Wyoming, MI 
Lamar Park Share
Uploaded By: Greg Layton Hole #4
3 / 325ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
wide open and just egh

5+    9/20/2013   12/6/2013
Review By: hellbound
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Not a whole lot to say about this park other than its a quick nine holes that best suits most players in the early part of the season and anytime need to work on form or a new shot. It does make use of the water on five of the nine holes with four really playing into it.
Cons: Needs to look at shifting the setup around some. first couple of holes will play into groups of people and even a time or two you will see people using baskets as grills.
Other Thoughts: I would not go out of my way to play this course if it was not right next to a friends house. How ever if looking for a place to work on drives and form this might be a great place to spend some time at.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Just for fun!

1    6/19/2013   8/5/2013
Review By: Gwenyvere78
Played: 14  Reviewed: 1
Pros: Short course, fun to play for a beginner like me :)
Easy to follow layout.
Well maintained grounds.
Cons: Short course, maybe not fun for experienced players.
Not much in the way of technical challenges.
Multipurpose park means people and wildlife may interfere with your shot :)
Other Thoughts: Overall, I very much like this course. I would give it a higher rating for beginners. Definitely worth a look if you're in the Grand Rapids area checking out courses!

 Nothing special...

5+    9/6/2012   9/10/2012
Review By: That1AndyGuy
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ SHORT COURSE: 9 holes are good for when I want to throw a quick round.

+ PRACTICE MIDRANGE: Hole 7 is the only long shot. The all the others I throw a Buzz (midrange driver).

+ LOW TRAFFIC: Occasionally will have to wait for a group of kids, but typically not overly crowded.
Cons:
- CRAP: wear shoes you don't mind getting dirty, there is goose crap all over Lamar.

- NOT CHALLENGING: As previously noted, this is a practice course at best. Doubt there will never be talk of tourneys here. Hole 9 has a pond, that is the only challenge.

- FORE!: Hole 3 often has people eating on the benches that lay just right on the line between the tee and the hole.
Other Thoughts:
* LAYOUT: Hole 5 is difficult to see the pin. Its located past the pond to the right. The first time or two, I threw to pin 6 from tee 5... butt u b more smarter then me and will figure it out. ;D

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Not much here

2-4    6/1/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: JSquizz
Played: 16  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 3.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2012
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy for beginners, easy to navigate, was faily clean.
Cons: Too many people in the park on peak hours, very flat and not much of a challenge overall. No distance readings on any of the concrete tee boxes and there are no signs on the holes- the numbers are on the tee boxes.
Other Thoughts: Not a very exciting course. When I played people were just walking right in front of us paying no heed. Picnic tables all over can get in the way. There are better options nearby.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Meh

1    3/18/2012   3/23/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 766  Exp: 12.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays around other activities in a flat city park. The grass was mowed and the park seemed generally well kept when I played. The concrete tees were in good shape, as were the baskets, and the flow is easy to follow even without tee signs. A few holes bring some trees into play, making you think about the line you want to hit. A creek and pond are in play to add some fun challenge, the last hole has the pond all along the left side waiting to punish you for hyzering out. There is a mix of hole lengths, with some ace runs and one hole that offers a chance to air out a long drive.
Cons: Other than a few holes, the course is wide open. You don't have to throw anything but a hyzer to be successful and there's almost no punishment for errant shots. The long hole is a fun chance to air out a drive, but feels a bit out of place on an otherwise beginner oriented course, many of the locals seemed bored playing that hole. There is a very long walk from the 9th hole back to the parking lot, there wasn't really any other option with the other park activities, but it's still not ideal. Some holes shared space with picnic areas, potentially a safety issue on a nice day.
Other Thoughts: Beginners will enjoy the generally reasonable distances and lack of punishment on errant shots. There are a few trees in play to make it more interesting for newer throwers. More experienced players won't find a ton of challenge, and there aren't really many different skills tested here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Simple, but nice

1    7/15/2011   12/3/2011
Review By: myhouseinthewoods
Played: 13  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Good for begginers who are just starting or have some practice
-There are some fun obstacles that are placed in the park in some holes
-Easy not to get lost in this place since its pretty much open areas
-Some wide areas good for long drives
Cons: -Its not close to my house, so car is really the only way to get there.
-Theres a hole with some water that you have to throw your disc across, its not to wide, but make sure you throw hard anyway

Other Thoughts: -There are friendly people at this park as far as Ive met.
-In the park a baseball diamond about in the middle and right near one of the holes.
-Also since Ive only been there once, I cant say for sure, but it doesnt seem to get overly crowded.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  lamar par

5+    9/4/2011   9/4/2011
Review By: michiganmike
Played: 16  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: you have the opportunity to stretch your arm out there. at times you can find that there is only a few people playing at 1 time on the course.
Cons: like the rest of grand rapids it's not very technical. there is 2 holes with baseball field next to it and if you hit a home run there is no easy way in.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lamar

5+    4/24/2011   4/25/2011
Review By: worldbnice
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice quick round if pressed for time as this is a 9 hole course. Cement tee pads with hole number and par listed. Park is well maintained. Some short holes to warm up with, ace and birdie opportunities. Holes 3,4,5 play with a creek and pond, but avoidable water hazards. Hole 9 plays with a pond on your left, but able to throw away from as well.
Cons: Sometimes crowded with first few holes in main picnic area. Some areas of goose poop on some water holes.
Other Thoughts: good for a fast round, would like to see more holes added. If you play par as listed on the pads, won't be too much trouble for you. I played as everything par 3, and hole number 7 is a challenge as it is over 600 ft in distance.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Lamar

5+    5/5/2013   9/19/2010
Review By: rshrevo
Played: 38  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 18.3 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2013
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice park. easy to navigate. a lot of short holes combined with a very long driving hole. can quickly play a round. concrete pads with par and distance written on pad. Water comes into play on a few holes to make some shots challenging.
Cons: Pedestrian traffic on the first few holes. one day i even saw someone set up his grill right on the tee pad of the first hole.can be really very busy on weekends in the summer.
Other Thoughts: Its a really nice park. easy to play a quick nine holes. Hole 7 has been shortened up to midway behind ballfield. It is definitely parable now. I work nearby and can stop by and play a quick round on my way home.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Decent starting course

5+    6/26/2010   8/20/2010
Review By: scrotman
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/23/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Some short holes to start to get your game rolling. Longer/tougher holes start at hole 4. Enough variety to keep you interested. I got my start at this course.
Cons: Water traps at 3,4,5, and 9, although 3 and 4 shouldn't be an issue unless your disc slips. In the summer there is alot of parties hosted at the park which may or may not interrupt your play at holes 1,2 and 3

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.