Denver, CO 
Lakewood Dry Gulch Share
Uploaded By: andylibrande Hole #13 (Taken 12/2013)
3 / 329ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee: Basket is up left behind the trees



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Paco Sanchez

5+    9/9/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: HyzerUniBomber
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front 9 are superb (1-8 and hole 21) with some great long throws, cool hazards and great use of the elevation. As of about 9/1/2013 quite a few of the holes were changed to shorten up most holes, except 2 & 8 which is now very long. It's quite common to see folks play holes 1-8 and 21 twice instead of walking the whole course mainly because the front 9 is just better.

Quick rundown of the front 9 in the current configuration:
1. Long straight bombs right out of the gate. The 30 feet around the current hole placement really needs to be mowed down. Throwing an overstable disc here will probably put you into the train tracks or over them into the river. Ask me how I know. 10/2/13 Update: The grass is REALLY long in the field at on hole 1. I've spent much time trying to find drivers that bury themselves and become all but completely invisible. I know I'm not alone... might be worth having a spotter jog out there especially if there's people waiting behind you.
2. Another long hole with a pretty blind throw over the foot path. Worth a quick look to make sure you're clear because there's often people chilling on the side of the hill by the road.
3. Two tee boxes available. Long throw over the "water hazard" that's typically dry. Bikers/hikers use the back path right behind the pin - so use caution. It's easy to throw when it's clear and then watch in horror as a biker arrives out of nowhere.
4. Long down hill throw where you can really watch your disc fly. Throwing over the path again, etc. but cool shot.
5. Under the bridge - this hole causes most people some trouble as it's a got some serious stuff to avoid and throwing RHFH will put you in the bushes/river.
6. Classic Paco hole, 400+ downhill slightly right and if you overthrow you end up in the river.
7. Definitely a bird hole - you can get to the pin with a mid-range driver and of course, downhill the whole way.
8. I always play the mando to the right of both power line towers which makes it spicy. Fading left at the right point is key or you go over the river (or in it). Basket is tucked up in the second set up big trees and requires some shot selection to get it tucked in there. Cool stuff.
9. (Aka hole 21) straight forward 270' throw down the foot ball field. Nothing to hit except cars, houses or pedestrians on the road that you're right next to.

Cons: The back 10 are not quite as fun or nice. You're really playing along the footpath, which gratefully is pretty desolate. There's plenty of spots to find yourself bush-wacking in dry weeds hoping you don't piss of a snake. It's long - bring a couple water bottles and some snacks. You go through a truly sketchy neighborhood - expect some interaction with the locals. No trouble yet, but I've seen plenty of drunks etc. and it's worth keeping your eyes open and aware.
Other Thoughts: So long and short of my review, it's really awesome to have a course that's basically the opposite of Johnny Roberts. Long - wide open throws with less stuff to hit. Genuinely a nice change of pace. They run sprinklers through the front 9 on the reg. during the summer, so your feet can be wet on any given morning. Playing the whole 19 holes that are in right now could easily take a group 3 hours (solo or 2 players 2+), so plan accordingly.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Woosh Goes The Light Rail Train

1    5/27/2013   5/29/2013
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 101  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 6.3 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course sits on a greenbelt with some nice elevation. The park seems to look very nice and there are some nice other things to do at the park including a very nice looking playground. The baskets are all in good condition and are consistent through the course. The tee pads are some of my favorite tee pads in the area, nice and big with plenty of room for good run ups on just about every hole. The design of the course is good and there are plenty of shots that make you think. There are some very unique shots on this course as well which add to the fun factor of the course. There is a good variety of shots from long up hill to long down hill to very tight and technical to even a few shorter holes. There is a nice creek that plays through the course in spots and provides a nice mental challenge when baskets are placed near the water. There is good sign posts on the course right now and the old signs look very nice, here's to hoping the make the same signs with the slightly modified layout on them. The course is also very convenient to public transportation now that a light rail line has been built right through the park.
Cons: There are far too many negatives to the course as it stands right now. The biggest problem this course faces will be pedestrian traffic. There are lots of very nice bike and walking paths through the entire course, but many holes play right along the paths (2 & 20 are the worst perpetrators). There is a very good likelihood of this course getting pulled in the future if disc golfers are not looking out for pedestrians. There are also plenty of people that walk their dogs on the grassy areas of this park, completely oblivious to the fact that there is a disc golf course there. There are also a few filler holes on this course that really have no purpose being there other than to fill space between some of the better holes on the course. Signs do not feel like they are all that accurate at the present time but that could be because things have been redesigned slightly after construction of the light rail line. The park itself is not in the best part of town and I am not sure I would necessarily feel safe at this park if I was playing by myself. Some holes are hard to find from the previous basket, you will want to bring a map if you are playing for the first time without a guide. There are some long walks from basket to tee as well, including the times when you have to cross a bridge or light rail line to get to the next hole. With three holes currently not in use, there are some really long walks as well. A few holes cross the creek but do not have pedestrian bridges in places that make it helpful to get to where you are going. There are some rocks to hop on these holes but if the water gets high, that will not be an option. Different pin positions could drastically change the hole from super short to crazy long. This course is not well suited for beginners as the length will be frustrating at tames as well as the steep hills of the terrain causing some fun rolls.
Other Thoughts: I really did enjoy the challenge of this course and that alone bumped this rating up half a disc. But, you will not want to play this course by yourself and you will want to have a map unless that person you are playing with has played the course before. The course plays like a links style golf course where you play out and then all the way back so for most of the round you are not going to be in a place where you can get back to your car quickly. It is fun to be able to watch the light rail trains go by, but please do not be stupid and try to retrieve a disc from light rail property. There are plenty of places where one could throw there disc over these fences. Also on the light rail crossing, please do not try to beat the train, it will be a very short wait until you are able to cross. Watch out for pedestrians before you throw, please.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


1    5/5/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: DiiSegreti
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I grew up in this area and I have to say I really wasn't expecting much from this course. Did I get a surprise. This course was much bigger and much more technical than I imagined. Some unique pin settings made this very fun to play. Be ready for anything. There are holes from around 250 feet out to over 700.
Cons: Finding the next tee was an adventure every time. The baskets are all silver. Locating them was tough. A fewholes were just guess throwing till we found it. The course could use maps with a but more information. Not for a beginner.
Other Thoughts: Badco Disc Golf has made another fantastic course here. Locally my favorite course had been Bad Lands. This course is going to change that. If you've ever played the Blair Witch this course reminded me of that. just stretch the Blair way out. This course will force accuracy. Great training course if you plan on playing mountain courses.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.