Horn Lake, MS 
Latimer Lakes - South Share
Uploaded By: indianawolf Hole #4 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 346ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 What a great find

2-4    12/27/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very technical with a great mix of holes. Great use of land and creative with the water.
Mach 5 baskets were in great condition.
it's a 20 hole course
Cons: Not well marked out.
they could have easliy put an arrow on the signs pointing to the next tee.
not enough throwers holes
Had a lot of "tweener" distances. (should i throw a heavy putter or a light mid)
Some holes had no line to hit-it was just a toss and pray for the best.
Other Thoughts: I will be playing it again. it's worth the drive and had nice locals.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/4/2010   10/4/2010
Review By: mattdabbs
Played: 65  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 11.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is the best course I have played in North Mississippi. That has already been covered here but the main thing is the variety of shots and balance of power vs control. There is enough length to challenge you where you can let it rip here and there and some holes that if you don't throw it perfect you are going to end up in a bad way. That makes for great disc golf.

Really nice use of OB on the front 9 that really makes you be careful. There are a couple of birdie gimmies and ace runs and then there are a couple that are nearly impossible to birdie.

This is a well used course with lots of friendly locals.
Cons: It is not easy to come up with many cons. These aren't really cons as they are more like a course wish list. I wish water had come into play a little more. Bag holders would have been nice. There is a walking track that comes into play that sometimes you have to wait on people but that only happened once. You do have to throw around the street and that could cause problems on two holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course. I will play this if I return to the area. Plenty of variety, great people, fun shots, and great risk-reward benefits. Come play this course if you are in the area and you won't regret it.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    7/2/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: Whitechickenman
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great varity of holes through the whole course. They have 20 holes. Even though course is so good already they are always making improvments. Well manicured grass, Nice tee boxes, With a great varity of people walking the paved path. Lots of people play here. So Wake up early and hit the course with your A game. Love this course play it at least 4 to 5 times a week.
Cons: None really but lets be picky. They just put up new hole maps on each hole. They look really nice however they are getting broken and theh trim is coming off... I think the big rocks with chalk lines were better. long term its to bad other people cant respect and value all the work that has made this course great. Could use bag holders on each hole. There I though of something bad.
Other Thoughts: Challenging yet fun enough to learn on. I love the mondo hole get close to aceing it every time.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My new favorite course!!

1    6/29/2010   6/30/2010
Review By: Falcon247
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I've played several of the courses in N Mississippi and I must say that this course is by far the best one yet. It's like all the other courses wrapped into one. You like the city park courses?? It's here. Wooded areas with technical shots like at Wall Doxey?? They're here. Few baskets close to the water?? Yep, they've got 'em!! I absolutely love the variety of the holes on this course!!
Cons: Don't really have too many negatives about this course. If I wanted to nit-pick, I'd have to say that there is not enough benches and there needs to be a better job of marking where the next tee pads are located.
Other Thoughts: If you are in the Memphis or N Mississippi area, you MUST play this course. It does get a little crowded with people walking the walking track so you must watch out for those guys. Other than that, check it out!!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This is my main home course.

5+    9/13/2008   9/17/2008
Review By: Thtcat
Played: 34  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
Pros: I like that there is a mix of distance and technical. I enjoy the variability of the course with the alternate hole locations. The course is often a bit different when I go to play it. There is a beautiful old oak straddled by the 5th and 18th holes. It is an inspiring sight each time I take note of it.
Cons: There is a great deal of semi-wilderness on the course including poison ivy and small and large thorny growth. The wind can make some of the holes deceptively hard if one is unprepared, and prdictably hard if they are prepared. The park is a busy one in nice weather, and must be shared with many other types of users, but that can be enjoyed if one is a people watcher.
Other Thoughts: The last reviewer mentions the 10th. It is a long hole that plays longer as the fairway is in a bowl and the basket must be played uphill. The wind is often a factor on this hole as well - generally blowing right to left, but not until about 75-100 ft off the tee box. The parking lot on the left does fill up at times when little leaguers are playing, but should be avoided at all times as it is out-of-bounds by course rules. The second and third holes mentioned in an earlier review have been eliminated due to having been in a multi-use field. Two new holes have been added in their place at the front of the course, making the water hazard a factor on hole #3 now.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.