Bowling Green, KY 
Ephram White Park Share
Uploaded By: Boostman Hole #7 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 475ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    5/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: broseberry1808
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.4 Years
Pros: Good course.
Cons: Could use arrows indicating next tee pad.
Other Thoughts: This course course was layed out well. Signs at the tee pads were in great condition. The course was maintained well. One of the better courses I have played.

 Distance + Accuracy

1    3/29/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 109  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well manicured course
Tee Signs-excellent with good distance
Tees- Concrete nice and rough
Baskets-DGA Mach 5
Course flow-never felt lost
Overall this course was fun, The OB on this course a lot might see as a con but added to the course. This forced you to have good shots and keep the disc where you meant it to go. Several of the greens were amazing, hole 18 green very beautiful. Very well lanscaped.
Cons: It is on the outside of town. Teepad get a little slick when wet.
Other Thoughts: Maybe not a must play in BG area but if you are down for a big tournament dont miss out on this course which test your distance and accuracy

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Wide Open Course

1    4/9/2010   4/14/2010
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course was straight forward, there was no complication as to where you should go or what shots you should take. The grass was well manacured (fairways were cut very nice leaving a thick rough that really did penalize you for missing the fairway). Teepads were good size and concrete. There was a good use of OB which was nice because it made you work on control instead of wild distance. The holes were longer than most other courses but they weren't ridiculous.
Cons: There is no cover there so the wind really just makes the course frustrating, you really have no clue when and which way the wind is blowing. Hole #11 was a little ridiculous in terms of playing it as a par 3 for a tournament. it was more that a 90 degree turn and the grass was fairly long taking away the opportunity for a tight roller. there was also a 700+ft hole, yes it was a long course but that would really make it difficult for a lot of players who want to play it for fun.
Other Thoughts: no water or restrooms were near by. It was a visually appealing course especially with the trimmed fairways. It is a fun course be be prepared to take a rough score at anytime. I would suggest playing in the morning before the wind really picks up.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beware of Wind

1    4/9/2010   4/13/2010
Review By: tistoude
Played: 166  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 6.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all this course is very, very, well designed. The course designer really took a long view at how this course will mature. At the moment it is not spectacular but given enough time (grow little trees grow!) it will be considered a highly rated course.

The out of bounds is well laid out and takes what appears to be somewhat easy holes and adds a whole new level of difficulty.

The Tee Pads are awesome. Wide and Long with a gravel apron.

This course also makes the most of what little elevation there is rarely providing a straight and level shot.

Very good use of the small amount of mature trees to hide and protect pins.

Mowed fairways that don't really reward you for a good shot but subconciously make you feel good about life.

The Wind. With a course this open the wind plays a huge factor adding considerably to the difficulty (if you are not used to wind).

The parks department. They do a great job maintaining this course. Mowing fairways, watering those little trees that are so important to the future of this course and keep the rest (non DG) of the park in great shape.

There benches at most if not all the tee's, plus garbage cans scattered thoughout. Nice little touches that always make a course better, like sand bunkers around #18's basket.
Cons: This course does not have any huge cons. Until the tree's grow up a little this is not a very challenging course if you have a 400 ft drive in you.

The Wind. As stated above the wind is a pro for the course unless you are not used to playing in it and suprise I am not used to wind. It took me a few holes to figure out how play my drives.

The course is designed in and around a really amazing cross country running trail and walkers and runners can be very much in the way.
Other Thoughts: Like I stated in the Pro section this course is planned for the future, and I am going to have to say that unless the BG Am championships use it again I will probably wait until the course matures before going out of my way to play this course again.

The park is great and there is a little disc golf store that just recently opened only about mile or so from the course that was neat to look through since they have a very good selection of used discs which is kind of rare around me.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Similar to a Ball Golf Course

1    5/25/2009   5/26/2009
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 229  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 18.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/9/2011
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: White Park is a beautiful 18 hole course set on a generously large section of lush, grassy land with very gentle hills, very much like traditional ball golf would be. I really enjoyed the defined mowed fairways. Several small trees line the fairways and protect the baskets. There were holes of all lengths from 200'-700' making for a great variety. Most holes here are longer than your average disc golf course, but the design, layout, and appearance of each hole makes the length enjoyable instead of a burden.

There were signs, pads, and benches on every tee. The hole numbers on the signs and the baskets were large and easily visible. Every basket could be easily seen from the tee. Each hole had a unique nickname to give the course even more character.

Hole #1 was the closest hole to the parking lot, so it appears some renumbering was done to make the flow more logical. #18 is a great finishing hole- the basket is surrounded by sand bunkers.

This course seems to not be as popular as the other Bowling Green courses at this point. We played on Memorial Day and were the only ones on the course.
Cons: The fairways had not been mowed in a while- the taller grass and full clover made footing kind of slick even in the fairway, discs were not visible until you got right upon them. A regular mowing would make this course even better.

It does not return to the parking lot after #9, and this course is long and spread out, so once you begin you are in for the long haul; make sure to bring your snacks and water with you. There is a picnic shelter, water fountain, and portable toilet at the parking area for when you finish.

The signs were just ok- most had a hole map and a distance. Very nice permanent detailed color signs are always a bonus, but you can get by without any problems with what is there.

*Update- It seems that I got to play this course in a rare state, and that most of the time there are not defined fairways, just a wide open field- and that makes a huge difference here. If there are no fairways/rough, then this course is pretty boring.
Other Thoughts: During the entire round I kept thinking to myself how this looks like a ball golf course with its beauty and layout, but it isn't- it is purely a DG course!!! This is the closest to looking like a ball golf I have played. The pros may play each hole as a par 3, but if you go in with the proper mindset and play this like ball golf where some are par 3 and some are par 4, maybe even a couple of 5's you will have a much more enjoyable round. Casual play pars could be justifiably assigned for each hole.

