Canastota, NY 
Oxbow Falls Park Share
Uploaded By: timg   (Taken 8/2013)
Course Kiosk



Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 

5+    12/25/2009   1/9/2010
Review By: alx133
Played: 73  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Nice teepads, Intuitive layout
- Probably the most technical course in the area
- tough for how short this course is
- you need some finesse and perhaps some confidence to stay in the fairways here
Cons: - Bugs in the summer months. there can be some seriously terrible bug issues here. Tent caterpillars or black flies.
- longest hole a bit over 400. could use some more distance
- some of the locals throw their empty beer cans everywhere.
- had a sheriff box in my car because he thought i was up to something nefarious. when he saw i was golfing he watched me throw a hole, then finally left.
Other Thoughts: one of the three courses that taught me how to play, second course ever played; I still go back every chance i get.
Been hearing about course expansion here for a while. I would like to see something in the way of progress on that.

I consider this course a must play in the CNY area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Titletown Disc Golf Knockout!

5+    11/11/2009   12/28/2009
Review By: cdavid74
Played: 30  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Oxbow Falls offers a challenging day of DG in a gorgeous setting. The course plays up and down the side of a wooded hillside. The course flows intuitively from hole to hole although a map will help navigate the one spot that can be confusing (path from 8 to 9 crosses with path from 17-18 which could make it easy to play a wrong hole your first time out). Each hole has concrete tees and the mach 2 baskets are in good condition. Parking is ample and the course is not located in a multi-use area. The designers did an excellent job utilizing the topography and elevation.
Cons: Although the course has an even number of left to right holes and right to left holes overall, the front nine heavily favors LHBH and the back nine heavily favors RHBH players. The fairways on the course are generally well maintained but the rough can get very mangy at times. Tight fairways, thick rough, and blind holes are not friendly for solo play. The course is much more fun with a group of players spotting for each other. There are no holes that allow you to let it rip.
Other Thoughts: Low scores at Oxbow require accuracy rather then power. Stay on the fairway and manage the course and you're in for a great day. If you end your round and need to feed the urge to grip it and rip it then jump in the car and head to nearby Jamesville Beach. The two courses are polar opposites and between the two you'll get a great 36 hole variety. CNYDGC put on great tourneys and leagues and the local players are always helpful and friendly. This is a must stop for anybody visiting the Syracuse area.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Bow

5+    8/14/2009   12/25/2009
Review By: Gator
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tight holes played through the woods and over some great elavation. Theres a good mix of L to R and R to L holes on the course. Serious elavation...bring your hiking boots.
Cons: Some of the teepads aren't any where near level with the ground and it makes teeing off really difficult.
Other Thoughts: This one is worth stopping at to play. Its my favorite course in central NY and it kicks my ass every time.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging, but worth the drive.

2-4    7/13/2005   12/1/2009
Review By: jonnieoh
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tough, wooded, with lots of elevation changes.
Cons: Tough, wooded, with lots of elevation changes. Narrow fairways are pretty technical, so you must be in control of all your shots, or else you're definitely going to lose a disc or three. And there are lots of mosquitoes and biting flies, so BRING BUG SPRAY. You've been warned...
Other Thoughts: This shouldn't be the first course you play after a long winter. The technical, tight fairways will be a challenge, so warm up on some easier, more wide open courses first. Plus, the elevation changes can make you winded.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Short wooded course

1    9/19/2009   9/19/2009
Review By: Hattrick12488
Played: 17  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are tee pads on every hole for the pro tees, and they're in very good condition.

The course isn't difficult enough that a beginner couldn't give it a shot, but most holes leave little room for error with narrow fairways surrounded by woods.

It's a very well maintained wooded course set apart from the rest of the park, which helps keep unaware bystanders from wandering onto the fairways.
Cons: I had to walk up the fairway to find the basket on a handful of holes because many signs were missing and there are lots of blind shots.

