Lake Murray, OK
Lake Murray Lodge Share
Uploaded By: swburto Hole #1 (Taken 5/2009)
2 / 57ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Leave Your Drivers in the Car

2-4    1/4/2013   1/4/2013
Review By: rd.bittle
Played: 51  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/22/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good Tee signs
A few different throws
Well kept
Unique baskets (old Frisbee style)
Easy navigation
Great place to work on approach shots/long putts
All ace chances
Decent use of the elevation that they had
Great place to take family/newbies
Not crowded
Pretty course
Lake views
Good bathrooms
Water fountain inside
Place to stay on the Lake/course
Frisbees to borrow from the Lodge
Just plain cool experience

Favorite Hole(s): #5
Cons: Short
Almost no risk/reward
No concrete tees(not needed)
Basket #8 is damaged (no big deal it still catches)
#1 and #9 baskets lean a little (not bad)
Not much length variety (50ft-150ft)
Not much challenge at all
Innocent vacationers might wander through the course randomly
Other Thoughts: This course is surprisingly fun. If you are in the area anyway, stop by and play a few rounds. You will have a lot of chancesa at an ace. Right on the lake there is a pretty view and some fun to be had. If you have a young family this is a recommendation to play it. Not worth much of a trip but I think for a change of pace you should stop by. Work on your long putting and Leave The Drivers In The Car.

My "disc rating" is weighted heavily toward fun factor. Amenities or lack thereof bump it up or down apx .5 or so.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Unbelievable!!

2-4    1/4/2013   1/4/2013
Review By: TylerM
Played: 31  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an unbelievable course! On hole 6 (50') three people had vandalized the sign writing "ace" with their name and a date. Unbelievable! It's a FIFTY foot hole for cryin' out loud! Anyway...

Signage is adequate with hole # and distance.
All the amenities (bathrooms, water fountains, etc)
Not overly crowded, although it was winter when we played.
Very scenic.
Plenty of chances for an ace.
Perfect for what it is - a recreational activity for lodge guests.
Cons: The baskets are the old Frisbee golf baskets. The cage curves back toward the cone in the center. The gap between the top of the cage and the top of the cone is kinda hard to hit.

Very little challenge. With real baskets, this course would have no challenge.

Tourists don't know why you're out there throwing Frisbees and are likely going to be in the way at times.

The basket on 8 is damaged.

No concrete tees. Lol!
Other Thoughts: Don't expect much. But, it was actually a very fun, relaxing course. If you are looking for a challenging course go elsewhere.
About 1/2 of the holes are par 2 with the others par 3. If you get an ace at Lake Murray, does it count as an ace?

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful beginner course

1    4/9/2012   5/12/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays on a grassy hillside overlooking a large lake. The views from every hole are excellent, this is a beautiful location with lots of other fun activities available at the lodge. Scattered mature trees make for a couple low ceilings and a few baskets tucked behind obstacles.

I like seeing fun beginner courses in places that will expose new players, and this one definitely qualifies. The lines are varied, but open and fair with no rough to punish errant shots. The distances are short and navigation is easy, no time to get bored on long holes or long walks.
Cons: I rate every course on the same scale, if I was rating courses for kids or first time players this one would get a pretty good score. That said, my criteria for ratings are weighted heavily on challenge and variety, and you really won't find that here. Every shot is a long putt or short approach, the trees are used to maximum advantage but it isn't enough to add any difficulty. Most of the shots play across the hillside, so the elevation doesn't come into play as much as it could.

The tees are not level. I don't expect large tee areas on this short of a course, but throwing from a lumpy spot of grass with a side slope is a bit irritating. I have no issue with the cone baskets, especially on a beginner course, but many of the targets here were bent and deformed.
Other Thoughts: If you're looking for a fun family destination with a kid friendly course that won't take too long, this is your spot. I would take a new player here in a heartbeat, and with so many other activities it makes for a nice day. More experienced players should shoot the 9 holes in 18 or fewer strokes with only a putter or superclass disc, there's no challenge for anyone with a good jump putt or approach shot.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Ace Run on 9 Holes . . . how fun!

1    2/2/2011   2/2/2011
Review By: harr0140
Played: 682  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Beginner friendly in fact it is as beginner friendly as any course on my 41 course roadtrip to Texas.

2) Swanky cabins available to people for rent in this state park. How cool would it be to rent a small cabin and have a place to take 9 ace runs everyday!

3) It obviouly is designed for those peple staying at the state park. . . it is not a championshi course nor should it be considered to be so. They did a good job with a small piece of property and I am sure it is popular in summer.

4) Cool property to stay for a camping weekend. It has horseshoes, mini-golf, camping, and all sorts of other activities.

5) Signs have Hole # and distance on every hole. This is an amenity that is often forgotten and I appreciate the fact that it is on this property.

6) Fun factor is high here as it can be considered to be an absolute ace run . . .They even consider holes to be par 2's . . . so in order to beat those holes would mean an ace!
Cons: 1) Very very short property. Although it is fun to have 9 ace runs, it still doesn't present much challenge. It has a lot of fun factor but not a lot of challenge.

2) Property seems to have a but of usage because the turf and grounds surrounding Holes #5=8 are pretty beat up.

3) Baskets are way less forgiving than chained baskets. There is a tendency to bounce off the deflector type basket than there is to catch a chain and have a shot to stay in the basket. The best spot to aim on the basket is low on the deflector do it has less impact on the disc.

4) Grounds leave a little bit to be desired, compaction seems to be the biggest issue here.

