Horn Lake, MS
Latimer Lakes Share
Uploaded By: indianawolf Hole #20 (Taken 7/2011)
3 / 377ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #20 Approach



Reviews: 21
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
fun

2-4    5/10/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: Memphis Newbie
Played: 33  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 2.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Above all, my favorite thing about this course is that the design is fun. Meaning that they had fun with the course design and made some unique and memorable holes. For example, the last basket is elevated on a nice looking platform built up with concrete landscaping blocks. Hole 9 has two mirror image fairways curving to the basket allowing you to take your pick. I'm not a fan of mandos but on hole 17 there is a field goal mando midway down the fairway that is, once again, super fun. One of the greatest hole varieties I have seen.
Cons: Very crowded park with lots of car traffic and the main road of the park is in play on 3 of the holes. I found myself waiting for cars to pass before teeing off, and I had to wait quite a while.

Not only is the park busy, but the disc golf course is very busy (evidence that it is a fun course).

Some of the underbrush is incredibly thick and can really swallow your discs.
Other Thoughts: Would like to play again. Hopefully I can find a time that is less crowded.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Fun course.

2-4    4/24/2012   5/4/2012
Review By: jdogg884him
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Course offers mostly shorter shots. More than half are wooded technical shots. Couse flows really well making it a quick play. Well manacured at a city park so it stays that way.
Cons: There is a small pond that can come into play on 3 holes and it is not a pond you want to go retrieve from. All 3 times we have played there (all on weekdays in the middle of the day) it has been pretty crowded with groups of 5 or more playing together so we had to wait for them to let us play through.
Other Thoughts: If you are a long bomber there are only a few open shots for you to air it out. Pros probably won't find this course too fun but for us average guys its semi challenging and fun.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


1    3/19/2012   5/2/2012
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 228  Reviewed: 224  Exp: 17.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Latimer is a well-broken-in 20 hole course best suited for beginner to intermediate level players, casual players, and those looking for a quick and leisurely round . The course features mostly shorter technical woods holes, but does incorporate a few open holes with lush grassy fairways, and a pond that comes in play on a couple of holes. The course is mostly flat, but has a little elevation in play on a few holes.

There are concrete tees and 20 good baskets. The large color map by hole 1 was nice and informative. Huge parking area and decent restrooms are a bonus. Everyone playing was friendly or just kept to themselves. This park is in a pretty nice part of town and there are lots of places to eat and shop at nearby. The course is not too far off the Interstate and near Memphis and close to two other good 18-hole courses.
Cons: Crowded- small space, lots of people. Due to its popularity this course seems to often be full as it was for me even mid-day during the week. The holes in the woods at times feel cramped being so close together.

Navigation is not horrible as the paths are well-worn and there is a map by hole 1, but the holes are so close together that there are other paths that have been worn (by people skipping around?) that led me in the wrong direction a couple of times, though it was only a short walk back in the other direction to find the right tee. And there were a couple of times when I would finish a hole and look up to see multiple tees in all directions and not be sure of which way to go, again a byproduct of the close proximity of all these holes. (tip- after hole 6, walk down the path, and 7 is kind of hidden in the woods playing along the fence.) Hole 20 finishes in the middle of the course in an area used by other holes so be careful on the trek back to the car.

I appreciate trying to get a mix of short/long and open/wooded, but honestly many of the open holes here are pretty boring- good for people trying to learn to throw their new driver I guess.

I think I remember the tees being rather short, and some of them were almost square shaped. The road is also in play on hole 3 as the fear of the pond will push discs towards the road.
Other Thoughts: This course is very popular with the locals and does get a lot of play. I was amazed at the number of people that came by on a weekday to squeeze in a round or even just to get a few holes in during their lunch breaks.

I can see the reasons for the public appeal of Latimer as it is shorter and easier and a fun and challenging course for the bulk of non-professional disc golfers. This area as a whole exceeded my expectations with 3 solid courses in a small radius, and though Latimer was my least favorite of the 3 NW MS courses, a lot of people like it the best.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Thanks to the "A" team

1    1/15/2012   1/18/2012
Review By: dolphie
Played: 75  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 14 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice little course, with a good mix of short, long, wooded, open holes. Visiting here on business in January so any course is nice to play, considering the weather I left at home.
Cons: Had it not been for three locals allowing me to throw along with them, this course would be a bit difficult to navigate. Tee markers are missing on most holes, no distances posted etc. This is only a minor con, as the course does seem to get alot of play, so generally a group or individual to assist.
Other Thoughts: Special thanks to the "A" team for guiding me around. Adam, A.J., and Ashley. I appreciate you all.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable

