Augusta, GA 
The Players Course @ Lake Olmstead Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Highs and Lows

1    9/25/2011   10/5/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
The park containing this course was probably quite a sight in its heyday, with the brick bandstand, sweeping stone staircases, tall, scattered hardwoods, lake-views, etc.
Cons:
Multiple chances to negatively interact with other park users, other players, a street, and water.

Basket-6 was missing (playing to nearby basket-12 was a reasonable alternative). Basket-13 was missing - no reasonable alternative available.
Other Thoughts:
The strip of land containing the course is long and narrow, with a lake, and the walking path paralleling it, forming one side, and a street running along the other side. For the most part, the first nine holes play away from the parking lot, along Milledge Road to the right, and the back nine plays back towards the parking lot, keeping the lake to the right.

The online map is essential for the first-time visitor to the park, as most fairways are parallel to one another, making it easy to mistakenly throw to the wrong basket. Navigation can be tricky as you are often walking past a basket from the other nine to reach the next tee.

The main challenges confronted on this course are:
- large hardwoods scattered about the length of the flightpath (about 1/3rd of the holes)
- elevation changes, runaway slopes, up-n-over hillocks (again, about 1/3rd of the time)
- nearby water (about 1/4th of the time), but with options to avoid it
Some holes will combine a couple of these features - only a few holes could be classified as open-n-flat

Favourite hole: #15, because it gives you choices. Think you have a big (RHBH) arm? Then go for it - toss one out over the lake, and have it fade left uninterrupted, towards the basket 360' away. Trust your right-turning shot not to turn too much while going such a distance? You have a generous gap to hit between two large trees about halfway to the basket. Otherwise, come up with a plan that fits your arm/style, so you have as easy an approach as possible.

While I'm giving the course an average score, it is not because it is bland - it offers plenty of challenges, but has lots of drawbacks, too.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 I Brake for the Lake

5+    8/16/2011   8/17/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 238  Reviewed: 132  Exp: 11.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Olmstead DGC is a nice long course that covers grassy hills with mature trees, set on one side of a small lake. Course amenities include full size, concrete tee pads with hole maps and distances posted at each one. All baskets are in good condition.

I give the high rating here due to the difficulty I have scoring well here. The golf course features a variety of holes, many with length. Some are near water with thick rough surrounding the banks of the lake. There are a couple of nice elevation changing drives, and the danger of bad rolls along with them. The walking path passing through the course defines boundaries that I can seldom avoid going out of for an entire round. Hole 3 is one of my favorites, a drastically elevated tee dropping to a basket 360 feet away in a stand of mature trees. My drive skipped and ricochetted off the bucket yesterday. I also like hole 15 a lot. It is 360 feet with a long route going left, or the direct route to the right if you can carry 300 feet over the water. Great skill is required to shoot well below par here, but it is possible. My personal best is 52 here, but I've seen others shoot in the 40's before.
Cons: There is some pedestrian and bicycle traffic using the walking trail next to several holes. Other times you may have to wait on fishermen or those at benches or tables to move out of the way. As I mentioned, there is water and heavy rough that increase the odds of losing a disc. The layout of the course zig zags quite a bit, so a map or a guide could help if you're a first timer.
Other Thoughts: Lake Olmstead is a great course in my opinion. I don't play it as often as the other courses nearby, due to the lack of shade, length and difficulty, wind, and hazards of losing discs. However I do give it much respect, and enjoy playing there. Will advise checking it out if you're a serious disc golfer and spending some time in Augusta.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun park course

1    4/20/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 817  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 12.8 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course plays through a hilly, grassy park with mature trees. A couple holes bring some rough into play, but for the most part the course is free of underbrush. Several holes play along the water, a couple offer routes with a water carry, though all have safer (longer) routes that stay over land. The water holes are a nice balance of a tough shot with a bailout option so that beginners aren't forced to risk losing their disc.

