Brookings, SD 
Larson Park Share
Uploaded By: DustyV Hole #16
3 / 157ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Short, Fun Course

2-4    6/14/2013   6/17/2013
Review By: nat16dick
Played: 45  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 3.8 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Use of space and elevation: Although the holes were all of similar length, the variety of trees and elevation changes made each hole a unique challenge
-Baskets: The baskets were in good shape, and seemed to be kept up well
-Teepads: New, large cement teepads provide and excellent surface to tee off of
-Signs: Informative and colorful. Hard to get lost if you are paying attention to the signs
-Maintenance: The grass and trees were all kept up well
-Accessibility: A short drive from the highway, and plenty of parking near the first tee
-Shot variety: Plenty of left-right holes each
Cons: -Some holes are close together, which would become a problem if many golfers were out at the same time
-Written Pars: While I would never complain about forgiving pars, these were ludicrous. Par was way too high, and I found myself playing down to the difficulty of the par
-Walking paths run through the course, and pedestrians are always a hazard to watch out for
Other Thoughts: This course is a ton of fun, and one that is easy to score well on. It is not the most challenging course, but a beginner would enjoy the distance (or lack thereof), and the advanced player can work their short game. A great play if you're in the area!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 BirdieFest

1    9/18/2011   9/19/2011
Review By: deadbody
Played: 95  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice cement tees, nice baskets. Good use of trees to obscure what would otherwise be very simple ace runs at a lot of holes. Good use of elevation. Pretty easy to follow layout, good signs on some of the holes.
Cons: Short, really short, like the longest hole is under 400' and wide open short. One hole plays really close to the playground, like if there were kids playing I think you have to skip it.
Other Thoughts: Really short course, lots of putter drives and mid range drives even for someone with a noodle arm like myself. Really interesting use of tucking pins in behind trees to add some difficulty to it. Pretty fun course overall. Good use of the hill on the back 9.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My First Course

5+    5/12/2011   9/12/2011
Review By: sheepweevil
Played: 26  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 6.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice fairly easy course with good use of elevation. Baskets are nice and tee pads are concrete. Each hole has a nice map showing trees and hole locations.

The whole park is nicely mowed, and it is easy to find discs - I only remember losing one disc here over multiple years.

The front 9 is mostly wooded, fairly technical shots, and the back 9 is open, longer shots which make great use of the elevation changes. There is a good mix of short and long holes, although nothing above 400 feet.

Overall, it's a nice free public course with a laid back atmosphere. Much better than the SDSU course.
Cons: There's a gross bog by holes 12-14 which is always covered in green scum, and a pool of water forms by hole 1, especially after the spring thaw.

There are a few very short holes (4 and 7) which are very easy birdies.

There are very few benches, and only about every other hole has a trash can.

There is no signature hole, and a lot of them blend together.
Other Thoughts: I usually hammer throw on hole 2 to avoid trying to get through the 10 foot gap between two evergreens.

A lot of the baskets are taken out in the winter due to the hill being used for sledding.

Even playing everything a par 3, there are numerous birdie opportunities, and intermediate players should be able to throw most rounds under par.

There's a drinking fountain and bathrooms by hole 4.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My first course

2-4    8/10/2009   10/6/2009
Review By: jrawk
Played: 81  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great first-timer's course. Front 9 short but use trees to add a challenge. Very popular to the younger locals. Had a good, competitive vibe throughout the park.
Cons: Most of the front 9 seemed awfully short even for a beginner. The back 9 with elevation changes and extra distance are much better. Very congested. Seemed to have many regulars camping on hole 18.

Beware the gopher holes! You will twist an ankle if not careful. Mosquitoes were terrible. Wear spray. Counted 21 bites on arms and legs the day after.
Other Thoughts: My first time playing Disc Golf was on this course. Had a business trip to the area and colleague brought his discs with him and dragged my along. I was hooked after 3rd hole. Played 2 more rounds later in the week. Found local wally world selling Innova DX discs CHEAP (less than $6).

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/19/2009   9/27/2009
Review By: justindfpr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 10/1/2009
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wasn't expecting it to be that great. Decent course. Some of the shots are really fun. Theres only one hole I could complain about but this is the pros section. Very well maintained. Didn't seem to interfere with the rest of the park goers.
Cons: Hole 6 I think it was. 110 feet or something like that. Thats the only hole I could complain about. Not even that big of a deal. I just thought course was downhill from then on but I was proven wrong. Some of the tee pads get pretty slick when they get wet. Thats all I can think of.
Other Thoughts: Its so much easier to play par 54 everywhere you play. For the most part the ridiculous pars are for rec throwers and to make it easier to keep track of scores. Sometimes it is fun to play -30 though. haha Not a 5 out of 5 rating though.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    8/9/2009   8/14/2009
Review By: vanguard
Played: 14  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Diversity of holes
-Elevation changes
-Scenery
-Easy to navigate.
Cons: -Can be crowded on nice days, although most people have no problem letting you play through or merge groups.
-The signage is wrong on some holes.
-There is a sesspool near holes 12 and 13 (very minimal chance of disc loss) that detracts greatly from the natural beauty of the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: Mostly a younger (18-25 year old)demographic that plays this course.

Larson Park can be a real challenge if winds are moderate or higher.

Our group always plays each hole par 3, rather than the course par.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    8/1/2009   8/5/2009
Review By: SDdiscgolfer
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Everything is great there
- there is a link so you can have a score card http://www.cityofbrookings.or...scorecard.pdf
Cons: - Hard to say anything bad about the course
Other Thoughts: - But if you think the pars are to easy just play all par 3's

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/16/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: corynace
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: awesomely designed course, hills make it very fun and the wind coming off the hill makes it a blast when you first start it doesnt seem like much until u get to the back 9
Cons: watching out for people on the bike path
Other Thoughts: great course a must play course for anyone looking for a good challenge

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Easy pars, otherwise great

5+    11/7/2008   11/25/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 333  Reviewed: 331  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/5/2014
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great diversity of holes. Woods on some, some completely open. Some short, some long.
-One of the best courses i've seen as far as elevation changes. 9-18 all play up and down the hill in some form.
-Detailed signs with all the info you need on every hole.
-Cement tees on every hole.
-Nice chains.
-Little chance to lose discs.
-Bathrooms/drinking fountain after hole 3
-Lots of parking, safe park
-Great for beginners or young players.
Cons: -Pars are way too easy. I've shot -21 on this course.
-Not a ton of hole length variety. There are some longer shots but nothing that I can't reach in one shot.
-Not too challenging overall
Other Thoughts: -Most pins located on or near the hill are pulled in November because the hill is largely used for sledding in the winter.
-This course has a really high fun factor and makes me want to come back and play again. It is great for all levels of play.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center