Mokena, IL 
The Oaks Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #19 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft.   3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 Oak leafs left me scrambling and double tracking to find the next tee

1    11/4/2011   11/4/2011
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1319  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 27.7 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 27 HOLES X multiple tee pads on many of the holes equalls a very lucky community to have this DGC to play.

Only a few grip and rip holes. I played this DGC from the red tees (Because I didn't have a lot of time to complete this DGC if I had played the long <BLUE> tees)

hole # 13 had a well constructed terrace for the basket. Both getting to the basket area and leaving the basket area

plenty of well constructed benches.

very little liter (and considering I didn't see very many trash recepticles this was very impressive)
Cons: I had a lot of trouble locating the next hole, without a map or a guide you will to for your first few times playing this DGC (This could of been easily corrected by either painting a area on the basket well pointing the player in the area of the next tee or by using a strip of colored duct tape on the basket well pointing the player in the direction of the next tee) I did see one marker/ brick pointing me in a certain direction at one hole. But the day I played this DGC was covered with leaves and you just couldn't easily find this marker unless you kicked or raked the leaves away (and I don't normally carry a rake with me while I play)

course was pretty flat, and I prefer cement tees instead of the rubber mats, but still a good DGC
Other Thoughts: I didn't check in with the clubhose at the DGC but did check in sort of... at the park department office one exit before the DGC exit. I would reccomend following the policy of checking in to avoid a possible fine, but I didn't and got lucky not only by not getting fined but enjoying this nice DGC.

Mokena is a very nice community, watch your speed!!

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.


2-4    5/21/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: Jukeshoe
Played: 210  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2011
15 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - The Oaks is a sprawling twenty-seven hole course that winds and weaves deftly through the neatly manicured multi-purpose park property. With the exception of three heavily wooded holes towards the end, it's basically a gigantic grassy lawn with huge oaks scattered throughout. Small patches of schule and other vegetation appear in a few places. Mostly flat, but with some minimal elevation coming into play, the main obstacle here is avoiding (duhn duhn duh!) The Oaks.
- Outstanding rubber tees that remain grippy in the rain. Easily the best rubber tees I've played on. Good tee signage shows accurate
maps of each hole with all pertinent obstacles, roads, bridges, tees, pins, etc. Distances listed for white, blue and red tees. Trashcans and benches located throughout. Next tee signage.
- Most holes have separate white, blue, and red tees. This gives players in a range of skill levels interesting and compelling shots throughout. Each hole's tees often give entirely different looks or add a significant amount of distance to make things challenging.
Cons: - Although the design does its most to maintain variety, there is only so much they can do to disguise the fact that the course is moderately treed and flat. Many holes are "good," but a few seem kind of "stock" or squeezed in for the sake of getting in another hole. Some tees and baskets are crammed-in, making navigation just a touch tricky even with the "next hole" brick markers. On a busy day, keep your eyes peeled for errant discs from nearby holes.
Other Thoughts: - A fair hike to complete with all the zig-zag-back-and-forthing across the park, especially playing the longs. A solid course worth the visit if you're in the area, and among the better courses in Chicagoland.

15 of 15 people found this review helpful.


2-4    4/3/2011   4/7/2011
Review By: mykeg44
Played: 64  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Oaks is a very good course with a feel that sets itself apart from other Chicago area courses.

The most obvious pro this course has is its 27 holes, the most for any single course in the area. For such a beautiful and sprawling area to be dedicated solely to disc golf is pretty impressive.

There is enough here to appeal to a wide range of players. The difficulty is definitely on the easier side, but there are some unique looks and enough distance to keep experienced players interested for the round.

The three wooded shots come at a good spot in the course and give accurate/low power players a chance to make a comeback on big armed players who have an advantage in the early/middle part of the course.

Multiple tee pads on every hole, and decent tee signs.
Cons: While the land itself is scenic and enjoyable to play, it does not lend itself to a wide variety of shot types. There is minimal elevation, no water, and three truly wooded holes.

About 60% of the course requires you to hit fairly straight lines through large trees, but in many instances there are easy hyzer lines that will put you close to the pin. I played with a newer player who was tossing hyzers on most shots because he couldn't hit the straight line through the trees, and in most instances he ended up with a similar upshot to myself.

The flow coming out of the woods after #21 is really confusing, and the course would benefit from a sign at this spot. Coming out of the woods its about a 75 yard walk where you pass some of the earlier part of the course, and its easy to become disoriented.

