Disc Golf Store
Mokena, IL 
The Oaks Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #14 (Taken 5/2012)
4 / 240ft.   4 / 240ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 White Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4

2-4    9/20/2014   10/3/2014
Review By: Andrewcho
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good use of land
Very well maintained
Mix of wooded holes with semi-wooded holes
27 holes
Great tee pads
Cons: There is a lot of people
Holes repeat shots
Other Thoughts: A great course to play to warm up for more challenging courses. Some things I would change about this course is having more variety on holes and more holes with distance. The clubhouse is nice with a small selection of only Innova discs.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

This course deserves a visit

1    6/8/2013   6/15/2013
Review By: River_love
Played: 34  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 11.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long 27 hole course. I especially consider this a good thing considering the lack of good, long courses around Chicagoland. From the moment I pulled into the driveway and saw the gym/clubhouse building, I knew this was going to be a rewarding course to play. The facilities here are top notch, in all sincerity. The clubhouse has a full gym ( I assume for members only?), nice bathrooms, a small disc shop, and scorecards/maps. There are some nice peaceful looking ponds and a bridge leading to the disc course.

If you enjoy having multiple tees to mix up the play/add more challenge or make the course easier then this course delivers; they have three tees for most of the 27 holes.

Great variety throughout the holes. Some of the holes are shaped very well with trees, bushes, and water hazards being used strategically to create nice lines. However, there isn't necessarily a TON of diversity on hole shapes. The true variety comes in the length of the holes as well as terrain. The distances range from 210 ft to 490 ft (I played white tees). The terrain varies from shaping around big trees, to wide open bombers, to very tight wooded fairways. Elevation even comes into play on a few holes.
Cons: Being that most of the holes are fairly open, meaning no OOB or strict fairway, you don't need to be very precise on the majority of the holes. This makes it a fun play with little stress, but some more risk/reward would be nice. A lot of the holes are very straightforward holes, not very long, and with no obstacles in the way.

I hate to complain about extra holes, but the last 9 holes feel like they were added on at the last minute and rushed. I like these holes since they introduce a few tightly wooded fairways not seen on the rest of the course, but they just don't seem finished.

The pars on this course seem kinda lame honestly. Ex. there are 15 holes under 300ft with a par 4? I scored a 91 on this course, nothing terribly impressive about that, and it was a -14? Just seems like most of these holes should be par 3 to me.
Other Thoughts: Everything was mowed, there were plenty of trash cans, and benches by most tees. The signs were pretty nice too. If you judge this course relative to other Chicago courses, it would be at least a 4/5, maybe 4.5/5 in my opinion. I had a blast playing here, and will not hesitate to make the 50 min. drive to play again.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    6/7/2013   6/11/2013
Review By: depauw
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: course is well designed
offer 27 holes
has nice run ups compared to other places I've been
offers different styles of play ex. woods, hills, open field
Cons: heavy foot traffic will do a lot of sitting on benches waiting for other players

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course, Too Many Holes For This Property

1    7/3/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
**Well maintained, clean park
**Nice benches throughout the park.
**Nice recreation center with scorecards, course maps, Discs for sale and inside restrooms.
**27 holes with 3 teepads for most of the holes.
**Nice Mach 5 baskets, yellow number plates on top with LARGE numbers on them which really helps the first time you play here.
**Very well constructed, compacted-crushed limestone, grippy rubber tee pads. These tee pads rival concrete…
**Nice graphic tee signs at the White tee pad so you know where to throw

**Mostly shady shooting through large mature oak trees was a plus on the 105+ heat index day that my wife and I played.
Cons:
Navigation, especially after hole 21, a little more signage would remedy this situation. Help from the locals kept us pointed in the right direction…
Need -more- trashcans!!!
Other Thoughts:
I am 900+ rated player and shot -11 while leaving quite a few out there which I suppose could be a pro and a con, Still a VERY "fun" round though and I would play this course again.

