Mokena, IL 
The Oaks Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1 (Taken 5/2012)
4 / 235ft.   4 / 265ft.   3 / 290ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 White Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

1    6/7/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: depauw
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: course is well designed
offer 27 holes
has nice run ups compared to other places I've been
offers different styles of play ex. woods, hills, open field
Cons: heavy foot traffic will do a lot of sitting on benches waiting for other players

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    3/4/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: chrisbek
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *27 holes is awesome for when you feel like 18 isn't enough. I consider this course my home course and I rarely don't do all 27.
*The tee pads are great, and they also have 3 pads for most holes (blue, white, red). Baskets are the best I've played on.
*Pars are a little inflated, good course for an ego booster. There are a couple par 3's, mostly 4's, and one 5.
*Course is very well kept, with garbage cans at most holes so there's not cans everywhere.
Cons: *On a nice day, and even average days, it's very crowded. This is by far the best course in the area, which is a pro as well as a con.
*After it rains it can be very wet, but what course doesn't.
*For some reason trees fall over a lot here, which can get in the way. But they usually clean them up pretty fast.
*Like I said, the pars are a bit inflated. I've shot a -20 using signs from the champion tees, and I've been with a guy who's hit -28. Not too challenging.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love this course. I came here about 4 times a week during the summer of 2011. Definitely my favorite course. Highly recommended.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

2-4    10/11/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: flingkaching
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 34.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Terrific DG park, given the type of topography in this part of the country, this is about as good as it gets in the area. The course has a lot to offer and is just a great place to play. Has multiple tee locations for various skill level & offers something for any level of player. Good shot & distance variety & a descent amount of tree obstructions throughout the course, not too many & not too few for the most part. The more wooded areas of the course can pose some challenging trouble shots. The tee boxes offer a good amount of space and descent footing. Baskets were in great condition. The course is overall very well groomed & maintained.
Cons: Does not have any permanant water in play, is confusing to navagae w/o a map or guide, the check in & smoking rules & fines are lame because these are nonexistant at other courses & people may just not be aware, so why fine them, a warning seems more resonable if anything. Just letting people come & play & putting in sand buckets to put out cigs at tees or designated smoking areas makes more sense.
Other Thoughts: Terrific, fun course, a must play if in the area or a reasonable drive away.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    8/31/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: jesse_v_m
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is well up-kept with good rubber tees and well marked signs. Because this is a public park, it is well groomed and makes for a beautiful course to play. 27 holes is nice because you can play extra if you are wanting to make a longer day but can also stop at 18 if you are shorter on time. The layout of the holes weave between trees on many holes but there as some open and long holes as well. there are a few in the third set of 9 that are heavily wooded and tight which also makes for a good variety.
Cons: 27 holes is nice, but it can get a bit repetitive in terms of shots. While it's not true for all the holes, a good number of the 27 can be thrown well with either backhand or forehand shots. This is handy, but cuts down on the need for special and difficult shots and thus it can get a bit repetitive. Also, the par system is way too easy, so if you are looking for more of a challenge I suggest playing most of them par 3 with the exception of maybe one or two if you even want to do that. If you don't adjust the par that is fine, you will just see yourself throwing birdies left and right. :)
Other Thoughts: I love this course and always miss it when I leave school and cannot play it until the next year. Highly recommended!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Oaks

1    7/23/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a very nice community recreation park. You have to register before you play, but it's free so no biggie. Plus they give you a little members card. There were 3 different tee pads per hole, and they all were nice flat concrete pads. Played with very nice elevation changes, but it is mostly flat. A lot of the fairways were pretty busy with mature oak trees, but there was usually a few different routes to take in order to have a nice birdie or easy par. The beautiful giant oaks provide sufficient shade to keep you cool, although it does get pretty hot so don't forget plenty of liquids during the summer. Trash cans located all over the park, but there was trash scattered throughout the course. Most fun I've had playing 27 holes!
Cons: Course par was ridiculous. I played them all as 3's with the exception of the long par 5's. The flow of the course was pretty poor. Even with painted bricks on the ground by the occasional basket, I found myself asking locals, walking halfway down fairways, throwing to wrong baskets on more than a few occasions. Make sure to bring a map!
Other Thoughts: I thought it was pretty wide open, even the wooded holes had nice clear fairways. So you don't have to worry too much about pinball holes.I loved the 3-4 holes that had an obstacle or trees guarding the pin. It also has a very cool hole that has a blind elevated basket setting that is strategically placed behind a big bush. I'm assuming there is usually a creek that runs through some of the course, but I guess I went during a drought and it was dried up. I wish the course would have brought the nice pond in the front of the park into play. Over all a pretty awesome course and I would definitely recommend to anyone!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Oaks

5+    5/6/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 51  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It is a beautiful course with multiple tee pads, nice baskets and good flow. It has something to offer for every frolfer from long open straight holes to holes in the woods that are really narrow and short. It also has 27 holes so you can play all of them or until you get tired. It is also very open and well maintianed therefore you will not spend somt times looking for discs.Most of the course is in the trees so you get to play in the shade but the branches are high enough that they do not get in the way of most throws.
Cons: It is often very crowed and you find yourself waiting for others to finish before you tee off. It can also be slightly confusing the first time you go but once you figure it out it is a very enjoyable place to play. After a while the 27 holes seem to all run together and it may get a little boring. This is because the course does get a little repeditive and that makes it get a little old.
Other Thoughts: You are supposed to register to play on this course but it does not cost anything so it is worth doing if you are going to play here often.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, beautiful trees

5+    4/15/2010   8/8/2009
Review By: dwebb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 4/17/2010
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained with well cut grass and no downed branches. Markers on every tee box as well as clearly marked catchers which also display the par for the hole and the direction to next hole, make playing here a pleasure. Multiple tee locations make it able to played by multiple skill levels at once.

While the course layout isn't necessarily overly impressive, it does offer some nice variety, with holes ranging in not only length but also layout and obstacles.

The trees here are massive and provide a very comfortable play even in summer.
Cons: A couple of things that might discourage people from playing here, begin with the difficulty level. While there are many longer holes, the majority of the course is open and is very easy to throw on. While some trees do provide a little blockage of shots, there is really nothing keeping you from throwing a hyzer on every hole.

There are usually a large amount of people out playing, and you might have to wait the entire time, but this is easily avoided by not going there at 5pm with everyone else who just got off work.
Other Thoughts: This is another great course for players of all skill levels, but bring your throwing arm for the long holes. It is pretty well laid out with markers on every hole and nice tee boxes so getting lost shouldn't happen. Just avoid the busy time of the day right after work and enjoy.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Loved this course!

1    7/20/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: the layout is challenging and fun. The teepads are terrific and seem well maintained.
Cons: Lots of users and can get crowded. Some fairways seem close or crossing over but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: Would like this to be a home course!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: phishinit9
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.3 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 27 holes, some in heavy forest, some in little forest and some wide open. good variety of differnt types of holes. very well maintained grass usually cut, and tees kept nice.
Cons: if you dont get out early, you will run into some crowds

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    4/1/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: IllinoisAceRunner90
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great Course. A lot of sweet shots over creeks and islands. 27 holes of disc golf heaven. Still some holes for the big guns to open up. Nice benches and garbage cans.
Cons: Hard to navigate. Thats it.
Other Thoughts: Just play it!!!!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.