Mokena, IL
The Oaks Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #26 (Taken 5/2012)
4 / 275ft.   4 / 275ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #26 White Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 B+ = You Be Feelin' Positive After Playing This

1    8/1/2009   9/2/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 363  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 19.9 Years
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I played this and am rating it from the long tees. What I personally like and how this course stacks up in my list of 18 (and over) hole courses:

1) Holes with good risk/reward. Fair, but harsh punishment for bad decisions or execution. == B-
(Due to the relatively open nature of most of this course, there is not enough trouble out there to tax the braincells in chosing exact shots/routes needed. And the course does not harshly punish poor decisions or execution.)

2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities for me. I throw 300' accurately, 360' max. == A-
(About a quarter of the holes are too long for my arm. This is fine design-wise as that makes them challenging for longer arms but turns them into routine pars for me. The rest of the holes set up perfectly for me.)

3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography == B
(Although most of the course plays under the canopy of beautiful mature Oaks, things are pretty open and the design does not force the point in this area as much as I prefer. There is some medium level terrain that is used very well.)

4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion. == A+
(From the beautiful mature Oaks, to the open fields, to the maintenance you can not get much better. Seclusion from civilization is superb providing a perfect place to unwind and recharge from the stresses of life)

5) Bonus points for multi-throw holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them. == C-
(The multi-throw holes are a plus to be sure, but they are not inspiring in added strategy or execution needed to score well.)
Other Thoughts: It's all about feeding the addiction, so I ranked this course subjectively based on my own "personal addiction factor". The grades above tell how well the course will draw me back to itself again and again and again. Since I have played a decent number of courses (125 18-hole, 64 9-hole as of mid 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar addiction tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they choose courses to play and explore.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me….that's the fun of things here. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Nice park, fun course, could be better.

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 229  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 21.8 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes with great tees and good baskets. Very nice park. Holes wind through some nice oak trees with a few longer holes in the open where you can get out and bomb a drive.
Cons: This is a large pice of property with really nice land, although really flat, that could have made for a really nice 18 hole course. Unfortunately it was made into a 27 hole layout that is very repetetive with holes mostly in the 250-300 range. Its a deuce course whether you play the shorts or the longs here. An overabundance of righty hyzer shots as well. Also finding your way around your first, second, or 15th time here is a bit challenging as the holes do not flow very well. Alot of walk-backs and places where you walk past other tees to get to the next hole. This probably could have been a classic 18 hole course with 3 or 4 really tough par 4's and some really fun par 3's.
Other Thoughts: I feel like this course must have been designed in a day. 260 ft. hyzer 260 ft. hyzer 260 ft. hyzer

There are definitely 8 or 9 really good holes that are alot of fun though. Its definitely worth the play.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Smoking

2-4    8/14/2009   8/18/2009
Review By: schroeder5520
Played: 47  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 20 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great upkeep. Cool trees, nice bathrooms, discs, some food and drinks at clubhouse.

Has a pay for play feel but you only need a free membership card.
Cons: Although there is 27 holes, nearly every one is pretty bland. It is a nice course don't get me wrong, but it is absolutely just like every other decent course in IL. So it will probably not excite you in the least.
Other Thoughts: Okay this is why I am posting, because there are plenty of others to go on.

SMOKING
I smoked on the course because I really don't care about being fined for smoking, anywhere. I'll glady pay a fine to show my support of a crop that our country was founded on. I probably had 4 or 5 cigs per round, and have played there 3 times.

UNLIKE a previous post, I saw cigarette butts everywhere. Being a smoker and hearing the rumors, I was looking. They are everywhere, and I see at least a dozen people smoking every time I play. In fact, last time I played I saw two guys smoking while walking from the parking lot to hole #1. For those who know the course, this is while walking past cars, people, and the clubhouse building!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course, beautiful trees

5+    4/15/2010   8/8/2009
Review By: dwebb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 4/17/2010
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: This course is very well maintained with well cut grass and no downed branches. Markers on every tee box as well as clearly marked catchers which also display the par for the hole and the direction to next hole, make playing here a pleasure. Multiple tee locations make it able to played by multiple skill levels at once.

