Mokena, IL 
The Oaks Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #2 (Taken 5/2012)
4 / 300ft.   4 / 300ft.   3 / 370ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee

Reviews: 43
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 DG Country Club

1    6/21/2009   7/18/2009
Review By: Texconsinite
Played: 136  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 7.8 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2009
10 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: From the moment I exited the car, it was clear that the maintenance of this course was beyond reproach. For maintenance, this course is only surpassed by a few of the nicest pay-to-play courses I've been to, like Bryant Lake, Token Creek, and Blue ribbon Pines. The beauty of the oaks: its free, you just have to register at the visitor's center the first time you play.

Anyways, three sets of rubber tees on each hole (often only two tees, but sometimes white uses long, sometimes short). These are the nicest rubber tees I have ever played on, probably even better than concrete. All raised high and dry off ground on a bed of gravel, perfectly level and flat, with wooden frame around them. We watched a parks worker in a lawn tractor putting in/ redoing one of the tees, repeatedly (for 15 minutes) running back and forth over the sand underneath the rubber to compact it and make it perfect. That's what I'm talkin about!

Nice tee sign at the white tee pad on every hole, gives a good hole map. Usually pretty easy to tell which basket you are throwing at.

The course plays through a mostly flat area of GIANT majestic oak trees, and a few tiny creeks. Its actually quite scenic. Great place to have a picnic, they even have benches on almost every hole, and some tables spaced periodically throughout the park.

Crazy flow, with holes nicely close together, without too much concern of hitting someone on another hole, or crossing fairways. A testament to good course design. Makes good use of the available trees, including a few fallen trees, to mix up the challenges a bit.

Many of the holes are weaving between trees to a basket, like on Anna Page, or Lemon Lake-Red. If you like those two courses, this is your spot. Though many of the holes are cut from the same mold, it gives you a range of lines to play on each hole, and different looks from hole to hole, so it never gets boring.

Don't misunderstand, this course has variety. In the middle nine, it emerges into a big field with some rolling hills for a few long open holes, and the start of the third nine takes you on a merry romp through some scary wooded fairways that give Dretzka a run for it's money.

Another thing that this course uses well are the ravines. In fact, almost all the best holes on this course involve a river valley in some way. For example, hole 2 is a blind downhill drive to a well protected basket tucked into a creek hillside to the left. Very distinct hole, just what you want.

The signature hole, however, is probably hole 13. This monster takes you out of the large field and back into the trees. You shoot downhill, into the trees that start before the ravine, to a well-shielded basket on the topmost section of a multilevel terrace on the opposing side of the ravine. Very very cool looking hole, not quite as hard as it looks (or maybe I just got lucky)

26 is another hole of note, mainly just because it is distinct. You shoot at a wall of thin, tall trees past a small ravine. They wrap around the basket like a castle wall almost 180 degrees. You either have to go a ways around to the left to curve around the treewall edge, try to tomahawk above wall but below larger oaks around, or pick one of several small gaps in the wall and go for it. The basket is on uneven ground past the wall, to boot. Just mean, but I like it.

The Oaks is a very enjoyable experience to play. Every hole offers some challenge and fun, with a sprinkling of wow! holes in the mix to keep you on your toes.

This is a course with 20ish good holes and 7excellent ones. Great facilities, great experience, nice mix of distances, especially with the 3 tees so pros can be pushed as well as beginners. The different tees do give different looks, sometimes bringing several more oaks into play on each step up.
Cons: Because this course seems to zigzag around through the scattered oaks with abandon, its not always obvious which tee is the next one. In particular, the transition from 21 and 22 is the worst. After basket 21, head to your right, past tee 18 and basket 17 to get to tee 22. In general, having a copy of the course map with you would not hurt.

I really wanted to rate this course higher, I really did, because of the maintenance and the replay value of three teepads. However, its not quite excellent, because it is mostly flat, and limited. It uses the terrain well, but its still reaching into the same bag of tricks most of the time, with flat scattered trees you will always have multiple options for lines to play, and little punishing shule, which makes the course play fairly forgiving. Not extremely tricky on a consistent basis, just every now and again.

Not a great course, but the overall playing experience was darn near an excellent one. I would be tempted to rate this course higher if I hadn't played some of the other even better courses in the area like Lemon Lake and Highland Park to compare it to.
Other Thoughts: DO NOT SMOKE IN THIS PARK. MASSIVE FINES FOR CIGS. According to the word on the street, this no cigarette smoking policy has many of the locals up in arms, enough so to boycott this course. Instead, they focus their efforts on Lemon Lake Park.

One thing is certain: you don't see cigarette butts, or anything else, littering the ground here, or many unwashed, questionable looking DGers. When we played it was mostly families and groups of HS/college age rec players with a few discs each.

If you want to take you family disc golfing with you, this is the perfect place to do it. It even has a fountain.

Mosquitoes were not too bad here,must be just enough breeze between those Oaks to keep em off.

