Canastota, NY 
Oxbow Falls Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 8/2013)
3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee Sign

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Short Holes, Very Sweet Course

2-4    8/30/2015   9/2/2015
Review By: geminiguy88
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 3.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great layout. Winds tight around the hill.

Easy to find next tee, not much distance between them. Limited back tracking.

Deceptively short holes that present plenty of challenges with numerous obstacles. Very fun but can be frustrating. Keeps things very interesting.

Bring all of your shots, you will need them!

Awesome elevation changes come in to play in a big way. Uphill, down hill, side of the hill, etc.

Plenty of benches at tees and a few picnic tables (Thanks Marty!)

Water available by tee 18

Fairways mowed and maintained

Concrete Pads

Friendly people

Few non-discers on paths

Beautiful view from tee 18
Cons: No trash cans

One portajohn in parking lot

Can be buggy and boggy/wet with right conditions (not an issue on day I played)

One or two holes can over lap with a an overpowered or bad throw. Can get hit with disc if not paying attention.

Very unforgiving, old school baskets. Nearly sunk a 80 foot Roc shot for birdie and it got spit out in a big way. I got Oxbowed!

A few picnic tables were falling apart.
Other Thoughts: Loved this course, can't wait to play it again when I make it back to NY. New baskets, trashcans, and a bathroom is what prevents me from giving Oxbow Falls a five rating. That is it. Very challenging and requires accuracy, finesse, and strategy to par. If you are passing through anywhere nearby, do not pass up a chance to experience Oxbow Falls!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

oxbow course

1    5/17/2015   5/18/2015
Review By: vcisjb
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
Pros: Very well put together course!
Tees are a close walk from previous baskets.
well defined trail going from hole to hole
benches at darn near every hole
it's gorgeous just to walk around the course
Cons: If you live in Syracuse, Oxbow is a haul
lots of potential to lose disc, very woody
a scorecard and or map would be a nice touch
Other Thoughts: If you are a 'b' or 'c' player bring your 'A' game. As an amateur I shot for a par 4 on most of these holes. There are lots of pro material players that frequent here so it's a good place to swap pointers. Course was really dry despite the rainfall we've had. Probably one of the best CNY courses.

 Most technical in CNY

5+    3/17/2015   3/17/2015
Review By: JBarg42
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.5 Years
Pros: Gorgeous views, great mix of anny/hyzer shots, short but technical, great fairways w/ woods on both sides, not much undergrowth. You can definitely let em rip on some holes, others require finesse. Great exercise going up and down the hills. Basically just a disc golf park w/ a pavilion and some permanent charcoal grills. Very nice bathrooms. Everything is powered by Oxbow Falls itself! Baskets are in excellent condition for being about 15 years old. Flat concrete tees are mostly long enough for a good running tee shot. They're not contoured to the ground so you don't have to throw on a slanted pad. Very easy to follow layout w/ signs showing next tee. There are many routes to take to the basket on each hole, you just gotta see them. It is mowed frequently.
Cons: Gets a little buggy in the summer. But I've never been to a course in NY that doesn't. Once the leaves fill in on the trees, after a rainfall the branches will droop down quite a bit, making for an even more challenging round. (Not necessarily all that bad I suppose as it changes the game up).
Other Thoughts: This course is extremely beautiful. It does indeed overlook Oneida Lake as you can clearly see it in it's entirety. All the way from Sylvan Beach to Brewerton. You can even see the nuclear power plant in Oswego on clear days! This course is a must play for anyone passing through the area! I am there almost every single day playing a round(s). There just isn't enough I can say about this fantastic course!

Anyhzer Hills

2-4    8/4/2014   8/9/2014
Review By: lcra0825
Played: 102  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 9.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - cement tee pads and signs showing next tee and distance and pars
- good flow of the course, my group and I played through without getting lost and we are not regulars
- I really enjoyed the basket placements
-- although it was a pretty short course it made up for it with obstacles and woods
- lots of elevation both up and downhill
-although their lots of brush it was fairly easy to find discs that were thrown off the fairway. the only real trouble we had was hole 18
- very well kept up, it was well mowed and we found no trash lying around
- great place to work on midrange and disc control skills
- a left-handers dream course
- There was a line or sometimes multiple to the lines to the basket for every hole except one which can be difficult to do for wooded courses
- very easy to get to from the thruway
- park seems to be used exclusively for disc golf
Cons: - maybe a little e too anhyzer but that's being picky
-my friend tried to use the bathroom and said there was no water
- not too many open holes to really blast it but there are other courses in Syracuse for that like Jamesville Beach or Clay Park
Other Thoughts: I brought some friends with me from Rochester and they had a few things to say about the course. One wanted to trade this course with our basil course because there both short wooded courses but with the exception of one hole there were lines to the basket for every hole. Basil in Rochester sometimes you just have to get lucky. My other friend compared it to hyzer creek another high rated course In NY just it was more anhyzer and there wasn't a creek but the hole design was very similar thus the name Anhyzer Hills. Overall a very pleasant experience. If you need a more wide open course Clay is about 20 minutes west down the thruway.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Hilly & Anny

1    4/6/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: bhoff
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.5 Years
Pros: quiet park without other activity except occasional walker. Course challenges a righty with plenty of annies, as much as 90 degrees. Rewards accuracy and not as much length. Few level holes, as the course wound up & down the terrain.
Cons: tight course with rugged bushes and trees - impossible to go through or over some spots - and it wasn't leafed out yet! (Rest rooms were closed - mid day?) Course needed spring cleanup.
Other Thoughts: Fun course. Good for me as I don't shoot long. Nice park, not too far off NYS Thruway and close to TS :-) Worth a visit. "Overlooks Onieda Lake" is a stretch - Lake is pretty far away.

