West Monroe, LA 
Lazarre DGC - High Water Share
Uploaded By: Sandman01 Hole #3 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 302ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Approach



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Challenging and a challenge to navigate

1    10/16/2014   10/16/2014
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This can be a challenging course to play with some holes with very tight fairways. There is also a good mix of open holes with OB that adds challenge with a bit of gimmicry in one instance. This course rewards the ability of a right hand player to throw forehand shots on about a third of the holes. The areas along the river add elevation as well as water OB to the mix. Elevation changes very near the basket adds challenge to holes 2, 5, 9, 11 and 20. Two new tunnel holes have been added after hole 15 and there are a few holes that are open enough to allow for some big rips. Holes 19 and 20 come to mind as the more open. Several holes require good placement shots off the tee to set up your approach, especially hole 11.

Speaking of hole 11, this hole begs for a straight or right turning shot out of the woods, into the open to set up a shot into a tunnel back into the woods. However, the basket is across a gully and on the edge of a 25' cliff. If you are short or low, even by just a little bit, you will be putting at a very steep angle just to get near the basket which could be 20 feet about your head. It's a very impressive hole given the relative flatness of most of the course.

I had a lot of fun on this course playing it before and during a recent tournament. I'll definitely play it again as soon as I get a chance.
Cons: The most glaring con about his course is the lack of navigational aids. It is dirt easy get lost looking for the next tee and almost guaranteed that you will waste a lot of time looking for the tees for holes 3 (right by the picnic table), 7 (cross the road after 6), 8 (throwing straight at the river), 10 (follow the wood line north and it is tuked into the woods on the right, 11 keep following that woodline), 13 (cross the road and its atop the levee, look for two metal squares near the bend in the levee), 14 (climb the levee again and look for squares), 15 (same as 14, but throw through tunnel low or over trees), 16 (head into the woods on the right, marker on ground), 18 (in open back past the 15 basket, basket in woods on left), and 19 (cross road and its the one you almost mistakenly threw off after 5).

You're just not going to want to play this course unless it has been set up for a tournament, you are playing with a local, or you alread know it.

Gimmicks: There is some gimmicky OB in this course and prime offender number one is the abandoned tennis court on hole 20 (formerly hole 18). There is really no reason for that area to be OB, but it is.

Tortured use of the Levee. Holes 13, 14 and 15 all tee off from atop a levee. The tee are natural, mostely gravel, and have no tee signs. In addition to being almost impossible to find, repetitive use of the levee gets old. The levee also separates the park from some "interesting" neighborhoods. Don't let your disc go right.

There are some holes with no tee boxes. I count this as only minor becuase most of the holes without tee boxes are relatively short (with the exception of 13) requiring no run up.

Confusion. After hole 6, you must pass the hole 20 tee pad and cross the road to find the #7 tee pad. The #7 tee pad is oriented in such a way that can easily make you want to throw at the #9 basket. The #7 basket is actually on the left side of and near the roadway past and to the right of the large trees. Thereafter, the #8 tee box is unmarked and points directly at the river. The #8 basket is usually down near the water on the left, but the alternate position is across the boat ramp to the right . . . I.e., give yourself some extra time to play this course.
Other Thoughts: This course is well worth your time as is the Original Lazarre course in the same park. With some work on signs and tee markers I'd give another full point or more on this rating. Hopefully there will be an updated map added soon.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Could be really good...

