Bowling Green, KY
Ephram White Park Share
Uploaded By: Boostman Hole #7 (Taken 4/2009)
3 / 475ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Basket



Reviews: 31
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 

2-4    3/30/2008   1/29/2009
Review By: bazkitcase5
Played: 122  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 10 Years
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a wide open course, with lots of room to rip long drives. The park is nice, seems well kept, and not over crowded. There is hardly any foliage to deal with. Most holes would be too long for newer players, but if players would quit the habit of thinking every hole was a par 3, this would not be a problem.

There is a cross country track that makes its way around and through the course that plays as OB. This gives the course a little more challenge, but the main culprit for challenge on this course is the distance and the wind. Not only is the city nicknamed "Blowing Green" by disc golfers, but this course has very little in the way to stop it. There are good long concrete tee pads and tee signs on every hole. There is also a fence on a few holes that plays as OB. Also, as mentioned, you have the bunkers near hole 18 with the path behind it all playing as OB, which can make for a challenging in the wind.

I would say the design is good for what they had to work with, which will only get better as the small trees continue to mature. I am sure, by looking at how each long hole faces different directions and knowing the wind is a major culprit at a course like this, that the design takes into account the different wind directions and how they affect the disc flight. Easy, wide open shots are not so easy if you do not understand how wind can change the flight of the shot your about to throw.
Cons: There is no public restroom, or running water, and the course could use more benches. There really are not a lot of cons to the course other than the fact that there is not much to it, but that is not a con for those who like this type of course. The biggest down side, is on non windy days for players who can not throw over 300', this course can be incredibly boring.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this can be a fun course if you like open courses or if you like to throw long drives. People often seem to forget that good designers understand wind and try to take it into account on open courses. However, the wind is not always blowing, and if you can not throw very long or do not like open courses, then you simply will not like this course. There is just nothing about this course that stands out to me to consider it anything other than an average course, but I look forward to updating my review down the road when the trees have had a chance to mature.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    10/18/2008   12/19/2008
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/7/2009
13 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Ephram White Disc Golf Course is a great course in the making. Currently, the course is pretty much wide open, with very few obstacles. Several trees have been planted, which will go a long way toward the increasing the challenge level and visual appeal of the course in the future.

The course flow is good, and makes one continuous loop from start to finish. Most of the holes are straight forward, but don't necessary have defined fairways, considering there isn't much there to define them with the lack of trees and obstacles. However, there is a walking track that runs throughout the course and plays as OB adding both challenge and fairway definition to many of the holes. Hole No18 has 3 sand traps that form a circle around the green and play as OB. This is a nice feature that adds to the challenge and visual appeal of the course.

There is no foliage to speak of at Ephram White, and the course is maintained very well. The course has large, concrete tee pads, tee signs at every hole, and uses Mach3 baskets that are in great shape. There is only one tee/pin placement for each hole.

Ephram White Park is relatively flat, with only slight to moderate elevation changes. There are no holes that I would consider epic holes at Ephram, but of all the holes, No 11 (the previous No14) is probably my favorite. The tee shot at 11 parallels a fence row of a neighboring field. The fence runs out around 250ft or so, and the hole makes a sharp, 90deg dog-leg right with the basket tucked in between one of the few stands of mature trees on the course. I love the approach shot here, probably the best on the course.

The biggest challenge at Ephram is the length of the course. There several holes over 500ft, and one hole that stretches near 800ft (I think it is No15, they have rearranged the numbers to move the starting hole near the parking area). Players that throw less than 300ft will find that the combination of the OB walking trails combined with the extreme lengths can be more challenging than expected. For the players that throw 400ft+, you'll breeze through this course without much trouble.

With the course being so open, you can pretty much throw any shot that you are comfortable with. Very few holes here actually define a specific shot or route to the basket. There are plenty of long holes to grip it and rip it, so the longer throwers will enjoy the opportunity to air out some big drives.
Cons: The biggest con here is wide open spaces on practically every hole. As I stated, several trees have been planted, but they are small, and it will be some time before they are a threat. The sand traps are a nice, visual feature of No18. With the flat terrain, and lack of trees, it would be nice to see more sand traps put in around the greens for an added challenge and visual. There are benches, I don't recall if every hole has them, and no public restrooms that I am aware of.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a decent little course. I play the course often with my kids and my nephews. It is easy to navigate and not to difficult for the younger ones to walk (except for the length). There isn't any over-growth or thick woods for them to walk through or lose a disc in, and a great place to help them with their technique. Ephram is not usually crowded, so it is a great place to go when you need a place to just empty the discs out of your bag and work on technique and distance. After you finish your round here at White Park, you can check out Chalybeate for a more challenging, technical course, it isn't to far from here. I am giving this course a 3 disc rating for now, but expect to be able to bump this up a half disc or so once the course has had time to grow and develop. This is a definitely a course to watch out for in the future.

13 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of distance

5+    5/8/2006   12/8/2008
Review By: SimonCarr
Played: 60  Reviewed: 42  Exp: 10 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is long with OB on virtually every hole, although it really only comes into play on about half the holes. The course is unique in terms of the other courses in Bowling Green. Most of the fairways are long and narrow, with several of the shots being a bit more wide open.

