Mokena, IL 
The Oaks Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2 (Taken 5/2012)
4 / 300ft.   4 / 300ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 White Tee



Reviews: 39
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Great way to spend the afternoon

5+    10/30/2010   1/16/2011
Review By: Mbagnola1
Played: 42  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.8 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Large oak trees make for good obsticles without being overbearing
- Few signature holes to keep things interesting
-Pro, Am,and Beginner tees at almost every hole
-Good combination of open field, light and densly wooded holes.
- Mostly flat with the exception of #14 which is up about 25 feet and hidden from view
- mostly short holes(under 300) #9 is for the big arms.
-Signs at every tee box
-Holes ranging from 300 to 600 feet
- Very well maintained tees and fairways
-Many throwing lanes on most holes

Cons: - Rain tears up the ground on certain holes
- No water fountain
- Can be very crowded at times
-A few holes are lined with dense woods,so keep an eye on that disc
-Closed on certain holidays
-I've been at the Oaks while they had a cross country race going on. Without any notice hundreds of people where running through the course.
- Standing water can make it very buggy in the summer
- Par system is all messed up. 310 ft par 4s and 450 ft par 5s. Best if played at all 3s and maybe a 4 thrown in there

Other Thoughts: My favorite course hands down. Good for everyone. Worth the drive for 27 holes. Ive never heard of any one needing to register or have ever seen cops out on the course. I play this course at least once a week in the summer and have never run into any problem. Ive even purchased disc from the "pro shop" with no mention of checking in to play the course

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Must Play

2-4    10/11/2010   10/12/2010
Review By: flingkaching
Played: 124  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 34.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2010
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Terrific DG park, given the type of topography in this part of the country, this is about as good as it gets in the area. The course has a lot to offer and is just a great place to play. Has multiple tee locations for various skill level & offers something for any level of player. Good shot & distance variety & a descent amount of tree obstructions throughout the course, not too many & not too few for the most part. The more wooded areas of the course can pose some challenging trouble shots. The tee boxes offer a good amount of space and descent footing. Baskets were in great condition. The course is overall very well groomed & maintained.
Cons: Does not have any permanant water in play, is confusing to navagae w/o a map or guide, the check in & smoking rules & fines are lame because these are nonexistant at other courses & people may just not be aware, so why fine them, a warning seems more resonable if anything. Just letting people come & play & putting in sand buckets to put out cigs at tees or designated smoking areas makes more sense.
Other Thoughts: Terrific, fun course, a must play if in the area or a reasonable drive away.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

5+    10/2/2010   10/11/2010
Review By: notapro
Played: 421  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 11.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a large area, with lots of mature trees, and a little forest. There are no other activities on the disc golf side, not even a walking path.
- A few different sections of the park to mix things up. There are some open fields, some pretty dense forest, and a very large grove of mature trees. Pretty good flow from one part to the other, some open field shots end in the forest and such.
- The part of the course with the large trees has some additional features to spice things up. There are smaller ditches that can snag errant shots (like #1 on the right, for starters), some serious rough in one section, fell branches as obstacles, and some slight elevation changes. Considering each hole looks pretty similar on the surface, there are some very different challenges. Avoiding the big trunks and low branches is half the battle at some points.
- A few holes in the open field provide some lengthier fairways. There are a few spots where only a true bomber can get it to the pin, especially from the long tees. Some small elevation and small obstacles on these holes as well, but nothing too crazy. #13? is a longer downhill shot, to a hill with lots of trees and an elevated basket. Very nice.
- Some shorter, denser holes in a small forest add some variety as well. Definitely helps to break up the rest of the course.
- Decent length to the course, and a good mix throughout. A player with a big arm may find most of them a bit too easy to get to, everyone else will find it just right (especially with some alternate tees).
- Decent signage, decent tees, decent baskets. Navigation, not so decent. I guess they figured that scorecards in the office make up for no directional help. A first timer with no map is in for some wandering.
Cons: - My major gripe with this course is the repetition. Almost all of the holes require getting around or between some oak trees, over and over and over. The other hazards and some rough help to break it up, but there are a ton of holes that feel almost identical. The short forest holes feel tacked on as a desperate attempt to add some variety.
- This course gets destroyed by rainfall, with large sections becoming muddy, swampy, marshy, or all three. Anywhere there is no grass is a potential flood area.
Other Thoughts: - Every time I play this course, I feel mixed emotions. It usually goes: on the way there, not that excited. Once there, I feel like I don't appreciate it. Halfway through, I like it a lot. Once done, I feel a little let down. On the way home, I feel like I wasted my time. There are some pretty darn good holes, and some really tough shots at parts, but overall it feels too easy. I think the additional 9 holes just water down the whole experience, and the good holes get lost in the shuffle.
- Still, a great course for a beginner or intermediate player.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

