Disc Golf Store
Bridgman, MI 
Lake Township Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 310ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
crap-tastic at best

1    12/18/2012   12/18/2012
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Teesigns- yep, old school DGA signage is so much better than nothing at all. at least I know how far I'm supposed to be throwing.
Cons: Aesthetic- Multiuse park with like 80 soccer fields. If Soccer is being played, don't bother playing like 50% of the course

Teepads- "natural" muddy rutty or grass uphill. terrible to say it nicely

Design- I'm just gonig to lump a lot of different things into one category. 1-6 are pretty straight forward, you play through a small wood and along a big fence, then things become muddy. After 6, head towards the exit (perhaps run towards the exit) to play 7 & 8 then head back towards the soccer fields to play 9-18. That said, the routing here is relatively awful. 9 plays towards the wood line, 10 plays along the woodline, 11 plays in the woods, 12 (where to start) 12 plays along and through a wood line where you are told to play a right dogleg, which would put you at risk of throwing over a fence or you can throw through the woods which has some SUPER GNARLY pickers. from there the routing is tough and somewhat dangerous. 13 to 14 isn't bad but then head towards the back by the softball field 15 and 16 cross fairways, 17 is super long and near water and then 18 finishes decent. It looks like the course was designed by someone who doesn't really play dg. it feels dropped in, completely unoriginal, uninspired and just straight disappointing.
Other Thoughts: I was thoroughly disappointed with this course.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Township Park Disc Golf

2-4    4/23/2010   4/25/2010
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 186  Reviewed: 148  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2011
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Located in a clean, well-mowed park crammed full of baseball and soccer fields, horse-shoe pits, volleyball nets, picnic pavilions, amazing playgrounds with slides that, quite frankly, looked more appealing than the course, and more.
-Great map. Essential for navigating this course. Do yourself a favor and be certain to obtain one from the orange plastic box next to the 1st tee.
-Shiny new Innova baskets; decent tee-signs; trashcans located throughout park.
-A few holes on the front nine have clever basket placements successfully incorporating the grassy park's many mature trees, which are interspersed throughout the course. A couple of longer +500 holes allow a few bomb opportunities.
-Free.
Cons: -This course is poorly designed and potentially hazardous: picnic benches and grills in the middle of fairways; fairways that intersect each other over a roadway; roadways that actually play as the fairway; a convoluted and unintuitive flow with long walks to the next tee; a hole that plays over several large compost/burn piles and a tractor; and a hole that literally plays through a soccer field and over a goal. The park was empty while I was there, but it was glaringly obvious that with any sort of normal summer activity the course would be unplayable.
-Few risk/reward opporunities.
-Natural tees, a few of which consist of soft sand or mud.
-Two long, gateless, not easily-jumped fences line the fairways on #3 and #12. If your disc goes over either, kiss it goodbye unless you're a ninja or you brought your rappelling gear along.
Other Thoughts: -Unless you are critically desperate for some disc golf, my advice would be to skip this course and go swimming/sun-bathing/object-coursing/anything at the Warren Dunes Park (located a few miles north on Lake Michigan) instead. Trust me, you'll have a better time.
-Park sign reads "No pets/dogs/animals/horses. No alcohol. Video survellience."
-This course would rate higher if not for the numerous and blatant safety hazards.
****Much clearing and improvement has happened on the wooded holes. Defined fairways now offer clear, reasonable lines.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good course, probably better after soccer season

2-4    4/22/2010   4/22/2010
Review By: MGroothuis
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 24.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/16/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: First time playing this course today. I'm glad there were printed paper maps provided for the course that you could take and carry with you! It helped a lot. The course is very, very well cared for for the most part, except for the swampy holes. There is a great variety of holes. Some short lay-ups, and some long power-thrower holes. It's nice to have the signs to map out the shot, even though some of them are facing the wrong direction. Nice, solid Innova baskets.
Holes 7.8. and 9 are progressively longer to warm your arm up for the longer back 9, but not difficult.
Holes 13, 17 and 18 are fantastic holes.
Cons: I assume the course was carved out of an existing township park? The front 9 especially are some flat-out dangerous holes if the park is busy and particularly if people are not aware of the flying discs. I had trouble with a few joggers passing thru having no idea there are people playing disc golf. No tee pads, but I can live with that.
Holes 1 and 2 are very close to the parking lot. A bad hit off a tree would easily send your disc into a parked car.
Hole 3 is risky. The fence on the right is about 7ft high with the twisted link spikes at the top so climbing over is dangerous. A gate really should be installed. Overstable discs or rollers a must if it's windy.
Hole 4 plays THROUGH a small soccer field. Not good. I was lucky and there were no kids in that field, but the rest of the large fields were FULL of soccer games.
Hole 6 plays right through two picnic tables and a couple of grills. If there are people at the tables, it's unplayable.
Hole 11 is ridiculous. This has been a very dry spring and the hole is entirely in wet, muddy woods with very soft footing. Any bit of rain and I bet this hole is also unplayable. MUD is a problem.
Hole 12 plays an active park road as the fairway. ??
Hole 14 is strange. Extremely thick woods with a 6 ft wide muddy stream to the immediate left of the hole with NO foot bridge across it. Lots of cut-off tree sapling stubs to trip on.
I agree with the other reviews that 15 and 16s intersecting fairways are dangerous. Hole 15 has a gas pipe valve directly in the middle of the fairway.
Other Thoughts: The park was full of kids playing soccer. I would guess this course would be better after soccer season. Plus do NOT play after heavy rains. Looking forward to trying it again later in the summer.


UPDATE: Tried this course again May 4. It was PACKED with people. Every soccer field was in use. Every baseball diamond was in use. Cars filled the lots close to holes 1,2,4,5,6, and 8. Plus, the rains from this spring compiled the problems with mud. Holes 1,2,4,5,6,8,11, and 14 were unplayable due to crowds or mud. Had to drop my review score. Soccer seems to be over after 7:00pm as everyone was leaving, but I wasn't sticking around to restart my round. I'll give this course yet another try after 7:00pm another day.

FINAL UPDATE: Tried this course one more time at noon on Saturday, May 15. Kids' soccer just ended so the park was near empty. It was better to play, but lots of rain caused the worse-case-scenario flooding on holes 9, 10, 11, 12, and 14. 10 was playable, but the tee was underwater, so I had to move about 20ft right of the tee to throw. Hole 11 was laughably UNDERWATER and unplayable. The rest of the mentioned holes were wet, but good drives and approach shots (only just) avoided the muck and water. I also never really noticed how close the basket of 15 is to a private property fence. A long, bad drive and you're trespassing into someones front yard if you climb the fence to retrieve your disc. Still a fun course when the conditions are perfect, but there sure are a lot of cons to this one.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 don't go out of your way

9/7/2006   2/20/2008
Review By: discNDav
Played: 290  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 28.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 9 baskets
beginner friendly
Cons: signature hole 3 had a fence along the entire right side and was almost flooded
in a grassy area.
hard to find hole 7 after hole 6
too near other park activities
Other Thoughts: The park is nice with plenty of other recreation for kids and has room to expand the course in other areas.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.