There are some nice pin placements on this course, but I would like to see more trees. Several young trees have been planted that will make this course more interesting in the future.
Cons: This course is usually extremely windy. Driving and putting can be tricky here.

Not enough obstacles. The OB helps make it interesting, but throwing in a field can get boring. More trees would help a lot.
Other Thoughts: Pros seem to like this course because of the distance, but I don't think the challenge is there. It is hard to score under par here but accuracy is not that important if you want a low score. People that can throw 400+ will love White park.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Long and open!

2-4    3/8/2008   11/13/2008
Review By: jgentry
Played: 47  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course has nice large concrete tee pads and good signs on every hole. It is located in a nice park and the disc golf course usually does not have a lot of people playing. You have lots of oppertunities for long drives as many of the holes are long and not reachable in 1 throw. There is a lot of OB. There is generally a lot of wind.
Cons: For some reason hole #1 is on the opposite side of the course from the parking lot. You have to walk several hundred yards to hole #1. The course is way to open and you are just pretty much throwing it a hard as you can without much wory of anything. Almost all of the OB is very unnatural with it all being gravel roads.
Other Thoughts: The course has some young trees planted that will help 10 years down the road, but this is just not a very fun course to play. You just try to throw it long and avoid the man made OB. on almost every hole. The park is nice and well kept, but the course is pretty boring. It's a good play to go work on your drives and windy putting, but that's about it.

8 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Long and sparse

1    7/3/2007   9/4/2008
Review By: upfromtheashes
Played: 39  Reviewed: 37  Exp: 9.6 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Length is good. There are already so many short courses out there full of 250 foot holes. We could use a few more long courses.

No danger of losing a disc in the rough. There is no rough. Signs and teepads were decent.
Cons: I am absolutely not a fan of manufacturing more difficulty by adding artificial obstacles like mandos and OB areas. If I need to stay on a fairway, then I want some trees/bushes/obstacles that force me to stay on that fairway, not just a sign that says "throwing over THERE is bad, m'kay?"

Additionally, this course has holes sort of shoehorned right next to each other, and there were a few times where we were unsure of which basket we were supposed to be throwing at.
Other Thoughts: My course rating of "good" indicates how much I enjoy playing longer courses. Some trees here and there could make this course super.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Bring the Flexall

5/17/2008   8/9/2008
Review By: buzzinb
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: If you love to grip-n-rip, this course is for you. We were there in the middle of a Saturday in May and there was hardly anyone else there. Lots of elbow room to really try and open up your drive potential.
Cons: Lacks the kind of character that many other area courses have. There are only a few holes in the back that provide any sort of technical challenge.
Other Thoughts: I would probably rate this course higher if I could consistenly snap out drives of 400' or better.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Long, open course

1    6/11/2001   6/11/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 161  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 16 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
8 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The design makes good use of the given property. Some of the holes are multi-shot golf holes that do require a bit of strategy.

Most of the time the wind makes the track fairly challenging. A bit of elevation change makes for some fun shots.

Very little schule, little chance of losing discs, easy to navigate.

Fun, if you like to crush-crush-crush.

The course will get better over the years as the trees grow.
Cons: On many of the holes, the primary factor that separates scores is the ability to crush.

Very few trees.

A lot like a fly-18 course, but minus the cart and the beverage cutie.
Other Thoughts: Remember: Don't be a dirty disc golfer. If you pack it in, pack it out!

8 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 

2/25/2008   2/25/2008
Review By: tenWatts
Played: 50  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 11.9 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: White is a long course with lots of challenge due to the OBs. While there are NOT a lot of obstiles on this course you're forced to not only throw LONG but you must be accurate to keep your shot in bounds. More than half of the course is twoable if you can throw at or around 350 feet. To say there are only two or three birdies on this course is silly when you take in to account that Doc Rick (who can only throw about 350 on a GREAT toss) has shot a 45 there. This is a great course if you want to be challenged while throwing hard.
Cons: No shade! It gets HOT!!!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Just not the greatest!

2/25/2008   2/25/2008
Review By: ambroze
Played: 123  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This course is very long and if you play it using the walking paths as OB you will be having a long day. There are some holes on the back 9 that are pretty cool but overall it just has nothing unique about the layout. It's just tee up and throw long, walk to your disc and throw long again. That to me is boring and don't expect too many birdies, maybe on 2, 3, and 12 and that's it. You better deuce those if you want to have any chance of keeping your score down.
Cons: Not the best layout, too long and boring. Big arm Pros might disagree.
Other Thoughts: I would not rush back to play there again on my next Bowling Green weekend. Stick with Kereiakes or Lovers Lane Parks while in Bowling Green.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Booooooring

1/17/2008   1/17/2008
Review By: mynamesnotjason
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: After you sink your putt on #18, you're done with this course
Cons: Except for a few holes, this course requires nothing but a big arm. Almost every hole is WIDE open and a straight, full strength shot off the tee pad will leave you with another straight, full strength up shot at the basket.
Other Thoughts: I know that is the home course and project of the legendary Dr. Rick Voakes, and I respect the guy and all he's done and continues to do for the sport. I like him, but I hate his course.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.