Roanoke Rapids, NC 
Lake Park Share



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Where I got my start

5+    7/1/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: Scottspnutgang
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.3 Years
Pros: -great course for first time players
-easy to get around
-requires players to learn different shot methods
Cons: -only 9 holes
-terrible T pads
-only open during certain parts of the year
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played and it's what got me hooked to disc golf. This course holds a special place in the heart for all local players.

  Could be Decent

5+    10/27/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: bbwrenn
Played: 54  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Park has a few things going for it - a few "long" holes for new players (250-280 ft) and lots of birdie attempts for those same players.
Every hole is pretty much completely open. On hole 7 when the fairway becomes 20 to 25 feet wide for a "tunnel" shot, it feels tight, yet this is the average width or even less on wooded courses.
Holes 1 and 8 force a player to learn or make an anhyzer shot or sidearm, which is a good shot to learn; Holes 5 and 9 are pretty much hyzers. These short, open courses are often just straight, straight, so this type of line shaping is a good thing.
There is restrooms and water fountains near the course, which is nice.
Cons: Only 9 holes.
The teeboxes are horrendous. You have to be careful, particularly on 1, 4, 7, and 9, because you could easily hurt yourself. The original tee on 7 has been moved because they put the tee sign right in the follow through. They were once neat piles of gravel and have become massive, spread out piles of dirt.
Holes 2 and 3 (particularly 2) are so short that they feel like "par 2s".
No real obstacles, so a lot of players who learn the game here tend to throw way too uncontrolled for better courses.
The course is sometimes kept up a bit, but most of the time there are rocks, branches, etc all in the middle of the fairway, particularly in the fall. I wouldn't say this as a con (workdays anybody?) except that there are employees who are paid to keep this place up and don't.
The course is only open from around the first day of Spring until the first week into November, and normal hours are only Wed-Sun, 11-6. From Memorial Day to Labor Day they're open 7 days from 9a-8p. A little better.
Other Thoughts: I wouldn't make a trip to play this course. It's only a 15 minute round trip at most from the interstate, so if you're ever traveling and just want to hit another course, it's there.
For locals, the Lake Park is all they've got and is pretty well played for a small town 9 holer. It's worth it to throw your putters and midranges and keep loose.
Dominion Power who owns the Lake Park is supposedly going to lay concrete for the teepads over the winter. They've also discussed putting 9 more holes in on their property. If there were 18 holes and concrete teepads, we'd probably be talking about at least a 3 disc course.
Could use trash cans on the actual course.
Having bathrooms and running water available is nice for a course this size and quality, most would not.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Less Than Average Joe

5+    11/7/2010   12/23/2010
Review By: A.Finney
Played: 29  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very short, and impossible to get lost on. GREAT for begginers or a quick 9 hole round. VERY OPEN. No real hazards.
Cons: Too short for big arm throwers and not technical enough for advanced players. The holes provide no real challenge after about 6 months of playing as they are all open with very few trees between you and the basket in the fairways. Teeboxes are sand, and poorly kept by the staff on site, though one worker did take me to get extra sand with a cart so that I could fill in some of the more dangerous boxes.
The course is situated on the edge of a family lake park and walking trails, and the local high school cross country team practices here and has meets here so watch for runners trying to cheat a few yards by cutting through the holes during these times.
It is only open from February 28th-November 10th from 11a-6pm. The staff will close early to get home a few minutes early on a regular basis and one of the staff there is a total JERK to the DG players.

Trash is a HUGE problem since this ark was originally a hang out for teen drinkers and party-ers looking to hide from cops as recently as a few years ago, and a few of the local players here can be rude to new comers, and disrespectful to the staff and others using the other park amenities.
There's room for 9 more holes, but the owner (Dominion Power Company) doesn't seem inclined to add onto the course anytime soon due to the handful of rude players.
There are only 2 trash cans, and neither of those are on the course, they are outside the fence by the exit from hole 9 and the other by the entrance to hole 1.
Hole 1 can pose a problem for lost discs if your shot gets high and left over a tall chain fence that separates the course from some very over grown field areas. Hole 3 and 8 offers the same if you shoot long past the basket and high, though 8 is somewhat retrievable by going around the park and into another parking lot to the field it will land in.
Other Thoughts: Seeing as this course is in my hometown, I hate to rate it so low, but it deserves not much more than this. Its great to go play to waste some time and keep your arm loose, but not worth a drive for anyone more than 5 minutes out of town. If you are in Roanoke Rapids, are a disc golf player, and have absolutely nothing else to do... its worth it... but if you have something else you could do.. like wash your hair or re-lace your tennis shoes, you'd be better off to do those things instead.

I play it regularly when it is open just to stay loose and keep my game up somewhat. Other than that, I wouldn't play it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 An ordinary 9 holer

1    12/28/2008   3/24/2009
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *It's mostly a woods course with 2 somewhat more open, mixed terrain holes.
*The Chainstar baskets are good and a personal favorite of mine.
*The course is easy to navigate, and the amount of rough is just right.
Cons: -Closed in the winter from Nov 9 to March 1! And during the rest of the year it's also only open from Wed - Sun 11:00 to 6:00. There's a tall locked fence that keeps you out.
-The tee pads aren't long enough and made of uneven gravel
-The length variety is low. 2<199/ 7 of 200-280.
-There are almost no Amenities: no map, score cards, or warm up basket. No benches or trash cans either.
Other Thoughts: Course Level: White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 900.) Or possibly a somewhat difficult Red level. White level players will make mostly humdrum pars, but Red level players may find it a little more challenging.

Hole 2, at 119 ft., has the distinctive of getting on the list of "Shortest Holes in NC". If you don't take a 2 you feel like you've dropped a stroke.

This course is like the ordinary kid in high school-- there's nothing that bad about it, but there's not much that really stands out either. Everything is just so average. The fairway shapes are average, but could use a little more variety (5 St/ 2 Lt/ 2 R). There's average elevation variety with 3 Flat/ 2 Up/ 4 Down, but the greatest elevation change is only +8 ft. The tee signs are adequate but very basic. The greens, beauty, and overall quality have no glaring flaws but nothing stellar either; they're all just average. Since it's only 9 holes that pushed my rating down a little. I wouldn't make a special trip to play here.

You can read more of my reviews at the Yahoo group "DG Course Reviews", http://sports.groups.yahoo.co...urseReviews/. Look in the Files section there for my Overall Rating notes and Hole-by-hole ratings too.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 The hometown!

5+    10/6/2008   11/6/2008
Review By: ecupirate82
Played: 45  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/23/2009
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is very new. All the holes are pretty short. They have signs on all the holes and the course is easy to navigate.
Cons: They need concrete tee boxes and a back 9. Hopefully they will eventually add a back 9 and put in some long holes to balance out the front 9. Needs to stay open year round.
Other Thoughts: This is my hometown and everytime I am there I try to get a round in. Very fun and easy 9 holes.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.