Eureka, IL 
Lake Eureka DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 225ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    9/4/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 462  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 13.3 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Course is set is a densely forested area with tons of trees to contend with on almost every hole. Tight windows off the tee and tight fairways are present on a large majority of the holes. Pretty good mix of large trees and small trees, though most are pretty skinny. Some low ceilings are definitely present as well. Lots of different lines in the forest due to curving fairways, but overall a straight shot is most important. A little heavy on the right curves as well.
- A few holes outside of the forest add good variety and additional challenge. Hole #1 is an uphill shot with trees directly in front of the tee box; it is a very tough, yet relatively open, 258' shot. Other open holes have some significant length, and decent elevation change, so a driver is definitely needed at times. Hole #18 is a tough hole that plays into the forest with a tricky zig-zag fairway; the course makes good use of the available land to mix things up.
- Lots of little elevation changes are present throughout the course as well. A few holes have a decent uphill or downhill slope, or have a sloping fairway left-to-right. Some other holes, like #14, have rugged terrain that can make second shots or putts be from well below the usual fairway height. This greatly helps to add some variety.
- Good teepads and baskets, decent signage. Easy to navigate.
Cons: - My major gripe with this course is the short hole lengths. Most of the holes are around 200'-250', so there are a lot of holes where an accurate shot will get near the basket by default. This also makes a lot of the holes seem very similar, with very similar shots. A stretch on the back nine can be especially repetitive.
- I know it is called Lake Eureka, I sure didn't see any lake here. Not many unique hazards at all, really.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, this was a very fun course with some very cool and memorable holes. The short hole lengths really take away from the difficulty, however. This also makes a lot of the shots blend together, where the same shot can be used for a lot of different holes. Throwing a straight shot around 200' can be a golden ticket to many deuces, which can be fun, but also a little boring.
- Some of the holes outside of the forest were preferable to those inside. So, there is a pretty good mix of hole type in general. If they holes alternated a little bit more, it would help break up the feeling of throwing the same shot on back to back holes.
- Great course for a beginner or intermediate player, might be a bit pedestrian for a more seasoned player.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun wooded course

1    8/22/2010   9/9/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a heavily wooded park with some fun ravines running through. Many holes play near these elevation changes, making for some potential trouble for errant tee shots, and a couple holes that have some fun up and downhill elevation. Most of the holes play pretty tight and force accurate shots, though there are a couple more open holes for a little break. The course calls for a good variety of left and right turning holes, with lots of different hole shapes to keep things interesting.

There are concrete tees on all the holes, and basic tee signs with the hole distance. The baskets are in pretty good shape and catch ok. There isn't much trash or vandalism, and for the most part the fairways are kept pretty clear (a tough task in this thick of woods).
Cons: The course plays pretty short overall, with most of the holes in the same distance range. A few longer holes mix it up, but not enough to keep it from feeling a bit repetitive at times. There are some navigation issues, with no next tee signage and some long walks with lots of unmarked paths through the woods. hole maps at the tees would be really helpful, with lots of blind holes that require some extra walking to know where to throw.
Other Thoughts: This is not a great beginner course, it's really tight, and has enough brush to be really punishing on errant drives. More experienced players will find some great challenges here, and will need to be accurate to score well. There are lots of birdie opportunities to be had with accurate throws, but there are also plenty of chances to end up with a bogey if you get off the fairway. This is definitely a fun course, and worth a stop if you're in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Rough Buisness...

2-4    5/15/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: TheWCG
Played: 304  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course! Very cool course plays through some interesting woods with lots of elevation changes and tight fairways. Definitely a risk and reward course by all means. Very challenging course for ANY player. Yet, par is definitely a possibility and not a dream. Love the course!
Cons: My only beef with this course is the tees... Whoever put them in put a LOT of work into making concrete tees possible but they could be a tad longer in my opinion. Sorry... And finding hole 14 was another pain to find but no big deal. just follow the path back that took you to hole #4.
Other Thoughts: There are a LOT of courses I play in my weekend driving range and this is one of the few I would definitely drive back too. Fun course!! read some reviews that said some of the holes could be longer. I disagree... Keeping your disc on the fairway all the way through is a challenge in itself. If you can tackle this course with a par or better, I would consider you a very good player. Everybody can huck a disc... But to throw it with consistent accuracy is a GOOD player... nuff said...

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 OH Eureka!

5+    10/9/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 343  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 15.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/17/2010
12 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is a challenging par 54 course that plays pretty much entirely in the woods. You can go out and shoot well under par one round and over par the next if you are not throwing accurately in the woods.

There are some very interesting elevation changes and ravines in the woods. This adds to the challenge of the course. Any pinball shots have the chance of landing in some tough areas to play from. There is some heavy rough in places which penalize bad shots.

Concrete tee pads.

Hole #4 is a really fun hole. The basket sits 20 feet below you. If you hit the line you are going right at the basket. The basket sits on the side of the hill.

The only time it is not quiet at this course is when there are softball games going on. This is a great hike thru the woods. I have seen many deer in the woods while playing. The course has a great feel to it.

You will learn how to throw a variety of putter and mid range shots on this course. It forces you to hit lines.It will expose any weakness in your accuracy game.
Cons: Tee signs are basic but are not descriptive.

#10 Tee pad is short for the type of shot needed. It's raised off the ground so it's very difficult to approach from the rear.

Navigation can be difficult in a few places.

This course is pretty short. There are only 3 holes over 300ft. 2 of them are back to back. Hole #10 is a tweener hole that plays uphill 450ft.

You really only have to pull out the driver on a few holes.

If there was a long set of tees i'd rate this course higher.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely not a beginner course. It will drive new players crazy hitting trees.

Eureka College alma mater of Ronald Reagan.

