Canastota, NY 
Oxbow Falls Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 8/2013)
4 / 348ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Anyhzer Hills

2-4    8/4/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 90  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - cement tee pads and signs showing next tee and distance and pars
- good flow of the course, my group and I played through without getting lost and we are not regulars
- I really enjoyed the basket placements
-- although it was a pretty short course it made up for it with obstacles and woods
- lots of elevation both up and downhill
-although their lots of brush it was fairly easy to find discs that were thrown off the fairway. the only real trouble we had was hole 18
- very well kept up, it was well mowed and we found no trash lying around
- great place to work on midrange and disc control skills
- a left-handers dream course
- There was a line or sometimes multiple to the lines to the basket for every hole except one which can be difficult to do for wooded courses
- very easy to get to from the thruway
- park seems to be used exclusively for disc golf
Cons: - maybe a little e too anhyzer but that's being picky
-my friend tried to use the bathroom and said there was no water
- not too many open holes to really blast it but there are other courses in Syracuse for that like Jamesville Beach or Clay Park
Other Thoughts: I brought some friends with me from Rochester and they had a few things to say about the course. One wanted to trade this course with our basil course because there both short wooded courses but with the exception of one hole there were lines to the basket for every hole. Basil in Rochester sometimes you just have to get lucky. My other friend compared it to hyzer creek another high rated course In NY just it was more anhyzer and there wasn't a creek but the hole design was very similar thus the name Anhyzer Hills. Overall a very pleasant experience. If you need a more wide open course Clay is about 20 minutes west down the thruway.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly & Anny

1    4/6/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: bhoff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
Pros: quiet park without other activity except occasional walker. Course challenges a righty with plenty of annies, as much as 90 degrees. Rewards accuracy and not as much length. Few level holes, as the course wound up & down the terrain.
Cons: tight course with rugged bushes and trees - impossible to go through or over some spots - and it wasn't leafed out yet! (Rest rooms were closed - mid day?) Course needed spring cleanup.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Good for me as I don't shoot long. Nice park, not too far off NYS Thruway and close to TS :-) Worth a visit. "Overlooks Onieda Lake" is a stretch - Lake is pretty far away.

 Uphill, Downhill

2-4    7/20/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging narrow corridors. Great uphill and downhill shots. Quiet, out-of-the-way in the woods. Well-used, but not crowded.
Cons: Several short holes were laid out where it was practically impossible to get a birdie. "Fairways" took sharp 90 deg turns on 2 or 3 baskets and the woods was to thick to go through or over.

Spent a lot of time looking for discs in the tall grass and thick bushes lining just about every hole. Because of this I would have not come back to this course except that it was the only course within a half hour drive of Rome, NY where I was assigned on business for a short week.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 love the course

1    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: Morgan Wright
Played: 37  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 43.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2010
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic tee pads, love the woodsy feel of a dedicated golf course as opposed to a multi-use park. Great parking lot, beautiful view of Oneida Lake in the distance. Nice pavilion, dedicated crew of golfers, fairways are fair and have just the right amount of obstacles. Good balance between lefty and righty holes.
Cons: Pins are "Mach II new" which have a design flaw...around the chain pattern there are 5 zones where the pole is exposed, you can hit the pole and bounce out even if you make a perfect putt. Need 5 extra chains per pin the they would be fine.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course and I love playing there.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    10/3/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: boneehead16661
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent technical course.
This course has great uphill, downhill, lh, and rh shots. This is the type of course that improves your game.
Cons: There are people that think that the course can be edited by anyone. Specifically hole 11 had a tree in the middle of the fairway that had been chopped down
Other Thoughts: The solution the course maintainers had was to cement the tree three feet in front of the stump. Excellent move.


2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice surprise!

1    6/11/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 199  Reviewed: 145  Exp: 6.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A stand alone course. No other park activities or users to interfere with your round. shelter picnic tables and port-a-potties on site.

Benches at most holes.
Nice, large concrete tee pads at every hole.
Signs with distances at most holes. Some look missing due to vandalism.

Park was well maintained and recently mowed. Looks like the town and the local club take good care of this course.

Great use of elevation. There are some downhill holes and some uphill holes. The uphills add some difficultly to some short holes.

Basket positions are also used to make the holes more challenging and fun. There are some positions behind trees, and a couple where an overthrow could be punishing due to hills or woods.