The course map showed that most (but not all) holes had a second tee, but none of them seemed to be marked.
Other Thoughts: Bring along a course map. There were none there when I went, and I accidentally played 18 thinking it was 8.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/17/2009   8/19/2009
Review By: Kwick
Played: 50  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great use of elevation
Secluded
Concrete Tee Pads
Cons: Very short course
repetitive shots
easy to lose discs
little/no signs
Other Thoughts: This is a nice little course in the middle of nowhere NY. Every hole appears to have had a sign at some point, but almost all of them are torn down. That makes following the course a little difficult. Some of the signs appeared to indicate a pro and AM pads, but I could only find one per hole. Print out a map as finding some holes is difficult. I played 18 twice (as it is right next to the basket of I believe 7). There is a lot of hiking involved as many of the shots are up/down hill. Some of these shots do get repetitive. There is one hole that has a fairway that goes 50 feet straight ahead and than makes a 90 degree turn to finish the short par 3 hole. It's impossible to make a disc make the turn and is a silly hole. There is some overgrowth and can get sticky in the bushes. Many of the holes you can drive with a mid range or putter.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 I couldn't see Oneida Lake...

1    7/12/2008   10/16/2008
Review By: Rizbee
Played: 241  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 37.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of elevation. Tight fairways cur through forest. Pretty good mix of very tight and slightly open holes. Good cement pads. Pretty good balance of left vs. right curves needed.
Cons: Signage has seen some damage. Lots of blind holes, causing you to walk down the fairway halfway to figure out where to throw to. One hole (somewhere around 11-13) was a silly 9o-degree turn 100 ft. off the tee in a wooded tunnel. I guess they needed some way to get from one hole to another.
Other Thoughts: But not seeing the lake was not a big dissapoinment for me. No big bomber holes - well maybe 18. Not a problem for me, but for my big-arm son.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Constant Challenge

5+    9/26/2008   10/10/2008
Review By: nickstaudt
Played: 12  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/10/2009
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, well groomed fairways, good amount of elevation change. Easy to navigate. Fair to both righties and lefties. Accuracy is rewarded more than power. Physically challenging due to the steep uphill and downhill holes. You do not need a big arm to play well here. If you can play well here, you can play well almost anywhere.
Cons: Tight fairways and lots of places to lose your disc if you aren't on top of your game. Keeping track of your disc is a must if you miss the fairway. Signs have been destroyed for the most part.
Other Thoughts: You can be having the round of your life one minute and cursing the next. Play smart consistently to do the best here. Also, the photo of hole 10 needs to be updated. The trees on the right side of the fairway have been completely taken out making the hole much more open giving you a good birdie opportunity. The only real navigational issue is the transition from 7 to 8. After 7 go to the left, not the right. The tee for 18 is visible to your right, but thats not where you wanna go. It is easier to play in the spring and fall since much of the trees won't have leaves making the fairways more open. Very technical course. This course will definately improve your game.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/8/2008   8/12/2008
Review By: ghova
Played: 42  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good short course with nice elevation changes. Plenty of birdie opportunities. Lots of woods but was not too thick and usually had a shot out of it, and no trouble finding discs. Fun design.
Cons: No maps or scorecards on the bulletin board when i was there, and some tee boxes are not labeled, not a big problem as the course is pretty well layed out but i played 18 twice by accident. keep going up the hill after hole 8. haha. hills slippery when wet.
Other Thoughts: easy stop when traveling on 90, maybe a 5 min detour. stopped on my way from albany to buffalo. will probably do it again overall good experience. also a fairly good course to bring beginners too as it is not too long and gives them a few good par opportunities.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Growth

4/17/2008   4/17/2008
Review By: Rafaelcoronado
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Sweet change up of hills and relative open space to wood play, grew up on this coarse, 13 is awesome. Got a skip duce on 16 epic, came close on 10. Awesome coarse def give it a visit and dont get too frustrated on the first couple visits.
Cons: Woods can present a potential problem but most just find it a sweet challenge. Infested in Eastern Tent Caterpillars whenever they come around, trees are covered they hang around and have orgies on the trees, if you go in the summer defiantly bring a hat.
Other Thoughts: New water spigots, Sweet picnic area with a play-set for the kids, few grills, new bathrooms coming, benches on various holes. No glass bottles allowed. Nice nature park across the street I believe where there is a waterfall. Good coarse for dogs and kids. Good beer and friendly people welcome

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.