Mokena, IL 
The Oaks Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #22 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 220ft.   3 / 312ft.   3 / 312ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #22 White Tee

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  Well worth the time

5+    7/22/2010   7/23/2010
Review By: Scoobs74
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.7 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great designed course with several well protected and hidden baskets. offers a challenge no mater what your experience level. The large oak trees provide great shade in the summer heat, as well as obsticles to throw through. Multiple tee boxes let beginers and pros play together on a more even playing field.
Cons: Lay out can be confusing until you play through a few times. Gets very crowded on the weekeds but worth it for this great course. Mosquitoes are thick in the heavily wooded areas bring some Off spray. Watch out for poision ivy

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 The Oaks

5+    5/6/2010   7/21/2010
Review By: jwetter
Played: 68  Reviewed: 30
This review was updated on 3/21/2011
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: It is a beautiful course with multiple tee pads, nice baskets and good flow. It has something to offer for every frolfer from long open straight holes to holes in the woods that are really narrow and short. It also has 27 holes so you can play all of them or until you get tired. It is also very open and well maintianed therefore you will not spend somt times looking for discs.Most of the course is in the trees so you get to play in the shade but the branches are high enough that they do not get in the way of most throws.
Cons: It is often very crowed and you find yourself waiting for others to finish before you tee off. It can also be slightly confusing the first time you go but once you figure it out it is a very enjoyable place to play. After a while the 27 holes seem to all run together and it may get a little boring. This is because the course does get a little repeditive and that makes it get a little old.
Other Thoughts: You are supposed to register to play on this course but it does not cost anything so it is worth doing if you are going to play here often.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

5+    9/5/2009   2/9/2010
Review By: Countchunkula
Played: 129  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/11/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Scenic park with lots of mature oaks and green grass
-Nice tees and baskets
-Most of the oak branches are too high to snag a shot, but the tree trunks force you to shape your shot
-Underneath the oak canopy it is shaded but totally free of underbrush
-Multiple tees on most holes
-Fairly balanced between right and left curving fairways
-27 holes
-Three holes on the backside look nothing like the rest of the course (10-20' wide fairways cut out of dense underbrush)
-Hole 13 is one of my favorites: 365' White. Plays as a slight anny for RHBH. It starts out open over a grassy field with a small rise followed by a downslope to a streambed. The basket is about 20' behind the stream and 15' up guarded by trees. The green is terraced with landscaping timbers.
Cons: -Can be very sloppy following rain
-Navigation can be very confusing in a few spots
-Gets crowded on nice days (you can start on 4 to skip the backup at 1)
Other Thoughts: This course along with the Joliet courses forms a nice DG corridor along Interstate 80.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Da Oaks

5+    7/26/2009   1/10/2010
Review By: #19325
Played: 323  Reviewed: 171  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2010
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The park itself is a nice looking piece of property and is used solely for disc golf. It is fairly flat and is covered mostly by huge oak trees. Much of the course plays in the shade and there is very little rough to lose discs.

The park district takes very good care of this course. The tee pads have limestone laid underneath with rubber tee pads laid on top. They are boxed in by wood frames and are very level.

There are some nice signs on the middle set of tees and the baskets are Mach 5's with number plates on the top.

There are multiple tee pads on many of the holes. 54 total tee pads for 27 holes.

There are several signature holes and some nice landscaping in areas. Although this course lacks elevation the design utilzed it well.

This is a very beginner friendly course and is pretty fun to play.
Cons: Even with the multiple tee pads this course is very repetitive in shot selection and distances. This could have been a championship level 4.5 star rated course if it was 18 holes.

Although this course has a lot of oaks there are very few holes with major obstacles and rough. It lacks the challenge that many great courses offer. From the last 2 tournaments run here the SSA is 73 (-8) from the longs and 70 (-11) from the Whites.

Even with good signage it can be difficult to navigate in a few areas.
Other Thoughts: 1. Check in at the building and get a registration card. It's free. Without one you can be fined.

2. There is no smoking in this park.

3. No dogs. There is a large fine.

You can print a score card at the link below.

If you are traveling on I80 it's only 5 minutes off the Interstate.
Youtube link of the Oaks.

Check out my Illinois Top 10

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Great park course

1    9/12/2009   9/18/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 13.8 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large disc golf dedicated area. Most of the holes play through large old oaks with generous lanes between them. For variety, there are a few holes that play in open rolling fields, and a few in denser trees with some brushy rough to mix things up a bit.

There is a good mix of ace run holes, and holes that require a long accurate drive to have a shot at a deuce. The large trees leave many different lines open on most holes, but many have preferred lines, and these are a good mix of righty and lefty shots with some straight shots right at the basket.

There are multiple tees on nearly all the holes, with up to three different looks. They change the holes quite a bit, and make the course accessible but challenging to most levels of players. There are nice signs on the white (middle) tees that show the layout of the hole and the distance from each of the pads. The tees are rubber, and are perfectly laid to be flat and flush with the ground.

The park is excellently maintained, and very beautiful. There is no trash anywhere, and the grounds are immaculately kept, making for a very enjoyable setting to play in.
Cons: The course is 27 holes in the amount of space appropriate for a great 18 hole course. There were times where way too many holes were right in the same spot, as well as times where there were multiple baskets to look at off the tee so you had to walk up and check out the number plate the first time through. There were bricks in the ground pointing the way to some of the next tees, but they only seemed to be there on the holes where it wasn't confusing where to go next. You often have the choice of a few different tees to walk to, and it's rarely the most obvious one.