Somehow this is one of the most crowded courses I've played in the suburbs despite all the space and the number of holes.
Other Thoughts: The Oaks is definitely worth a stop if you live in the burbs, but not a place I would go back to on a regular basis unless I lived close by. If you're from out of town and only have time for a couple courses, skip this one and hit the two courses in Joliet.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    3/16/2011   3/17/2011
Review By: gkeberhart
Played: 36  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes, not too many courses deviate from the standard 9 or 18 so this is always fun in my mind. Another great feature at this course is it is well maintained and is well used by many people. The tees here are exactly the way I like them; rubber, well secured and absolutely solid and level. Not to mention there were two sets of tees on all the holes and even three sets on some (or at least that is what I noticed). Good mixture of distance, there were no really obnoxious long holes. A few would require two shots for some people but most all of them were reachable from the tees. Incorporated the option of a hyzer or anhyzer on most holes. It did force you to throw a straight throw on a few holes (means that the park made you work at being a well rounded player). It was easy to find from I-80, just head south on LaGrange to Laporte heading west, it takes maybe 5 min.
Cons: While it is a well-used park, you will find that you may be waiting a lot as it can get packed in the warmer weather. There were a few holes where there were no true "golf" shots. Basically you lie up of the tee, and lay up again with your approach. They are easy par holes but what I call a dumb luck birdie hole. The general flow here was really weird at times, it seemed as though you were walking all over the course from one hole to the next, made for a much longer walk in my mind. There were a few holes that were in a wide-open field that really didn't match the rest of the course in my opinion.
Other Thoughts: This course is beautiful, I think they made a really nice place to play some disc golf. Something I really enjoyed about this park was there were a lot of non-traditional disc golfers playing (women and masters aged players). It was surprisingly very dry considering how wet the area has been lately; there were only a few holes where it was a little muddy. You may have to fight for parking spots depending on the kind of day you show up. Make sure you are ready to play the park because it is a hike to play the full 27, eat a meal before you play or bring a snack bag for the course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great way to spend the afternoon

5+    10/30/2010   1/16/2011
Review By: Mbagnola1
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Large oak trees make for good obsticles without being overbearing
- Few signature holes to keep things interesting
-Pro, Am,and Beginner tees at almost every hole
-Good combination of open field, light and densly wooded holes.
- Mostly flat with the exception of #14 which is up about 25 feet and hidden from view
- mostly short holes(under 300) #9 is for the big arms.
-Signs at every tee box
-Holes ranging from 300 to 600 feet
- Very well maintained tees and fairways
-Many throwing lanes on most holes

Cons: - Rain tears up the ground on certain holes
- No water fountain
- Can be very crowded at times
-A few holes are lined with dense woods,so keep an eye on that disc
-Closed on certain holidays
-I've been at the Oaks while they had a cross country race going on. Without any notice hundreds of people where running through the course.
- Standing water can make it very buggy in the summer
- Par system is all messed up. 310 ft par 4s and 450 ft par 5s. Best if played at all 3s and maybe a 4 thrown in there

Other Thoughts: My favorite course hands down. Good for everyone. Worth the drive for 27 holes. Ive never heard of any one needing to register or have ever seen cops out on the course. I play this course at least once a week in the summer and have never run into any problem. Ive even purchased disc from the "pro shop" with no mention of checking in to play the course

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

2-4    10/11/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: flingkaching
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 35.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Terrific DG park, given the type of topography in this part of the country, this is about as good as it gets in the area. The course has a lot to offer and is just a great place to play. Has multiple tee locations for various skill level & offers something for any level of player. Good shot & distance variety & a descent amount of tree obstructions throughout the course, not too many & not too few for the most part. The more wooded areas of the course can pose some challenging trouble shots. The tee boxes offer a good amount of space and descent footing. Baskets were in great condition. The course is overall very well groomed & maintained.
Cons: Does not have any permanant water in play, is confusing to navagae w/o a map or guide, the check in & smoking rules & fines are lame because these are nonexistant at other courses & people may just not be aware, so why fine them, a warning seems more resonable if anything. Just letting people come & play & putting in sand buckets to put out cigs at tees or designated smoking areas makes more sense.
Other Thoughts: Terrific, fun course, a must play if in the area or a reasonable drive away.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


