Selma, OR 
Lake Selmac Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17
-- / 422ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice Little Lakeside Course Everyone Can Enjoy!

1    8/14/2013   8/23/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lake Selmac features a nice variety of holes, everything from tight, technical throws in the woods to a couple of great downhills and then ending with two open field shots where you can show off your arm.

The course in Selma, OR off hiway 199, which is off the beaten path for most folks, is set off and above the shores of Lake Selmac. The lake only really comes into play on one or two holes.

The course has concrete tee pads and simple little metal signs. The baskets are the always popular in Oregon, Hornings Hideout truck rim models, which catch well, are vandal proof and make a nice melodious sound when you putt drops into the rim part. There used to be hole #'s on the pads but they've mostly faded or worn away.

# 8 was an interesting little throw being just about 200' to a blind basket with the lake just beyond the basket. Be careful not to overthrow this one.
Cons: Probably a few too many technical holes bunched together could frustrate some players.

Poison oak.

Bugs which I didn't see here on a August afternoon.

I'm fine with these baskets. If you play enough courses in Oregon, you'll be throwing to them plenty.
Other Thoughts: Navigation might be an issue but I was lucky to hook up with Ron and Allen, a couple "good ole boys" from the Selma area. Not only did they show me the course but I was given a living history on the area and their philosophy on life. It made for a pretty entertaining and interesting round of disc golf!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

a little off the beaten path

1    2/18/2013   2/19/2013
Review By: reed2020
Played: 33  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of different looks, good use of elevation, fun little water hole (that can eat you if your not careful). Cement tee pads. Friendly locals help if you get off track. I played in the winter and finding my discs was easy.
Cons: There was lots of trash around the tee pads, no trash cans. The back nine was not nearly as good as the front nine. Some of the holes just seemed like huck and pray holes. Some of the directions on the signs on the back nine were misleading. It may have been just the lay out I played.
Other Thoughts: This course was fun, but the back nine could have been SO much better. The front nine seemed very well layed out and cared for. It seemed liked the back nine were just thrown up to make it an 18 hole course. The back nine could have used the land on that side much better, some of the baskets are very close together. I did like this course and will play it again.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Ol' Lake SMELLmac

1    6/29/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.6 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Baskets- Excellent "homemade" on the front and Standard on the back.

Tee Pads- I think both a plus and a minuse due to the type and quality being good but the size a little too small in my book.
Elevation- Excellent use of the elevation changes throughout the course.
"Disc Shop"- The resort bait shop did have anything you would need to play.
Overall- A pretty technical course that will challenge the player with all types of shots. Definitely a fun course you should hit up if in the area!
Cons: Trash cans- Although the course was NOT trashed it would be better served to have more than just one at the turn.
Signage- I'm probably being picky but, I think the signage could have been better in regards to next tee. Hole signs were pretty good.
Map- Not perfect but, useful and available at the resort shop.
Enviroment- Poison Oak/Ivy and Mosquitos are VERY plentiful and a nice little FISHY smell on the lake holes.
Other Thoughts: I call it Lake SMELLmac because I grew up around here and that's what we called it due to the fishy smell of course. I was just really stoked to come back home from the military and find a course here and I wasn't disappointed! Go Play It!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Nice but a bit monotonous

1    10/2/2008   10/3/2008
Review By: Adam Schneider
Played: 87  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Nice setting: wooded hills near a lake
- Concrete tee pads & excellent homemade baskets
- Distance/direction signs & benches at every hole
- Good use of elevation
- Hard to lose discs (very little underbrush)
Cons:
- Most holes are pretty similar
- Poison oak
- Water isn't as much of a hazard as it could be
- In the middle of nowhere unless you're going down Hwy 199 anyway
Other Thoughts:
This isn't a "destination" course, but it's fun and definitely worth the short detour and $2 Josephine County Parks fee if you're on your way from Grants Pass to the Redwood Coast.

Most holes have narrow 190'-260' fairways through tons of evergreen trees that want to knock your disc off course; there's a bit of luck involved. But my main complaint is that the vast majority of the holes look pretty much the same -- with the exception of #5 (small meadow under power lines), #9 (over a small arm of the lake), #17 (wide open field), and #18 (open field toward a grove of deciduous trees). The forest here is remarkably uniform in character, so the monotony is not really the fault of the course designers; and they do make nice use of elevation on a number of holes, especially the ones above the lake which have the potential for nasty roll-aways if you miss your putt.

The pale blue homemade baskets on the front 9 are very well-done. They didn't spit out any of my putts, and the metal bottoms make a satisfying ring when you hit the chains.

Beware of poison oak! Almost every fairway has some, mostly in the form of small plants low to the ground. It's easy to avoid stepping on it, but not so easy to prevent your disc from plowing through it at the end of a drive.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.