The design made great use of the limited elevation and the big scattered trees, but these make for a little lack of variety. Nearly all the holes seem pretty similar, and the ones that are different aren't all that memorable. I really felt like a fantastic 18 hole course could have been put together here with more variety and more interesting holes, and would make for a more challenging and fun course.

One small thing I would like to see is brooms for the tee pads. They collect gravel dust which makes them quite slippery on the holes where you really try to rip a drive. The tee signs are only at the white tees, which means there is often extra walking to see the tee sign when throwing from the long or short tees.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely accessible to beginners, with little punishing schule, reasonable distances, and many available lines, especially from the short tees. More experienced players will find more challenges from the long tees, and will enjoy the beautiful setting for disc golf.

Though it's not the most challenging course around, it's one of the most fun to play. Definitely worth the trip to play, especially if you can hit up some of the other Joliet area courses.

Note to other dog owners: it's posted that having dogs on the course is a $1000 fine, so you probably want to leave your disc dog at home for this one.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 B+ = You Be Feelin' Positive After Playing This

1    8/1/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 375  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 21.5 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I played this and am rating it from the long tees. What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 (and over) hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B-
(Due to the relatively open nature of most of this course, there is not enough trouble out there to tax the braincells in chosing exact shots/routes needed. And the course does not harshly punish poor decisions or execution.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A-
(About a quarter of the holes are too long for my arm. This is fine design-wise as that makes them challenging for longer arms but turns them into routine pars for me. The rest of the holes set up perfectly for me.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
(Although most of the course plays under the canopy of beautiful mature Oaks, things are pretty open and the design does not force the point in this area as much as I prefer. There is some medium level terrain that is used very well.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A+
(From the beautiful mature Oaks, to the open fields, to the maintenance you can not get much better. Seclusion from civilization is superb providing a perfect place to unwind and recharge from the stresses of life)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
(The multi-throw holes are a plus to be sure, but they are not inspiring in added strategy or execution needed to score well.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me....that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park, fun course, could be better.

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 233  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 23.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes with great tees and good baskets. Very nice park. Holes wind through some nice oak trees with a few longer holes in the open where you can get out and bomb a drive.
Cons: This is a large pice of property with really nice land, although really flat, that could have made for a really nice 18 hole course. Unfortunately it was made into a 27 hole layout that is very repetetive with holes mostly in the 250-300 range. Its a deuce course whether you play the shorts or the longs here. An overabundance of righty hyzer shots as well. Also finding your way around your first, second, or 15th time here is a bit challenging as the holes do not flow very well. Alot of walk-backs and places where you walk past other tees to get to the next hole. This probably could have been a classic 18 hole course with 3 or 4 really tough par 4's and some really fun par 3's.
Other Thoughts: I feel like this course must have been designed in a day. 260 ft. hyzer 260 ft. hyzer 260 ft. hyzer

There are definitely 8 or 9 really good holes that are alot of fun though. Its definitely worth the play.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


2-4    8/14/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: schroeder5520
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 21.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great upkeep. Cool trees, nice bathrooms, discs, some food and drinks at clubhouse.

Has a pay for play feel but you only need a free membership card.
Cons: Although there is 27 holes, nearly every one is pretty bland. It is a nice course don't get me wrong, but it is absolutely just like every other decent course in IL. So it will probably not excite you in the least.
Other Thoughts: Okay this is why I am posting, because there are plenty of others to go on.

I smoked on the course because I really don't care about being fined for smoking, anywhere. I'll glady pay a fine to show my support of a crop that our country was founded on. I probably had 4 or 5 cigs per round, and have played there 3 times.

UNLIKE a previous post, I saw cigarette butts everywhere. Being a smoker and hearing the rumors, I was looking. They are everywhere, and I see at least a dozen people smoking every time I play. In fact, last time I played I saw two guys smoking while walking from the parking lot to hole #1. For those who know the course, this is while walking past cars, people, and the clubhouse building!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, beautiful trees

5+    4/15/2010   8/8/2009
Review By: dwebb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 4/17/2010
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained with well cut grass and no downed branches. Markers on every tee box as well as clearly marked catchers which also display the par for the hole and the direction to next hole, make playing here a pleasure. Multiple tee locations make it able to played by multiple skill levels at once.

While the course layout isn't necessarily overly impressive, it does offer some nice variety, with holes ranging in not only length but also layout and obstacles.

The trees here are massive and provide a very comfortable play even in summer.
Cons: A couple of things that might discourage people from playing here, begin with the difficulty level. While there are many longer holes, the majority of the course is open and is very easy to throw on. While some trees do provide a little blockage of shots, there is really nothing keeping you from throwing a hyzer on every hole.

There are usually a large amount of people out playing, and you might have to wait the entire time, but this is easily avoided by not going there at 5pm with everyone else who just got off work.
Other Thoughts: This is another great course for players of all skill levels, but bring your throwing arm for the long holes. It is pretty well laid out with markers on every hole and nice tee boxes so getting lost shouldn't happen. Just avoid the busy time of the day right after work and enjoy.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Loved this course!

1    7/20/2009   7/22/2009
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: the layout is challenging and fun. The teepads are terrific and seem well maintained.
Cons: Lots of users and can get crowded. Some fairways seem close or crossing over but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: Would like this to be a home course!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.