10 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Great place to play

5+    7/12/2009   7/14/2009
Review By: gsmit
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/23/2009
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Great variety of holes. There are 27 of them, so some feel similar, but there is a wide variety. From little hills, to forest, to long, to short.
2. Tee boxes are great. Very well maintained, with great signs. Usually there are also benches nearby. And for each hole, there are about 2-3 tee boxes (Women, Men & Pro).
3. For there being 27 holes, it is still fairly easy to navigate. Holes 19 & 22 are a little tricky (Going into the woods and then coming back out).
4. Overall park is very well maintained. Not overrun with grass or fallen trees.
5. Baskets are very well kept.
6. There is an office out front where you can buy discs, or pick up a free score card. It isn't necessary to stop here, but its nice if you want to pick up a disc before or after.
Cons: 1. Level of difficulty is relatively easy. My first time ever disc golfing, I threw a +1. Very generous on what is considered a par 4! To increase the difficulty, we try to aim for -1 for every hole (so if we play 18, we try to end -18).
2. Course retains water!!! This has been an exceptionally rainy spring, and each time I went, it seemed very muddy. Since summer began, it has been perfect.
3. It can get a little crowded. But no big deal. Its disc golf. Just chill and enjoy yourself. Maybe you can partner up with another group you meet there. Cuts down the wait, and you get to hangout with some pretty cool people.
4. Your first time here can be a little difficult to navigate. Look for arrows on the ground near the previous hole's basket. Or just follow someone else. After you play it once, it pretty easy to follow.
Other Thoughts: This place is amazing. One of the best course in the Chicago-land area. If you haven't played here yet, I highly suggest it. You can play 9, 18, 27, or anyones that you want. There are plenty of options.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    5/25/2009   5/25/2009
Review By: phishinit9
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 27 holes, some in heavy forest, some in little forest and some wide open. good variety of differnt types of holes. very well maintained grass usually cut, and tees kept nice.
Cons: if you dont get out early, you will run into some crowds

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 one of the best

5+    4/15/2009   4/16/2009
Review By: jdunk03
Played: 22  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.9 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The course is very well maintained. Tee boxes that are concrete and rubber covered. Well kept baskets and nice benches. park workers level tee pads every few months.
Cons: long day a few holes are the same.
Other Thoughts: they made it to where u have to get a card form the park to play with them, it is free but you can get a ticket if you dont.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    4/15/2008   4/15/2009
Review By: sdecker
Played: 27  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 23.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really enjoyed this course as it is completely different than what I play at home. Lots of single trees arranged in moderate to tight corridors. Well maintained and some challenging holes.
Cons: Was somewhat crowded on the day we were there.
Other Thoughts: Very cool course overall. Will definitely play again when in the Chicago area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

1    4/1/2009   4/2/2009
Review By: IllinoisAceRunner90
Played: 10  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great Course. A lot of sweet shots over creeks and islands. 27 holes of disc golf heaven. Still some holes for the big guns to open up. Nice benches and garbage cans.
Cons: Hard to navigate. Thats it.
Other Thoughts: Just play it!!!!

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 First time under par!

1    9/15/2007   1/15/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 49  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 27 holes. Alternate tees. Tee boxes that are concrete and rubber covered. Well kept baskets and nice benches. Three wooded holes to break things up. Very picturesque and the trees are old and large and shade the course quite well.
Cons: Needed a map. The kiosk didn't help. Had to look for the next tee. Luckily some guys were ahead of me or I wouldn't have a clue as to where to go next. The par was set wrong. I never shoot par on any course and I was under after 27 holes. No bathrooms when the building is closed. Same looking holes and the acorns were dangerous.
Other Thoughts: They say you can buy discs at the office adjacent to the parking lot but it wasn't open when I was there. I hate to think that this is the best Chicago has to offer. I find it hard to believe.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 mOAKena DGC

2-4    6/4/2009   7/30/2008
Review By: 4_Of_Spades
Played: 35  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 7.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/18/2012
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Very big course with 27 holes and 3 sets of tees for each.

Signs were nice, and rubber tee pads were okay.

Baskets were fine, no practice basket.

Mostly moderately wooded with some open and a few densely wooded holes.

Most holes offer different lines and were balanced between RHBH and RHFH.

Always a fun round when I play here.
Cons: All holes are pretty flat, that's just how the area is.

Some navigation issues the first time around, but once through and you will be fine the next time.

With 27 holes, many can seem repetitive, but the holes are still worth playing.

People always on the course, not too much trouble with waiting or playing through.
Other Thoughts: I believe you have to check-in at the office, but I never do so I don't know how that is enforced. I always come here a few times every year and it is always a nice, fun day out disc golfing. It is definitely worth going to if you are within an hour or two.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 best in the Chicago area?

6/13/2008   6/13/2008
Review By: discNDav
Played: 328  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 29.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 27 holes with 3 teepads.
Well maintained, clean park
Nice facility with scorecards, inside restrooms and discs for sale.
Mostly in the shade shooting around large mature oak trees.
Cons: Very wet and muddy 2 days after a lot of rain in the area. Holes 19 - 21 were
rather crammed together in the woods unlike the rest of the course.
Other Thoughts: most Chicago courses are rather simple and 9 holes. This is one of the better ones and close to Cedar Lake, IN another good DG site.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful course

1    6/3/2008   6/3/2008
Review By: smyith
Played: 160  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/21/2010
2 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: 3 teepads per hole, Red, white, and blue level. Large trees. Great use of land. Great shot and hole variety. Even open holes are a challenge.
Cons: Ummmmm?...
Those that say there isn't shot variety probably didn't play the other teepads.
Other Thoughts: An absolute joy to play.
27 holes x 3 teepads = 81 holes!!!!!!

I have not played this course in several years now and do not remember it well enough to properly update this review. i will be playing this course in a few months and then properly review this wonderful course.

2 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.