There was a map online, but not at course. Most of the time, however, there was a mowed path from basket to next tee, and it is pretty open so you can usually see the next hole. There is a walking path all throughout the course, but it was never a factor for me as far as walkers/runners are concerned. I would guess in tournaments they would use the path as OB lines as the path runs alongside many fairways and surrounds several baskets to really challenge accuracy as well as length. We got lucky as it was not too windy, but I could see where wind could be a huge factor on most days

I am guessing by the early reviews that when the course was first built it was just baskets in a wide open field. Once all the trees mature this will be an awesome course. The course looks even better in person than in the pictures now that it is summer and the grass and trees are full and green. I am not usually a fan of super long holes, but I really enjoyed every shot of every hole. Newer players who haven't developed distance yet might not want to try this course, but it would be a good place to learn without fear of losing your discs or being intimidated on a crowded course. I would love to watch the Pros play a tournament here. This course will only get better with time, but it is still pretty good as it is right now.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 

1    7/10/2008   4/2/2009
Review By: rinneal
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: This course is wide open. No chance of losing any disc with the exception of one hole.
Cons: If you can't throw the very far or you are looking for a course where different shots are required. Not the course to play.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/18/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2009
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ephram White Disc Golf Course is a great course in the making. Currently, the course is pretty much wide open, with very few obstacles. Several trees have been planted, which will go a long way toward the increasing the challenge level and visual appeal of the course in the future.

The course flow is good, and makes one continuous loop from start to finish. Most of the holes are straight forward, but don't necessary have defined fairways, considering there isn't much there to define them with the lack of trees and obstacles. However, there is a walking track that runs throughout the course and plays as OB adding both challenge and fairway definition to many of the holes. Hole No18 has 3 sand traps that form a circle around the green and play as OB. This is a nice feature that adds to the challenge and visual appeal of the course.

There is no foliage to speak of at Ephram White, and the course is maintained very well. The course has large, concrete tee pads, tee signs at every hole, and uses Mach3 baskets that are in great shape. There is only one tee/pin placement for each hole.

Ephram White Park is relatively flat, with only slight to moderate elevation changes. There are no holes that I would consider epic holes at Ephram, but of all the holes, No 11 (the previous No14) is probably my favorite. The tee shot at 11 parallels a fence row of a neighboring field. The fence runs out around 250ft or so, and the hole makes a sharp, 90deg dog-leg right with the basket tucked in between one of the few stands of mature trees on the course. I love the approach shot here, probably the best on the course.

The biggest challenge at Ephram is the length of the course. There several holes over 500ft, and one hole that stretches near 800ft (I think it is No15, they have rearranged the numbers to move the starting hole near the parking area). Players that throw less than 300ft will find that the combination of the OB walking trails combined with the extreme lengths can be more challenging than expected. For the players that throw 400ft+, you'll breeze through this course without much trouble.

With the course being so open, you can pretty much throw any shot that you are comfortable with. Very few holes here actually define a specific shot or route to the basket. There are plenty of long holes to grip it and rip it, so the longer throwers will enjoy the opportunity to air out some big drives.
Cons: The biggest con here is wide open spaces on practically every hole. As I stated, several trees have been planted, but they are small, and it will be some time before they are a threat. The sand traps are a nice, visual feature of No18. With the flat terrain, and lack of trees, it would be nice to see more sand traps put in around the greens for an added challenge and visual. There are benches, I don't recall if every hole has them, and no public restrooms that I am aware of.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a decent little course. I play the course often with my kids and my nephews. It is easy to navigate and not to difficult for the younger ones to walk (except for the length). There isn't any over-growth or thick woods for them to walk through or lose a disc in, and a great place to help them with their technique. Ephram is not usually crowded, so it is a great place to go when you need a place to just empty the discs out of your bag and work on technique and distance. After you finish your round here at White Park, you can check out Chalybeate for a more challenging, technical course, it isn't to far from here. I am giving this course a 3 disc rating for now, but expect to be able to bump this up a half disc or so once the course has had time to grow and develop. This is a definitely a course to watch out for in the future.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of distance

5+    5/8/2006   12/8/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10.4 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is long with OB on virtually every hole, although it really only comes into play on about half the holes. The course is unique in terms of the other courses in Bowling Green. Most of the fairways are long and narrow, with several of the shots being a bit more wide open.

There are some nice pin placements on this course, but I would like to see more trees. Several young trees have been planted that will make this course more interesting in the future.
Cons: This course is usually extremely windy. Driving and putting can be tricky here.

Not enough obstacles. The OB helps make it interesting, but throwing in a field can get boring. More trees would help a lot.
Other Thoughts: Pros seem to like this course because of the distance, but I don't think the challenge is there. It is hard to score under par here but accuracy is not that important if you want a low score. People that can throw 400+ will love White park.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Long and sparse

1    7/3/2007   9/4/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 42  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 10.1 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Length is good. There are already so many short courses out there full of 250 foot holes. We could use a few more long courses.

No danger of losing a disc in the rough. There is no rough. Signs and teepads were decent.
Cons: I am absolutely not a fan of manufacturing more difficulty by adding artificial obstacles like mandos and OB areas. If I need to stay on a fairway, then I want some trees/bushes/obstacles that force me to stay on that fairway, not just a sign that says "throwing over THERE is bad, m'kay?"

Additionally, this course has holes sort of shoehorned right next to each other, and there were a few times where we were unsure of which basket we were supposed to be throwing at.
Other Thoughts: My course rating of "good" indicates how much I enjoy playing longer courses. Some trees here and there could make this course super.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.