 Uphill, Downhill

2-4    7/20/2011   9/26/2011
Review By: sasscers7
Played: 56  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Challenging narrow corridors. Great uphill and downhill shots. Quiet, out-of-the-way in the woods. Well-used, but not crowded.
Cons: Several short holes were laid out where it was practically impossible to get a birdie. "Fairways" took sharp 90 deg turns on 2 or 3 baskets and the woods was to thick to go through or over.

Spent a lot of time looking for discs in the tall grass and thick bushes lining just about every hole. Because of this I would have not come back to this course except that it was the only course within a half hour drive of Rome, NY where I was assigned on business for a short week.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 love the course

1    10/16/2010   10/16/2010
Review By: Morgan Wright
Played: 37  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 44.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/26/2010
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fantastic tee pads, love the woodsy feel of a dedicated golf course as opposed to a multi-use park. Great parking lot, beautiful view of Oneida Lake in the distance. Nice pavilion, dedicated crew of golfers, fairways are fair and have just the right amount of obstacles. Good balance between lefty and righty holes.
Cons: Pins are "Mach II new" which have a design flaw...around the chain pattern there are 5 zones where the pole is exposed, you can hit the pole and bounce out even if you make a perfect putt. Need 5 extra chains per pin the they would be fine.
Other Thoughts: It's a great course and I love playing there.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/3/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: boneehead16661
Played: 10  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent technical course.
This course has great uphill, downhill, lh, and rh shots. This is the type of course that improves your game.
Cons: There are people that think that the course can be edited by anyone. Specifically hole 11 had a tree in the middle of the fairway that had been chopped down
Other Thoughts: The solution the course maintainers had was to cement the tree three feet in front of the stump. Excellent move.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice surprise!

1    6/11/2010   6/12/2010
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 7 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A stand alone course. No other park activities or users to interfere with your round. shelter picnic tables and port-a-potties on site.

Benches at most holes.
Nice, large concrete tee pads at every hole.
Signs with distances at most holes. Some look missing due to vandalism.

Park was well maintained and recently mowed. Looks like the town and the local club take good care of this course.

Great use of elevation. There are some downhill holes and some uphill holes. The uphills add some difficultly to some short holes.

Basket positions are also used to make the holes more challenging and fun. There are some positions behind trees, and a couple where an overthrow could be punishing due to hills or woods.

Fairways are all well-defined and offer a great variety of shots. Lefts, rights, straights are all here.
Cons: Navigation and signs could be improved. The course is fairly easy to figure out, but there are some areas where signs would help. After #7 there are a couple baskets that are nearby. #8 is to the left, but #18 is to the right and it isn't obvious which one to play for a first timer. Some nice signs would help at this course.

Distance. Long throwers that really want to air it out won't find a place here for that. A hole or 2 with some distance would be great.
Other Thoughts: This course really surprised me. It is a very fun technical course. It is wooded. Not forested like a mountain course. So if you are off the fairway, you are in trouble. Undergrowth is everywhere. Vines, brush, weeds. Whatever grows is probably out there. Bring your accuracy or stay home.

The back nine was great. #14 reminded me of some holes that I have played at Lester Lorch in TX, or the wooded courses in NC. At the tee the first impression is WTF, but there are lines through those trees. And probably there is more lines than you can see the first time you play it. Just a great longer, wooded, slightly uphill hole.

There is also some nice ace possibilities on this course. Nothing without a little challenge, but the opportunity is there.

The course is not far of the NYS Thruway so if you're taking a trip across New York take some time and play this course.

THIS COURSE DOES NOT OVERLOOK ONEIDA LAKE. Unless you have bionic eyes. Oneida is roughly 10 miles north. Great smallmouth bass and walleye fishing lake if that's your thing.

Boxing HOF is located just off the NYS Thruway exit to this course. It's not that impressive looking, but if you are a boxing fan make sure you stop.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

  Just Play It

5+    4/10/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: Nasty_Nate
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 10.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is one of the best. If your looking for to work you game you came to the right place. Each hole you have a chance at a hole in one. Many easy 2 shots.
Cons: Dont go off the fair way or your disc will do lost. May be difficult if you cant play with both a FH and a BH shot. Hammer is also very usefull
Other Thoughts: This course is the SH#T. magic can happen here. I got a 2 on hole 14. Can you?

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.