Eureka, IL 
Lake Eureka DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Short On Length, Not Challenge

2-4    8/6/2016   9/6/2016
Review By: SneakyJedi
Played: 88  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Elevation change on many holes and is used very well

- Challenging but fair lines through the woods reward good shots and make you earn birdies despite the short length of most holes

- Baskets are in good shape and catch well, nice concrete tee pads
Cons: - Course is fairly short, with the holes 9 and 10 providing a decent chunk of the total distance, and some of the only opportunities to pull out your high speed drivers.

- Navigation can be tricky in a few spots, such as between 3 & 4, 8 & 9, and 13 & 14

- Tee signs are rudimentary showing only hole number and distance, tho most baskets are visible from the tee.

- Can become difficult or dangerous to play and navigate when wet
Other Thoughts: Lake Eureka Disc Golf Course is a lovely course in a very nice park. Despite what the name may imply, the eponymous lake is never encountered on the course, which plays through tightly wooded fairways for all but 3 or 4 holes. Most holes are under 275' and there are a lot of birdie opportunities, but you have to earn them. What this course lacks in length it makes up for in technical golf. You need to be able to throw a disc accurately, and make it finish straight, left, and right to score well here, and there are a few 'S' shaped fairways that will really test your ability to control the flight of a disc if you want a deuce.

After playing tight, wooded golf for 8 holes, you are thrown out into the sunshine to face the only two holes over 320'. It is a bit jarring to go from throwing finesse shots to airing out drives on 450'+ holes, but holes 9 and 10 are not simply driving ranges and still require placement. There are a lot of fun holes here. Lake Eureka is best where the elevation is used well, such as on holes 2, 4, and 13, and precarious greens will keep you on your toes throughout. I don't know what kind of restrictions were placed on the course designers, but it seems a shame that the creek you see running through the park is never used as a design element in the course, would have really helped the variety.

The negative to all this elevation is how poor the footing becomes when the course gets wet. The clayey mud become very slippery and it becomes hard to line up behind your disc in many instances, and traversing some of the hilly areas becomes quite precarious. It was impossible to get any kind of run-up at the tee pad or on the fairway on Hole 17 during my most recent round recently after rain went through the area. Stinging nettles also pose a hazard on the course, and there are several areas where moving to a lie just slightly off the fairway can result in itching or burning legs if you aren't careful.

Equipment is generally good, Innova Discatcher baskets are in good shape, and the concrete tee pads are nice, if occasionally a little narrow or short. The tee signs could really use some improvement, even though the course is relatively short, there are still a decent number of blind holes where a diagram of the fairway would be helpful. Similarly, course navigation and flow is mostly ok, but there are a few locations where additional guidance would be really helpful (like between holes 3 & 4 and 13 & 14).

If you enjoy weaving midranges and putters through trees, you will have a lot of fun at Lake Eureka. There isn't much that will blow you away here, and I don't think there are any of those empty-your-bag type holes, but there is enough to keep you interested throughout. Challenging, without being punishing this is a great course, especially if you are not up for some of the bigger and badder courses in the Peoria area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hallway Heaven

2-4    11/29/2014   11/30/2014
Review By: Donkeybong
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Great tight course.....If you can throw straight. Loved the course. some of the hallways are only 10 ft wide. Hole 2 is one of them.. and it is an uphill shot on top of that. Had a great time playing this course in a winter league.
Cons: Heard that this course is really bad during the summer. Lots of poison ivy, That being said this will only be a winter course for me.
Other Thoughts: wind plays a huge factor on 9,10 and 18.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course for technical play

1    7/29/2014   8/1/2014
Review By: thirstydisc
Played: 153  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 25.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2015
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: + Nice park beside a peaceful lake which is not in play
+ Good tee pads. Small but adequate for driving these holes
+ Tee signs in good shape with hole length
+ Diversity of shots in the woods, both direction and elevation. The designer mostly made sound choices.
+ A good test of shot accuracy. Course knowledge a plus to scoring birdies
+ Correct par assignments
Cons: - Some holes have walking/running paths for fairways. I had to yield to a youth cross country running team four times during my round
- Almost no navigation aids. I had a map and had to resort to orienteering. I noticed after 12 holes the baskets have blue paint on the basket spoke in the direction of the next hole.
Other Thoughts: = There is plenty of summer under growth to hide discs off the fairways, so be alert

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 {Insert lame quip or pun concerning Archimedes here}