1. Check in at the recreation center building and get a free registration card, without one, there is a fine. They also have free Maps and Score Cards...
2. no smoking in the park, there is a fine
3. No dogs. There is a fine.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/24/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: jomomo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 13 Not
Pros: holes are placed great. Accuracy is most important and some holes power. tee signs are marked well. 3 wooded holes are great.
Cons: dislike how you have so register to play at the building. never have never will and still play. they say you will get a ticket if you dont register. nonsence
Other Thoughts: one of the best courses ive ever played.

0 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    3/4/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: chrisbek
Played: 12  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: *27 holes is awesome for when you feel like 18 isn't enough. I consider this course my home course and I rarely don't do all 27.
*The tee pads are great, and they also have 3 pads for most holes (blue, white, red). Baskets are the best I've played on.
*Pars are a little inflated, good course for an ego booster. There are a couple par 3's, mostly 4's, and one 5.
*Course is very well kept, with garbage cans at most holes so there's not cans everywhere.
Cons: *On a nice day, and even average days, it's very crowded. This is by far the best course in the area, which is a pro as well as a con.
*After it rains it can be very wet, but what course doesn't.
*For some reason trees fall over a lot here, which can get in the way. But they usually clean them up pretty fast.
*Like I said, the pars are a bit inflated. I've shot a -20 using signs from the champion tees, and I've been with a guy who's hit -28. Not too challenging.
Other Thoughts: I absolutely love this course. I came here about 4 times a week during the summer of 2011. Definitely my favorite course. Highly recommended.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Oak leafs left me scrambling and double tracking to find the next tee

1    11/4/2011   11/4/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1205  Reviewed: 87  Exp: 26.8 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 27 HOLES X multiple tee pads on many of the holes equalls a very lucky community to have this DGC to play.

Only a few grip and rip holes. I played this DGC from the red tees (Because I didn't have a lot of time to complete this DGC if I had played the long <BLUE> tees)

hole # 13 had a well constructed terrace for the basket. Both getting to the basket area and leaving the basket area

plenty of well constructed benches.

very little liter (and considering I didn't see very many trash recepticles this was very impressive)
Cons: I had a lot of trouble locating the next hole, without a map or a guide you will to for your first few times playing this DGC (This could of been easily corrected by either painting a area on the basket well pointing the player in the area of the next tee or by using a strip of colored duct tape on the basket well pointing the player in the direction of the next tee) I did see one marker/ brick pointing me in a certain direction at one hole. But the day I played this DGC was covered with leaves and you just couldn't easily find this marker unless you kicked or raked the leaves away (and I don't normally carry a rake with me while I play)

course was pretty flat, and I prefer cement tees instead of the rubber mats, but still a good DGC
Other Thoughts: I didn't check in with the clubhose at the DGC but did check in sort of... at the park department office one exit before the DGC exit. I would reccomend following the policy of checking in to avoid a possible fine, but I didn't and got lucky not only by not getting fined but enjoying this nice DGC.

Mokena is a very nice community, watch your speed!!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Oak-tastic!

