Horn Lake, MS 
Latimer Lakes - South Share
Uploaded By: indianawolf Hole #18 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Approach



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 fun

2-4    5/10/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Above all, my favorite thing about this course is that the design is fun. Meaning that they had fun with the course design and made some unique and memorable holes. For example, the last basket is elevated on a nice looking platform built up with concrete landscaping blocks. Hole 9 has two mirror image fairways curving to the basket allowing you to take your pick. I'm not a fan of mandos but on hole 17 there is a field goal mando midway down the fairway that is, once again, super fun. One of the greatest hole varieties I have seen.
Cons: Very crowded park with lots of car traffic and the main road of the park is in play on 3 of the holes. I found myself waiting for cars to pass before teeing off, and I had to wait quite a while.

Not only is the park busy, but the disc golf course is very busy (evidence that it is a fun course).

Some of the underbrush is incredibly thick and can really swallow your discs.
Other Thoughts: Would like to play again. Hopefully I can find a time that is less crowded.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable

1    9/3/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: LMeyers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful views from many holes. Good mix of open and woods.
Cons: Hard to find the next tee box on many occasions, Luckily someone pointed out the way for us.
Other Thoughts: We'd play this course again if in the area. Plus, gotta love that they have a current Green Bay Packer (Brandon Jackson) dedication sign at this park!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice!

1    9/3/2009   9/8/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 63  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course that offers just about everything, as some of the other reviewers have suggested. But, there are a few changes that I guess are new since the last review here.

Hole 1 is the one that has the electrical box cover as a teepad, and there is no water - the water hole is now 3 and you can either annie or flick around a little tree, or go over the water to reach the pin, but it's not a real long water shot.

The distances are mostly written on nearby rocks and such, but i think there were a few signs out there as well. The important part is that each hole is marked. The teepads are in, but some of them are smallish.

Overall, a very fun course with lots of challenges, and even a few holes to really rip a drive out there. Mulit-use park, but the DG is away from everything, but...(see below)
Cons: When we got to 18, there were some people playing soccer in #4's fairway, which is very close to #18's basket. They did not move, even when the group in front of us was up there looking for their discs and asking them to move. I'm not entirely sure that the soccer dudes spoke very good english though. Either way, we had to throw into the crowd. They picked up one of our group's discs and threw it around a bit. this will only be a problem for people that can throw over 400' though, and only when those guys are playing soccer.

Other than that, I had no complaints about this course.
Other Thoughts: Well maintained. I'd recommend it if you're in the Memphis/N Miss. area.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 southaven showdown

1    3/28/2009   5/4/2009
Review By: manglin
Played: 32  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 7.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Decent tee pads. Good baskets. Nice challenge and decent variety. Nice restrooms.
Cons: Flow is quite confusing at times. I don't remember any benches or trash cans. Water in play on two or more holes.
Other Thoughts: This course has all the qualities of a good course. Some of the tee pads could have been bigger, but they were good. The course is set in a city park with lots of woods in play. There are enough open holes to offer a good variety. The flow of the course is hard to follow on the back nine.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  : )

5+    11/11/2008   4/11/2009
Review By: discsucker
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained course, love playin this one after the congestion of the home course @ craighead across the river. My 2nd most frequently played, wish hometown was as well maintained.
Cons: Lost my T-bird in the drink. :(
Other Thoughts: Nice walk. Gotsta watch out for peddies!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My alternate home course

5+    8/21/2008   9/4/2008
Review By: mcdavis17
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/5/2009
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overall, course is well-designed. Most holes are clearly marked with signs and flow well from basket to next tee. They are also putting in some alternate basket locations on some holes that offer some unique plays. A LOT of risk-reward opportunities on this course.
Cons: Disc-eating thickets, brambles, poison ivy, especially on # 5 - # 9 and # 11 - # 17. You will also likely hit some trees on those holes, so be ready (routes are there if you look, though). Some holes are not clearly marked as to progression to next hole (but I think that is being addressed in course improvements)
Other Thoughts: Have had a buddy ace # 11, which you will appreciate once you see it! Mando on # 13, but it's not too difficult to make it. UPDATE: # 2 and # 3 used to be across the road from the rest of the course. They are not any more. The "old" # 1 is now # 3; the "new" # 1 plays away from the water, then # 2 plays back towards the ponds through some trees with a cleared out lane, then # 3 plays across the water, at which point you head to # 4.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.