Mokena, IL 
The Oaks Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2 (Taken 5/2012)
4 / 300ft.   4 / 300ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
This course deserves a visit

1    6/8/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: River_love
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long 27 hole course. I especially consider this a good thing considering the lack of good, long courses around Chicagoland. From the moment I pulled into the driveway and saw the gym/clubhouse building, I knew this was going to be a rewarding course to play. The facilities here are top notch, in all sincerity. The clubhouse has a full gym ( I assume for members only?), nice bathrooms, a small disc shop, and scorecards/maps. There are some nice peaceful looking ponds and a bridge leading to the disc course.

If you enjoy having multiple tees to mix up the play/add more challenge or make the course easier then this course delivers; they have three tees for most of the 27 holes.

Great variety throughout the holes. Some of the holes are shaped very well with trees, bushes, and water hazards being used strategically to create nice lines. However, there isn't necessarily a TON of diversity on hole shapes. The true variety comes in the length of the holes as well as terrain. The distances range from 210 ft to 490 ft (I played white tees). The terrain varies from shaping around big trees, to wide open bombers, to very tight wooded fairways. Elevation even comes into play on a few holes.
Cons: Being that most of the holes are fairly open, meaning no OOB or strict fairway, you don't need to be very precise on the majority of the holes. This makes it a fun play with little stress, but some more risk/reward would be nice. A lot of the holes are very straightforward holes, not very long, and with no obstacles in the way.

I hate to complain about extra holes, but the last 9 holes feel like they were added on at the last minute and rushed. I like these holes since they introduce a few tightly wooded fairways not seen on the rest of the course, but they just don't seem finished.

The pars on this course seem kinda lame honestly. Ex. there are 15 holes under 300ft with a par 4? I scored a 91 on this course, nothing terribly impressive about that, and it was a -14? Just seems like most of these holes should be par 3 to me.
Other Thoughts: Everything was mowed, there were plenty of trash cans, and benches by most tees. The signs were pretty nice too. If you judge this course relative to other Chicago courses, it would be at least a 4/5, maybe 4.5/5 in my opinion. I had a blast playing here, and will not hesitate to make the 50 min. drive to play again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course, Too Many Holes For This Property

1    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
**Well maintained, clean park
**Nice benches throughout the park.
**Nice recreation center with scorecards, course maps, Discs for sale and inside restrooms.
**27 holes with 3 teepads for most of the holes.
**Nice Mach 5 baskets, yellow number plates on top with LARGE numbers on them which really helps the first time you play here.
**Very well constructed, compacted-crushed limestone, grippy rubber tee pads. These tee pads rival concrete…
**Nice graphic tee signs at the White tee pad so you know where to throw

**Mostly shady shooting through large mature oak trees was a plus on the 105+ heat index day that my wife and I played.
Cons:
Navigation, especially after hole 21, a little more signage would remedy this situation. Help from the locals kept us pointed in the right direction…
Need -more- trashcans!!!
Other Thoughts:
I am 900+ rated player and shot -11 while leaving quite a few out there which I suppose could be a pro and a con, Still a VERY "fun" round though and I would play this course again.

1. Check in at the recreation center building and get a free registration card, without one, there is a fine. They also have free Maps and Score Cards...
2. no smoking in the park, there is a fine
3. No dogs. There is a fine.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/3/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Oaks is a very good course with a feel that sets itself apart from other Chicago area courses.

The most obvious pro this course has is its 27 holes, the most for any single course in the area. For such a beautiful and sprawling area to be dedicated solely to disc golf is pretty impressive.

There is enough here to appeal to a wide range of players. The difficulty is definitely on the easier side, but there are some unique looks and enough distance to keep experienced players interested for the round.

The three wooded shots come at a good spot in the course and give accurate/low power players a chance to make a comeback on big armed players who have an advantage in the early/middle part of the course.

Multiple tee pads on every hole, and decent tee signs.
Cons: While the land itself is scenic and enjoyable to play, it does not lend itself to a wide variety of shot types. There is minimal elevation, no water, and three truly wooded holes.

About 60% of the course requires you to hit fairly straight lines through large trees, but in many instances there are easy hyzer lines that will put you close to the pin. I played with a newer player who was tossing hyzers on most shots because he couldn't hit the straight line through the trees, and in most instances he ended up with a similar upshot to myself.

The flow coming out of the woods after #21 is really confusing, and the course would benefit from a sign at this spot. Coming out of the woods its about a 75 yard walk where you pass some of the earlier part of the course, and its easy to become disoriented.