5) Targets seem to be less than desied here. They have a tendency to keep the disc out.

6) Tees are in bad shape, they have suffered from compaction and traffic.

7)Safety danger when playing back in the corner on holes 5-8 because there is backtracking and two fairways run right along each other. I know they are short holes but if you have a bunch of beginners out there someone is bound to get hit.
Other Thoughts: It appears as if the tent is up all year round. We played in mid winter and it was still up so it seems like the tent is a near permanent ficture. This course was a stop on our 40 course trip mostly because we were trying to get my wife an ace. We didn't jave high expectations, but we did desire to have a good time. We enjoyed our quick visit to the property, but at the same time wished there was a little bit more fun factor involved here.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A novelty

1    12/22/2010   12/23/2010
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very short, can play very quickly. I played a round in 10 or 15 minutes throwing 4 discs on each hole.
-Course is located on a hilly area just next to the lake. Lots of elevation changes and a great view.
-Holes are mostly under 100' and the longest is 150'. Should be ace runs but good luck getting one to sit in these cone targets.
-Despite the short length, some holes are kinda fun. Lots of trees to deal with.
-Lake, camping, fishing, small mini-golf course, ball golf course nearby. Nice state park.
Cons: -Targets are not pole holes, they are baskets with metal cone things above them. Tricky to get used to but you can still get them in there.
-Baskets have widely spaced wiring, you disc can easily fall out the bottom
-Targets have hole number painted on them but they are very small and faded, impossible to see from the tees
-For a tiny 9 hole, the navigation is not obvious. It only takes a minute to walk to the baskets and figure it out since the course is so short though. Baskets 5 and 7 are in the same area. 5 is the farther one.
-A few fairways cross each other. Probably not much of a problem, I can't imagine more than one group here at once.
Other Thoughts: Don't come here expecting a real course. This is just a super-novice, putt-putt course. Might be fun to take the family or walk over from your campsite after you've been drinking on the lake all day and see if you can still make deuce on a 75' hole. :D


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

2-4    1/1/2010   1/26/2010
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: One disc course.
scenic view of Lake Murray and the Lodge.
GREAT nearby camping.
Cons: Longest hole is like 110 ft
Is not chain basket course, it a "Cone" course.
Other Thoughts: This is one of the oldest courses in the US. The baskets were the old "Cone" style baskets that were meant for regular frisbee's, not golf discs so your small disc may fall out of the basket.
It has been years sense I have been to Lake Murray, we use to camp about 5 min away from the lodge in a non developed camping area on a peninsula. When we did, we would drive over to Ardmore and play there two courses. (one has sense been removed)

Anyways, only play here for nostalgia, not to play a good disc golf course. Just bring your putter or upshot disc and spend 10 min putting the course.
_____________________________

This course is no longer listed on the PDGA web site, if I remember correctly, this course was installed in the mid 70's. There were other "Cone" baskets around the country at the time so they are not "home made"
In fact, Dirk Snow of Dallas Disc Golf has one of these Cone Baskets from his original home course in Iowa.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 28th Anniversary

1    5/24/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: swburto
Played: 42  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: You can play this course easily in 15 minutes. I played three games at once in 20 minutes. My wife tried the sport for the first time. It was a good beginner course for her. If you are a guest at the lodge, they have discs for check out. The lake is beautiful, but not really a problem.
Cons: The baskets are antique. It takes getting used to. The course is short. Hole 9 is near the main sidewalk between the lodge and the lake. Often you have to wait for people to clear the area.
Other Thoughts: My wife planned our anniversary trip with my newly acquired love for disc golf in mind. She was excited to tell me that there was a disc golf course where we were staying. I was a little surprised when I first saw this course. I had never seen baskets like this before nor had I played a course with holes this short. My goal was to get my first ace. I did it on hole 3 as I was playing my 10th game. I played the course a total of 14 times. The shortness of the course made it like having a nice little "snack."

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Tops

1    4/17/2007   2/17/2009
Review By: Roc1Time
Played: 126  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fun if your on the lake. The baskets are metal "tops", no chains just hollow empty upside down tops. If your camping and you didnt bring your basket it will pass the time. Right next to the lake so the scenery is good. Run at some aces!!! HA
Cons: Super short course with POOR targets(kind of like object golf).
Other Thoughts: If your out and about and you decide a family outing, its cool to bring the family and let them have at it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 short 9 hole

7/12/2008   7/13/2008
Review By: hopper58
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 12.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It will be a good course to work on your long putts, i believe the shortest i saw was 50 feet and the longest was hole 9 at 150, next longest is hole 8 at 115. This is also a course that may be good for young disc golfers trying to learn how to play. The lake itsself is beautiful, so you always can look over and see some nice scenery signs mark holes well, and able to see all your shots. disc can be rented from rec center (only if you are a guest)
Cons: very short, uneven tees (you just throw from a sign in the dirt which may be on a slope). 6-7-8 all are smashed together (only bonus is not many people play it so you dont really have to worry about other players. Baskets are different then what ive ever played on before (pics to come later) Hard metal (almost upside down triangle) top. Had several shots that if in chains would of fell in...instead they hit off, and rolled down the hill (and could easily end up in the lake when rolling. You also end up playing right agaisnt the lodge and throwing at one basket that is set infront of a window (i guess you can see how this is aproblem.
Other Thoughts: if your going out to lake murray to enjoy the lake, its will be worth to work in a quick 9 and pratice your shots, but dont make a special trip out to play this course not worth the time or gas money...it took me by myself about 15-20 mins to play all the holes

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.