Denver, CO 
Lakewood Dry Gulch Share
Uploaded By: Rappers Block Hole #9
3 / 462ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee

Reviews: 17
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
What were they thinking?

1    4/4/2015   4/9/2015
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 48  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 4.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
> Seems to have a convenient location to make it accessible.
> A pretty nice topography overall, so it doesn't feel flat or repetative.
> Some pretty scary OB's that will keep you from getting sloppy or cost you a lost disc. (you don't want to end up on the light-rail tracks, in a swampy bog or in the deep creek)
> Creative use of the available space (but also see cons).
> The concrete tees were mostly adequate.
> Course is relatively short and easy to make a pleasant round for beginners and recreational players, but not so short as to be pitch-in for the more seasoned player.
> Overall, the park is pretty run down and ratty. All tee signs were either damaged or completely ruined. Trash was abundant. Many shady characters hanging about.
> Horribly UNSAFE public interaction design: I just don't understand who thought it was remotely OK to have players throwing at, over and even from walking and biking paths. It is never a good idea to begin with, but many of these path crossings involve blind spots where a biker/walker could suddenly be right in front of your drive coming off the tee. There's even one tee box that is part of some business parking lot and another where players are supposed to use the public sidewalk at an intersection with a stop-light (W. 12th and N. Knox)... What? I would also suggest that the several times where a throw could drift over onto the light-rail tracks is just asking for a disaster - players WILL try to get their discs back and someone is going to get hit or in trouble. I have no doubt that this course will, some day soon, be the source of a major disc golf related injury that creates another major law-suit.
> UNSAFE player interaction design: There are many holes where players will find themselves throwing at or over other players. Some fairways were shared and several tees were right in the line of fire for others.
> Many missing baskets have been replaced with a make-shift tone pole. These were also very hard to see and would have been totally lost without locals to point them out.
> Map shows multiple pin locations, but I get the impression they don't get moved much at all. Maybe I'm wrong... but I never once saw any signs of these other basket sleeves/locations.
> The course itself really wasn't very challenging in my opinion. The fairways are mostly open and the vast majority of the obstacles were fear of going in the creek, onto the light-rail tracks or into the road. Nobody I saw was counting the paths as OB. Just a few trees here and there and a couple of power line towers...
Other Thoughts:
> I didn't hate playing here at Lakewood Dry Gultch, but I just had a hard time forgiving the designs total lack of regard for safety. Perhaps the paths and light-rail were added after the course was already established... but that doesn't, in my book, equate to a good enough excuse. The course has plenty of room to be redesigned as a safer and enjoyable 18 holer.
> Since this course "is the way it is", please, please, please, keep your heads up for other park goers and public pedestrians/bikers, stay off the tracks and always have another person spotting the paths before you throw.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Hyzerbomber's paradise

5+    3/30/2015   4/3/2015
Review By: Adam Tarr
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2015
Pros: Nice concrete tee pads. Lots of longer holes to test your arm. Pins are moved around fairly regularly on several holes between 2-3 different spots.

Excellent use of the trees and elevation present at the park to create variety (lots of uphills and downhills, trees are used to guard many pins or force your drive onto a tricky line, and a couple drives are put under a bridge and around an electrical tower). The obstacles force your drives into certain shapes, but you never have to throw through a heavily wooded patch and just hope to get lucky - good shots are rewarded.

Eastern half of the course (1-8 and 21) has mowed grass fairways that are well maintained. Western half (holes 9-20) is not very crowded.
Cons: Four holes on the Western half of the course have posts but no baskets. The placard by the tee pads with the hole number and pin distances is damaged/destroyed on most holes.

Eastern half gets crowded on the weekends, although in my experience people are happy to let you play through if you're faster. The western half of the course can be a little tricky to navigate for a new player. At some times of the year, the grasses in parts of the course get very long, and its easy to lose 15 minutes searching for a disc even if you weren't very far off target.

While I've never felt unsafe on the course (and I bring my small children with me on rounds fairly often), you will run into possibly homeless folks hanging out under trees now and then.
Other Thoughts: Of the 21 holes, at least 16 can be easily played with a big RHBH/LHFH fade with little fear of getting into trouble, while a turnover RHBH or overstable RHFH/LHBH can easily find trouble on at least 15 holes. Most of the time this means fading down a hill the wrong way. If you REALLY saw one off, you can end up in the creek or on the tracks.

The fairways on 3 and 4 overlap, more or less so depending on the pin placement on 4. This can slightly slow play down at times but I haven't found it to be a big deal. Fairways of 8 and 21 also overlap if both pins are in the long position, but due to the angle of those drives I've never seen this be an issue at all.