While the course layout isn't necessarily overly impressive, it does offer some nice variety, with holes ranging in not only length but also layout and obstacles.

The trees here are massive and provide a very comfortable play even in summer.
Cons: A couple of things that might discourage people from playing here, begin with the difficulty level. While there are many longer holes, the majority of the course is open and is very easy to throw on. While some trees do provide a little blockage of shots, there is really nothing keeping you from throwing a hyzer on every hole.

There are usually a large amount of people out playing, and you might have to wait the entire time, but this is easily avoided by not going there at 5pm with everyone else who just got off work.
Other Thoughts: This is another great course for players of all skill levels, but bring your throwing arm for the long holes. It is pretty well laid out with markers on every hole and nice tee boxes so getting lost shouldn't happen. Just avoid the busy time of the day right after work and enjoy.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Loved this course!

1    7/20/2009   7/22/2009
Review By: NIBSTOOLS
Played: 35  Reviewed: 35
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: the layout is challenging and fun. The teepads are terrific and seem well maintained.
Cons: Lots of users and can get crowded. Some fairways seem close or crossing over but not too bad.
Other Thoughts: Would like this to be a home course!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 DG Country Club

1    6/21/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 127  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: From the moment I exited the car, it was clear that the maintenance of this course was beyond reproach. For maintenance, this course is only surpassed by a few of the nicest pay-to-play courses I've been to, like Bryant Lake, Token Creek, and Blue ribbon Pines. The beauty of the oaks: its free, you just have to register at the visitor's center the first time you play.

Anyways, three sets of rubber tees on each hole (often only two tees, but sometimes white uses long, sometimes short). These are the nicest rubber tees I have ever played on, probably even better than concrete. All raised high and dry off ground on a bed of gravel, perfectly level and flat, with wooden frame around them. We watched a parks worker in a lawn tractor putting in/ redoing one of the tees, repeatedly (for 15 minutes) running back and forth over the sand underneath the rubber to compact it and make it perfect. That's what I'm talkin about!

Nice tee sign at the white tee pad on every hole, gives a good hole map. Usually pretty easy to tell which basket you are throwing at.

The course plays through a mostly flat area of GIANT majestic oak trees, and a few tiny creeks. Its actually quite scenic. Great place to have a picnic, they even have benches on almost every hole, and some tables spaced periodically throughout the park.

Crazy flow, with holes nicely close together, without too much concern of hitting someone on another hole, or crossing fairways. A testament to good course design. Makes good use of the available trees, including a few fallen trees, to mix up the challenges a bit.

Many of the holes are weaving between trees to a basket, like on Anna Page, or Lemon Lake-Red. If you like those two courses, this is your spot. Though many of the holes are cut from the same mold, it gives you a range of lines to play on each hole, and different looks from hole to hole, so it never gets boring.

Don't misunderstand, this course has variety. In the middle nine, it emerges into a big field with some rolling hills for a few long open holes, and the start of the third nine takes you on a merry romp through some scary wooded fairways that give Dretzka a run for it's money.

Another thing that this course uses well are the ravines. In fact, almost all the best holes on this course involve a river valley in some way. For example, hole 2 is a blind downhill drive to a well protected basket tucked into a creek hillside to the left. Very distinct hole, just what you want.

The signature hole, however, is probably hole 13. This monster takes you out of the large field and back into the trees. You shoot downhill, into the trees that start before the ravine, to a well-shielded basket on the topmost section of a multilevel terrace on the opposing side of the ravine. Very very cool looking hole, not quite as hard as it looks (or maybe I just got lucky)

26 is another hole of note, mainly just because it is distinct. You shoot at a wall of thin, tall trees past a small ravine. They wrap around the basket like a castle wall almost 180 degrees. You either have to go a ways around to the left to curve around the treewall edge, try to tomahawk above wall but below larger oaks around, or pick one of several small gaps in the wall and go for it. The basket is on uneven ground past the wall, to boot. Just mean, but I like it.

The Oaks is a very enjoyable experience to play. Every hole offers some challenge and fun, with a sprinkling of wow! holes in the mix to keep you on your toes.

