Denver, CO 
Lakewood Dry Gulch Share
Uploaded By: pmockler Hole #4 (Taken 9/2015)
3 / 418ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Man up and play Paco

5+    6/14/2016   6/15/2016
Review By: chips n salsa
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Diverse landscapes, elevation, foliage, environments requiring a diverse arsenal of throwing capabilities and distances. Some wide open distance shots; some long, tight-window, narrow drives; some that require a competent placement of your tee shot so you are left w a good upshot. Some in-jail looks, some short and seemingly easy birdie/ace runs. Has it all and then some.

All concrete tee pads.

All 21 baskets in decent to good condition.

Cons: Tall, thick grass and weeds can swallow up your plastic so watch closely and track all shots, especially on the back (9-20).

Some "homeless" will snatch your disc so again watch closely.

Lots of pedestrians who are not paying attention so always yield if you see someone.

Inconsistent course/hole maps on the tee pads so try to locate the basket before throwing. Also it's easy to mistake basket 18 with basket 10, and vice-versa, so be sure you're throwing at the correct one.

Lots of derelicts. Drunks, junkies, crack heads and others just living in tents in the park for free. They're mostly just trying to con you out of your money, ciggs, and inventory. Would suggest not making eye contact.

On a hot day it can be a long slog so bring plenty to drink.

I think the train buzzing through every 5-10 minutes adds an energy and uniqueness to the course. But avoid throwing into the tracks. It's always sketch retrieving your plastic.

Lots of trash, especially on the back 9-20 holes. Police yourself and don't add to the problem, douchebag.
Other Thoughts: This course will make you a better player. Lots of scrambling and precise coordination of powerful shots are required to finish below par.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Rained Out

1    8/10/2015   4/14/2016
Review By: nolan24970
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Great variety of holes and obstacles to throw around
-The creek running through the course makes for some difficult throws/approaches
-In the middle of Lakewood/Denver but still a substantial amount of space
Cons: -The back 9 was tricky to navigate as you entered more of a ghetto
Other Thoughts: It had rained a lot in the days preceding our game, and it started raining when we were out there. Around hole 9-10 there is a path across the river/creek that was flooded out and made it tricky to cross. There are other ways around, but our group didn't have the time for the slightly longer detour. Basically rainy weather seems to affect this course a lot.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good Side hills

1    3/13/2016   4/3/2016
Review By: sasheise
Played: 36  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Played in March, so foliage and grass were sparce. This was a fun course with good diversity in doglegs, altitude variations, and distance mix.
Cons: We were held up a couple of times by walkers on the path that runs the length of the course and the trolley at the turn around point. The last basket is over a 1/4 mile from the parking lot
Other Thoughts: Stream was at a low level so the penalty for landing in the creek bed was low - this would change dramatically during the high water periods.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Blah... first 9 was fine back 9 was crap

1    10/16/2015   3/11/2016
Review By: madcow
Played: 28  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First 9 was ok
lots of open distance to play with
varying degrees of elevation
Cons: back 9 was non-existent
seems to start in a ghetto neighborhood
Other Thoughts: Granted this was back in october 2015. It was also a bit difficult to find the beginning and it seemed the course goes by 2 names.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Don't understand the hate

1    2/20/2016   2/20/2016
Review By: Hyzer Ale
Played: 60  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - 21 holes all with serviceable baskets.
- Concrete tee pads on every hole
- Long course, has legit par 4s but a nice mix of some shorter holes
- Tunnel shots, hyzer lines (the majority of shots), Anhyzer lines. Overall good variety
- Elevation changes
- Great views and a creek that comes into play
- Light rail drops you off right at the course if you can't drive
Cons: - Light rail runs through the course. Discs would be un-retrievable if they land on it.
- Some of the baskets are single chain and don't catch too well
- A lot of holes play down or across pedestrian walkways but on a nice Saturday there was very little foot-traffic and not any blind shots
- The park does have a bit of a homeless problem but I had no issues, everyone I encountered was friendly
- Not the greatest neighborhood but far from the "ghetto" that people call it
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. I moved to Denver a year ago and had been avoiding it because I have heard negative things (gangs, missing baskets, etc.). I found this course to have more variety in shots than any other course in the metro area and would love to see more events here. The light rail does add to the chance of losing a disc, but I had no problem avoiding it. The creek was shallow and clear enough that it was easy to retrieve any disc that goes into it. Go play this course, it is worth your time

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course Near Downtown

1    1/29/2016   1/31/2016
Review By: bsflyerkc
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 0.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the only 18+ course that had easy access from my downtown hotel. I just used a $6 Uber ride to get out here, but there is a rail line with service from downtown too.

