Disc Golf Store
Mokena, IL 
The Oaks Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #8 (Taken 5/2012)
4 / 270ft.   4 / 270ft.   3 / 270ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 White Tee



Reviews: 38
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 Next >
 Beautiful Course

1    4/1/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: IllinoisAceRunner90
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great Course. A lot of sweet shots over creeks and islands. 27 holes of disc golf heaven. Still some holes for the big guns to open up. Nice benches and garbage cans.
Cons: Hard to navigate. Thats it.
Other Thoughts: Just play it!!!!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 First time under par!

1    9/15/2007   1/15/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 43  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes. Alternate tees. Tee boxes that are concrete and rubber covered. Well kept baskets and nice benches. Three wooded holes to break things up. Very picturesque and the trees are old and large and shade the course quite well.
Cons: Needed a map. The kiosk didn't help. Had to look for the next tee. Luckily some guys were ahead of me or I wouldn't have a clue as to where to go next. The par was set wrong. I never shoot par on any course and I was under after 27 holes. No bathrooms when the building is closed. Same looking holes and the acorns were dangerous.
Other Thoughts: They say you can buy discs at the office adjacent to the parking lot but it wasn't open when I was there. I hate to think that this is the best Chicago has to offer. I find it hard to believe.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

mOAKena DGC

2-4    6/4/2009   7/30/2008
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 34  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very big course with 27 holes and 3 sets of tees for each.

Signs were nice, and rubber tee pads were okay.

Baskets were fine, no practice basket.

Mostly moderately wooded with some open and a few densely wooded holes.

Most holes offer different lines and were balanced between RHBH and RHFH.

Always a fun round when I play here.
Cons: All holes are pretty flat, that's just how the area is.

Some navigation issues the first time around, but once through and you will be fine the next time.

With 27 holes, many can seem repetitive, but the holes are still worth playing.

People always on the course, not too much trouble with waiting or playing through.
Other Thoughts: I believe you have to check-in at the office, but I never do so I don't know how that is enforced. I always come here a few times every year and it is always a nice, fun day out disc golfing. It is definitely worth going to if you are within an hour or two.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best in the Chicago area?

6/13/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: discNDav
Played: 290  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 28.3 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes with 3 teepads.
Well maintained, clean park
Nice facility with scorecards, inside restrooms and discs for sale.
Mostly in the shade shooting around large mature oak trees.
Cons: Very wet and muddy 2 days after a lot of rain in the area. Holes 19 - 21 were
rather crammed together in the woods unlike the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: most Chicago courses are rather simple and 9 holes. This is one of the better ones and close to Cedar Lake, IN another good DG site.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful course

1    6/3/2008   6/3/2008
Review By: smyith
Played: 134  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 12.9 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2010
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: 3 teepads per hole, Red, white, and blue level. Large trees. Great use of land. Great shot and hole variety. Even open holes are a challenge.
Cons: Ummmmm?...
Those that say there isn't shot variety probably didn't play the other teepads.
Other Thoughts: An absolute joy to play.
27 holes x 3 teepads = 81 holes!!!!!!

I have not played this course in several years now and do not remember it well enough to properly update this review. i will be playing this course in a few months and then properly review this wonderful course.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Above Average

5+    10/22/2007   11/6/2007
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 140  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 19.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are nice amenities. The course is very well maintained. The majority of the courses in the Chicagoland area are 9 hole pitch & putt recreational courses or in a swamp (sometimes both,) so it is head and shoulders above the other options you have in the Windy City.
Cons: It's flat. That is not the fault of the course designers. Of the 27 holes, 20 of them are basically the same shots. That is the fault of the course designers.

The course as it stands now is not all that challenging. If you look at the SSA history of the course it plays between 2.5 & 2.7 per hole, so if you figure par with the old "everything 3" standard a 1000 rated player will shoot 8 to 12 strokes down for 27 holes. That doesn't make a very good case for the course being particularly challenging.
Other Thoughts: If the course was 18 holes instead of 27 and some creativity went into the design to create some more risk-reward shots, this course could really be something. The condition of the course shows that a lot of people are putting a lot of effort into this course, and I don't mean to belittle their efforts. Chicago has a lot of disc golfers with not a lot of good places for them to play, and this could be a real jewel for them. However, because of its inferior design all I can say for it is that it's a slightly above average course in an area filled with far-below average courses.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 You say par is what?

7/30/2005   7/30/2007
Review By: innovaetor
Played: 45  Reviewed: 22
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Makes you feel like Tiger Woods when you shoot 15 under par.....they say it is 72, more like 55. Very well maintined, very flat, very wooded. Some really nice design features let you know that people work hard on this course.
Cons: Very flat, but I guess it is in Illinois. That is the only bad thing, and is it really that bad?
Other Thoughts: They sell discs and have nice scorecards at the park office.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  

7/15/2007   7/29/2007
Review By: arendow
Played: 79  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many trees to manuver around, very dry greens resulting with the disc skipping away. Benches and tee signs.
Cons: Kind of crowded. Many of the same shot. Virtually no elevation.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed this course, but I felt like it didn't challenge my game. Very clean. Out of 27 holes, three are wooded and three are wide open, everything else medium trees with no elevation. Wish there was a little more variation.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.