Bowling Green, KY 
Ephram White Park Share
Uploaded By: Boostman Hole #14 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4

1    5/18/2014   5/18/2014
Review By: broseberry1808
Played: 14  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.3 Years
Pros: Good course.
Cons: Could use arrows indicating next tee pad.
Other Thoughts: This course course was layed out well. Signs at the tee pads were in great condition. The course was maintained well. One of the better courses I have played.


1    4/12/2014   4/20/2014
Review By: urwatuh8
Played: 177  Reviewed: 17
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is in good shape -- the tees are large, concrete, in great shape. The baskets are in good condition. The grass gets mowed. The park seems generally well maintained. There is plenty of parking.

Hole 11 is a pretty unique hole, with a sharp mando right corner to a basket tucked into some trees with OB behind.
Cons: Do you like throwing in a big flat windy open field? To make it more challenging, they threw in lots of OB.

The course is repetitive -- there are only a few holes which had interesting shapes, or basically any obstacles other than OB and wind. Many fairways are also too close given the windy conditions -- drives easily land in adjacent fairways.

The course just isn't fun -- it's long and exposed, so you'll be tired by the end. But it's repetitive enough that the holes will blur together in your head before you're out of the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: The course designers did the best they could with this land -- It's just not well suited to disc golf.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Best in BG

5+    8/5/2013   9/5/2013
Review By: jcm566
Played: 30  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This is the best course that BG has to offer, plenty of distance with OBs to keep you honest. Beautiful park setting and the grass seems to be mowed quite frequently. A lot of new trees to tighten up the longer holes, great tee signs, benches and trash cans on every hole. It truly separates the good from the great in every division. #11 and 15 are legit par 4s that big arms can easily 3, and a lot of holes in the 370-450 range that you can really air it out on.
Cons: Hole #6 is kind of a Tweener hole, not many 2s or 4s, just a straight wide open 540' hole. If you're a noob who can only throw 200'... You're not going to have a good time

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Don't get the complaints...

2-4    6/26/2013   6/30/2013
Review By: RollingStone
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 22.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long open holes that still require a good bit of control if you play by the OB rules, and especially if the wind is blowing.

Solid good sized teepads allow big runups for those with the arm to take full advantage.

Yes the course is open, and probably not much fun in the dead of summer, but when the wind is blowing this course is nice and cool, and between the wind and the OB there's plenty of challenge to keep you from just bombing away hole after hole.
Cons: Open and long, this course would be rough on a hot, still summer day.

Plenty of people around, but for the most part they were aware of disc golf and moved out of the way quickly.

A second set of tees would be nice.
Other Thoughts: I really don't understand people grumbling about this course being to simple. I simply didn't play it on calm days, and had no issue. Playing by the tourney OB rules and on windy days made for a challenging experience that allowed me to hone a specific aspect of my game.

Many young trees have been planted, and 10 years or so from now this course will have an entirely new and improved look.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Don't see the problem

1    6/8/2013   6/8/2013
Review By: DG addict24
Played: 28  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2013
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Huge teepads, which are needed for such long holes. There were some very cool holes; 9, 11, and 18 are the ones that come to mind. I had never played a bunker hole before, so 18 was really cool. I have never seen a hole like 11 before and it was fun. Also, everyone says it's open and boring and that throwing in between 2 paths isn't disc golf, but that's this course's trees. The land it was built on isn't wooded, so they tried to keep it from being really boring and open and brought in the OB's. if all the spots that were OB were a line of trees instead, they would be called great holes, with a great mix of open and wooded holes. To me, none of the holes are the same, all the ones that are close to the same length are either uphill or downhill, so they change the shot and distance. Also, the few trees that are out there can cause a change in shot shape, or at least make the same shot more difficult. It wasn't as boring as the reviews make it sound. Plus the benches at every hole were nice.
Cons: Don't really have many. I would like a couple of wooded holes, but it wasn't bad without them. (Read title)
Other Thoughts: The people in the walking trail only made us wait a couple of times, but we just sat at the bench behind the teebox, waited 15 seconds for them to leave, then went on and threw. The course is probably the most challenging open course you will ever play. Go OB once and you're looking at an up and down for bogey or a double if you mess up. But that's what keeps it from being boring. That's this course's character (and the wind apparently, but it was calm when I played). That's what it's all about, and if you don't like it then that's too bad.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Blowing Green’s Windy City

2-4    4/13/2013   4/16/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 160  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: At 7240 feet, the DG course at Ephram White is actually the longest in Bowling Green (by a few feet over Phil Moore), and is renowned for its OB paths and usually windy conditions. It is a big arm paradise, and a noddle arm purgatory, with three holes over 425 feet, two over 560, one at 605, and one at 740. Did I mention there's usually a walking path on either side of you, or just beyond the basket, that's played as OB in tournaments? Heck, you can see a sign by the second tee that says "2 Miles" !! ; )

Fortunately, this open field, ball golf feeling course has some of the biggest tee pads in the universe, with added gravel on all sides to make '360' approaches possible. Every hole has a bench well back of your run-up, and newer, highly informative signage. The fields are well maintained, and the few trees you need to navigate are coming in nicely. It may even have some shade in a couple of decades. The ball golf feel culminates with actual sand 'bunkers' surrounding the 18th basket.