The course is in a "gulch", but it wasn't dry. The gulch is full of water and there is a rail line on the banks of the gulch. The water and the rail line are a constant concern, almost always serving as an OB down one side of the fairway. The majority of the tee shots favor RHBH lines. Trees are used around the targets so that you have to pick a line and execute. Most fairway shots are not on level ground -- uphill, downhill, sidehill. Overall, I thought it played very fair in the short positions.
Cons: You do have to pay attention to pedestrians, but that's the trade-off for having a nice course so close to downtown. It would be really tough to build a course this close to downtown that didn't require sharing the space with other people.

Bigger, brighter flags on the baskets would be helpful. I'm sure this isn't a problem for people who frequently play here, but I would have really struggled to find the target from the tee had I not been playing with locals.

Also, the grounds could definitely benefit from a little TLC in regards to trash.
Other Thoughts: This course was solid. I would definitely play it again if given the opportunity. I played in late January of 2015, 60 degree day. After 5 holes, I joined a 3-some of local players who were good players and even better hosts.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

What were they thinking?

1    4/4/2015   4/9/2015
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 48  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
> Seems to have a convenient location to make it accessible.
> A pretty nice topography overall, so it doesn't feel flat or repetative.
> Some pretty scary OB's that will keep you from getting sloppy or cost you a lost disc. (you don't want to end up on the light-rail tracks, in a swampy bog or in the deep creek)
> Creative use of the available space (but also see cons).
> The concrete tees were mostly adequate.
> Course is relatively short and easy to make a pleasant round for beginners and recreational players, but not so short as to be pitch-in for the more seasoned player.
> Overall, the park is pretty run down and ratty. All tee signs were either damaged or completely ruined. Trash was abundant. Many shady characters hanging about.
> Horribly UNSAFE public interaction design: I just don't understand who thought it was remotely OK to have players throwing at, over and even from walking and biking paths. It is never a good idea to begin with, but many of these path crossings involve blind spots where a biker/walker could suddenly be right in front of your drive coming off the tee. There's even one tee box that is part of some business parking lot and another where players are supposed to use the public sidewalk at an intersection with a stop-light (W. 12th and N. Knox)... What? I would also suggest that the several times where a throw could drift over onto the light-rail tracks is just asking for a disaster - players WILL try to get their discs back and someone is going to get hit or in trouble. I have no doubt that this course will, some day soon, be the source of a major disc golf related injury that creates another major law-suit.
> UNSAFE player interaction design: There are many holes where players will find themselves throwing at or over other players. Some fairways were shared and several tees were right in the line of fire for others.
> Many missing baskets have been replaced with a make-shift tone pole. These were also very hard to see and would have been totally lost without locals to point them out.
> Map shows multiple pin locations, but I get the impression they don't get moved much at all. Maybe I'm wrong... but I never once saw any signs of these other basket sleeves/locations.
> The course itself really wasn't very challenging in my opinion. The fairways are mostly open and the vast majority of the obstacles were fear of going in the creek, onto the light-rail tracks or into the road. Nobody I saw was counting the paths as OB. Just a few trees here and there and a couple of power line towers...
Other Thoughts:
> I didn't hate playing here at Lakewood Dry Gultch, but I just had a hard time forgiving the designs total lack of regard for safety. Perhaps the paths and light-rail were added after the course was already established... but that doesn't, in my book, equate to a good enough excuse. The course has plenty of room to be redesigned as a safer and enjoyable 18 holer.
> Since this course "is the way it is", please, please, please, keep your heads up for other park goers and public pedestrians/bikers, stay off the tracks and always have another person spotting the paths before you throw.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Hyzerbomber's paradise

5+    3/30/2015   4/3/2015
Review By: Adam Tarr
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/18/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads. Lots of longer holes to test your arm. Pins are moved around fairly regularly on several holes between 2-3 different spots.

