Mundelein, IL 
Leo Leathers Park Share
Uploaded By: chillin quillin Hole #4 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 181ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 An uninteresting course

5+    7/1/2008   8/30/2009
Review By: beamrider
Played: 121  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 1, 2, and 9 are nice, and have some degree of challenge.
Cons: The entire course is in an open field. Most of the holes have adjacent fairways that make it uncomfortable if the course is crowded.

Holes 3 through 7 have no trees and are simply open shots.

Baskets 3, 6, and 9 are too close to private backyards.

A telephone pole and guide wire are in play on hole 5.
Other Thoughts: There isn't much positive to say. I've played courses throughout Illinois, also in Wisc, Indiana, Michigan, Ohio, Maine, N.C., Florida, Arkansas, and Nevada, and this course is at the bottom of my list.



3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 ?

1    8/23/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: mashnut
Played: 819  Reviewed: 774  Exp: 14.4 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a large open field in the middle of a small multi-use park. There is a little bit of elevation, and the course uses it as much as possible. One small area has some nice trees and a creek, and two holes take advantage of this to make things a little more interesting.

The baskets looked like they were in great shape other than some ace graffiti. There are nice signs throughout with hole layout and distance (though many of the distances seemed a little off), and a full map of the course on the way to the first tee.
Cons: The design of this course is pretty horrible. 7 of the 9 holes are ace runs through an open field, with multiple holes under 200'. Many of the holes play right on top of one another, and often throws will go right over other tees on the way to the basket. The first and last holes are interesting, but both play over the main road into the park which is an issue when there is a high volume of people coming and going. The last hole also throws very close to the parking lot, make sure you don't park at the end of the row.

For such a poor course, there were a surprising number of people out playing. Most seemed to be players with absolutely no idea about course etiquette, which made the safety issues at this course far worse. When you have people who don't know to yell fore or wait for the group in front of them, and who are throwing bosses at 165' holes, someone is going to get hit (only one in our group did...). Combine this with a busy park that shares the space, and it's a real bad thing.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely a beginner friendly course, with short holes, easy navigation, and no chance of losing a disc. It won't teach you to be a very good player, but it is an ok place to start. More experienced players will find no real challenge here, and will likely be frustrated by the crowds of oblivious people.

This course isn't worth making a trip to play. The other Mundelein course is more fun and interesting, and not too far away from here. If all you want is a place to rack up the aces and disc shaped bruises though, this one's for you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 The definition of a Bad course.

5+    8/20/2009   8/20/2009
Review By: Michler
Played: 242  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 24.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Holes 1 and 9 are not bad. Those are tough deuces to get and they have some real length. This is where the 'Pros' come to an end for this rinky-dink 9 holer.
Cons: Every other hole. Short. Flat. Nothing in your way. Boring. What more can you say? Its just not fun. Not alot that could be done to make this small park into a nice course. A couple fairways actually cross!
Other Thoughts: Don't go play this course if you have other options.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Mini Golf Course

1    8/4/2008   8/4/2009
Review By: TheTruth
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: It is a great place to practice your short game. Other than that, there is no reason to play, or go.
Cons: Just a biiig open field. Not much to it.
Other Thoughts: You could never loose a disc! so that is nice.
But really, try and find a way to get to another course in the area.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 D Grade = Dud

1    12/19/2005   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 380  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 22.2 Years
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- D
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- C-
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- D
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- D+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- NA
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor...more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage...if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Leo Leathers Frolf

5+    8/15/2008   8/17/2008
Review By: theseus414
Played: 30  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 9.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Okay, here's the thing with Leo Leathers. It is a big open field with virtually no obstacles (trees, shrubs, other players, etc.) with some long drives that are good for both beginners and for those attempting to adapt new throws into their game. Losing ones disc would be pretty tough.
Cons: The fairways cross. If there are other people there (which admittedly is not the norm) you have to watch where you walk and throw on every hole except 3 and 4 because people could be throwing right at you and they won't even be off the path to the pin.
Other Thoughts: Just to summarize:
Good for practice
Bad for just about anything else. A very boring course.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.