There is a decent mix of hole lengths here, a couple are long enough to pull out a driver and there are some ace runs mixed in. You'll need a good variety of shots to be successful, though many holes offer multiple routes. Elevation comes into play, there are some fun downhill shots, a few uphill shots, and some really tricky holes that play along the hills with roll away possibilities.
Cons: The course has a lot of safety issues. The first two holes bring a main road and a park road into play, and a walking path winds through a good chunk of the course. Many holes play near picnic areas, on a nice day I could see a lot of conflicts between disc golfers and other park users. In the middle of the course, several holes play pretty close to one another, and you often walk very near other fairways in between holes. There are a few spots where navigation isn't at all obvious, the closest tee isn't always the next one.
Other Thoughts: For a park course, this one really makes you hit your lines, and offers some great risk/reward water shots. I had a lot of fun playing here, though it was on a weekday when the park wasn't as heavily used. Beginners will find the course a little long, but entirely reasonable, there are always safe routes that avoid the water and rough. More experienced players will find a lot of deuces if they hit their lines, but it doesn't play all that easy.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful lakeside course.

1    11/21/2010   12/5/2010
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 55  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This a beautiful lakeside course and it plays along a slender piece of land beside a lake. This priovides for several water hazards and many steep elevation changes where the course drops many feet down to the lake edge.

I was invited to play a round with 4 guys who play it on a regular basis. They stated this is not a heavily played course, although it is a favorite of many in the area. The reason for this is because it is not a course for recreational players nor even many intermediate players.

The layout has maximized the use of land here and the course runs from one end of the park and back again. It starts out with a nice 310' throw on the edge of a softball field where the trees and brick wall, on the right, are in place to protect a very busy street.From there is just gets tougher and tougher.

On 5 baskets water is a direct and big hazard. But on several others a bad drive or a roll on the landing and it will end up in the water. (NOTE: if it gets caught in the reeds on the side your disc may not be retrieveable.)

The elevation here is put to good use. Especailly on 17 and 18. Seventeen is played along the bottom of the slope on the lake edge, with the basket up aganist a heavy shule area and a small area on the right is full of reeds. Eightteen is on top of the same slope around some tough trees and rolling is almost a given if you do not hit it right.

The shule here is not really a problem except on each end of the course on 10 and 17. If you get into it you will probably never see your disc again (we fished out many discs along the lake while looking for our errant throws, about eight alone while hunting for a disc on 17). However, in most of the park you spend your time working your throws around old growth oaks and maples.

Because this is a city park their are benches, and trashcans everywhere. Clean restrooms are available. The park is well kept and pleasant.

The teepads are in very good shape with reliable tee signs on each.

The flow of the course is good. Play it one time through with a map and you should be able to play it again without one.

The baskets are in good shape and putting greens are excellent.
Cons: Baskets 1, 2, 5, 6, 8, 9, and 12 all play along side a road. One was the most disturbing. It is a very busy street. There is a brick wall barrier and some 15 foot trees but a disc can can get through (I have to admit I put one on the sidewalk) A fast moving vehicle is going to get hit.

There is a also a nice, wide, and paved path that you play along alot and was in constant use, although not heavy, when I was there. The people are not very concious of the course next to them. We had to make people aware of our presense on more than one occasion.

This not a course a new or inexperienced person should play. In a different location and with a good guide it could be.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed myself here and while my score was not great, I had played over 250 holes in the 3 days prior and was very tired, it is a place I will play again.

The people here were kind, well mannered, and helpful.

The park is a beauty and very relaxing to play because ot it.

Due to the road and pedestrian traffic I cannot justify a higher score.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Take a kayak

1    7/9/2010   8/8/2010
Review By: CatFish
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.6 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Easy to follow, very open, pretty. great signage, concrete tee pads. The 06 Worlds were held here. The innova wraith was introduced here.
Cons: lots of water. I take my kayak out there and find discs in the water all the time and try to get them back home. no trash cans
Other Thoughts: I take old discs I don't mind losing.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/12/2010   6/18/2010
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 6.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I love water holes and this place has a bunch of them!
- great use of land
- challenging variety (distances, obstacles, water, elevation)
-very friendly locals
-nice concrete tee pads
-nice risk/reward
Cons: I hope they can get some of these issues taken care of:
-desparetly need garbage cans
-wasn't maintained the day I was there
(high grass, trash, broken glass)
-plays near walk ways (walkers/ joggers were very understanding which helps)
-navigation tricky at times
Other Thoughts: I found some public bathrooms at the top of the hill next to a restaurant, however there wasn't TP, soap, or paper towels.
I was very torn about this review. If there are improvements please message me so I can update this review.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golf at the Lake