Excellent use of the trees and elevation present at the park to create variety (lots of uphills and downhills, trees are used to guard many pins or force your drive onto a tricky line, and a couple drives are put under a bridge and around an electrical tower). The obstacles force your drives into certain shapes, but you never have to throw through a heavily wooded patch and just hope to get lucky - good shots are rewarded.

Eastern half of the course (1-8 and 21) has mowed grass fairways that are well maintained. Western half (holes 9-20) is not very crowded.
Cons: The placard by the tee pads with the hole number and pin distances is damaged/destroyed on most holes.

Eastern half gets crowded on the weekends, although in my experience people are happy to let you play through if you're faster. The western half of the course can be a little tricky to navigate for a new player. At some times of the year, the grasses in parts of the course get very long, and its easy to lose 15 minutes searching for a disc even if you weren't very far off target.

While I've never felt unsafe on the course (and I bring my small children with me on rounds fairly often), you will run into possibly homeless folks hanging out under trees now and then. Some trash here and there, especially some spots near the creek.
Other Thoughts: Of the 21 holes, 13 of them (1, 2, 4-8, 11-14, 16, 17) clearly favor a RHBH/LHFH fade, while only 5 holes (3, 9, 18, 19, 21) favor the RHFH/LHBH fade. This is largely due to the orientation of the holes with respect to the creek, as a miss with the wrong shot shape can lead to a downhill fade. Outside of a handful of holes (9, 17, 20) you have to miss really badly to actually end up in the creek, though.

The fairways on 3 and 4 overlap, more or less so depending on the pin placement on 4. This can slightly slow play down at times but I haven't found it to be a big deal. Fairways of 8 and 21 also overlap if both pins are in the long position, but due to the angle of those drives I've never seen this be an issue at all.

Others have commented on interaction with bikers/walkers on the paths. I have occasionally held up on a shot because of a biker, but I think the risk of accidentally throwing on a surprise biker coming around the bend has been overstated. The sight lines are pretty good.

If you bring a course map make sure it is "course map II" in the files section - the older course map is outdated.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Needs some TLC to be great

5+    7/16/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: Mile High Bogey
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 22.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes #1-8 and 21 are well maintained, and therefore fun to play. As many have stated before, lots of people play those 9 holes twice to make up an 18 hole round. Why? See cons. It's fun playing disc golf next to a light rail line with a picturesque view of downtown Denver. Central location makes it more convenient when trying to coordinate games with groups from all over the metro area.
Cons: Holes #9-20. A few of them have real potential, but overall this part of the course is a forgotten wasteland with overgrown weeds, graffiti, trash, vandalized and/or missing baskets, and so on. It's like the you walk into another neighborhood when you pass hole #8, one with much bigger concerns than maintaining a disc golf course in a drainage ditch. Many holes play on or near the bike path with blind spots, the chance of hitting a biker is always there. Bugs and snakes in the overgrown weeds, watch your step!
Other Thoughts: Always crowded, get there early or be prepared to play a slow game. Try to avoid shooting your disc under the high tension power lines, it makes the hair on your arms stand up. Be careful crossing the creek on hole #9, the rocks get very slick. UPDATE: My playing partner and I both slipped and fell into the water trying to cross the creek on hole #9 today, it is currently unsafe to cross there, try walking around to the crossing by tee #20.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Few fun holes

2-4    6/14/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: LeftyMcGee
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
Pros: There are some fun long range risk reward type shots with obstacles. These are a lot of fun. I'm not sure of the hole...maybe 16 or 17, I threw a sidearm drive across the creek that deflected off of the light rail bridge and landed 10 feet from the basket.
The front 9 and the first few on the back side are marked well. There is a wide margin for error on lot of the holes, which was nice for me as a beginner. Also some long holes to air it out.
Cons: The last few holes are pretty bad, unless you are playing with someone who knows the course. There are a few baskets missing, which isn't cool. There were some homeless guys bathing in the creek there's that.
Other Thoughts: It's a pretty fun course for the location. I have only played the course a few times, but there's been a lot of trash and garbage left on the course. It could be a very nice course with a little upkeep.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.