Others have commented on interaction with bikers/walkers on the paths. I have occasionally held up on a shot because of a biker, but I think the risk of accidentally throwing on a surprise biker coming around the bend has been overstated. The sight lines are pretty good.

If you bring a course map make sure it is "course map II" in the files section - the older course map is outdated.

Needs some TLC to be great

5+    7/16/2014   7/26/2014
Review By: Mile High Bogey
Played: 11  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 21.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes #1-8 and 21 are well maintained, and therefore fun to play. As many have stated before, lots of people play those 9 holes twice to make up an 18 hole round. Why? See cons. It's fun playing disc golf next to a light rail line with a picturesque view of downtown Denver. Central location makes it more convenient when trying to coordinate games with groups from all over the metro area.
Cons: Holes #9-20. A few of them have real potential, but overall this part of the course is a forgotten wasteland with overgrown weeds, graffiti, trash, vandalized and/or missing baskets, and so on. It's like the you walk into another neighborhood when you pass hole #8, one with much bigger concerns than maintaining a disc golf course in a drainage ditch. Many holes play on or near the bike path with blind spots, the chance of hitting a biker is always there. Bugs and snakes in the overgrown weeds, watch your step!
Other Thoughts: Always crowded, get there early or be prepared to play a slow game. Try to avoid shooting your disc under the high tension power lines, it makes the hair on your arms stand up. Be careful crossing the creek on hole #9, the rocks get very slick. UPDATE: My playing partner and I both slipped and fell into the water trying to cross the creek on hole #9 today, it is currently unsafe to cross there, try walking around to the crossing by tee #20.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Few fun holes

2-4    6/14/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: LeftyMcGee
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
Pros: There are some fun long range risk reward type shots with obstacles. These are a lot of fun. I'm not sure of the hole...maybe 16 or 17, I threw a sidearm drive across the creek that deflected off of the light rail bridge and landed 10 feet from the basket.
The front 9 and the first few on the back side are marked well. There is a wide margin for error on lot of the holes, which was nice for me as a beginner. Also some long holes to air it out.
Cons: The last few holes are pretty bad, unless you are playing with someone who knows the course. There are a few baskets missing, which isn't cool. There were some homeless guys bathing in the creek there's that.
Other Thoughts: It's a pretty fun course for the location. I have only played the course a few times, but there's been a lot of trash and garbage left on the course. It could be a very nice course with a little upkeep.

True Denver Course

1    4/8/2014   4/12/2014
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 359  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: +This course is one of few that is actually in Denver and it seems like it is probably one of the more accessable courses in the city.
+Good variation in hole length and the alternate tees can change the course a lot! Surprisingly long holes.
+Some risk reward shots with a little elevation and the river potentially coming into play.
+More elevation than any Denver area course except Camenisch
+Most baskets were in decent shape (see cons)
+A lot of trees compared to most Denver area courses. It was refreshing.
+The map on here will do you wonders. It is more helpful than the signage on the course.
+Concrete tees are solid.
Cons: -Light rail flows right through here. Locals that I played with for a few holes said that the course was better before that.
-This course is long and there isn't really an option to play less than all 21 holes unless you wanted to just play the first 7. You're not too far from your car after that. Or maybe 1-8 then skipping to 21. Once you are beyond 8, you are on a long out and back course. There are also some longer and awkward walks between holes. Grab a local and/or map to ease your navigational fears.
-At least 3 baskets were vandalized and partially missing. Some of the signage was messed up too.
-Some sketchy characters hanging out. I didn't really ever feel unsafe but I played during the day and am a fairly bold person. I wouldn't recommend playing during the early morning or around dusk.
Other Thoughts: -This course has it's issues but overall was pretty fun to play. If it was in perfect condition, I could see giving this course a 3.5. A lot of the drawbacks aren't related to course design. The designers did well with what they had to work with.
-I would recommend this course. Try to play during the day and bring a map. It is a pretty fun course with some interesting shots.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


2-4    3/11/2014   3/31/2014
Review By: Sarahbellum
Played: 30  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Tees 1 thru 8 have a decent layout. The course map is helpful, all the tees are pretty clearly marked.
Cons: Light rail is too close so there's no retrieving your disc, creek is very trashy, bums live there, it stinks, creepers wondering the course, and there is way too much walking to complete a full round.
Other Thoughts: Won't be returning.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Its got its challenges

1    2/27/2014   2/27/2014
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 118  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Tee Pads 3.5
Tee signs 3
Baskets 2.5 (one missing and pole holes)
Flow 2.5
Difficulty 3
I did enjoy the length and elevation changes
Cons: The flow was a bit tough having to cross over the light rail several times. There are a couple of holes that just too close to sidewalks. Got to get those missing pins replaced
Other Thoughts: I might stop here again. I chatted with some locals and the light rail messed everything up. So maybe time for a course redesign. And don't cram 21 holes if they are not all good holes

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

hyzer bomb all day long.....