Check out my Illinois Top 10

12 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 nice course

1    11/20/2009   11/28/2009
Review By: tallpaul
Played: 830  Reviewed: 133  Exp: 28.4 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a very enjoyable course.
Quite narrow fairways to negotiate.
Couple 400 foot holes.
Some pavement to play o.b., should you choose to do so.
Two different locals met up with us to play, with one day's notice. Thanks to Mark and Dan. (Dan is one of the main designers at Maxwell Park, which we went to next. He's also a very fit gentleman and ran myself and my playing partner around Eureka in less than one hour.) Lots of up and down hills here. Dan had me sweating in late November.
Did I mention that this is an enjoyable and very pretty course?
There are ace runs....and yet lots of trouble. You're going to have to make a few creative up shots.
Elevation used very nicely.
Nice cement tees.
Cons: We had a tour guide. I'm betting this one is a rather tough one to navigate solo; first time through.
Hills were quite slick after multi days of rain. Be aware.
It's the yardage that makes it a 3 rating. Most holes fairly short....though very technical.
4,815 foot long course just can't get more than a 3 by my scale. They're making courses this tight, with 6,000 plus feet these days.
Other Thoughts: Hope I don't get the home boy hate on this one. The local guys were very nice and I don't want to offend anyone. I consider a 3 rating to be good; which is what the tutorial happens to note as well.
Northwood and McNaughton are better, but you WILL want to stop in here for LOTS OF FUN, and to test your precise/inventive shot, game. This is one of those courses you can get an ace on....and one you will be proud to say you did.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.


1    9/1/2009   9/15/2009
Review By: sobkwk
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: The course is heavily wooded and very challenging. Great scenery and upkeep.
Cons: There are a lot of trees so expect to be frustrated if your not accurate with your shots.
Other Thoughts: Would definitely go there to play again.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 fun course

1    8/18/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: pokrplayr
Played: 195  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 16.7 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: pretty nice little course.. short, tight, midrange shots all the way through. well layed out and easy to follow. I like how they use white ribbons on the trees to show you where to go
Cons: a few long walks
Other Thoughts: fun couse i would play it again

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Very Unique Course

5+    8/1/2009   8/16/2009
Review By: JohtoVillage
Played: 160  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 16.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2014
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very unique holes in the woods with a lot of character. The foliage is very old and has a nice, jungle feel to it.
-The course is fun to play, with some chances at some aces as well.
-Very scenic park, and well maintained.
-Another phenomenal design from Greg Nettles.
-No true signature hole, which I would term a pro because there are many holes that are really creative (holes 4, 13, 17). Hole 4 is one of the most fun holes to throw on the course and really a hole that you want to throw multiple shots. Its straight down the hill with a legitimate shot at an ace.
-Even though its a heavily wooded course holes 9 and 10 break up the monotony. They are both open holes with some nice obstacles in the middle of the fairway. Hole 9 is a LONG par 3 and hole 10 is a tweener but probably a par 4. A scratch round on this course (1000 rated) is 46.
Cons: -A few of the holes have extremely tight fairways. The gap on hole 14 isn't more than 5 feet, and hole's 2 and 3 have extremely narrow alleys to throw through. However, those holes are fairly short.
-Hole 18 is a disappointing finishing hole.
-Some of the navigation is a little confusing. After hole 3 you need to walk 300 feet to the left to get to hole 4 and after hole 8 you need to go left about 400 feet to get to hole 9. Hole 16 is a throwaway hole but to get to it make sure to cross the bridge on the left. Hole 18 is back across the bridge.
Other Thoughts: This course is a true test of accuracy - there are only a few holes where a power arm may be a benefit to you. This course is a great test and a lot of fun to play.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  A challenge for Pros, Scary for Newbs

5+    6/28/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: snewOevaD
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --This course forces you to learn many different types of shots. This course will show you where your game is deficient.
--Nice Teepads.
--lots of shade for those hot days.
--Pit toilet halfway between Holes 8 & 9 near the playground. (which is also near 11's teepad.)
--All of the locals I've met have been really nice.
--The soft-serve icecream at the local icecream shop is great.
Cons: -- I wouldn't recomend this course to really new players, it may frustrait them badly.
-- A couple of the holes are poke and hopes for all but the most accurate throwers. (Two's main fairway is only about 6 or 7 feet wide at one spot, and 14's is only about 4 or 5 feet wide at one spot. If you make it through another gap, it was lucky.)
-- If you play in the winter, you may want to send a spotter out on some of the tighter wooded holes. Discs lost in the snow may not come back to you, even if your name and phone number are on them.
-- Right after the rain, some of the paths are slick with mud.
--Wear Pants in the Summer, unless stinging Nettles don't bother you & you aren't allergic to poison Ivy. It's not IF you go into the nettles/Ivy, it's WHEN.
Other Thoughts: This is my wifes favorite course, because she likes being in the woods. I have a love hate relationship with this course, because while it shows me where I need to and gives me the chance to work on my game; it also shows me how much I really really need to work on my game.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Very difficult forest course

1    6/21/2009   6/23/2009
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 133  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2010
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Very challenging
-All the holes, with the exception of 2, are par 3's. I didn't think this was very reasonable. I only had two pars the entire time I played.
-Very, very beautiful. The course takes you through a nice forest that I was surprised Central Illinois had.
-Good conditioned baskets
-Beautiful layout that's easy and very enjoyable to follow
Cons: -Too challenging. I hit a tree on 16 of my 18 drives. It really starts to piss you off.
-Millions of Mosquitos
-Stinging Nettles and other painful plants.
-Easy to lose disc.
Other Thoughts: Walking through this forest/park on a rainy day when no one else was there was an adventure I'm never going to forget. It was so much fun!

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center