1    4/8/2010   4/18/2010
Review By: RussMB
Played: 107  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 10.1 Years
This review was updated on 6/18/2010
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lake Olmstead DGC is located in a beautiful scenic park alongside a lake in Augusta.
-Tee's were concrete, excellent signs w/maps
-Challenging water shots
-Easy to find and plenty of parking.
-Multiple Risk/Reward shots
-Not a course for beginners, although they could opt out of the water holes and still have a good time here.
-Good Pin Placement
-Good "Fun Factor" for me
-Varying terrain and good use of elevation
-Tight shots, playing through rows of trees
-Course plays out 9 and back 9 to the parking lot
-Variety of shots are required to play this course
- Holes are mostly 300 to 400ft long, 5 are less the 300, and one is 620ft long.
-17 is a 620ft shot, that plays along the side of a hill, with the lake on your other side. Placement is key, as well as landing. It could roll down the hill into the lake.

FWIW: Other activities here include Biking, Walking, and fishing
Cons: -Small parking lot near #2 Basket. I was a little nervous about hitting someones car
-Navigation can be confusing, I recommend printing off the map on this page. (Links/files Tab)
-Walking path through the course
-Park goers can be walking around and fishing off the bank. (Although, the park goers seemed to know what disc golf is, and were aware of the protocol. A couple times, I had people, stop and motion for me to throw. They watched, one complimented me, and the other one pointed out where my errant throw went. lol)
-Hole 18 plays over a big stairwell. (I had to play around a gentleman standing on the stairs. The same one that motioned for me to throw, and pointed out where it went.)
-Holes 1 and 2 play around the outside of a baseball field. They don't yell "Fore" in baseball. Look out.
-No Bathrooms on the course
-No garbage cans (There was a bunch of trash strewn around the course and I removed some trash that was stuffed into the chains of a basket. I had no where to put the trash.)
-Humane Society across the street from 9 & 10. Dogs barking, it wasn't so much an irritant, I just have a soft spot for dogs in the pound. :(
-The stairs from 16 to 17 are extremely dangerous! There is a piece of rebar sticking up in front of the 4th or 5th step from the bottom. and another one sticking up in front of the 2nd or 3rd step from the bottom.
**see bottom of review for caution
Other Thoughts: This is a course that has maximized the use of a park that is located in a narrow stretch of land. It is very well laid out, although course navigation can be tricky without a map. (Namely tee's 4 and 6) Even though this course can play relatively fast, do not underestimate it. Most of these holes require a strategy for your approach. A hillside landing could find your disc rolling towards the water. I didn't see any place to get a map or scorecard. (I may have missed that) but a map will definitely be an asset to have. Casual footwear will be fine here, no need for hiking boots. I didn't see to many places to eat between here and Riverview DGC, but you are not far from more fast food places. Riverview DGC is not far from here, if you wanted to make a day out of hitting multiple courses in Augusta. I had a great time playing here, and I walked away with all my discs! :) ...that may not always be the case.
FYI: The Masters is played just down the street. If you are playing during that time, be mindful that the streets are going to be packed!

UPDATE:06/16 I just found out that the trash on the grounds is still really bad. They need to invest in garbage cans urgently!

**CAUTION!!! As I was coming down the steps from 16 to 17, My foot got caught on the first piece of rebar sticking straight up in front of the steps. As I was falling down, I got my foot dislodged and immediately planted it to stop myself. I planted it right in front of the second piece of rebar and, once again, began falling down the steps! I could've ended up on my face or even in the lake. I just barely stopped myself from going over the edge into the water. So Important safety tip!

