West Monroe, LA 
Lazarre DGC Share
Uploaded By: WSP420 Hole #11 (Taken 7/2013)
4 / 305ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Tee Sign



Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Lazarre

1    7/19/2014   7/23/2014
Review By: championlog22
Played: 19  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 7/25/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Brand new signs that show both pin locations and distances. (See the hole 2 tee sign I added. All 21 signs are of this design).
Concrete tees on all the holes except maybe 2 or 3 that are in the really thick terrain wooded area by the river.
Navigation is easy enough. Only 1 tee took a short walk to find.
Tee signs included OB and landmarks to show which direction to throw.
2 pin locations for each hole. Locals said they change them every 3 months or so.
Mowed regularly.
Wide range of holes. Open, open with trees in the way, open to wooded, open to heavily wooded, and then a few with trees everywhere.
Benches on basically every hole! Also some bag holders. Great if you're playing with a group.
Cons: The baskets were rusted but that is due to the river flooding. I'm not sure how often it happens, but they still caught fine. Some of the chains were broken because of the rust.
After a rain I'm sure several holes would be covered in water, but you can't really get around that in this city.
Other Thoughts: This course seems to be kept better than the High Water course. I have played both and enjoy both of them, however. The new tee signs are a great addition.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

5+    4/30/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: Sandman01
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 5/30/2011
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am a little biased as this is my home course but will keep it "real". 2 courses in one park awesome day of disc golf. If you are visiting then you must stop to play. No where else can you have a full day of fun.

Tee signs and cement pads on most holes with exception of 4 wooded holes.

I want to disagree with poster who said area is in a bad area and not to leave bag. Since we put course in area has pretty much cleaned up in day hours so no worries.

Lot of long holes as well as technical wooded shots.

We have alternate pin placements for all but two baskets so different look monthly.

A great course to start playing and most local players are willing to help you out.

Cons: Due to the fact course can flood chains are rusted but baskets are in good condition. Hard to find tee boxes in the woods 14 - 16 (no tee signs but tee pads marked) but once you get a round in you have no problem navigating course.. If you are traveling might be good to get weather conditions as holes 7 - 10 can hold water but playable. Bring bug spray for the wooded holes in the summer months. We do have a few hoses for water replinishment but a good idea to bring more.
Other Thoughts: I really believe we have a hidden gem here in North East Louisiana and should not be over looked. Park is well maintained so usually no issue with high grass.

A special note: When I say flood I mean epic "Noah" floods where course is under water. So this limits us to adding more ammenities to boost rating. 90% of the time if original flooded out our Highwater course is playable and will challenge most players. Normally Highwater course does not flood but did in 2009 twice so park was closed with exception of those folks in boats. I still believe both courses are truly worth a visit and you will not be disappointed unless you have a poor throw on 5 and land in the Ouachita river.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

2-4    7/26/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course (just like Highwater) will test your hyzer and anhyzer skills right out the gate! With multiple pin placements for most all of the holes they will always have you guessing on what to throw! I love that in a course! Just one simple pin moved and you have a whole new hole. The course has plenty of shade on half of it and burning up on the other half! Which I always find great for loosing weight (if you know what I mean). The baskets were all in "good" condiditon so you will not have a problem there! 18+ holes which is amazing! I think it was hole 5 that had a 700+ foot pin placement with water all the way to the pin on the left side, trees in the middle with another water trap about 3/4 down, oh yeah and road OB far to the right! This was an awesome hole that really messed up some scores on my card! There were a decent number of benches out there. At least there were enough to rest your legs when you get tired. The courses fairways looked to be kept in great shape.
Cons: Only major problem with the course is navigation. The back 15-18 or so are all tucked up in the woods that if you didn't know they were back there you would walk right on by them. (they are all really fun tight wooded holes) the box for number 18 (i think) had the number plate for number 16 on it which is why i feel you could walk right on by the holes and never know they were there. I guess it could also use a few more trash cans!
Other Thoughts: With Highwater so close to the area you have no reason not to come and play the course. It's really fun and I would hate to see someone miss out on playing such an awesome course! STOP BY AND SLING A FEW! Plus all the locals are very friendly and will show you around the course if you ask!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course!

1    11/18/2008   12/10/2008
Review By: ambroze
Played: 130  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: What a sweet course this is. I had a chance to play this course while in LA and it's a good one. I would highly recommend this course to anyone.
Cons: Did not take full advantage of the lake that runs along the course. There should have been more water shots. Other than that, that's all.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course

1/18/2008   1/21/2008
Review By: Glen Smith
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.6 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging,and it also has a highwater course(It is on the Ouachita River)Which is even more challenging.There is lots of room for the two courses so the holes are pretty much in a row,making them easier to locate for a new commer.The local players are very friendly as well as helpful to any one unfamiliar to the course.
Cons: It has one hole which I think is a little excesive in distance. A couple of places you should be sure to have a floater unless you are a lot more skilled than myself.
Other Thoughts: The overall atmosphere and course conditions are great. We always enjoy seeing new players as well as players from other areas playing the course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Lazarre Review

1/17/2008   1/18/2008
Review By: sketch72
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of challenges to both test your abilities, as well as improve them. Concrete sitting areas for rest in between drives, and scenic view of the Ouachita River.
Cons: For me, not yet having the distance I need, Hole 5 is nearly impossible to make par on due to its immense distance. There are a couple of tees that are missing signs.
Other Thoughts: On some of the holes, 17 for instance, the less experienced player may want to throw a floater as there is a great possibility of landing in the river.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center