5+    10/2/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 446  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 12.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large area, with lots of mature trees, and a little forest. There are no other activities on the disc golf side, not even a walking path.
- A few different sections of the park to mix things up. There are some open fields, some pretty dense forest, and a very large grove of mature trees. Pretty good flow from one part to the other, some open field shots end in the forest and such.
- The part of the course with the large trees has some additional features to spice things up. There are smaller ditches that can snag errant shots (like #1 on the right, for starters), some serious rough in one section, fell branches as obstacles, and some slight elevation changes. Considering each hole looks pretty similar on the surface, there are some very different challenges. Avoiding the big trunks and low branches is half the battle at some points.
- A few holes in the open field provide some lengthier fairways. There are a few spots where only a true bomber can get it to the pin, especially from the long tees. Some small elevation and small obstacles on these holes as well, but nothing too crazy. #13? is a longer downhill shot, to a hill with lots of trees and an elevated basket. Very nice.
- Some shorter, denser holes in a small forest add some variety as well. Definitely helps to break up the rest of the course.
- Decent length to the course, and a good mix throughout. A player with a big arm may find most of them a bit too easy to get to, everyone else will find it just right (especially with some alternate tees).
- Decent signage, decent tees, decent baskets. Navigation, not so decent. I guess they figured that scorecards in the office make up for no directional help. A first timer with no map is in for some wandering.
Cons: - My major gripe with this course is the repetition. Almost all of the holes require getting around or between some oak trees, over and over and over. The other hazards and some rough help to break it up, but there are a ton of holes that feel almost identical. The short forest holes feel tacked on as a desperate attempt to add some variety.
- This course gets destroyed by rainfall, with large sections becoming muddy, swampy, marshy, or all three. Anywhere there is no grass is a potential flood area.
Other Thoughts: - Every time I play this course, I feel mixed emotions. It usually goes: on the way there, not that excited. Once there, I feel like I don't appreciate it. Halfway through, I like it a lot. Once done, I feel a little let down. On the way home, I feel like I wasted my time. There are some pretty darn good holes, and some really tough shots at parts, but overall it feels too easy. I think the additional 9 holes just water down the whole experience, and the good holes get lost in the shuffle.
- Still, a great course for a beginner or intermediate player.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    8/31/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: jesse_v_m
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is well up-kept with good rubber tees and well marked signs. Because this is a public park, it is well groomed and makes for a beautiful course to play. 27 holes is nice because you can play extra if you are wanting to make a longer day but can also stop at 18 if you are shorter on time. The layout of the holes weave between trees on many holes but there as some open and long holes as well. there are a few in the third set of 9 that are heavily wooded and tight which also makes for a good variety.
Cons: 27 holes is nice, but it can get a bit repetitive in terms of shots. While it's not true for all the holes, a good number of the 27 can be thrown well with either backhand or forehand shots. This is handy, but cuts down on the need for special and difficult shots and thus it can get a bit repetitive. Also, the par system is way too easy, so if you are looking for more of a challenge I suggest playing most of them par 3 with the exception of maybe one or two if you even want to do that. If you don't adjust the par that is fine, you will just see yourself throwing birdies left and right. :)
Other Thoughts: I love this course and always miss it when I leave school and cannot play it until the next year. Highly recommended!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Oaks

1    7/23/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a very nice community recreation park. You have to register before you play, but it's free so no biggie. Plus they give you a little members card. There were 3 different tee pads per hole, and they all were nice flat concrete pads. Played with very nice elevation changes, but it is mostly flat. A lot of the fairways were pretty busy with mature oak trees, but there was usually a few different routes to take in order to have a nice birdie or easy par. The beautiful giant oaks provide sufficient shade to keep you cool, although it does get pretty hot so don't forget plenty of liquids during the summer. Trash cans located all over the park, but there was trash scattered throughout the course. Most fun I've had playing 27 holes!
Cons: Course par was ridiculous. I played them all as 3's with the exception of the long par 5's. The flow of the course was pretty poor. Even with painted bricks on the ground by the occasional basket, I found myself asking locals, walking halfway down fairways, throwing to wrong baskets on more than a few occasions. Make sure to bring a map!
Other Thoughts: I thought it was pretty wide open, even the wooded holes had nice clear fairways. So you don't have to worry too much about pinball holes.I loved the 3-4 holes that had an obstacle or trees guarding the pin. It also has a very cool hole that has a blind elevated basket setting that is strategically placed behind a big bush. I'm assuming there is usually a creek that runs through some of the course, but I guess I went during a drought and it was dried up. I wish the course would have brought the nice pond in the front of the park into play. Over all a pretty awesome course and I would definitely recommend to anyone!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best disc golf course I've ever played

1    7/17/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.6 Years
0 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: 27 holes, tee pads available for beginner to expert players, nice course to play for anyone.
Cons: It's busy here.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely the best disc golf course I've ever played on. There are so many different kinds of shots here. Anyone from a beginner to an expert will have fun here. It is very busy, so I'd suggest going during non-peak hours. I'll return when I'm in the area!

0 of 15 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.