Somehow this is one of the most crowded courses I've played in the suburbs despite all the space and the number of holes.
Other Thoughts: The Oaks is definitely worth a stop if you live in the burbs, but not a place I would go back to on a regular basis unless I lived close by. If you're from out of town and only have time for a couple courses, skip this one and hit the two courses in Joliet.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/16/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes, not too many courses deviate from the standard 9 or 18 so this is always fun in my mind. Another great feature at this course is it is well maintained and is well used by many people. The tees here are exactly the way I like them; rubber, well secured and absolutely solid and level. Not to mention there were two sets of tees on all the holes and even three sets on some (or at least that is what I noticed). Good mixture of distance, there were no really obnoxious long holes. A few would require two shots for some people but most all of them were reachable from the tees. Incorporated the option of a hyzer or anhyzer on most holes. It did force you to throw a straight throw on a few holes (means that the park made you work at being a well rounded player). It was easy to find from I-80, just head south on LaGrange to Laporte heading west, it takes maybe 5 min.
Cons: While it is a well-used park, you will find that you may be waiting a lot as it can get packed in the warmer weather. There were a few holes where there were no true "golf" shots. Basically you lie up of the tee, and lay up again with your approach. They are easy par holes but what I call a dumb luck birdie hole. The general flow here was really weird at times, it seemed as though you were walking all over the course from one hole to the next, made for a much longer walk in my mind. There were a few holes that were in a wide-open field that really didn't match the rest of the course in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: This course is beautiful, I think they made a really nice place to play some disc golf. Something I really enjoyed about this park was there were a lot of non-traditional disc golfers playing (women and masters aged players). It was surprisingly very dry considering how wet the area has been lately; there were only a few holes where it was a little muddy. You may have to fight for parking spots depending on the kind of day you show up. Make sure you are ready to play the park because it is a hike to play the full 27, eat a meal before you play or bring a snack bag for the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great way to spend the afternoon

5+    10/30/2010   1/16/2011
Review By: Mbagnola1
Played: 41  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Large oak trees make for good obsticles without being overbearing
- Few signature holes to keep things interesting
-Pro, Am,and Beginner tees at almost every hole
-Good combination of open field, light and densly wooded holes.
- Mostly flat with the exception of #14 which is up about 25 feet and hidden from view
- mostly short holes(under 300) #9 is for the big arms.
-Signs at every tee box
-Holes ranging from 300 to 600 feet
- Very well maintained tees and fairways
-Many throwing lanes on most holes

Cons: - Rain tears up the ground on certain holes
- No water fountain
- Can be very crowded at times
-A few holes are lined with dense woods,so keep an eye on that disc
-Closed on certain holidays
-I've been at the Oaks while they had a cross country race going on. Without any notice hundreds of people where running through the course.
- Standing water can make it very buggy in the summer
- Par system is all messed up. 310 ft par 4s and 450 ft par 5s. Best if played at all 3s and maybe a 4 thrown in there

Other Thoughts: My favorite course hands down. Good for everyone. Worth the drive for 27 holes. Ive never heard of any one needing to register or have ever seen cops out on the course. I play this course at least once a week in the summer and have never run into any problem. Ive even purchased disc from the "pro shop" with no mention of checking in to play the course

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    10/2/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 414  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large area, with lots of mature trees, and a little forest. There are no other activities on the disc golf side, not even a walking path.
- A few different sections of the park to mix things up. There are some open fields, some pretty dense forest, and a very large grove of mature trees. Pretty good flow from one part to the other, some open field shots end in the forest and such.
- The part of the course with the large trees has some additional features to spice things up. There are smaller ditches that can snag errant shots (like #1 on the right, for starters), some serious rough in one section, fell branches as obstacles, and some slight elevation changes. Considering each hole looks pretty similar on the surface, there are some very different challenges. Avoiding the big trunks and low branches is half the battle at some points.
- A few holes in the open field provide some lengthier fairways. There are a few spots where only a true bomber can get it to the pin, especially from the long tees. Some small elevation and small obstacles on these holes as well, but nothing too crazy. #13? is a longer downhill shot, to a hill with lots of trees and an elevated basket. Very nice.
- Some shorter, denser holes in a small forest add some variety as well. Definitely helps to break up the rest of the course.
- Decent length to the course, and a good mix throughout. A player with a big arm may find most of them a bit too easy to get to, everyone else will find it just right (especially with some alternate tees).
- Decent signage, decent tees, decent baskets. Navigation, not so decent. I guess they figured that scorecards in the office make up for no directional help. A first timer with no map is in for some wandering.
Cons: - My major gripe with this course is the repetition. Almost all of the holes require getting around or between some oak trees, over and over and over. The other hazards and some rough help to break it up, but there are a ton of holes that feel almost identical. The short forest holes feel tacked on as a desperate attempt to add some variety.
- This course gets destroyed by rainfall, with large sections becoming muddy, swampy, marshy, or all three. Anywhere there is no grass is a potential flood area.
Other Thoughts: - Every time I play this course, I feel mixed emotions. It usually goes: on the way there, not that excited. Once there, I feel like I don't appreciate it. Halfway through, I like it a lot. Once done, I feel a little let down. On the way home, I feel like I wasted my time. There are some pretty darn good holes, and some really tough shots at parts, but overall it feels too easy. I think the additional 9 holes just water down the whole experience, and the good holes get lost in the shuffle.
- Still, a great course for a beginner or intermediate player.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Well worth the time