1    9/9/2013   10/15/2013
Review By: banknwank
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 27 holes and a 6 mile hike is sure to satisfy your dg craving!
-Some of the longest dg holes i have played, but par gos up with the distance. (longest was 800+)
-Great exercise with elevation changes and about a 6 mile hike.
-can rip @ your drives and not worry about your hyzer. in fact, you want a little hyzer on most so you dont end up on the light rail in the valley
-will test your endurance and ability to stay focused for the long haul. One shot does not make, or break, your round.
-some drives will require distance and placement to keep par attainable. dont sweat it, as even the more experienced players will be posting some bogies .
Cons: -6 mile hike wore me down a bit
-Around the middle of the course, a couple of baskets are missing and makes for a slightly confusing walk to the next basket.
-maybe a little unsavory in some areas along the creek
Other Thoughts: Bring something you rarely turn over, as right turning shots will glide a mile down into the valley. If you do turn one over into the valley you might find three other drivers while looking for yours........I did. I saw one guy riding his long board, as the course fallows concrete path most of the time. I could have used a jazzy by the end!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Paco Sanchez

5+    9/9/2013   9/10/2013
Review By: HyzerUniBomber
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2013
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The front 9 are superb (1-8 and hole 21) with some great long throws, cool hazards and great use of the elevation. As of about 9/1/2013 quite a few of the holes were changed to shorten up most holes, except 2 & 8 which is now very long. It's quite common to see folks play holes 1-8 and 21 twice instead of walking the whole course mainly because the front 9 is just better.

Quick rundown of the front 9 in the current configuration:
1. Long straight bombs right out of the gate. The 30 feet around the current hole placement really needs to be mowed down. Throwing an overstable disc here will probably put you into the train tracks or over them into the river. Ask me how I know. 10/2/13 Update: The grass is REALLY long in the field at on hole 1. I've spent much time trying to find drivers that bury themselves and become all but completely invisible. I know I'm not alone... might be worth having a spotter jog out there especially if there's people waiting behind you.
2. Another long hole with a pretty blind throw over the foot path. Worth a quick look to make sure you're clear because there's often people chilling on the side of the hill by the road.
3. Two tee boxes available. Long throw over the "water hazard" that's typically dry. Bikers/hikers use the back path right behind the pin - so use caution. It's easy to throw when it's clear and then watch in horror as a biker arrives out of nowhere.
4. Long down hill throw where you can really watch your disc fly. Throwing over the path again, etc. but cool shot.
5. Under the bridge - this hole causes most people some trouble as it's a got some serious stuff to avoid and throwing RHFH will put you in the bushes/river.
6. Classic Paco hole, 400+ downhill slightly right and if you overthrow you end up in the river.
7. Definitely a bird hole - you can get to the pin with a mid-range driver and of course, downhill the whole way.
8. I always play the mando to the right of both power line towers which makes it spicy. Fading left at the right point is key or you go over the river (or in it). Basket is tucked up in the second set up big trees and requires some shot selection to get it tucked in there. Cool stuff.
9. (Aka hole 21) straight forward 270' throw down the foot ball field. Nothing to hit except cars, houses or pedestrians on the road that you're right next to.

Cons: The back 10 are not quite as fun or nice. You're really playing along the footpath, which gratefully is pretty desolate. There's plenty of spots to find yourself bush-wacking in dry weeds hoping you don't piss of a snake. It's long - bring a couple water bottles and some snacks. You go through a truly sketchy neighborhood - expect some interaction with the locals. No trouble yet, but I've seen plenty of drunks etc. and it's worth keeping your eyes open and aware.
Other Thoughts: So long and short of my review, it's really awesome to have a course that's basically the opposite of Johnny Roberts. Long - wide open throws with less stuff to hit. Genuinely a nice change of pace. They run sprinklers through the front 9 on the reg. during the summer, so your feet can be wet on any given morning. Playing the whole 19 holes that are in right now could easily take a group 3 hours (solo or 2 players 2+), so plan accordingly.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    6/2/2013   6/2/2013
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 82  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete tee pads
-good signage
-easy to navigate and access
-good variety of shots
-good basket placements
-some elevation change
-challenging for good players but easy enough for beginners to learn on
Cons: -Lots of pedestrians and bikers on the fairways
-Some holes are not in-play right now because of revegation
-Could be maintained a little better
-Lots of "sidewalking", you end up doing a lot of walking down concrete paths that makes the course feel a lot more spread out than it has to be
-a few holes are setup awful, shots straight down sidewalks that have bends so there could be someone coming around the corner as you release your drive.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course, they just need to rethink a few of the holes for the safety of everyone.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.