West Monroe, LA
Lazarre DGC - High Water Share
Uploaded By: Sandman01 Hole #4 (Taken 6/2011)
3 / 220ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee Sign



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Home Course - Lazarre

5+    6/3/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: Sandman01
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Flow of course good.
Bathroom facility
Starts at parking lot and ends at parking lot.
Challenging course with some elevation when on levee and baskets 10 - 11 - 12
Solid baskets (even tho some have rusted chains due to past flooding)
Clean park
Cons: This course is more challenging then the original located in same park so gets less trafic. Flow can be confusing once you get to tee 11. Basket seen on roadside is actually 12. 11 is located too the right on top of a plateau (one of my favorits) Once you finish 12 you go on top of levee to throw 13 - 15.

No cement tee pads or signs on top of levee (ordinance) Tee pads are dirt and wore in so easily locatred on top of levee. Tee signs are located at base of levee.

15 - You must hyzer or anhyzer over the tree line to reach the basket in the field. Trees have grown taller so a bit harder, Make sure to have a spotter for 13 and 15 as easy to lose a disc in woodline. since blind holes.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoy the challenge this course brings and is a game breaker when playing in the tournements we host.

I encourage all who vist the Monroe/West Monroe area to visit Lazarre you will not be disappointed.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun times!

2-4    7/25/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: JesusShoes
Played: 28  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 9.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very fun course with plenty of shade from the sun! Has some nice bends and blind shots that will test ever skill you have with controlling bends. There is one hole that goes up a steep incline that doesnt allow you to leave it short but if you got to long on the top.... miss the putt coming back.... you will be right back down the hill where you started. I saw someone does this in a tourney and ended up a taking a 6 on the hole. BE CAREFUL OF THAT ONE! haha! There is always numerous options for you to try on the wooded holes. hyzer routes and anhyzer routes. all that is left is the choice.... WHAT DO YOU WANT TO THROW! The baskets were all in great shape so you don't have to worry about a problem there. Teepads were awesome. not slick at all though I bet they could get pretty slick once it rains.
Cons: The biggest problem I could really see (because there isn't much wrong) is maybe a few more trash cans and benches. Sure there is so some but I figured the course could use a little more. I did notice some areas to be weary of on the wooded holes. plenty of chances to get snake bit as the river runs right by there. just don't throw into the bushes and you should be fine!
Other Thoughts: The course is a great and fun course for sure and with having the OG course so close it has an even bigger draw! COME ON OUT AND PLAY! YOU WON'T BE LEAVE MAD YOU CAME!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 2 for 1

5+    1/2/2009   1/2/2009
Review By: Razorback Ramsey
Played: 15  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.7 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Diversity of Holes:
Good open field holes
Nice selction of wooded holes
Some water
Plenty of doglegs (left and right)
Good variety of long and short range
Cons: Contending with muddy conditions in rainy season.
In the spring and summer, the foliage is tough to play against on some of the holes.
Other Thoughts: Great course and is in the same park with the original course which offers 21 more worth-while holes.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/29/2008   12/1/2008
Review By: RustyP
Played: 52  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 10 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent mix of holes...they cover all the basics (hyzer, anhyzer, straight, uphill, downhill, long, short) and also force a lot of accuracy to score well. You'll also have to throw all the basic shots at varying angles, speeds, etc to get your birdies. Challenging without being overbearing difficult.

Excellent use of the available land - the design takes advantage of the water, sharp elevation changes, giant levees, tight woods, and sometimes rocky landscape.

Many "signature" type shots that will stick with you for a while...a few river-side holes with nice views, several that bring very sharp/abrupt elevation changes into play, and a few that play from on top of a big levee lined with woods on one side and OB on the other. The one that stuck ou the most to me was hole 10 or 11 (can't recall exactly): an uphill right-dogleg with thick woods on the right, an open field to the left, with the basket set at least 100' back into the woods atop a large rocky plateau. A perfect anhyzer could pierce the gap and land on the side of the plateau, leaving a difficult uphill putt for birdie.

Speaking of OB, there is a lot of to be found on this course....roads, water, fence posts, backyards, tennis courts...you name it. Although OB is plentiful, it's used smarly on most holes...the long open "bomber" holes have some of the toughest OB to even things out.

Concrete tees, decent signs, benches and trash cans on many holes...centrally-located restrooms.

All in all, after playing just 1 tourney round here, I'd be willing to say that Lazarre Highwater is one of my favorites in Louisiana. Lots of fun, several very unique holes, and a good challenge!
Cons: I can't say for certain since I was playing along with locals, but it seems that the layout could be a little confusing in spots. There were a few blind pins that had to be pointed out to me, and you could see more than one basket from a few of the tee areas...if my group hadn't pointed to the correct one, I would have probably thrown to the wrong basket :)

Even though this is supposed to be the drier of the 2 courses, I still found many spots that collected water...a LOT of water on a few holes. Not so much that it would keep me away, but lets just say that I'm very glad my shoes have a Goretex liner.

Hole 10 needed some serious trimming...the "intended" route through the woods was so tight you could barely fit a disc through the "gaps". With just a little work, this could be an awesome hole!

Some of the tees have small pebbles imbedded into them, which got a little slick during the rain. Very minor "Con" in my eyes.
Other Thoughts: West Monroe is about a 3hr drive from where I live, but I'll definitely make that trip again in the future. Between the 2 courses at Lazarre park, you'll use every shot you can think of and have a blast doing it!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.