Wichita Falls, TX 
Lake Wichita Park Share



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lake Wichita DGC

5+    5/31/2014   5/31/2014
Review By: GoldenGoat
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.2 Years
Pros: -Good tee boxes (better than lucy's, less dirt on them/posts are are the back of tee box)
-Trees usually give good wind protection on the front 7 if its windy.
-Easiest course in WF area (If you use courses pars)
<1 Mile from my house :)
Cons: -Hardest course in WF area (if your playing pars as all 3's)
-Lots of trees
-Hole 17 (seriously, it's the hardest hole in WF area)
-Once you move the other side of course on hole 8 the wind is usually a lot worse
-Hole 10 for the reason listed above can really eat some discs up if your not careful.

Other Thoughts: All in all a pretty good course. If your newer to the game, it's windy, or you just want to play a slightly better course I would recommend you play Lucy Park DGC.

 Nice course

5+    1/20/2014   1/20/2014
Review By: Beldar
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
Pros: *Nice mix of short and long holes
*Good use of foliage
*Fairly long
*Friendly locals
Cons: *Trees are dead or dying
*One or two holes missing tee poles
*Flat
Other Thoughts: Other than upkeep there is nothing wrong with this course there are a couple of holes that could be possible water hazards but every time I've played they have been empty.

Nice Course

5+    11/16/2012   3/13/2013
Review By: TxViper3187
Played: 18  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/7/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Good balance of long/short shots
*Requires variety of shots
*Course has fairly good flow
*Friendly local players
*Not a lot of waiting. Course is usually available and if you encounter a group most will let you play through
Cons: *No elevation at all
*Pedestrians can come into play on holes 16-18 if you have an errant shot
*Finding Hole 7s tee box can be difficult for new players. Hole 7s basket is far from visible from the tee box and sometimes still not visible after the 1st shot.
Other Thoughts: Nothing very note worthy about this course. Nothing wonderful nothing horrible about this course. I enjoy playing this course because it is the best course in my area. If this course was in the DFW area I would drive past it to play Veterans, Z Boaz, or Crowley.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lake Wichita/Jaycee

5+    4/21/2012   5/11/2012
Review By: ChainOut
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety of shots. Good players should still be challenged to shoot par. Very few areas where non-players will come into play (playgrounds/walking trails etc..)
Cons: Not mowed often enough, early spring the bugs/mosquitos are TERRIBLE.
Other Thoughts: Personal preference/observation - Some holes can be quite challenging (beyond the norm) for a left handed player due to tree growth (and lack of trimming) etc. - better be able to throw a high arching flick/annie or...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    5/16/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: blair_87
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was a great course. Visiting family and decided to get up early an play. The night before brought heavy downpour so I was sceptical. Started on hole 17 near back parking lot A long 610 foot par 5 with interesting shots to avoid trees. I was then pleasantly suprized with each hole . Most pins are very well guarded so I had to use every shot I had . Even had to Tomahawk over few trees and forehand from behind a few others. Despite the heavy rain the course was playable , wet but not muddy. No major water hazards and few places to loose discs. Grass was mowed and all goals in place and good condition. I had a great time.
Cons: Some of the goals not visible from tee. Hole diagrams at each tee would be nice. Running trail has some runners but also nice pathway for some of the course.
Other Thoughts: I will plan to play this cousre again next time I am in town. I am used to wide open holes that don't require much accuracy. This coures if played well will challenge you to use some different shots.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Tourny 2003

1    9/6/2003   7/11/2009
Review By: Fata2683
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very large course layout, next to a lake for good views, Some challenging long holes.
Cons: The water does not come into play, the course is flat and boring, fireants everywhere.
Other Thoughts: would play again, but Lucy Park is a much better option

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 mosquito infestation

1    8/25/2008   8/25/2008
Review By: myoung
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.5 Years
1 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: mostly flat
Cons: there is a mosquito infestation in this park. you couldn't concentrate on your game because every time you set up to tee off, there were at least 50 mosquitos trying to suck you dry. the grass was high, and even at 10am it was extremely hot.
Other Thoughts: this was the worst experience of disc golf i ever had. if you forget mosquito spray, YOU ARE GOING TO GET WEST NILE. this course is a disgrace to the sport.

1 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 lake wichita/ JC park

3/1/2007   6/13/2008
Review By: hopper58
Played: 14  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: wide open with concrete tees, good mix of long and short holes, some trees will come into play but not heavily wooded. It is strung together well and most of the next tee pads are visible from from the previous baskets. Most baskets are also visible from tee pad, you do have to play over some water hazards that get alot worse after a rain,
Cons: Vandals keep removing holes, so you may be shooting at a hole that has not basket. Back holes do flood after heavy rain,
Other Thoughts: Wind makes this course really tough as wichita falls has some heavy winds on most days

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.