Fairways are all well-defined and offer a great variety of shots. Lefts, rights, straights are all here.
Cons: Navigation and signs could be improved. The course is fairly easy to figure out, but there are some areas where signs would help. After #7 there are a couple baskets that are nearby. #8 is to the left, but #18 is to the right and it isn't obvious which one to play for a first timer. Some nice signs would help at this course.

Distance. Long throwers that really want to air it out won't find a place here for that. A hole or 2 with some distance would be great.
Other Thoughts: This course really surprised me. It is a very fun technical course. It is wooded. Not forested like a mountain course. So if you are off the fairway, you are in trouble. Undergrowth is everywhere. Vines, brush, weeds. Whatever grows is probably out there. Bring your accuracy or stay home.

The back nine was great. #14 reminded me of some holes that I have played at Lester Lorch in TX, or the wooded courses in NC. At the tee the first impression is WTF, but there are lines through those trees. And probably there is more lines than you can see the first time you play it. Just a great longer, wooded, slightly uphill hole.

There is also some nice ace possibilities on this course. Nothing without a little challenge, but the opportunity is there.

The course is not far of the NYS Thruway so if you're taking a trip across New York take some time and play this course.

THIS COURSE DOES NOT OVERLOOK ONEIDA LAKE. Unless you have bionic eyes. Oneida is roughly 10 miles north. Great smallmouth bass and walleye fishing lake if that's your thing.

Boxing HOF is located just off the NYS Thruway exit to this course. It's not that impressive looking, but if you are a boxing fan make sure you stop.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Just Play It

5+    4/10/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: Nasty_Nate
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best. If your looking for to work you game you came to the right place. Each hole you have a chance at a hole in one. Many easy 2 shots.
Cons: Dont go off the fair way or your disc will do lost. May be difficult if you cant play with both a FH and a BH shot. Hammer is also very usefull
Other Thoughts: This course is the SH#T. magic can happen here. I got a 2 on hole 14. Can you?

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    12/25/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: alx133
Played: 68  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 10.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice teepads, Intuitive layout
- Probably the most technical course in the area
- tough for how short this course is
- you need some finesse and perhaps some confidence to stay in the fairways here
Cons: - Bugs in the summer months. there can be some seriously terrible bug issues here. Tent caterpillars or black flies.
- longest hole a bit over 400. could use some more distance
- some of the locals throw their empty beer cans everywhere.
- had a sheriff box in my car because he thought i was up to something nefarious. when he saw i was golfing he watched me throw a hole, then finally left.
Other Thoughts: one of the three courses that taught me how to play, second course ever played; I still go back every chance i get.
Been hearing about course expansion here for a while. I would like to see something in the way of progress on that.

I consider this course a must play in the CNY area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Titletown Disc Golf Knockout!

5+    11/11/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: cdavid74
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Oxbow Falls offers a challenging day of DG in a gorgeous setting. The course plays up and down the side of a wooded hillside. The course flows intuitively from hole to hole although a map will help navigate the one spot that can be confusing (path from 8 to 9 crosses with path from 17-18 which could make it easy to play a wrong hole your first time out). Each hole has concrete tees and the mach 2 baskets are in good condition. Parking is ample and the course is not located in a multi-use area. The designers did an excellent job utilizing the topography and elevation.
Cons: Although the course has an even number of left to right holes and right to left holes overall, the front nine heavily favors LHBH and the back nine heavily favors RHBH players. The fairways on the course are generally well maintained but the rough can get very mangy at times. Tight fairways, thick rough, and blind holes are not friendly for solo play. The course is much more fun with a group of players spotting for each other. There are no holes that allow you to let it rip.
Other Thoughts: Low scores at Oxbow require accuracy rather then power. Stay on the fairway and manage the course and you're in for a great day. If you end your round and need to feed the urge to grip it and rip it then jump in the car and head to nearby Jamesville Beach. The two courses are polar opposites and between the two you'll get a great 36 hole variety. CNYDGC put on great tourneys and leagues and the local players are always helpful and friendly. This is a must stop for anybody visiting the Syracuse area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Bow

5+    8/14/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tight holes played through the woods and over some great elavation. Theres a good mix of L to R and R to L holes on the course. Serious elavation...bring your hiking boots.
Cons: Some of the teepads aren't any where near level with the ground and it makes teeing off really difficult.
Other Thoughts: This one is worth stopping at to play. Its my favorite course in central NY and it kicks my ass every time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.