5+    7/22/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: Scoobs74
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great designed course with several well protected and hidden baskets. offers a challenge no mater what your experience level. The large oak trees provide great shade in the summer heat, as well as obsticles to throw through. Multiple tee boxes let beginers and pros play together on a more even playing field.
Cons: Lay out can be confusing until you play through a few times. Gets very crowded on the weekeds but worth it for this great course. Mosquitoes are thick in the heavily wooded areas bring some Off spray. Watch out for poision ivy

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/5/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 120  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Scenic park with lots of mature oaks and green grass
-Nice tees and baskets
-Most of the oak branches are too high to snag a shot, but the tree trunks force you to shape your shot
-Underneath the oak canopy it is shaded but totally free of underbrush
-Multiple tees on most holes
-Fairly balanced between right and left curving fairways
-27 holes
-Three holes on the backside look nothing like the rest of the course (10-20' wide fairways cut out of dense underbrush)
-Hole 13 is one of my favorites: 365' White. Plays as a slight anny for RHBH. It starts out open over a grassy field with a small rise followed by a downslope to a streambed. The basket is about 20' behind the stream and 15' up guarded by trees. The green is terraced with landscaping timbers.
Cons: -Can be very sloppy following rain
-Navigation can be very confusing in a few spots
-Gets crowded on nice days (you can start on 4 to skip the backup at 1)
Other Thoughts: This course along with the Joliet courses forms a nice DG corridor along Interstate 80.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Da Oaks

5+    7/26/2009   1/10/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park itself is a nice looking piece of property and is used solely for disc golf. It is fairly flat and is covered mostly by huge oak trees. Much of the course plays in the shade and there is very little rough to lose discs.

The park district takes very good care of this course. The tee pads have limestone laid underneath with rubber tee pads laid on top. They are boxed in by wood frames and are very level.

There are some nice signs on the middle set of tees and the baskets are Mach 5's with number plates on the top.

There are multiple tee pads on many of the holes. 54 total tee pads for 27 holes.

There are several signature holes and some nice landscaping in areas. Although this course lacks elevation the design utilzed it well.

This is a very beginner friendly course and is pretty fun to play.
Cons: Even with the multiple tee pads this course is very repetitive in shot selection and distances. This could have been a championship level 4.5 star rated course if it was 18 holes.

Although this course has a lot of oaks there are very few holes with major obstacles and rough. It lacks the challenge that many great courses offer. From the last 2 tournaments run here the SSA is 73 (-8) from the longs and 70 (-11) from the Whites.

Even with good signage it can be difficult to navigate in a few areas.
Other Thoughts: 1. Check in at the building and get a registration card. It's free. Without one you can be fined.

2. There is no smoking in this park.

3. No dogs. There is a large fine.

You can print a score card at the link below.
http://www.mokenapark.com/page.php?pid=45

If you are traveling on I80 it's only 5 minutes off the Interstate.
Youtube link of the Oaks.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?...ature=related

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great park course

1    9/12/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 752  Exp: 12.5 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large disc golf dedicated area. Most of the holes play through large old oaks with generous lanes between them. For variety, there are a few holes that play in open rolling fields, and a few in denser trees with some brushy rough to mix things up a bit.

There is a good mix of ace run holes, and holes that require a long accurate drive to have a shot at a deuce. The large trees leave many different lines open on most holes, but many have preferred lines, and these are a good mix of righty and lefty shots with some straight shots right at the basket.

There are multiple tees on nearly all the holes, with up to three different looks. They change the holes quite a bit, and make the course accessible but challenging to most levels of players. There are nice signs on the white (middle) tees that show the layout of the hole and the distance from each of the pads. The tees are rubber, and are perfectly laid to be flat and flush with the ground.

The park is excellently maintained, and very beautiful. There is no trash anywhere, and the grounds are immaculately kept, making for a very enjoyable setting to play in.
Cons: The course is 27 holes in the amount of space appropriate for a great 18 hole course. There were times where way too many holes were right in the same spot, as well as times where there were multiple baskets to look at off the tee so you had to walk up and check out the number plate the first time through. There were bricks in the ground pointing the way to some of the next tees, but they only seemed to be there on the holes where it wasn't confusing where to go next. You often have the choice of a few different tees to walk to, and it's rarely the most obvious one.

The design made great use of the limited elevation and the big scattered trees, but these make for a little lack of variety. Nearly all the holes seem pretty similar, and the ones that are different aren't all that memorable. I really felt like a fantastic 18 hole course could have been put together here with more variety and more interesting holes, and would make for a more challenging and fun course.

One small thing I would like to see is brooms for the tee pads. They collect gravel dust which makes them quite slippery on the holes where you really try to rip a drive. The tee signs are only at the white tees, which means there is often extra walking to see the tee sign when throwing from the long or short tees.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely accessible to beginners, with little punishing schule, reasonable distances, and many available lines, especially from the short tees. More experienced players will find more challenges from the long tees, and will enjoy the beautiful setting for disc golf.

Though it's not the most challenging course around, it's one of the most fun to play. Definitely worth the trip to play, especially if you can hit up some of the other Joliet area courses.

Note to other dog owners: it's posted that having dogs on the course is a $1000 fine, so you probably want to leave your disc dog at home for this one.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.