1    7/5/2013   7/10/2013
Review By: WSP420
Played: 51  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 12.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee signs on most holes (#9 & #12 is missing)
-Great use of elevation
-Newer (less rusted) baskets than Lazarre Original
-Concrete tee pads (except #12 & tees on levee: #13-#15)
Cons: -No baskets on #7 & #12
-#15 tees from the levee and you have to throw over a TALL tree line (over grown and no clear path to basket). Tee sign is facing the wrong direction and can be confusing
Other Thoughts: I played High Water after playing Lazarre Original and although there are issues with missing signage and 2 missing baskets, I enjoyed this course. High Water is obviously played much less than the original course but is fairly well maintained with a few exceptions.
Even though #7 and #12 baskets are missing, the holes can still be played with minor changes. #7 can be played with #18 basket & #12 has a piece of PVC marking the pin.
This course is a nice 'extra' if you're playing Lazarre Original, but I wouldn't go out of my way just to play High Water.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/16/2011   8/20/2011
Review By: sgb118
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Easy to follow course with good tee pads and signage. Provides a nice challenge compared to the openness of the main course at lazarre. Stays nice and shady, and it requires every type of shot you can think of; blind shots. Mixes open and wooded well and uses elevation well. Plenty of signature holes that you'll remember. Bathroom on site and the park is clean.
Cons: Most baskets were rusted, and a few signs were missing/knocked over. A few tee pads were pretty slick, (not penalizing for natural tees on levy). A few hiccups navigating, but nothing major.
Other Thoughts: The park looks like it is mostly deserted and only sees DGers. We ran out of daylight, so I wasn't able to play the other course on site fully. We got onto this one because we couldn't find the fifth tee on main course. Overall, glad we played this one instead. It was a nice surprise that provided some challenge. It sort of reminded me of The Blair Witch Project course at Camenisch Park in Federal Heights, Colorado. A lot of the heavily wooded shots really make you thread the needle.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Home Course - Lazarre

5+    6/3/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: Sandman01
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Flow of course good.
Bathroom facility
Starts at parking lot and ends at parking lot.
Challenging course with some elevation when on levee and baskets 10 - 11 - 12
Solid baskets (even tho some have rusted chains due to past flooding)
Clean park
Cons: This course is more challenging then the original located in same park so gets less trafic. Flow can be confusing once you get to tee 11. Basket seen on roadside is actually 12. 11 is located too the right on top of a plateau (one of my favorits) Once you finish 12 you go on top of levee to throw 13 - 15.

No cement tee pads or signs on top of levee (ordinance) Tee pads are dirt and wore in so easily locatred on top of levee. Tee signs are located at base of levee.

15 - You must hyzer or anhyzer over the tree line to reach the basket in the field. Trees have grown taller so a bit harder, Make sure to have a spotter for 13 and 15 as easy to lose a disc in woodline. since blind holes.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy the challenge this course brings and is a game breaker when playing in the tournements we host.

I encourage all who vist the Monroe/West Monroe area to visit Lazarre you will not be disappointed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Decent place to play

1    12/22/2010   2/28/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 816  Reviewed: 773  Exp: 12.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park that's mostly flat, but uses a levee to add a little bit of elevation on a few holes, and a couple places where putts have the potential to roll away. This course has a better mix of wooded and open holes than the other course on site, with several holes playing through the woods or bringing them into play, adding a lot more variety and more lines to hit rather than just working on shot placement.

There's a decent mix of hole lengths out here, with some longer holes that let you open up a little bit. A few holes have some nice water hazards, always a plus to me when it adds in a good risk/reward opportunity. There are concrete pads, basic tee signs, and decent baskets on all holes.
Cons: There are some navigation issues, it's a little difficult to find the next tee at several places on the course, and there are some holes where the obvious basket isn't the one you are throwing to. A little better signage would help here. The road comes into play at times, which could be a safety issue. Many baskets showed some wear and rust, though they still caught fine.

Overall, the course makes pretty good use of the park, but with how flat and open most of the land is, it's hard not to have some repetitive feeling holes. The tees were pretty slick even when dry, it seemed like they would be pretty bad when wet (and it seems like this course is wet fairly often).
Other Thoughts: It's always great to have multiple courses in a single park. Of the two, this one is a little better, both in terms of challenge and variety. It's a little tough for most beginners, the original course might be a little more beginner friendly. This course isn't challenging enough to test the top players, but it's got some fun holes and some shots that make you work to hit your line.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun times!