5+    8/31/2010   9/1/2010
Review By: jesse_v_m
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is well up-kept with good rubber tees and well marked signs. Because this is a public park, it is well groomed and makes for a beautiful course to play. 27 holes is nice because you can play extra if you are wanting to make a longer day but can also stop at 18 if you are shorter on time. The layout of the holes weave between trees on many holes but there as some open and long holes as well. there are a few in the third set of 9 that are heavily wooded and tight which also makes for a good variety.
Cons: 27 holes is nice, but it can get a bit repetitive in terms of shots. While it's not true for all the holes, a good number of the 27 can be thrown well with either backhand or forehand shots. This is handy, but cuts down on the need for special and difficult shots and thus it can get a bit repetitive. Also, the par system is way too easy, so if you are looking for more of a challenge I suggest playing most of them par 3 with the exception of maybe one or two if you even want to do that. If you don't adjust the par that is fine, you will just see yourself throwing birdies left and right. :)
Other Thoughts: I love this course and always miss it when I leave school and cannot play it until the next year. Highly recommended!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The Oaks

1    7/23/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: warren1086
Played: 19  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located in a very nice community recreation park. You have to register before you play, but it's free so no biggie. Plus they give you a little members card. There were 3 different tee pads per hole, and they all were nice flat concrete pads. Played with very nice elevation changes, but it is mostly flat. A lot of the fairways were pretty busy with mature oak trees, but there was usually a few different routes to take in order to have a nice birdie or easy par. The beautiful giant oaks provide sufficient shade to keep you cool, although it does get pretty hot so don't forget plenty of liquids during the summer. Trash cans located all over the park, but there was trash scattered throughout the course. Most fun I've had playing 27 holes!
Cons: Course par was ridiculous. I played them all as 3's with the exception of the long par 5's. The flow of the course was pretty poor. Even with painted bricks on the ground by the occasional basket, I found myself asking locals, walking halfway down fairways, throwing to wrong baskets on more than a few occasions. Make sure to bring a map!
Other Thoughts: I thought it was pretty wide open, even the wooded holes had nice clear fairways. So you don't have to worry too much about pinball holes.I loved the 3-4 holes that had an obstacle or trees guarding the pin. It also has a very cool hole that has a blind elevated basket setting that is strategically placed behind a big bush. I'm assuming there is usually a creek that runs through some of the course, but I guess I went during a drought and it was dried up. I wish the course would have brought the nice pond in the front of the park into play. Over all a pretty awesome course and I would definitely recommend to anyone!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best disc golf course I've ever played

1    7/17/2010   7/30/2010
Review By: c0ntagion
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 4.7 Years
0 Helpful / 15 Not
Pros: 27 holes, tee pads available for beginner to expert players, nice course to play for anyone.
Cons: It's busy here.
Other Thoughts: Absolutely the best disc golf course I've ever played on. There are so many different kinds of shots here. Anyone from a beginner to an expert will have fun here. It is very busy, so I'd suggest going during non-peak hours. I'll return when I'm in the area!

0 of 15 people found this review helpful.