This is a course with 20ish good holes and 7excellent ones. Great facilities, great experience, nice mix of distances, especially with the 3 tees so pros can be pushed as well as beginners. The different tees do give different looks, sometimes bringing several more oaks into play on each step up.
Cons: Because this course seems to zigzag around through the scattered oaks with abandon, its not always obvious which tee is the next one. In particular, the transition from 21 and 22 is the worst. After basket 21, head to your right, past tee 18 and basket 17 to get to tee 22. In general, having a copy of the course map with you would not hurt.

I really wanted to rate this course higher, I really did, because of the maintenance and the replay value of three teepads. However, its not quite excellent, because it is mostly flat, and limited. It uses the terrain well, but its still reaching into the same bag of tricks most of the time, with flat scattered trees you will always have multiple options for lines to play, and little punishing shule, which makes the course play fairly forgiving. Not extremely tricky on a consistent basis, just every now and again.

Not a great course, but the overall playing experience was darn near an excellent one. I would be tempted to rate this course higher if I hadn't played some of the other even better courses in the area like Lemon Lake and Highland Park to compare it to.
Other Thoughts: DO NOT SMOKE IN THIS PARK. MASSIVE FINES FOR CIGS. According to the word on the street, this no cigarette smoking policy has many of the locals up in arms, enough so to boycott this course. Instead, they focus their efforts on Lemon Lake Park.

One thing is certain: you don't see cigarette butts, or anything else, littering the ground here, or many unwashed, questionable looking DGers. When we played it was mostly families and groups of HS/college age rec players with a few discs each.

If you want to take you family disc golfing with you, this is the perfect place to do it. It even has a fountain.

Mosquitoes were not too bad here,must be just enough breeze between those Oaks to keep em off.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great place to play

5+    7/12/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: gsmit
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Great variety of holes. There are 27 of them, so some feel similar, but there is a wide variety. From little hills, to forest, to long, to short.
2. Tee boxes are great. Very well maintained, with great signs. Usually there are also benches nearby. And for each hole, there are about 2-3 tee boxes (Women, Men & Pro).
3. For there being 27 holes, it is still fairly easy to navigate. Holes 19 & 22 are a little tricky (Going into the woods and then coming back out).
4. Overall park is very well maintained. Not overrun with grass or fallen trees.
5. Baskets are very well kept.
6. There is an office out front where you can buy discs, or pick up a free score card. It isn't necessary to stop here, but its nice if you want to pick up a disc before or after.
Cons: 1. Level of difficulty is relatively easy. My first time ever disc golfing, I threw a +1. Very generous on what is considered a par 4! To increase the difficulty, we try to aim for -1 for every hole (so if we play 18, we try to end -18).
2. Course retains water!!! This has been an exceptionally rainy spring, and each time I went, it seemed very muddy. Since summer began, it has been perfect.
3. It can get a little crowded. But no big deal. Its disc golf. Just chill and enjoy yourself. Maybe you can partner up with another group you meet there. Cuts down the wait, and you get to hangout with some pretty cool people.
4. Your first time here can be a little difficult to navigate. Look for arrows on the ground near the previous hole's basket. Or just follow someone else. After you play it once, it pretty easy to follow.
Other Thoughts: This place is amazing. One of the best course in the Chicago-land area. If you haven't played here yet, I highly suggest it. You can play 9, 18, 27, or anyones that you want. There are plenty of options.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: phishinit9
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 27 holes, some in heavy forest, some in little forest and some wide open. good variety of differnt types of holes. very well maintained grass usually cut, and tees kept nice.
Cons: if you dont get out early, you will run into some crowds

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

5+    4/15/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: jdunk03
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 7.3 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is very well maintained. Tee boxes that are concrete and rubber covered. Well kept baskets and nice benches. park workers level tee pads every few months.
Cons: long day a few holes are the same.
Other Thoughts: they made it to where u have to get a card form the park to play with them, it is free but you can get a ticket if you dont.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/15/2008   4/15/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 22 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really enjoyed this course as it is completely different than what I play at home. Lots of single trees arranged in moderate to tight corridors. Well maintained and some challenging holes.
Cons: Was somewhat crowded on the day we were there.
Other Thoughts: Very cool course overall. Will definitely play again when in the Chicago area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.