2-4    4/18/2014   4/22/2014
Review By: MidwestZest
Played: 93  Reviewed: 66  Exp: 16.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Most of the course is in the woods, and dedicated to disc golf. A few overlapping areas, mostly just with the bike trail along 16 and 18.
- Great piece of wooded land along a creek. Ridges and spurs used well, and in different ways. Some shots are up the valleys, some shoot across them. Others explore little hollows, while even others just take you straight up wooded hills. Wonderful nature hike required for this course.
- Essentially no underbrush on this course, which is nice. Punishment exists in finding lines through trees, and not in having to search for discs in thickets. However, from a previous time playing I do believe I remember a fair amount of poison ivy. Comes with the territory I suppose.
- Some nice wooden stepping bridges in some low-lying parts of the course.
- Signs at each tee pad, that are sufficient. There are really no blind shots on the course, so pictograms of each hole really aren't necessary.
- Nice concrete tee pads, and though a little small and skinny, the holes are mostly short and don't really require a ton of run-up.
- #1, right off the bat, shoots crossways along the side of a hill. Huge potential for roll-aways here.
- #2 is just sick. Steep uphill, and have to hit one 7 foot wide gap about 50 feet out.
- #3, talk about a finesse shot. Only 192 feet long, but there's one specific shot shape, and you can tell exactly what you're supposed to do. It's doing it that's the problem, am I right?
- #7 was a very interesting hole for me. At first glance it seems a little ho-hum, but it actually has two very specific obstacles. The first is a 7 foot gap 40 feet out, but after that the pin is guarded by two large mature trees. If your drive doesn't land straight away in the fairway, then having a shot at the pin is slim to none.
- I appreciate the thought put into #9 and #10. They are both out in the open, which is a nice reprieve from the tight, wooded course. However, it looks like the intent was to make them longer and still a challenge. 444 ft and 522 ft respectively, they shoot back and forth across a little drainage ditch and a line of trees. There are significant windows for you to shoot through, but it's a big change in your game plan from the first 8 holes.
Cons: - Navigation just stinks. Two simple 'next tee' signs between 3 & 4, and again at 13 & 14 would make a huge difference. Part of the problem is that this crossover happens in a part of the ridges and ravines where the course 'cattle paths' aren't direct, as they follow the terrain and avoid the washed out drainage areas. This was my second time playing the course (albeit 3 years later), I had the course map handy, and I still asked a couple local players as I passed them if I was going the right way. 15 to 16 is also not intuitive, nor is 17 to 18, really.
- No trash cans anywhere that I remember along the course, just in prominent parking spaces.
- A lot of dead leaves still when I played in April - I can see discs sliding underneath and getting lost from time to time.
- In the wet, I bet this course is difficult, maybe even dangerous to play on. Just mostly dirt, especially the paths in-between holes. Recent rain would probably leave some water in the low-lying areas and dried up creek beds, adding an additional hazard on some holes.
- #15 occupies a cool piece of land through what looks like a dry pond or creek bed. However, I think it's just plain unfair. A line for the first 150 ft is available, but after that I don't think there's a viable line to the pin from the tee. The stand of trees guarding the basket is cool, but there's just not one large enough gap. Most are 3 feet or less. Removal of one or two trees would do the trick.
- #16 just doesn't belong on this course. I don't know how else to say it. Wide open, 300' hole. They must just not have had any other space to squeeze the hole in without making a terribly long walk. Also, the sign and post had been torn down, and someone had thrown it in the brook, under the bridge.
Other Thoughts: - This course is relatively short, and I'm just going to make mention of that here, rather than in the pros or the cons. If you have all sorts of shapes in your arsenal for your drives, then this course probably is rather easy, and plays too short. If you often rely on your big arm, then this course may seem like a poke and hope, and could be frustrating. Personally, it was just right for me and my game.
- Overall really loved my time here. A few years after playing it for the first time, my skills have improved, and I felt like I could handle this course much better. Certainly not one for newer players, this provides a good challenge, and a wonderful time in the outdoors.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Eureka does not suck.

1    10/25/2013   10/26/2013
Review By: puttlikeablowfly
Played: 124  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 16.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Favorite kind of course: heavily wooded with rolling terrain
+ Very attractive park
+ Requires some very accurate throws on tight lines in the woods
+ Good variety of left / right, uphill / downhill shots.
+ I love the ravines, humps and bumps, natural drainageways, etc on the course. Not only are they visually appealing, but they make for some interesting stances and shots.
+ Some really nice "greens" that will repel a poorly played shot.
Cons: - Concrete tees may be a little small, but I don't think they are too bad considering the length of the holes.
- Navigation is tricky in parts, with some long walks between holes. Print out the course map (with aerial).
- Tee signs only have distance. There are enough holes where you can't see the basket from the tee to make this an issue.
- I'm sure there are legitimate reasons why it doesn't, but I would have loved to see the course somehow utilize the creek near 14-17.
- No alternate tees or basket locations (at least that I saw).
Other Thoughts: I would like to see this course when the foliage is fuller, to see how nasty the rough can be and what the lines look like. I can imagine it could be visually intimidating to recreational players, even though the length is suited more towards the rec and intermediate level. The biggest hazards when I played were the leaves covering discs, tee pads, and tripping hazards. Overall, I was very pleased with this course. It reminds me of my favorite local course, Baraboo Lions DGC, but with even more of an emphasis on tight lines in the woods. Keep in mind that I'm a player who is happy with 300' drives, so I like the length of the course and the opportunities for deuces with an accurate tee shot. I can see how some of the more advanced players may knock the course for its lack of length.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Second favorite area course after McNaughton

