Weaverville, CA 
Lee Fong Park DGC Share
Uploaded By: lanningmorgen Hole #11 (Taken 7/2009)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
just right

5+    11/22/2012   11/22/2012
Review By: tomjohnson59
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love lee fong park. The course has great flow, nature, variety of shots, technical and open aired, ups and downs, really nice baskets and cement tee pads. The locals are really nice.
Cons: The course could be marked up better, signs with feet etc.
Other Thoughts: Lee Fong is a must play when driving on 299 East or West. It's a nice, established course that can be played quickly. It's relatively easy to understand and is a great challenge.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 City park in the mountains

5+    11/15/2010   3/9/2011
Review By: humchris85
Played: 114  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy and quick access from the 299. Good to help break up the long drive from Humboldt to Redding or the other way around.
- Well manicured city (type) park
- Concrete tee pads
- Expanded to 18 baskets with some from the old Burnt Ranch course (R.I.P.)
- Water comes into play on a few holes
- Very friendly locals
- New holes on the hill help add some elevation change
- Mostly straight ahead with a few lefts and rights
- Good variety of tree density here. Some holes are almost wide open while others are very tightly wooded
- Multiple tees on most holes
- Double mando on one hole helps seperate the men from the boys. :p
- Some ace-able holes
- Dogs are allowed
Cons: - Blackberrys are realy thick around the creek and come into play on a few holes if your not carefull
- No Signs
- New holes on the hill wern't mowed as well, so there was more serching for discs up there
- Hole 18 throws over part of the parking lot so beware of cars driving through or parked here.
- Baskets still need their #'s updated now that the course is a full 18
- Hole 1 plays close to the parking lot, a shanked drive could end up hitting someones car.
Other Thoughts:
A fun 18 hole course in the main "city" in Trinity county, a county without a single stoplight. It's a very quick drive off of the 299, with signs pointing you to the park. The original holes all play around a nice well mowed city park. They expanded it out to 18 holes last year after the closing of the only other course in the county (Ironside Classified R.I.P.). Some of the new holes play across the creek on some mostly flat land over there, and the rest of the new ones play on a hill above the park. There are also alternate teepads on most of the original holes.

It realy feels like there should be more courses around the county as there is tons of room. When I saw some of the guys from up here at the last tourny they said that they were working on geting in another course here in town.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 lee fong

2-4    6/6/2010   6/7/2010
Review By: wildrivers
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/10/2011
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: nice mix of throws, nice over creek shot, not too many weeds in summer. Very pretty park, away from road noise. I heard it has been updated with easier to find tees and more challanges.
Cons: Can be closed on weekends, or any time due to special events. At time of review there are no signs to next tee or distances. I could not find which tee's went with which baskets on at least half the tee's. Some baskets have double numbers on them. The bead shop with maps is closed on weekends sometimes too.
Other Thoughts: I think you can have dogs here on leash. Nice use of space.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lee Fong

2-4    7/31/2009   9/1/2009
Review By: lanningmorgen
Played: 45  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 18 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: ~Dogs welcome and recommended.

~A must-play course if you are passing through the area.

~ Covers lots of ground.

~ All sorts of shots and terrain.

~ Quiet place to play at and the environment is relaxing.

~ Great variety in distance, terrain, and difficulty.

~ Concrete tee pads and good baskets.

~ Some holes have signs with distances.

~ Good mix of holes, Lefts, Rights, and Straight shots.

~ Creek next to course.

~ Good for making a stop while you're traveling through.

~ Easy to find

~ Secluded and usually empty

~ Beautiful setting and variety of shots

~ You will likely have the place to yourself.







Cons: ~ No maps of course are available.

~ Hard to follow/play the course for first timers. Good to have a guide.

~ Blackberries can eat a disc or two on some holes.

~ Cars parked on or near course fairway for hole 1.

Other Thoughts: This is a great course to stop and play while traveling on Hwy 299. Once the course has expanded to include the other side of the creek and has maps and signs available to make it easier to follow the course this will be my favorite course between Redding and Arcata.

With more holes and better directions posted to follow the course I will likely rate this course a 4 or even a 4.5.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Home Sweet Home

5+    12/26/2008   1/1/2009
Review By: Nickadmous
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety of challenges and terrain. Beautiful setting and scenery. Close to town/our house. Friendly people. The park has recently acquired new land across the creek and as soon as the bridge is installed we'll be expanding!
Cons: poor or nonexistent signage. Sometimes hard for visitors to find the next t-pad and/or basket, especially when there are recent changes.
Other Thoughts: It's our home course, and we really love it. My wife and I play every day if we can. If you're in the area, contact me by email and we'll most likely join you for a round.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.