Wyoming, MI
Lamar Park Share
Uploaded By: Greg Layton Hole #4
3 / 325ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Walking Bridge on Hole #4



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 Short Game Course

1    3/24/2009   3/25/2009
Review By: phishbrained
Played: 23  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice short course to practice midrange and putt shots.
Concrete tee pads are nice, never really had the problem of where am I shooting.


Cons: Water is nasty, Do not let your disc get in there.
Fence- The Wind grabbed my disc and it barely stayed on my side of the fence so be careful.
Most of the holes are short straight shots that don't offer much challenge.
I'm used to having hole 9 end near the tee of hole 1, this isnt the case. You have to walk pretty far to your car afterwards.
Goose Feces everywhere.
Other Thoughts: Good for short game practice, but only one hole is long enough for good drives. The course goes around a frequently used park so watch out for people and pets. A sign at tee one says disc golfers are responsible for any damage your discs cause.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Outstanding city park

5+    5/31/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: Greg Layton
Played: 142  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/27/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Well marked teepads
- Laid out logically, circles you through the park
- Nicely groomed, always mowed with little trash
- Water hazards on four holes add challenge and reward risk
- Restroom not far from the course
Cons: - It's a popular multi-use park so you occasionally have to avoid picnics, volleyball nets, and a random fisherman or two.
- Baseball fields can quickly come into play on two holes, especially on the long #7
- Wind is usually an issue due to few trees in the area
- Little to no elevation changes
Other Thoughts: I play this course a couple of times each week. It's a nice beginner course that manages to still offer a challenge to more advanced players. Hole #9 is the best hole on the course; it's a dogleg left with a pond on one side and a thick row of trees on the other. This course is a nice alternative if Brewer or Riverside are too busy for your taste.

Updated 5/27/2010:
The tree next to the pond on hole #9 was recently cut down. This takes all the challenge out of the hole and turns it into a relatively easy birdie opportunity. For this reason alone, I'm reducing my rating from a 3 to a 2.5.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Learning Course

7/21/2007   3/16/2008
Review By: nvelting
Played: 15  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great variety of shots needed, really a great course to work on approach shots.
Cons: No cons really #7 is long, but keeping the disc down out of the wind will keep it going a long way between the hill on the right and the baseball field fence on the left.
Other Thoughts: When I lived there I played daily at this course. Great course for beginner to intermediate golfers to hone their skills.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lamar Park

5+    7/11/2007   10/23/2007
Review By: FoleyT
Played: 86  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 8.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/25/2008
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: good mix of challenges, water comes into play on several holes, attractive neighborhood multiuse park that incorporates the disc golf course well
Cons: one ridiculously long hole (#7). Wind can be a problem here sometimes, discs can fly over the baseball fence and require a long walk to retrieve.
Other Thoughts: concrete tees on all holes, nice layout

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.