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Water and Ant hills

2-4    11/17/2009   11/4/2009
Review By: Shannon Winn
Played: 33  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 36.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/18/2009
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautifully maintained and quite scenic. Tees are nice with good structure for grip. Pretty much the whole course plays on a sidehill, so it will teach you that aspect of the game for sure. Not overly tight or long, and rollers seem a good option on several holes. If you like risk-reward set-ups, this is the place for you. The holes are very pleasing to the eye from the tees, and some are just plain scary. Routes are fair, if a bit dangerous.
Cons: Navigation is rough. The flow is reminiscent of pick-up sticks in places, due, I'm sure, to the quite narrow strip of lakeside used for the layout.
I found myself playing unconscionably safe shots for fear of losing discs to the lake, which comes into play on many of the holes. The first two holes have busy street OB in play, but not water. The guy selling discs here probably does well replacing drowned plastic. At least two of the holes have trees almost directly in front of them, a feature I find unfair on golf courses. Another has a metal fence you must throw over directly in front of the tee, making the hole unplayable for children.
Other Thoughts: For the first time I found myself wondering about the aesthetics of the bright yellow Discatcher targets in such a beautiful setting. On a wooded course they are highly visible and welcome, but somehow here they are jarring. Not a knock on the course- just an observation.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Olmstead Park, Augusta Georgia

2-4    10/2/2009   10/7/2009
Review By: martinb
Played: 159  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/9/2009
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained grassy park. Ample parking. Scenic setting. Park is close to everything.
Cons: Walking/jogging path a safety issue. Bathrooms?
Other Thoughts: This course plays in a city park with mowed, grassy landscaping and many mature trees and foliage. Lake Olmstead comes into play on 30% of the holes. The course itself plays for the most part between lake olmstead and a city street, with a walking/jogging path down the middle. Narrow fairways are the rule, with many trees and foliage to deal with on the fairways. There are some minor elevation changes along the course that will cause you to re-evaluate your shot selection from the teepad. Lake Olmstead will also make you think twice about what and where to throw so you don't risk losing any discs on the holes that the lake comes into play. Because of the narrow fairways, pro and advanced players will like this course more than a beginner player.
The path on the course is obviously an OB area. To keep the round fun you can choose not to though. On the weekends I imagine this path is very dangerous for walkers and joggers when disc golfers throw an errant shot. Considering how narrow some of the fairways are, this will be a given.
There is a sign on hole one that says the grassy area for holes one and two are reserved for ball play in the evenings on Wednesday and Thursday if I recall correctly, so there may be conflict at certain times during the week on those holes. Hole two plays across one of the entrances to the park so a layup shot is probably recommended (safety issue).
Course design is well done with the area provided. The walking path is an unavoidable hazard on the course but not a negative with course playability. Its up to the player to avoid the path. And there are plenty of routes available to the player on every hole from the teepad to do this. Technicality for this course is higher than average from the design and landscaping attributes. An enjoyable course to play if it is not too crowded and you have a couple of extra discs to replace any you may dump into Lake Olmstead.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Risks & Rewards

5+    5/28/2007   7/28/2009
Review By: DavidSauls
Played: 115  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 19.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not too long, fairly technical, with lots of risk/reward options.

Most of the course is on a long, thin strip of land between the lake itself and a lightly-traveled road, sloping down to the lake, with a paved walking trail running between them. So there's lots of OB, both paved and water. Some of the greens are prone to rollaways unless you're careful on your approaches.

Some of the fairways or baskets are very close to the lake. The routing does a figure-8, so that the lake is on your left at times, on your right at others, balancing the risk for righties & lefties.

Hole 17 is a trip, with the lake on your right and a steep hill climbing up on the left, and a LONG narrow fairway to drive.

Elsewhere there is an excellent variety of open, very tight, low-ceiling, roller-friendly, and otherwise creative fairways.

It's also a lovely place to play.
Cons: Between the walking trail threading through most of the course, dividing fairways in many places, and fisherman and other civilians lingering on the shore, avoiding non-disc-golfers can be a concern.

The proximity of the lake on several holes, and the wind, make it very easy to lose discs here.
Other Thoughts: Augusta has many fine courses. This is another, and a different feel compared to the heavily wooded holes as the IDGC & Riverview.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.