West Monroe, LA 
Lazarre DGC Share
Uploaded By: WSP420 Hole #6 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 216ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Guide recommended...

1    7/5/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee signs on most holes
-Plenty of trash cans and benches
-Well played course with regular local tourneys
-Course loops back nicely with Hole #21 right behind the Hole #1 tee pad.
-2 courses 1 park (Lazarre High Water)
-Super-friendly locals!!
Cons: -Older baskets with rusty chains due to flooding
-Course can and does flood
-No restrooms
-The tee signs on holes #17-20 are incorrectly numbered
-Navigation can be a little tricky and because of signage #14 & #15 can be missed completely
Other Thoughts: Lazarre DGC is a solid, frequently played and well kept course. I was fortunate to have met a local player who knew the course well and offered to show me around. The flow of the course is fine, IF you know your way around... if not, it could get confusing. Holes #14, #15 & #21 were added to the`original 18 holes and do not have tee signs (#5 & #12 tee signs are missing as well) and #17 - #20 have the original hole numbers on the tee signs(#15 - #18). This makes #15 & #16 easy to miss.
Holing out #12 is a nightmare. The basket is on a mound and a missed putt will likely roll out of putting range.
All in all this is a great course that could easily be a 4 if all the signage was correct and intact.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice course to visit

1    7/16/2012   9/17/2012
Review By: Mung
Played: 18  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice open course; good mix of short and long distances; a few wooded holes and some where you can let it fly.
Cons: Incomplete signage; not super easy to figure out what basket you are throwing to, or even where the basket is; several spots where out of bounds areas play havoc on your fade.
Other Thoughts: I played this course after completing some work in Monroe. It was easy to find, but after stumbling around on the second hole, I hooked up with a local guy who could show me where all the baskets are. He explained everything well, and played pretty well too. There are a couple of spots where you could easily lose a disc, but that is part of the challenge. I will definitely play it again.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Better of the two

5+    7/1/2009   2/19/2010
Review By: NDABRUSH
Played: 55  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/16/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Shot variety is one of its strong points. Throwing next to the water and when 5 is in the long position(716) over a little water, but you can lose a disc as I found out the 1st time that I played it. Long and medium holes along with a couple of ace runs.(maybe more for pros) The holes that have concrete pads allow for a good run up if that's your style. Hole 11 is a picturesque hole IMO that has you launching next to a pond. My favorite holes are the wooded ones tucked in the back right corner(13-17). Where these holes start is a covered area and a place to sit, relax and listen to and watch the river. Hole 7 if it has been raining hard for a few days or so becomes a cool water shot of about 270 to clear. It isn't deep so you would just have to get your feet wet. Wind off the river every now and then can add an extra challenge. This is overall a lightly wooded course but the 5 wooded holes really make this course a solid well rounded course that offers a scenic disc golf only round. Enjoy.
Cons: Old and sometimes inaccurate T signs. Some of the hole numbers are wrong in the wooded part of the course but it flows well and you can see the pins pretty easily. At least 1 hole with no T sign, hole 21. Just look for the pad and throw back to the practice basket. If it was busy there might be overlapping or dangerously close fairways on a couple of holes, but not on most.
Other Thoughts: This along with the 18 holer offers a wide shot variety and should be played at least once if you are in the area. They make for a fun day down by the river.LOL

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, just lacking the details...

1    5/2/2009   5/2/2009
Review By: littleshoe
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the best courses I have had the privilege to play. The holes offer a great variety of shot possibilities along with good mixes of wooded/clear, water/dry, and length.

Very polite local club, was invited to participate in their minis even though they had no idea who I was. Was also helped around the course when I got lost a few times.

There were ample concrete pads although a few holes didn't have them. Lots of seating available as well.
Cons: Very difficult to navigate. If other golfers had not been there I would have played the wrong holes many times. Obviously after you've played it once you'll be able to find your way around but the signs really need to be addressed.

There's also not alot of risk/reward type holes. I want to feel like I'm given a few options and choices when I play and this course was pretty lacking in that area. There was generally one option for almost every hole. No bathrooms available on the course, but there were a few near the park entrance around the high-water course.

Prepare to be very confused once you get around hole 15. Suddenly there are no more signs for two holes then the signs are back, but the pins and signs have different numbers. I was totally lost. Follow the numbers on the pins!! Not the signs!! The 21st hole is unmarked, and very easy to miss. The pin is next to where hole #1 starts, and the pad is near hole 20, you shoot across the street. Just look for it.
Other Thoughts: This really was a great course with some gorgeous holes and is definitely worth testing it out if you are in the area. Minis are hosted on Saturday at 8 and 10 am if you are looking for a good time with some friendly competition.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 2 for 1

5+    1/2/2009   1/2/2009
Review By: Razorback Ramsey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 21 holes plus the 18 hole of the High Water Course!
Thise course offers plenty of diversity: long stretching open holes to tight wooded plays.
Well manicured park with nice walks by the Ouachita River.
Cons: If it has rained, some holes are unplayable, thus the "High Water Course" option in the same park.
Some holes do not have hole description signs any longer, leaving you to guess at the distance and par.
Other Thoughts: Fun course.
Playing this course and the High Water is a worthy day at Lazzare park.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good place to play

5+    5/18/2008   8/29/2008
Review By: johnt1969
Played: 166  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 31.2 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played the Lazarre disc golf courses while I was working in the area and they're pretty good courses. There is a combination of open and wooded holes with some water that can come in to play on bad shots. There are a few very long holes here so you can definitely work on developing your distance. There are also some nice tight holes in the woods.

The course has a slight bit of elevation change but not too much. There are nice poured concrete tee pads, decent tee signs and good baskets. It is also pretty easy to navigate this course without a map. There was just a couple places that will possibly have you looking for a minute or so.

The course is in a multi use park but we never had any trouble with people in our way at any point.
Cons: There's really not too many bad things to say about the course here. It's a good place to play and I'll definitely come back when I'm working in the area.

I don't consider it too much of a con but this isn't the most beginner friendly course if they play from the concrete tee pads. The course plays long and there is a chance of lost discs in the water on a few holes. If I was with a beginner I would play a shorter "safari" version of the course. With that in mind, it would be nice to have multiple tee pads on this course. There's enough room for multiple pin positions here as well. I don't remember if the baskets are sleeved though.

For people traveling to this course. We never felt like it was unsafe but we were told by some locals that this park is not in a good area. With that in mind we never left our bags to go scout a hole. I don't know if it's really not a safe place. Hopefully some local disc golfers will come on here and clear that up.

My only other beef is a general one with courses that are a goofy number of holes. Golf courses are not 6 holes or 13 holes or 21 holes. They're 9 or 18 holes. Putting in extra holes for the heck of it always seems silly to me.
Other Thoughts: A comment regarding my evaluation of courses. I am not trying to insult or hurt any ones feelings when I review a course. These are just my opinions and they should be taken with a grain of salt. Play the course, make your own decisions, and then post them here for everyone to see.

My reviews are based on what I feel are important characteristics of a good course. Disc golf has become a large enough sport that I feel we should strive for better than we have now. Just putting 18 holes in a park isn't enough. 18 pole holes does not make a good disc golf course. It requires tee's, signs, maps, solid course design and constant maintenance. Any less than that and we will never advance the sport to a reputable level.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.