2-4    7/25/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 10.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun course with plenty of shade from the sun! Has some nice bends and blind shots that will test ever skill you have with controlling bends. There is one hole that goes up a steep incline that doesnt allow you to leave it short but if you got to long on the top.... miss the putt coming back.... you will be right back down the hill where you started. I saw someone does this in a tourney and ended up a taking a 6 on the hole. BE CAREFUL OF THAT ONE! haha! There is always numerous options for you to try on the wooded holes. hyzer routes and anhyzer routes. all that is left is the choice.... WHAT DO YOU WANT TO THROW! The baskets were all in great shape so you don't have to worry about a problem there. Teepads were awesome. not slick at all though I bet they could get pretty slick once it rains.
Cons: The biggest problem I could really see (because there isn't much wrong) is maybe a few more trash cans and benches. Sure there is so some but I figured the course could use a little more. I did notice some areas to be weary of on the wooded holes. plenty of chances to get snake bit as the river runs right by there. just don't throw into the bushes and you should be fine!
Other Thoughts: The course is a great and fun course for sure and with having the OG course so close it has an even bigger draw! COME ON OUT AND PLAY! YOU WON'T BE LEAVE MAD YOU CAME!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 2 for 1

5+    1/2/2009   1/2/2009
Review By: Razorback Ramsey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Diversity of Holes:
Good open field holes
Nice selction of wooded holes
Some water
Plenty of doglegs (left and right)
Good variety of long and short range
Cons: Contending with muddy conditions in rainy season.
In the spring and summer, the foliage is tough to play against on some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course and is in the same park with the original course which offers 21 more worth-while holes.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/29/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of holes...they cover all the basics (hyzer, anhyzer, straight, uphill, downhill, long, short) and also force a lot of accuracy to score well. You'll also have to throw all the basic shots at varying angles, speeds, etc to get your birdies. Challenging without being overbearing difficult.

Excellent use of the available land - the design takes advantage of the water, sharp elevation changes, giant levees, tight woods, and sometimes rocky landscape.

Many "signature" type shots that will stick with you for a while...a few river-side holes with nice views, several that bring very sharp/abrupt elevation changes into play, and a few that play from on top of a big levee lined with woods on one side and OB on the other. The one that stuck ou the most to me was hole 10 or 11 (can't recall exactly): an uphill right-dogleg with thick woods on the right, an open field to the left, with the basket set at least 100' back into the woods atop a large rocky plateau. A perfect anhyzer could pierce the gap and land on the side of the plateau, leaving a difficult uphill putt for birdie.

Speaking of OB, there is a lot of to be found on this course....roads, water, fence posts, backyards, tennis courts...you name it. Although OB is plentiful, it's used smarly on most holes...the long open "bomber" holes have some of the toughest OB to even things out.

Concrete tees, decent signs, benches and trash cans on many holes...centrally-located restrooms.

All in all, after playing just 1 tourney round here, I'd be willing to say that Lazarre Highwater is one of my favorites in Louisiana. Lots of fun, several very unique holes, and a good challenge!
Cons: I can't say for certain since I was playing along with locals, but it seems that the layout could be a little confusing in spots. There were a few blind pins that had to be pointed out to me, and you could see more than one basket from a few of the tee areas...if my group hadn't pointed to the correct one, I would have probably thrown to the wrong basket :)

Even though this is supposed to be the drier of the 2 courses, I still found many spots that collected water...a LOT of water on a few holes. Not so much that it would keep me away, but lets just say that I'm very glad my shoes have a Goretex liner.

Hole 10 needed some serious trimming...the "intended" route through the woods was so tight you could barely fit a disc through the "gaps". With just a little work, this could be an awesome hole!

Some of the tees have small pebbles imbedded into them, which got a little slick during the rain. Very minor "Con" in my eyes.
Other Thoughts: West Monroe is about a 3hr drive from where I live, but I'll definitely make that trip again in the future. Between the 2 courses at Lazarre park, you'll use every shot you can think of and have a blast doing it!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 

6/4/2008   6/4/2008
Review By: ChrisULM
Played: 14  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 8.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fairly difficult course with alot of interesting shots and pin placements. There is a good mix of wooded and wide open shots.
Cons: At times the river is high, so there is a chance that you'll lose a disc. Can be a bit confusing to navigate for new players, but its not too bad.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1/15/2008   1/20/2008
Review By: sketch72
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 8.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Very challenging course to play complete with some very real water hazards so bring a floater as well as a couple of baskets to be fired at from the levee.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy playing this course, but if you are a beginner I would recommend the original Lazarre course because although it isn't easy it would be a better one to learn on in my opinion.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.