  Well worth the time

5+    7/22/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: Scoobs74
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great designed course with several well protected and hidden baskets. offers a challenge no mater what your experience level. The large oak trees provide great shade in the summer heat, as well as obsticles to throw through. Multiple tee boxes let beginers and pros play together on a more even playing field.
Cons: Lay out can be confusing until you play through a few times. Gets very crowded on the weekeds but worth it for this great course. Mosquitoes are thick in the heavily wooded areas bring some Off spray. Watch out for poision ivy

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Oaks

5+    5/6/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 56  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It is a beautiful course with multiple tee pads, nice baskets and good flow. It has something to offer for every frolfer from long open straight holes to holes in the woods that are really narrow and short. It also has 27 holes so you can play all of them or until you get tired. It is also very open and well maintianed therefore you will not spend somt times looking for discs.Most of the course is in the trees so you get to play in the shade but the branches are high enough that they do not get in the way of most throws.
Cons: It is often very crowed and you find yourself waiting for others to finish before you tee off. It can also be slightly confusing the first time you go but once you figure it out it is a very enjoyable place to play. After a while the 27 holes seem to all run together and it may get a little boring. This is because the course does get a little repeditive and that makes it get a little old.
Other Thoughts: You are supposed to register to play on this course but it does not cost anything so it is worth doing if you are going to play here often.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


5+    9/5/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 125  Reviewed: 47  Exp: 8.5 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Scenic park with lots of mature oaks and green grass
-Nice tees and baskets
-Most of the oak branches are too high to snag a shot, but the tree trunks force you to shape your shot
-Underneath the oak canopy it is shaded but totally free of underbrush
-Multiple tees on most holes
-Fairly balanced between right and left curving fairways
-27 holes
-Three holes on the backside look nothing like the rest of the course (10-20' wide fairways cut out of dense underbrush)
-Hole 13 is one of my favorites: 365' White. Plays as a slight anny for RHBH. It starts out open over a grassy field with a small rise followed by a downslope to a streambed. The basket is about 20' behind the stream and 15' up guarded by trees. The green is terraced with landscaping timbers.
Cons: -Can be very sloppy following rain
-Navigation can be very confusing in a few spots
-Gets crowded on nice days (you can start on 4 to skip the backup at 1)
Other Thoughts: This course along with the Joliet courses forms a nice DG corridor along Interstate 80.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Da Oaks

5+    7/26/2009   1/10/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 318  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park itself is a nice looking piece of property and is used solely for disc golf. It is fairly flat and is covered mostly by huge oak trees. Much of the course plays in the shade and there is very little rough to lose discs.

The park district takes very good care of this course. The tee pads have limestone laid underneath with rubber tee pads laid on top. They are boxed in by wood frames and are very level.

There are some nice signs on the middle set of tees and the baskets are Mach 5's with number plates on the top.

There are multiple tee pads on many of the holes. 54 total tee pads for 27 holes.

There are several signature holes and some nice landscaping in areas. Although this course lacks elevation the design utilzed it well.

This is a very beginner friendly course and is pretty fun to play.
Cons: Even with the multiple tee pads this course is very repetitive in shot selection and distances. This could have been a championship level 4.5 star rated course if it was 18 holes.

Although this course has a lot of oaks there are very few holes with major obstacles and rough. It lacks the challenge that many great courses offer. From the last 2 tournaments run here the SSA is 73 (-8) from the longs and 70 (-11) from the Whites.

Even with good signage it can be difficult to navigate in a few areas.
Other Thoughts: 1. Check in at the building and get a registration card. It's free. Without one you can be fined.

2. There is no smoking in this park.

3. No dogs. There is a large fine.

You can print a score card at the link below.
http://www.mokenapark.com/page.php?pid=45

If you are traveling on I80 it's only 5 minutes off the Interstate.
Youtube link of the Oaks.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?...ature=related

Check out my Illinois Top 10
http://discontinuum.org/index...1486.msg68704#msg68704

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.