1    9/3/2011   9/6/2011
Review By: LMeyers
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful views from many holes. Good mix of open and woods.
Cons: Hard to find the next tee box on many occasions, Luckily someone pointed out the way for us.
Other Thoughts: We'd play this course again if in the area. Plus, gotta love that they have a current Green Bay Packer (Brandon Jackson) dedication sign at this park!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 indianawolf

1    7/11/2011   7/11/2011
Review By: indianawolf
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 17.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A lot of different ranges for throwing. It is very easy course to navigate around not a lot of weird angles.their is a lot of good shade trees on hot days and some holes that are not their is a few water hazards on hole 3,18 & 19 that add some challenge
to the course that was fun
Cons: the only cons that i have is that some of the signs for the holes were not correct and some were not their so it was hard to find the pin but not that big of a deal and their was a lot of different tee sizes but for the most part it was nice to have them
Other Thoughts: they could add another 7 holes and make it a champion style course they have plenty of room to do it but all and all it is was well played course and also for the straight thrower hole 12 is a ace in waiting i almost did

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 good beginner course

1    2/27/2011   3/6/2011
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 198  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 26.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good Beginner course.

Good use of land given.

Tee pads for every hole.

Good baskets.

Several holes are though the woods.

Several memorable great holes.
Cons: Short for pro, but challenging for a rec player.

I got lost twice due to no "next tee" signs on either the tee signs or marked on the baskets.
Other Thoughts: As far as the type of courses I enjoy playing, this is it. I am over 40 and long courses wear me out. This is a short technical course.

There were several holes that were really pretty good. Even though all were par 3 holes, they had well defined fairways that rewarded good shots and punished bad shots.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A little rough

1    12/22/2010   2/15/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.2 Years
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small wooded piece of a park with a few open holes and a couple that bring a pond into play. One of the water holes is a really nice risk/reward shot with a safe anny line or a more direct hyzer line out over the water. There are some nice technical holes in the wooded sections of the park, and some chances to rip some longer drives in the open.

A couple small elevation changes on the property are used well to add some challenge and variety. The wooded holes offer some different lines that mix up the shots you need to throw in order to score well. There are nice baskets in good shape, and small but level tees.
Cons: The course is pretty rough, the wooded holes had lots of downed branches and stumps left in the ground. A few of the wooded holes didn't really have viable lines to the hole, and were really just poke and pray shots. There was lots of trash around the lake and in the woods, and signs of vandalism throughout the park.

Overall, there isn't too much challenge here, the wooded holes are short enough that they're just putter shots, and the longer holes are wide open without any real obstacles in the way. There are some safety concerns here, with a walking path in play on several holes, and a couple other holes that bring roads and parking lots into play.

The navigation is pretty bad here, there are often multiple tees in view after you finish the previous hole, and it's not always the most obvious one. The signage is vandalized and sometimes missing altogether so you don't know where to throw or how long the hole is, nor is there any clue on the couple longer walks between holes.
Other Thoughts: This course has some potential with some cleaning and clearing in the woods. It doesn't have the challenge to be a top level tournament course, but there are some fun holes and some good challenges for intermediate players. Beginners might be a little frustrated by the tight shots in the woods, but otherwise it's not too out of line for newer players. More experienced throwers won't find many different parts of their game challenged.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 What a great find

2-4    12/27/2010   12/27/2010
Review By: sdervan
Played: 41  Reviewed: 41  Exp: 4.8 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical with a great mix of holes. Great use of land and creative with the water.
Mach 5 baskets were in great condition.
it's a 20 hole course
Cons: Not well marked out.
they could have easliy put an arrow on the signs pointing to the next tee.
not enough throwers holes
Had a lot of "tweener" distances. (should i throw a heavy putter or a light mid)
Some holes had no line to hit-it was just a toss and pray for the best.
Other Thoughts: I will be playing it again. it's worth the drive and had nice locals.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Where next?

1    11/19/2010   12/20/2010
Review By: allenbosox
Played: 19  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.9 Years
Pros: They did well to lay out this many holes in the space available. Good variety of shots - distance, technical, wooded, etc...There are signs for each hole and the marked lengths seem to be pretty accurate.
Well maintained park. Very little traffic when I went, but it was about 10 am on a Friday.
Cons: The signs show the hole layout, but do not indicate the location of the next hole. This is really important here because it can be difficult to find your way from one hole to the next, especially from hole 7 on. I actually never found one hole that is marked on this site! The tee pads are too short, 6 feet or less.
Other Thoughts: There is another course about 5 miles away in Southaven - consider a morning/afternoon double at the two. Normally I would only subtract half a rating point for difficulty of navigation, but this one was so difficult i deducted a whole point. That means it could just as easily rate a 4, making it quite a nice course. I will definately return.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.