Horn Lake, MS 
Latimer Lakes Share
Uploaded By: indianawolf Hole #3 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 345ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Thanks to the "A" team

1    1/15/2012   1/18/2012
Review By: dolphie
Played: 78  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 14.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice little course, with a good mix of short, long, wooded, open holes. Visiting here on business in January so any course is nice to play, considering the weather I left at home.
Cons: Had it not been for three locals allowing me to throw along with them, this course would be a bit difficult to navigate. Tee markers are missing on most holes, no distances posted etc. This is only a minor con, as the course does seem to get alot of play, so generally a group or individual to assist.
Other Thoughts: Special thanks to the "A" team for guiding me around. Adam, A.J., and Ashley. I appreciate you all.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 indianawolf

1    7/11/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: indianawolf
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 18.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of different ranges for throwing. It is very easy course to navigate around not a lot of weird angles.their is a lot of good shade trees on hot days and some holes that are not their is a few water hazards on hole 3,18 & 19 that add some challenge
to the course that was fun
Cons: the only cons that i have is that some of the signs for the holes were not correct and some were not their so it was hard to find the pin but not that big of a deal and their was a lot of different tee sizes but for the most part it was nice to have them
Other Thoughts: they could add another 7 holes and make it a champion style course they have plenty of room to do it but all and all it is was well played course and also for the straight thrower hole 12 is a ace in waiting i almost did

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 good beginner course

1    2/27/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good Beginner course.

Good use of land given.

Tee pads for every hole.

Good baskets.

Several holes are though the woods.

Several memorable great holes.
Cons: Short for pro, but challenging for a rec player.

I got lost twice due to no "next tee" signs on either the tee signs or marked on the baskets.
Other Thoughts: As far as the type of courses I enjoy playing, this is it. I am over 40 and long courses wear me out. This is a short technical course.

There were several holes that were really pretty good. Even though all were par 3 holes, they had well defined fairways that rewarded good shots and punished bad shots.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Where next?

1    11/19/2010   12/20/2010
Review By: allenbosox
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.3 Years
Pros: They did well to lay out this many holes in the space available. Good variety of shots - distance, technical, wooded, etc...There are signs for each hole and the marked lengths seem to be pretty accurate.
Well maintained park. Very little traffic when I went, but it was about 10 am on a Friday.
Cons: The signs show the hole layout, but do not indicate the location of the next hole. This is really important here because it can be difficult to find your way from one hole to the next, especially from hole 7 on. I actually never found one hole that is marked on this site! The tee pads are too short, 6 feet or less.
Other Thoughts: There is another course about 5 miles away in Southaven - consider a morning/afternoon double at the two. Normally I would only subtract half a rating point for difficulty of navigation, but this one was so difficult i deducted a whole point. That means it could just as easily rate a 4, making it quite a nice course. I will definately return.

 Not real sure

1    3/28/2009   5/21/2009
Review By: Dillon_Gourley
Played: 63  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 7.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A lot of different shot variety.

Long open holes, short tight technical shots. Elevation on a few holes. Course has almost every type of hole. I think the longest is some where around 500' and there are only a couple long open holes.

Tee pads on a few holes, some are natrual. I think the local DG club are in the process concreting them.

Water hazard on hole #1 is pretty tough. It's about a 280'+ shot to clear it.

There is only one or two benches on this course.
Cons: Some of the tee pads are super short. Maybe 4' or 6'. Especially on the 500' hole the tee pad is only 4' or so. They are also only maybe 3' wide. The thing I remember that really sticks out is on one hole they used an underground electrical cover for a tee pad.

I do not think there were any signs on this course because I remember teeing off on the water hazzard hole and wanting to know the distance.
Other Thoughts: The course is still kinda new and is undergoing changes by the local club. This has the potential to become a good course and hope it eventually does.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.