2-4    5/21/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 194  Reviewed: 153  Exp: 5.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The Oaks is a sprawling twenty-seven hole course that winds and weaves deftly through the neatly manicured multi-purpose park property. With the exception of three heavily wooded holes towards the end, it's basically a gigantic grassy lawn with huge oaks scattered throughout. Small patches of schule and other vegetation appear in a few places. Mostly flat, but with some minimal elevation coming into play, the main obstacle here is avoiding (duhn duhn duh!) The Oaks.
- Outstanding rubber tees that remain grippy in the rain. Easily the best rubber tees I've played on. Good tee signage shows accurate
maps of each hole with all pertinent obstacles, roads, bridges, tees, pins, etc. Distances listed for white, blue and red tees. Trashcans and benches located throughout. Next tee signage.
- Most holes have separate white, blue, and red tees. This gives players in a range of skill levels interesting and compelling shots throughout. Each hole's tees often give entirely different looks or add a significant amount of distance to make things challenging.
Cons: - Although the design does its most to maintain variety, there is only so much they can do to disguise the fact that the course is moderately treed and flat. Many holes are "good," but a few seem kind of "stock" or squeezed in for the sake of getting in another hole. Some tees and baskets are crammed-in, making navigation just a touch tricky even with the "next hole" brick markers. On a busy day, keep your eyes peeled for errant discs from nearby holes.
Other Thoughts: - A fair hike to complete with all the zig-zag-back-and-forthing across the park, especially playing the longs. A solid course worth the visit if you're in the area, and among the better courses in Chicagoland.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/3/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 63  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Oaks is a very good course with a feel that sets itself apart from other Chicago area courses.

The most obvious pro this course has is its 27 holes, the most for any single course in the area. For such a beautiful and sprawling area to be dedicated solely to disc golf is pretty impressive.

There is enough here to appeal to a wide range of players. The difficulty is definitely on the easier side, but there are some unique looks and enough distance to keep experienced players interested for the round.

The three wooded shots come at a good spot in the course and give accurate/low power players a chance to make a comeback on big armed players who have an advantage in the early/middle part of the course.

Multiple tee pads on every hole, and decent tee signs.
Cons: While the land itself is scenic and enjoyable to play, it does not lend itself to a wide variety of shot types. There is minimal elevation, no water, and three truly wooded holes.

About 60% of the course requires you to hit fairly straight lines through large trees, but in many instances there are easy hyzer lines that will put you close to the pin. I played with a newer player who was tossing hyzers on most shots because he couldn't hit the straight line through the trees, and in most instances he ended up with a similar upshot to myself.

The flow coming out of the woods after #21 is really confusing, and the course would benefit from a sign at this spot. Coming out of the woods its about a 75 yard walk where you pass some of the earlier part of the course, and its easy to become disoriented.

Somehow this is one of the most crowded courses I've played in the suburbs despite all the space and the number of holes.
Other Thoughts: The Oaks is definitely worth a stop if you live in the burbs, but not a place I would go back to on a regular basis unless I lived close by. If you're from out of town and only have time for a couple courses, skip this one and hit the two courses in Joliet.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/16/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes, not too many courses deviate from the standard 9 or 18 so this is always fun in my mind. Another great feature at this course is it is well maintained and is well used by many people. The tees here are exactly the way I like them; rubber, well secured and absolutely solid and level. Not to mention there were two sets of tees on all the holes and even three sets on some (or at least that is what I noticed). Good mixture of distance, there were no really obnoxious long holes. A few would require two shots for some people but most all of them were reachable from the tees. Incorporated the option of a hyzer or anhyzer on most holes. It did force you to throw a straight throw on a few holes (means that the park made you work at being a well rounded player). It was easy to find from I-80, just head south on LaGrange to Laporte heading west, it takes maybe 5 min.
Cons: While it is a well-used park, you will find that you may be waiting a lot as it can get packed in the warmer weather. There were a few holes where there were no true "golf" shots. Basically you lie up of the tee, and lay up again with your approach. They are easy par holes but what I call a dumb luck birdie hole. The general flow here was really weird at times, it seemed as though you were walking all over the course from one hole to the next, made for a much longer walk in my mind. There were a few holes that were in a wide-open field that really didn't match the rest of the course in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: This course is beautiful, I think they made a really nice place to play some disc golf. Something I really enjoyed about this park was there were a lot of non-traditional disc golfers playing (women and masters aged players). It was surprisingly very dry considering how wet the area has been lately; there were only a few holes where it was a little muddy. You may have to fight for parking spots depending on the kind of day you show up. Make sure you are ready to play the park because it is a hike to play the full 27, eat a meal before you play or bring a snack bag for the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.