Used by the thriving local DG club for weekly doubles and big tournaments (such as the annual BG ams, which hosts well over 600 players every spring), White has its admirers and its detractors. Scores can vary widely depending on whether it's calm or windy here in the back of the large, multi-use park. There are a few other memorable holes that stand out here, such as the shortest (hole nine), that allows lower level players like me to grab a rare deuce, followed by the L-shaped hole 11 that takes you 420' to the right around a mando corner, into a grove of mature trees, with a couple of path OB's to avoid. There are some holes that roll up and down the gentle elevation, making more deuces possible for Rec level arms on the ones that are shorter than a football field in length. The baskets are nice, and catch reliably if you can compensate for the putt-lifting (or -dropping) breezes.
Cons: The lack of variety can get monotonous for about half the holes here, and if the weather is good, you may have to wait for folks to pass across a number of the pathways that crisscross the course. You'll need to bring your best overstable stuff out here on windier days if you want to approach par on White. I know for a fact that the tournament OB's here frustrate the heck out of most Rec level players.
Other Thoughts: While the flow of the design is straightforward, and White offers a real contrast to most of the courses in the Bowling Green area, I'm not sure I'd have played this course the couple of times I have if it weren't for it being included in the big tournament. They did fine designing a course here with the space available, but there are so many more interesting courses in the region…

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Boring

2-4    4/1/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: BraveThrower43
Played: 204  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 3.5 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has benches which were not present at most of the other BG courses that I played.

The tee-pads are Huge to allow for a big run-up on the long holes for those wanting to air it out.

The course is well manicured and can be a very beautiful course to play
Cons: This course almost requires no finesse. Just throw as hard as you can for the most part. It's wide open and forgiving in most places.

The holes with OB can force you to throw with some accuracy but there are only 3-4 holes that I can think of where the OB really dictates your shot(1,2,3,10)

Other Thoughts: This course has only one defense apparently and that is wind. When it's not blowing the course is boring and simple. There are less than 7 holes that I can say that I enjoyed on the entire course the rest were just bland and held little to no challenge.

Hole 11 was probably my favorite 400+ft dogleg with the basket tucked into a corner with probably the only mature trees on the course guarding it. Holes 1, 3, 10, 14, 18 are the only ones that have stuck in my mind at all. The rest of this course is very forgettable.

If you are in the Bowling Green area and have the option of playing other courses that would be a wise choice unless you are just wanting to play them all.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Distance + Accuracy

1    3/29/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 109  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well manicured course
Tee Signs-excellent with good distance
Tees- Concrete nice and rough
Baskets-DGA Mach 5
Course flow-never felt lost
Overall this course was fun, The OB on this course a lot might see as a con but added to the course. This forced you to have good shots and keep the disc where you meant it to go. Several of the greens were amazing, hole 18 green very beautiful. Very well lanscaped.
Cons: It is on the outside of town. Teepad get a little slick when wet.
Other Thoughts: Maybe not a must play in BG area but if you are down for a big tournament dont miss out on this course which test your distance and accuracy

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/2/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: jaybob
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/31/2011
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: DGA baskets.
Cons: A complete lack of character.
Other Thoughts: Imagine putting temp holes in a cow pasture then saying the cattle paths were o.b. This was a huge blemish in an otherwise awesome tourney. Come back in thirty years and the trees may be large enuff to make this course tolerable. I talked to two other players at a tourney this weekends that said they will not be back to B.G. Ams if they have to play this course again.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Skip it.

1    4/22/2011   5/9/2011
Review By: tdortch
Played: 61  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 8.3 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is one of the most boring courses I have ever played. Throw. Walk. Throw. Walk. Yawn. There are a FEW neat holes on the course. I'm not saying it's easy - it's not b/c the OB is so tight. But, keeping a disc between two imaginary lines is just not fun for me. I guess it would be a good course to work on your long drives, turnovers, etc.
Cons: Oops. I put them all in the Pros section. I could go on...
Other Thoughts: Skip this course. I hope to never see it again.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.