them were missing the distance reading also. LONG walks from hole to hole. There are quite a few of "blind" shots, which got annoying after awhile having to set you're bag down and search for the basket before throwing. Majority of course is played in the woods. Skipped Hole 18 due to peewee football parents cooking food in the fairway.
Other Thoughts: Overall enjoyable course, it's worth a checking out. We started our "Peoria area" trip off with this course and were overall satisfied except for what I stated in the CONS section. There are a lot of good creative & quite challenging holes, but there were also some holes that made you wonder what the designer was thinking and some blind shots that made no sense. But the good outweighed the bad, would play again!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.