5+    8/9/2012   12/15/2012
Review By: Aestheticflight
Played: 143  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 23.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: a woods course which I like, Interesting Topography that is fairly well used. Several .....ooooh cool ....moments when I first saw several of these holes. I have never seen many people here playing so you kind of have it to yourself. Fun course to play I thought. Tight fairways and challenging at times.
Cons: A few of the tees were a bit hard to find. On one I had to walk about and hunt for the first time I played( it should be better marked to indicate the next tee on a few holes), Most were easy to find though. I realize that the park dictated what land could and could not be used but, the undulating terrain had a lot of potential that wasn't brought into play.
Other Thoughts: The confusing holes should have pointers on the pin to point to the next tee. Wish some more of the weird terrain could be brought into play. good job on the design of this course. Thank you to the workers who did the work to create this course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 I don't get this course

1    9/5/2012   9/5/2012
Review By: PeoriaRa
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 18 Not
Pros: Lots of shade. Finding the next tee from the basket results in excellent exercise. Parking is convenient. You might see a deer, wolf or Bigfoot.
Cons: 1. Bewildering course layout 2. Climbing into ravines to retrieve discs. 3. Sticker bushes. 4. Poison Ivy
Other Thoughts: I don't understand the fascination with playing disc golf in the woods. Yes, it results in a high difficulty level, and you have shade. But I don't want to spend my day retrieving discs from ravines and pulling burrs of my clothes. Or having to wear long sleeves and jeans in 90 degrees to avoid poision ivy. And isn't someone capable of finding a way to mark the path to the next tee? Sorry, I enjoy a challenge but playing disc golf in the woods is just stupid to me.

1 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 very nice course

1    5/17/2012   5/21/2012
Review By: BuzzArmStrong
Played: 33  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation change - Extremely scenic course which feels pretty secluded - Fairways range from being tight to fair and require different types of shots - Good mix of short and long holes - A few nice long open holes amidst tightly wooded areas make for a good mix and feels like a needed breather in the middle of a round.
Cons: Couple spots where the paths can be confusing (we printed a map that helped a lot - if it is your first time out I would suggest doing the same) - A few holes lacked imagination and given the land available could easily be redesigned.
Other Thoughts: I wanted to shoot one off the cliff, wish they would design a hole off of it (I'm not sure if there is a good place to do it at though).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Personal favorite

5+    8/11/2011   8/12/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 121  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 12.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an excellent course. It's so pretty and secluded that even if you're having a tough round you can enjoy yourself.

*Beautiful trees and stream makes for one of the most scenic rounds of dg I've played

*Great mixture of wooded holes and open ones with all sorts of distances ranging from <200 to >500.

*Very nice park with trails and baseball fields

*Hole 1 is awesome with a tough shot of the tee into an open fairway that slopes hard right with the basket on the top of the slope

Cons: There are two holes at this course that i really don't like and they are really the only cons of the course

*Hole 16 is kind of bland compared to the others. Normally i like 300+ foot relatively open holes, but this one is only 303 ft and there are absolutely no obstacles... i just feel like there was enough land on site that they could have made this one a bit more interesting.

*I don't like hole 18 very much... the fairway takes an "S" bend, which normally isn't a bad feature, but on this hole the growth of trees are so thick and the "S" is so severe that the anheiser route to the hole is the best option to play, only the route goes directly at the parking lot. Not a fan.

*Tee signs don't have very much detail
Other Thoughts: Some people may comment that the walks/flow here is a bit bad, but in my opinion these flaws are more than made up for by the awesome disc golf in the course. Also, the walks are very scenic so they were more enjoyable than anything. I think every disc golfer in Illinois can justify a special trip to play this course alone, not to mention if they decide to play other courses in the area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Best Peoria Course I have played.

1    7/8/2011   7/9/2011
Review By: Pitty241
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very beautiful course with many tight fairways as well as great wide open holes.
-this course can test your short game for the most part with the exception # 9 and 10
-The course is very well maintained
-Has a Great facility of sports fields and hiking trails.
Cons: -The 16th hole was borring it was just a straight forward hole. Literally.
-There werent many trash cans and benches for in game rests.
-Some of the holes where hard to find.
-these holes had long walks to the tee that crisscrossed other trails to make it difficult
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to come and check out with a great layout that can test your technical short game.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.